2 Book Lovers Reviews

I'm definitely not in a rut right now!  :)

December 12th, 2017


Book Review:
All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
By Bryn Greenwood
*Top Recommendation!*


This is not an easy book to review.  In fact, it wasn’t an easy book to read.  It  deals with difficult subject matter that is raw, gritty, and 
extremely emotional.  Was it a good book?  No.  I would actually say that it is a great book.  I struggled while reading it, but that was in no way reflective of the writing style.  I even wrestled with what to 
rate this book.  Normally when I read a book, a five star read will be a book that I simply cannot put down.  All the Ugly and Wonderful Things  was a book that I needed to take breaks from.  It was an emotionally taxing read that I felt, at times, I had to take a breather from.  I was completely invested in the story, and I wanted to know how the story would play out, but I just needed those little reprieves to escape the intensity of it all.  With that being said, this is a book that I can’t seem to stop thinking about.  It made me feel so much.  Whether it evoked good or bad feelings, the one thing that can’t be disputed is that this book makes you  feel.

​*Read my full review...



December 5th, 2017


Book Review:
The Female of the Species
By Mindy McGinnis
*Top Recommendation!*


I can’t believe I waited so long to read this book!  I was craving
something different, a book that would evoke emotions and make me want to read it compulsively…and this book hit all of the marks. 

The Female of the Species  is a fast-paced read that is equally thrilling, disturbing, gruesome, relevant, and thought-
provoking.  The subject matter is topical, difficult, and uncomfortable.  It should be.  The author did a phenomenal job of developing the characters and telling their story in such an honest, raw, and gritty manner.  I was pulled into the story right from the first page and held captive until the final page.

*Read my full review...



December 1st, 2017


Book Review:
Sustained
(The Legal Briefs #2)
By Emma Chase


This is the second book in  The Legal Briefs Series, but it can easily be read as a standalone.  I haven’t read the first book in the series, and I never felt lost or as though I was missing any crucial information in order to enjoy this novel. 

This is actually my first time reading a book by Emma Chase.  If you read a lot of romance novels, you may find that Jake Becker sounds a tad familiar.  He’s a successful, career-oriented man who enjoys the company of beautiful women, but prefers that their company be kept to one night.  Yup, you guessed it, he’s not interested in having a relationship.  But don’t be fooled by this common trope.  While the story is told completely from Jake’s point-of-view, in my opinion, it’s the children in this book who truly steal the show.

*Read my full review...​​​​



November 28th, 2017


Book Review:
The Wall of Winnipeg and Me
By Mariana Zapata
*Top Recommendation!*


The Wall of Winnipeg and Me is slow burn perfection.  This was my first time reading a book by Mariana Zapata – and it certainly won’t be my last.  I feel like I’m a little late getting to the party, but better late than never.  When you’re reading a book that is over 600 pages and you’re completely invested, savoring every word, and dread reaching the final page, you know that you have found your ideal read.  I didn’t want this book to end.  It could’ve gone on for another 600 pages and I would have been ecstatic.

My favorite kind of romances are the ones that take their time and build the anticipation.  Mariana Zapata excels at this.  If you’re looking for a quick love story, you won’t find it within the pages of this book.  This book had perfect pacing, perfect flow, and kept me completely enthralled with the story from start to finish.  

*Read my full review...​



November 21st, 2017


Book Review:
God-Shaped Hole
By Tiffanie DeBartolo
*Top Recommendation!*


I’ve had this book sitting on my Kindle for years.  I had read so many wonderful words and lovely reviews about this book that I decided to keep it for just the right time.  I’m not sure what or when I thought that “right time” was, but I think I just knew that this book was  going to hit me hard, that it was going to be one that could potentially stay on my mind for a long time and, yes, I will admit that I may have been a little afraid and nervous about finally taking the leap into  God-Shaped Hole.  But you can’t live your life in fear, right?  I’m so happy that I finally took the plunge.

This book hit all the marks.  It was smart, witty, quirky, romantic, and thought-provoking.  It was like inhaling a big breath of fresh air.  Corny?  Perhaps, but that’s exactly how it made me feel.  Right from the beginning, this book exuded a special quality that I was immediately drawn to.  From the way that Beatrice and Jacob met to their passionate relationship to the highs and lows that they endured, I was pulled into their story and never wanted to leave.

*Read my full review...



November 20th, 2017


Cover Reveal:
Over Us, Over You
By Whitney G.
Releasing December 7th!
Available for pre-order:  Amazon  ~  iBooks 


Synopsis:

Subject: Delete this message after you read it...

Dear Hayley,
I'm assuming you're still hungover, so I'll make this brief.
Last night, you slipped under my sheets (without my permission), and we almost had sex. I got the hell out of the bed once I realized it was you, and I took you home.
That's the story.
The end.
Period.
Just in case you've forgotten, you're my best friend's little sister. We will never be anything more. (We can't be anything more.) Our previous friendship is still unresolved--or "over" in your terms, so I'd prefer if we worked on becoming 'just friends' again since you're in town.
Nonetheless, I'm not a man who leaves questions unanswered--even the drunken ones, so to properly close our inappropriate conversation:
1) Yes, I liked the way your lips felt against mine when you were on top of me.
2) Yes, I do "prefer" rough sex, but I'm pretty sure I wasn't rough with you.
3) No, I had no idea you were still a virgin...


This message never happened,
Corey



November 16th, 2017


New Release  &  Review:
Constant
(The Confidence Game #1)
By Rachel Higginson


Well, this book was certainly different from what I’ve read by Rachel Higginson in the past.  The synopsis didn’t give too much away.  I wasn’t really sure what I was going to be getting into with this story and these characters, but I was immediately intrigued.  Constant  is a fast-paced romantic suspense that pulled me into the story, kept me riveted to the pages, and has left me wanting more.

*Read my full review...



November 14th, 2017


New Release  &  Review:
Wish You Were Mine
By Tara Sivec


Wish You Were Mine is an emotional, heartfelt friends-to-lovers romance.  With the sweet times that will melt your heart to the painful angst that will break it, Tara Sivec delivers a story that will 
ultimately move you.

I am always drawn to this trope, especially when the friendship between the characters begins in their childhood years.  I love 
witnessing the relationship grow, change, and mature over time.  While the story does focus primarily on the present day, the author gives her readers glimpses into the past, into the bond that developed between three children.  It allows you to feel as though you know the characters, and see how important and special they are to each other.  Though years, misunderstandings, and circumstances had separated these friends, their feelings never wavered.  

*Read my full review...



November 10th, 2017


Book Review:
Drive
By Kate Stewart
*Top Recommendation!*


I am a reader who is constantly chasing the books that will consume my thoughts, make my heart flutter and ache, and make me feel every emotion right in the pit of my stomach.  I want to become so invested in the characters and the story that the book can’t be pried out of my fingers.  Drive  was that book. 

I wanted a book that was going to put my heart through the wringer, and that’s exactly what I got.  It hooked me right from the first page and kept me a willing passenger on Stella’s journey.  I adored Stella.  Drive is told solely from Stella’s perspective, and I couldn’t have been happier.  I felt as though I was right beside her, feeling the highs and lows, the hopes and dreams, the triumphs and pitfalls, and falling in love right along with her.  She was strong, fiery, opinionated, optimistic, caring, and spoke her mind.  She knew what she wanted out of life, and she wasn’t afraid to go after her goals.  I loved her tenacity.  Stella was nothing if not a passionate young woman.  When she fell in love, she fell hard, fast, and with everything she had.  Boy, did she ever!

*Read my full review...   



November 9, 2017


Book Review:
Thirty Day Boyfriend
By Whitney G.


This was just the quick, fun pick me up that I needed.  After 

spending a couple of weeks reading books that ripped my
heart to shreds, I wanted something light and entertaining to
change the pace a bit.  Thirty Day Boyfriend  did the trick.

I do love an office romance.  Throw in a boss/CEO who is a cold, demanding workaholic and I’m all in.  Most employees would cower to a man in Nicholas Wolf’s position, but not Emily Johnson.  She may have been his executive assistant – and a darn good one – but she didn’t take any of his crap.  She was feisty, smart-mouthed, and hated every minute of her job with the head of Wolf Industries.  In fact, she tried on a daily basis to get out of her contract with him…she even tried getting fired.  There was great banter and tension between them, and this just added to the overall enjoyment of the book.

*Read my full review...   



November 3rd, 2017


Book Review:
Without Merit
By Colleen Hoover


I say this every time I review one of Colleen Hoover’s books, but I'll say it again, she is a must-read author for me.  Whenever I find out that she has a new book coming out, it immediately has a home on my to-be-read list.  Without Merit  is a bit different from what I have read by her in the past, but it still has all of her signature wit, clever writing, and is, of course, full of heart.

*Read my full review...


November 2nd. 2017


Thursday Thoughts:

This week's segment:  

Help!  I've fallen in a rut and I can't get out!


Do you ever find yourself in a reading rut? 

Me to the book:  It’s not you, it’s me.


*Read the full blog post...



October 31st, 2017


New Release & Review:

Juniper Unraveling
By Keri Lake


I was in the mood to read something completely different, a book

that would take me on a thrilling adventure away from the everyday, while still providing a memorable love story.  With the gorgeous

cover and intriguing synopsis, I had a feeling that this book had the

potential to give me the reading experience that I was looking for.  Juniper Unraveling  hit all the marks for me.

It had been quite some time since I had read a dystopian novel.  It’s always interesting and frightening to ponder what humanity would be reduced to in the event of a worldwide catastrophe.  How would we cope, rebuild, and carry on without all of the comforts that we’ve grown accustomed to?  How would we interact with each other?  Keri Lake’s version of a world that has been forever changed is gritty, disturbing, raw, and rife with emotion.  What happens when the most harrowing threat to humankind is also the most familiar?

*Read my full review...




Shelley's Daily Blog

Bad Romance

By Heather Demetrios


What she's reading now.