December 5th, 2017


New Release & Review:
One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning 

By David Moody


When I saw that David Moody was working on more books in the  Hater series, I nearly peed my pants – not really, but I was exceptionally stoked.  It has been a few years since I read  Them or Us.  This was the series that made me question:  Can it be a zombie if it’s not dead?  And, does it really matter how or why it happened or just what we do with it?

*Read my full review...


December 1st, 2017


Book Review:
The Macedonian By Nicholas Guild


I’ve always been a fan of Greek and Roman history.  I find that it puts our modern hubris in its place.  The accomplish-ments, voyages, conquests and architecture of this period puts modern technology to shame.  You didn’t need all of our modern conveniences to conquer the world or build awe-inspiring buildings.

*Read my full review...


November 28th, 2017


Book Review:
I Am Not A Serial Killer By Dan Wells


Sometimes I like to get up early on a Saturday morning before everyone else, grab the laptop and a cup of coffee and browse through the books online.  It’s my quiet time and that’s how I like to spend it.  I get to peruse all the available and upcoming books at my own leisure and find some interesting books.  This is how I came across  I Am Not A Serial Killer.​​

*Read my full review...


November 21st, 2017


Book Review:
I Am Legend By Richard Matheson


I usually like to read the book before I see the movie.  In the case of  I Am Legend, it just didn’t work out that way.  I Am Legend has reinforced the fact that Hollywood will f*ck up anything and everything it touches.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the Will Smith movie, but give it the same name and say that it’s based on the book…No Way!  A mild influence perhaps, but it is in no way the same thing.  

*Read my full review...


November 14th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Into the Drowning Deep By Mira Grant


My father was born in a small town on the ocean, the kind of town where you don’t marry anyone from town due to the risk of three-eyed children.  Luckily, my father married someone “from away”.  I’ve got:  two eyes, ten toes and ten fingers.  My father taught me an appreciation for the ocean, tempered with a few ounces of fear.  Mira Grant has captured the beauty, temptation and ruthless danger of the ocean.

*Read my full review...


November 3rd, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Why Did You Read That Book?


I know that every book isn’t for every reader.  We all have books that fall into our own wheelhouse and more that are just not for us.  When I come across a book that’s just not for me, I move on.  My mother always used to say, “If you don’t have something nice to say, shut the f*ck up.”  Well, maybe not in those exact words, but you get the drift.

*Read my full post...


October 31st, 2017


Book Review:
John Dies at the End ​By David Wong


Spoiler Alert!  Read the title.


I wasn’t sure about this book before I opened it.  The title is a bit weird, do I really want to know what happens before I start?  The synopsis was all over the place.  But what the hell, I want to know what all of the fuss is about.

I’ll tell you, the foreword by Don Coscarelli piqued my interest; by the time I finished the preface I was having a great time...

*Read my full review...


October 24th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Strange Weather ​By Joe Hill


I’m always a bit hesitant before beginning an anthology.  You see, I like big books, that is one of the things that I love most about Joe Hill, he’s not afraid to take me on a seven hundred and fifty page (or more) journey.  He has always kept me captivated through his tomes.  So, in Strange Weather I’ve got four short novels packed into approximately four hundred and fifty pages.  Could Joe Hill captivate me four times over in a fraction of the space he normally uses? 

*Read my full review...


October 20th, 2017


Book Review:
Wrath of the Ancients ​By Catherine Cavendish


I remember the March 1977 cover of  National Geographic, the one with King Tut’s golden sarcophagus.  That is where my fascination with the ancient world began:  Howard Carter, the cures of the pharaohs.  These are the things that can captivate a young person’s mind.


As soon as I read the synopsis of Catherine Cavendish’s  Wrath of the Ancients, I knew I had to read this book.  

*Read my full review...


October 17th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Losing Leah Holloway ​By Lisa Regan


The first thing I asked myself when I saw Claire Fletcher #2 was, how is Lisa Regan going to do this?  You see, Claire Fletcher was the victim in book one.  How much trouble can Lisa Regan inflict on this poor girl?  I, for one, had to know.

Don’t be fooled by Lisa Regan, sure, she may look all sweet and innocent, but somewhere inside of her thrives a dark, twisted mind that brings to life some of the most shocking crime books I’ve found. 

*Read my full review...


October 13th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Horror Bucket List


The more time I spend in this wonderful world of reading, the more I read, and the more I am introduced to authors that I want/should read.  Really, it is a vicious circle.  I thought that it would be fun to put together a bucket list of the authors that I haven’t read yet.  But with all of the genres that I read, my list became unmanageable, too many books, too little time.  So this bucket list consists of the horror authors who are well-established, the classics, if you will.

*Read my full list...


October 10th, 2017


Book Review:
The Ritual By Adam Nevill


“I’ve been waiting for a book  like you.  To come into my life.”

The Ritual  hit me in all of the right places.  It had everything that I was looking for in a book right now.  It was horror mixed with Nordic Noir.  It was gruesome and gory.  It felt like it was written just for me.

*Read my full review​​...


October 6th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Why Would I Want to Read That Book?


My wife and I share our website, she reads romance, I don’t (actually, sometimes I do).  Whenever a review request comes in we both say the same thing, “I hope it’s for you.”  As a blogger, I find it sad that I hope that the author contacting us doesn’t want me to read their book.

*Read my full post​​...


October 3rd, 2017


Book Review:
The Abbey of Death By Steven A. McKay


I went into this book at an unusual point.  The Abbey of Death is based on one of the characters from McKay’s The Forest Lord series, and I haven’t read any of the four books from the series.  I’ll admit, I didn’t need to know the backstory for this story to work for me, The Abbey of Death can easily stand alone.

*Read my full review​​...


September 26th, 2017


New Release & Review:

The Visitors By Catherine Burns


The Visitors is one of those books that immediately grabbed my attention.  A subtle cover that reveals a smidgen of the story; a synopsis that gives just enough to pull me in, without saying too much.  Hell, yeah!  I was completely on board for The Visitors

*Read my full review​​...

*Read Shelley's review...


September 22nd, 2017


Book Review:
Madness Treads Lightly By Polina Dashkova


I have been taking a literary trip around the world with the assistance of AmazonCrossing. It’s really interesting to experience how authors in other cultures write and develop their stories.  For this leg of my voyage, I’m off to Russia with Polina Dashkova’s Madness Treads Lightly.

Read my full review​​...



September 15th, 2017


Book Review:
Return to Ithaca By Glyn Iliffe


So here we are, Odysseus’ journey is coming to an end.  I have followed his and Eperitus’ travels, trials and tribulations through the previous five books.  Now we have the  Return to Ithaca.

As someone who is familiar with the works of Homer, one thing has bothered me since the first chapter.  If I’m spoiling anything for you, sorry, but the story has been around for three thousand years...

Read my full review​​...



September 12th, 2017


Book Review:
The Troop By Nick Cutter


I think we’ve all had those books, the ones that seem as though everyone else has already read, loved and sung their praises.  For me, The Troop was one of those books.  I’ve had The Troop on my Kindle since last October, I just needed to make the time to read it.  If you haven’t read The Troop yet, I highly recommend that you read it too.

Read my full review​​...



​​​​​September 8th, 2017

Where am I going this weekend?  That's an easy one - to the movies!  I can't resist watching one of the best books that I've read this year (or maybe ever) come alive on the big screen.


Book Review:

It By Stephen King


It…What can I say about It that hasn’t already been said? 

Which superlatives haven’t already been used to describe Stephen King’s writing?  I’ll keep it simple and straight to the point…I loved It.  It, in my humble opinion, is one of the best books ever written.  You should really read It.  I should have read It years ago.

Read my full review​​...


September 1st, 2017


Book Review:
Daughters Unto Devils By Amy Lukavics


I put off reading this book for quite some time.  When I first saw Daughters Unto Devils I was immediately drawn to the cover, but then I saw that it was YA.  I had been going through a phase where every other horror book was YA, and they just weren’t up to the adult level of horror that I

wanted.  So, I put Daughters Unto Devils on the back shelf.

Read my full review​​...



December 15th, 2017

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

The Woman in the Window

By A.J. Finn

Bad Romance

 By Heather Demetrios

December 12th, 2017


Book Review:

Nightfall

By Stephen Leather


With all of the book options out there, I like to think that I am picky when it comes to purchasing a book.  I’ll be patient, waiting for it to go on sale, and when it does, I’ll read the sample to make sure that it is my kind of story.  July of last year, that’s exactly what I did with Nightfall.


*Read my full review...


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​More books have been added

to this week's list of new

releases.  Enjoy!


     New Releases!


- Team Player:  A Sports 

Romance Anthology  - By

LJ Shen, Kennedy Ryan,

Adriana Locke, Mandi Beck,

Emma Scott, Charleigh Rose,

Ella Fox, Sara Ney, Meghan

Quinn, Kate Stewart, Rochelle

Paige -  Eleven original, never-

before-seen stories! 


It Must've Been the

Mistletoe  - By L.P. Dover

- Holiday romance!
Finding your soul mate is a

dream Adeline Hamilton

thought was just that ... a dream. After several failed relationships, she realizes she's not capable of falling in love. The only passion she's ever had is teaching U.S. History at the local high school.
A week before Christmas, Adeline is all set for her best friend's wedding, even though she dreads having to go to it alone. But when she's given a Christmas wish that could change her future forever, she's whisked away to the past, to a completely different place and time. It's also when she meets him, William Blair, the man who steals her heart...


- The Heart That Breaks  - By Inglath Cooper - She has

dreams of moving to Nashville!  

But when up and coming songwriter Nathan Hanson strikes up a conversation with her in their senior Lit class one afternoon, Ann-Elizabeth knows full well the foolishness of adding something else to her life that she will never be able to keep. But Nathan will show her it’s only the heart that breaks that can fully know the absolute necessity of love, that it is the blood coursing through a life here on earth. 


Torrid Little Affair  – By Kendall Ryan – Standalone.

Office romance!  

The best way to get over someone is to get under someone 

else. And I have the perfect candidate all picked out. 

My new assistant is tempting beyond belief with her curvy 

body and take-no-shit attitude.  All those luscious curves, and a juicy a** I’m already in love with. God, the things that I would do to that a**…
But it’s the haunted look in her 
eyes that speaks to me. Like 

she’s taken just as much shit in her past as I have—maybe more. We both deserve a little fun. 
Love can’t fix everything. Mind-blowing sex and a few killer orgasms, on the other hand?

I have a feeling those might do the trick.


- Man Hands  – By Sarina Bowen & Tanya Eby – Romantic comedy!

BRYNN
At thirty-four, I’m reeling from a divorce. I don’t want to party or try to move on. I just want to stay home and post a new recipe on my blog: Brynn’s Dips and Balls.
But my friends aren’t having it. Get out there again, they say. It will be fun, they say. I’m still taking a hard pass. 
Free designer cocktails, they say. And that’s a game-changer. 
Too bad my ex shows up with his new arm candy. That’s when I lose my mind. But when my besties dare me to leap on the first single man I see, they don't expect me to actually go through with it.
TOM
All I need right now is some peace and quiet while my home renovation TV show is on hiatus. But when a curvy woman in a red wrap dress charges me like she’s a gymnast about to mount my high bar, all I can do is brace myself and catch her. What follows is the hottest experience of my adult life. 
I want a repeat, but my flying Cinderella disappears immediately afterward. She doesn’t leave a glass slipper, either—just a pair of panties with chocolate bunnies printed on them. 
But I will find her.


- Chaos & Control  – By Season Vining

When Wren Hart returns to her sleepy little Midwest town after years on the road, she finds the last thing she'd ever expect—a reason to stay. And that reason has a hard body, a knowledge of vinyl, and a crooked smile that sends her reeling.
Preston is a gorgeous, mysterious man, whose life is ruled by routine and order. Yet somehow, he finds Wren and her wild ways captivating. While their relationship grows in a delicate dance of chaos and control, the danger Wren thought she'd left behind during her travels is inching ever closer…and just may destroy them both.


- Sleighed It:  A Billionaire Bad Boys Holiday Novella  – By Max Monroe

Question: What would you do if every holiday you ever spent with your family ended in disaster?
I’ll tell you: you’d cry.
I know, because each and every celebration with my family ends in chaos—and I’ve had more than my share of mental breakdowns because of it.
But I’m done with the tears, the insanity—I refuse to take it anymore.
This Christmas is going to be perfect.
I’ll put Thatch in a fluffing Santa Claus suit and have him tap dance to Jingle Bells, if I have to. I deserve Christmas smiles and that feel-good Christmas high I’ve been missing. 
My name is Georgia Brooks, and by Christmas night, my husband, my kids, and my closest friends will be thinking only one fluffing thing… 
She Sleighed It.


- Sweet Life (Sugar Rush) – By Nina Lane - This book can be read as a standalone.
He knows if she's been bad or good.
Amidst the sugarplums and mistletoe, fashion stylist Julia Bennett is every inch a scrooge. Known for her ice-queen ways, she's having a meltdown over a botched business deal and an upcoming milestone birthday. Add the pressure of forced holiday cheer, and she's ready to dive into the spiked eggnog and not come out until summer.
Warren Stone, president and owner of the Sugar Rush Candy Company, is determined to make Julia slow down and enjoy the holidays. As her friend and confidante for thirteen years, he knows her better than anyone. But when decking the halls leads them to an explosive, sexy night, everything suddenly changes. 
When Warren decides Julia is all he wants for Christmas, will she risk their longtime friendship for the gift of love?


- Dawn of Surrender:  A MacKenzie Family Novella (1001 Dark Nights)  – By Liliana Hart 

Cole MacKenzie is content to be the sheriff of Surrender, Montana, but he’s needed for a greater purpose. The United States needs a U.S. Marshal with a certain kind of experience to track the leader of the notorious Silver Creek Bandits, as they leave a trail of bodies in their wake with every bank they rob. The leader is smart, cunning, and ruthless. And he's also his brother.
Elizabeth MacKenzie never dreamed she’d marry Cole MacKenzie, but thanks to her father’s meddling, Cole was hers to have and to hold. Forever. She needed an equal, not a man to rule her life, and Cole fit the bill every in every way. If only he loved her. 
One heart is broken and the other is bent on revenge, but love is a choice, and it's one Cole and Elizabeth are determined to make.


- Miss Mechanic  – By Emma Hart - Romantic comedy!

Two mechanics. One rivalry.
She'll prove she's as good as she says she is.
He'll prove her place isn't under the hood.
It's over it.
"Don't let the a-holes get you down."
For twenty-six years, I lived by my daddy's motto. Which is why "Mechanic Wanted" is all it takes for me to apply for the job at the garage we once owned.
And I meet the biggest a-hole of them all.
Dexter Ryne. Hotter than Hell in July and a firm believer that my place is on reception, taking phone calls and looking pretty. Not getting dirty under the hood of a car.
Determined to prove each other wrong, we make a deal.
I have three weeks to prove my worth as a mechanic. If I don't, I'm on telephone duty.
If I do, he'll accept defeat and make my job permanent.
Now, all I have to do is fight my attraction to the cocky little... beep.
Problem is, an engine isn't the only thing he knows how to make purr...


- Tales from Cushman Row:  A Compendium of Love (Venery)  – By Suanne Laqueur - For fans of the Venery series, author Suanne Laqueur offers a compendium of love scenes -unpublished chapters, character sketches and assorted reflections about Javier Landes and Steffen Finch. 

- Getting Down to Business – By Allison B. Hanson

Some jobs come with unexpected benefits . . .
Alyssa runs her personal life just like her professional one: smoothly and efficiently. She learned in the worst way possible that investing her heart in a relationship only leads to disaster, and she won’t take that risk again. Pleasure is still on the table though—as long as there are no feelings involved. Until a one-night stand leaves a lasting impression.
When after-work drinks lead to an after-hours hookup, Grayson finds himself playing by Alyssa’s rules—but she leaves him wanting more. Even when they discover they work for the same company, Alyssa is all business—on the outside, at least. As far as she’s concerned, keeping Grayson at a safe distance is now part of her job description, even if it’s her most challenging task. But when her living situation falls apart, Grayson makes her an offer she can’t refuse . . .
The terms of their new merger are strict: roommates only; hands off. But every contract can be broken—and every heart can be melted—if the deal is sweet enough . . .


- Ford:  7 Brides for 7 Soldiers  - By Samantha Chase

There are three things Ford Garrison wants more than anything: to build, to report to no one, and the chance to live his life without the prying eyes of the good folks of Eagle’s Ridge. Having spent ten years in the Navy as part of their construction battalion, he was able to live out most of that dream. Two out three wasn’t bad, right? Now that he’s out of the service, things aren’t falling into place quite as easily as he hoped and he ends up back home with all eyes on him.
It wasn’t as if Callie had gone out of her way to end up in Ford’s path, but somehow that happened all on its own and the town gossips were having a field day! Could she help it that she was living in the house Ford had hoped to claim as his own or that the work on his grandmother’s ranch meant they were living not fifty-feet away from each other?
Ford was determined to come home, do a job to help his grandmother and leave. Callie James is a distraction and she represents everything he has spent years running away from. Now he’s at odds with his friends, his family and himself about where his home and future are going to be. 
Could he walk away from Eagle’s Ridge a second time?


- The V Card  – By Lauren Blakely & Lili Valente – Romantic comedy!

When you think about how easy it is to lose keys, phones, sunglasses and your dignity on social media, you might figure it'd be a cinch for me to ditch my V Card. 
You'd be wrong.
At 25, I run a successful business, live in a fantastic apartment, and have fabulous friends to go out with any night of the week. And yet I'm still a card-carrying member of a club I don't want to belong to anymore. Good thing I know just the man for the deflowering job—my brother’s business partner and best friend. 
Graham Campbell is charming, smart, and, I’m told, oh-so-skilled in the sack. As long as I keep my eyes on the prize, there’s no way this pluck-the-flower project could possibly complicate matters.
***
Work and pleasure. As the CEO of a fast-growing company, I've been enjoying both to the fullest. What do I do when the board throws me for an unexpected loop so I can keep my business in my hands? I enlist the help of my best friend's little sister since she holds a big stake in the company. But then I learn there's another big stake she wants. 
The one between my legs.
I can do this. Seven nights to teach her everything I know in the bedroom. There's no way I'll fall for her, even though she’s earning top grades in every single lesson. And turns out I’m learning something too. The trouble is I don’t have the answer key to what to do when I fall hard for her.
And that throws a whole new hitch in my plans.

- The Beast Within (Conversion #5)  – By S.C. Stephens - Paranormal romance!

Nika Adams has had a challenging year. She gave her heart to Hunter Evans, only to have him break it. But Nika refuses to give up hope. Not when there's a chance she can save her true-love—even if she must save him from himself.
Julian Adams finally knows what he wants, and is truly happy. But when he gets mixed up in Nika's suicide mission to save her wayward boyfriend, he begins to wonder if his dream girl can handle the dangerous life that comes with being an Adams.


- Thresholds (The Walsh Series #8)  - By Kate Canterbary

Twas the weekend before Christmas, when all through the North End
Not a Walsh had his life together, not even his friends;
The parties were planned by the foodies with care,
In hopes that Wes and Erin would soon find their way there;
The men were stressing over last minute shopping lists and plans,
While the ladies were busy with work and nesting and finding the right paella pans;
When out in the dining room there arose such a clatter,
The Halsted dogs sprang from their beds to see what was the matter;
They whistled and shouted and called each other names,
While the secrets and announcements and surprises quickly came;
So onto another adventure they flew
With the sleigh full of Walshes, and the Commodore too—
As they continued arguing and clamoring around, 
Down the road an unexpected visitor came with a bound;
But it wasn't long until couples were all nestled snug in their beds,
With new memories of steamy holiday nights dancing in their heads.


- Forever Christmas (The Forever Series)  - By Deanna Roy - Forever Christmas can be read as a standalone, but if this is your first introduction to the Forever novels, the author recommends reading  Forever Innocent  to understand their backstory.  Good news!  Forever Innocent  is FREE!


- Never Again  - By Lilliana Anderson 

​Not even a year after marrying the guy she'd thought was the love of her life, Cora Knowles is already requesting a divorce. To her recollection, philandering was not a part of her wedding vows, and she wasn't about to stand by while 'Sally from accounts' rolled about on her Egyptian cotton sheets. 
While trying to soothe her broken heart with copious amounts of cake and liqueur chocolates, her best friend, Olivia suggests that the best way to get over someone, is to get under someone else. Problems arise when the one Cora 'gets under' turns out to be the the son of the Director of Prosecution—her boss. Worse still, he's young. Younger than Cora originally thought, and younger than she's comfortable with. 
But, when the attraction is undeniable, Cora needs to decide whether she'll turn her back on the enigmatic Brandon Sharp, or take a risk and follow her heart, even though she promised herself she'd never do that again...



Upcoming Release/Pre-order!


- Room Mates (The Series)  by Kendall Ryan is releasing on December 26th and is available for pre-order for only $0.99 cents!  4 complete friends-to-lovers rom-com standalones.

It includes:  

The Room Mate - Her best friend's younger brother moves in and despite being off-limits, he is oh-so-tempting.
The Play Mate - Her older brother's best friend becomes the financial backer to her lingerie company then these two office-mates decide to become play mates. What's the worst that could happen?
The House Mate - He's the hot single dad, and she's the new live-in nanny. This is swoonworthy perfection if you like single dad romance!
The Soul Mate - The smoking-hot one-night stand she was never supposed to see again? She's pregnant, and he’s her hot doctor. 


Happy Reading!