2 Book Lovers Reviews

February 24th, 2017


Book Review:
Undeclared
(Burnham College, #2)
By Julianna Keyes
*Top Recommendation!*


​Undeclared was one of my most anticipated reads for 2017.  I adored the writing style, characters, and humor that made Undecided one of my favorite books of 2016, and I could not wait to delve into this one.  Julianna Keyes did not disappoint.  This book was everything

that I was hoping it would be.  It brought me back to the campus with that familiar cast of characters that I enjoyed so much.  It was brimming with all the humor, tension, and chemistry that makes the New Adult genre so irresistible.   

If you’ve read Undecided, you are already acquainted with Kellan McVey.  This book is written entirely from his point of view.  Julianna Keyes did a fantastic job of channeling a college-aged young man.  I felt as though I was right there with him and his group of friends, experiencing all of the high jinks and tribulations that accompanied them.

*Read my full review...


February 19th, 2017


Book Review:

Preston's Honor

By Mia Sheridan


Preston’s Honor was everything that I’ve come to expect from a book by Mia Sheridan.  Whenever I sit down to read one of her books, I never feel as though I’m merely reading the words on the pages.  She pulls me into the story, I am able to visualize it all unfolding, and I feel every single emotion. 

Preston’s Honor is a friends-to-lovers story, it’s a second chance romance, and it’s a story that is relevant in society today.  It’s a multi-layered story that is poignant, beautiful, and touching.  Once again, reading this author’s work has been an experience.  I was immediately invested in the lives of the characters.  I felt all of their happiness, pain, heartache, and love right along with them.  When an author is able to connect with their readers on an emotional level - that is the sign of great writing.


*Read my full review...


February 17th, 2017


Chapter Reveal:
Mister Wrong
By Nicole Williams
Releasing February 26th!


Chapter One

Matt

He was wrong for her.
That was the only thought running through my head as I rechecked every inch of the church. So completely wrong for her. This latest disappearing act, the most recent proof. He’d skipped out on her
before, but today was different.
Today, they were supposed to get married. Today, Cora Matthews would become Cora Adams. She’d have my last name. But not in the way I’d hoped for—not that I hadn’t accepted that years ago.
She’d chosen him. My brother. My twin brother. She’d chosen him forever ago, and that was that. She’d been as good as Mrs. Jacob Adams since the day Cora Matthews first showed up in our lives eighteen years ago.
At least until today, when Cora was going to be marching toward an empty altar in fifteen minutes if I didn’t find the supposed Mister Right. Jacob wasn’t the right one—for a dozen reasons I could list—but he was who she wanted and he’d done his best to convince her she was all he wanted too. But I knew better...

*Read more & see the full Chapter Reveal...


February 14th, 2017


Release Blitz & Review:
In the Moment
By Alison G. Bailey


Alison G. Bailey always writes with so much heart.  It’s so easy to get swept up in the lives of her characters and to feel the emotions right along with them.  


In the Moment may be a novella, but it packs a punch for a book of its size.  It’s a quick read that immediately pulls you into Cadence’s life.  Right at the beginning, my heart plummeted into the pit of my stomach.  I knew that if anyone could put my heart through the emotional wringer in a short amount of time, it would be this author.  She achieves this by creating characters that could be your own friends, they are likable and relatable.

*See the Release Blitz, read my full review & enter the giveaway...    



February 10th, 2017


Book Review:
Requiem
(Reverie, Book 3)
By Lauren E. Rico


Requiem is the riveting conclusion to the story that began in Reverie and Rhapsody.  This series needs to be read in order to ensure a complete understanding of the characters and an overall
enjoyment of the story.  I’ve been a fan of this series since the beginning, and reaching the end is somewhat bittersweet.  Once you get to the final book in a series, you feel as though you know the characters, you’ve become invested in the story and their lives.  Not only is there great anticipation to delve back into the story, but also a hint of trepidation as to how it will all come to an end.  Being invested in the characters, I wanted nothing more than to see them get their just rewards and to feel a sense of satisfaction with the conclusion.  Lauren E. Rico did not disappoint, in fact, she went above and beyond what I had hoped for. 

*Read my full review...

*Read my review of Reverie (Reverie #1).

*Read my review of Rhapsody (Reverie #2).


February 9th, 2017


Cover Reveals/Book Announcements!​

*Just "click" on the cover image or book title

to read the synopsis.*


Mister Wrong  by Nicole Williams is releasing on February 26th!  She married the wrong brother!

You're the Only One  by E.M. Abel is releasing on April 11th!  Friends-to-lovers!

​- The Hard Truth About Sunshine  by Sawyer Bennett is releasing on March 28th & is available for  pre-order!  This book sounds incredibly emotional.

Figure Eight  by Calia Read is releasing on March 12th!  I love the intriguing synopsis!


- Wrecked  by JB Salsbury is releasing on July 18th & is available for pre-order.

Like A Memory  by Abbi Glines is releasing on February 14th & is available for  pre-order!  

Undeclared (Burnham College #2)  by Julianna Keyes has a release date!  It's releasing on February 27th & is available for  

pre-order.  Read my review of Undecided.​


February 7th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Under Her Skin
(Blank Canvas, Book 1)
By Adriana Anders


As soon as I began reading this book, I knew that it was going to be a good one.  It’s always exciting to find a new author whose writing and storytelling strikes a chord with me.  I was immediately pulled into the story and the lives of the characters and, quite honestly, I didn’t want to put it down.

Uma is on a mission to erase the signs of abuse that were etched into her skin by her abusive boyfriend.  She has arrived in the small community of Blackwood, Virginia to begin the process of healing.  Leaving her old life behind, she wants to start fresh, make a new beginning for herself.  Living in Blackwood is a means to an end, an initial and crucial pit stop in her journey to a new life.  Having only the clothes on her back and a couple of dollars in her pocket, Uma needs to find a job and a safe place to stay.  Answering a peculiar ad in the local newspaper for a caretaker for an elderly lady is just the stroke of luck that she needs…or so she thinks.

*Read my full review...




February 3rd, 2017


Book Review:
Wild Reckless
By Ginger Scott
*Top Recommendation!*


It’s not very often that I read the same author back-to-back, but after reading one book by Ginger Scott, I immediately wanted more of her writing.  Once again, this author’s writing has touched my heart
and soul.  Her words and storytelling ability took me on an emotional journey alongside the characters, immersed me in their lives, and have made  me incredibly happy to be a reader.

Wild Reckless was tugging at my heartstrings as soon as I began reading the prologue.  From that moment on, I knew that Owen Harper was going to own a piece of my heart.  The prologue was essential for understanding Owen Harper and his behavior.  His past certainly didn’t excuse his brash, mean-spirited, reckless behavior, but it did give the reader a glimpse at the young boy whose life was forever changed on what was supposed to be the best day of his life.

*Read my full review...



Book News!

- The synopsis for  The Forbidden  by Jodi Ellen Malpas has been revealed!  This book is releasing on August 8th & is available for  pre-order.


Here's the synopsis:
Annie has never experienced the 'spark' with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It's not just a spark that ignites between them. It's an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who's had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he's forbidden. 


January 27th, 2017


Book Review:
The Hard Count
By Ginger Scott
*Top Recommendation!*


The Hard Count is so much more than a sports romance.  It’s a book about belonging and family, whether it’s in your neighborhood, among your peers, or on a team.  It’s about seeing someone for their 
ability, their potential, and their heart instead of their socio-economic status, where they lay their head at night, or the color of their skin.  This book is filled with an abundance of heart, emotion, love, and hope.  I felt every heartfelt word right down to my toes.  Words can’t properly express how much I enjoyed every single moment that I spent reading this book.

I’ll be the first to admit, I know very little about football (Gasp!), but throughout my university degree I rarely missed a home game.  I cheered when everyone else did.  I chanted and sang along with the rest of the crowd.  I wore my school colors with a sense of pride.  For every one of those games, it didn’t matter which residence or house we lived in, it didn’t matter what degree we were studying towards, it didn’t matter what city we called home.  We were all there together for those four quarters with one goal and purpose in mind, to support our team, to be united as one, and to hopefully emerge victorious.  That’s the true beauty of sports; if only everyday life could replicate those same feelings.

*Read my full review...



January 26th, 2017


Book News!


A Boy Like You  by Ginger Scott  is releasing on March 3rd & is available for  pre-order
Here's the synopsis:
They say everyone’s a superhero to someone. I’m not sure who I’m supposed to save, but I know who saved me. 

We were kids. His name was Christopher. And up until the day he pulled me from death’s grip, he was nothing more than a boy I felt sorry for. In a blink of an eye, he became the only person who made me feel safe.

And then he disappeared. 

Now I’m seventeen. I’m not a kid anymore. I haven’t been for years. While death didn’t take me that day, the things that happened left me with scars—the kind that robbed me of everything I once loved and drove me into darkness. But more than anything else, that day—and every day since—has taken away my desire to dream. 

I wasn’t going to have hope. I wouldn’t let myself wish. Those things—they weren’t for girls like me. That’s what I believed…until the new boy. 

He’s nothing like the old boy. He’s taller and older. His hair is longer, and his body is lean—strong and ready for anything. I don’t feel sorry for him. And sometimes, I hate him. He challenges me. From the moment I first saw him standing there on the baseball field, he pushed me—his eyes constantly questioning, doubting…daring. Still, something about him—it feels…familiar. 

He says his name is Wes. But I can’t help but feel like he’s someone else. Someone from my past. Someone who’s come back to save me.

This time, though, he’s too late. Josselyn Winters, the girl he once knew, is gone. I am the threat; I am my worst enemy. And he can’t save me from myself.​


- The cover for  The Butterfly Project  by Emma Scott has just been revealed.  This book is releasing in February!
Here's the synopsis:
"Where you are is home..."


At age fourteen, Zelda Rossi witnessed the unthinkable, and has spent the last ten years hardening her heart against the guilt and grief. She channels her pain into her art: a dystopian graphic novel where vigilantes travel back in time to stop heinous crimes—like child abduction—before they happen. Zelda pitches her graphic novel to several big-time comic book publishers in New York City, only to have her hopes crash and burn. Circumstances leave her stranded in an unfamiliar city, and in an embarrassing moment of weakness, she meets a guarded young man with a past he’d do anything to change...


Beckett Copeland spent two years in prison for armed robbery, and is now struggling to keep his head above water. A bike messenger

by day, he speeds around New York City, riding fast and hard but going nowhere, his criminal record holding him back almost as much as the guilt of his crime. 

Zelda and Beckett form a grudging alliance of survival, and in between their stubborn clash of wills, they slowly begin to provide each other with the warmth of forgiveness, healing, and maybe even love. But when Zelda and Beckett come face to face with their pasts, they must choose to hold on to the guilt and regret that bind them, or let go and open their hearts for a shot at happiness. ​




Shelley's Daily Blog

The Someday Girl

By Julie Johnson


What she's reading now.