2 Book Lovers Reviews

Shelley's Daily Blog

Consumed​

By J.R. Ward

What she's reading now.

September 14th, 2018


Book Review:
Bring Down the Stars
(Beautiful Hearts Duet #1)
By Emma Scott


She had me at “Not Your Typical Love Triangle.”  Angst, emotions galore, unrequited love?  Yes!  Shatter my heart, I can take it.  Emma Scott held true to her promise, this book is everything that she said it would be.  If you’re a reader who tends to run in the opposite direction of a love triangle, reconsider.  This book will pull you in with its beautiful story, endearing characters, and heartfelt prose.  

*Read my full review...​​



September 7th, 2018


Review Tour
Harsh
By Debra Doxer


Synopsis:

Each day dies with night, and every dream fades in the morning.
That's what Vincent Rossi knows. His life has been one tough break after another. 
Even when good things happen, they get destroyed because that's how the universe works. It gives and it takes, but it mostly takes.
No matter how terrible today is, there's always the promise of tomorrow.
That's what Annalise Cantana knows. She's experienced tragedy and triumph in her life. The tragedy happened to her. It was beyond her control. The triumph is her spirit, which, despite the odds, remains unbroken.
When this cynical man is hired to protect the woman who refuses to dwell on the negative, their lives become intertwined. Like opposing forces, Vincent and Annalise repel and attract until he is unable to resist the light she brings to each day. She thaws the ice in his veins and makes him smile. She cares about him in a way he doesn't deserve.
But hidden beneath the closeness building between them lies a secret that could extinguish that light forever. It would devastate Annalise if she found out, and would unravel the hope Vincent finally dares to embrace. 
In the end, he must make an impossible choice: hold tight to the first glimmer of happiness in his life, or forsake it all to save her and watch another dream turn to dust.

*See the full tour post & read my review...



September 4th, 2018


Release Day Blast
Harsh
By Debra Doxer


Each day dies with night, and every dream fades in the morning.
That's what Vincent Rossi knows. His life has been one tough break after another.  Even when good things happen, they get destroyed 
because that's how the universe works. It gives and it takes, but it mostly takes.
No matter how terrible today is, there's always the promise of tomorrow.
That's what Annalise Cantana knows. She's experienced tragedy and triumph in her life. The tragedy happened to her. It was beyond her control. The triumph is her spirit, which, despite the odds, remains unbroken.
When this cynical man is hired to protect the woman who refuses to dwell on the negative, their lives become intertwined. Like opposing forces, Vincent and Annalise repel and attract until he is unable to resist the light she brings to each day. She thaws the ice in his veins and makes him smile. She cares about him in a way he doesn't deserve.
But hidden beneath the closeness building between them lies a secret that could extinguish that light forever. It would devastate Annalise if she found out, and would unravel the hope Vincent finally dares to embrace. 
In the end, he must make an impossible choice: hold tight to the first glimmer of happiness in his life, or forsake it all to save her and watch another dream turn to dust.

*See the full Release Blast...



August 31st, 2018


Book Review:
How to Kill a Rock Star
By Tiffanie DeBartolo
*Top Recommendation!*


I finished reading  How to Kill a Rock Star  over a week ago and I’ve been struggling to find the right words to write this review.  I feel as though I have so much to say, and yet I’m not even sure where to begin.  I could just say, “5 Stars - It was EVERYTHING,” but I feel that it deserves more than that.  I went into this book believing that it was going to give me exactly what I was looking for, but it ended up giving me so much more.  

*Read my full review...



August 24th, 2018


Book Review:
Ghosted
By  Rosie Walsh


In this tell-all age of social media, it’s difficult to contemplate the ease at which someone could ghost someone.  We all know people who insist on posting their whereabouts at each point in their day 
(they’re the same people who post pictures of their food at every meal).  Sure, you can simply not answer your phone, not reply to a text, unfriend someone, just drop off of every social media platform, and if that certain someone happens to – God forbid – actually show up at your house and ring the doorbell, well, you can always hide behind the sofa and wait for them to leave.  Ghosting is the easy, non-confrontational way out.  I would like to think that most people who have experienced this disappearing act would just give up, hold their chin up, carry on with their lives, and realize that they were  just not that into you.  For Sarah, after spending seven wonderful, romantic days with Eddie, and fully believing that he was “the one,” she couldn’t fathom that he would just vanish into thin air.

*Read my full review...



August 21st, 2018


Book Review:
You
By Caroline Kepnes


Can a character be creepy and charming?  The answer is yes.  That’s what makes this book and main character so chilling and realistic.  The most notorious criminals aren’t the guys who stand out or have
“creeper” written all over them.  It’s the good looking, charismatic, intelligent ones that go under the radar that are the scariest.  Let’s be honest, no hitchhiker is getting into a car with someone wearing a hockey goaltender’s mask or dressed like a clown.  They trust the normal guy, the guy who could be their neighbor or co-worker.  Joe is a good looking, intelligent, well-read young man, but make no mistake about it, he is a manipulative, devious, and dangerous man.  While he gives the impression of being an average guy, trust me, he is not your average Joe.

*Read my full review...


August 14th, 2018


New Release  &  Review:
Blind Kiss
By Renée Carlino
*Top Recommendation!* 


Angst lovers rejoice!  There’s nothing I enjoy more than a book that makes my heart beat faster, ties my stomach up in knots, and packs an emotional punch that leaves me reeling for days.  Blind Kiss  gave me exactly what I was looking for. 

Penny and Gavin met as participants in a psychological study that Penny’s friend was conducting.  Penny and Gavin connected right from their first kiss, which also happened to be their first introduction.  It didn’t matter how uncomfortable and unnerving the study was, Penny and Gavin clicked in that moment.  Right from the beginning, their spark was strong and shining bright.  I was in their corner, rooting for them, cheering them on, hoping that they would just be in the moment and let themselves fall, but that would’ve been too easy, wouldn’t it? 

*Read my full review...  



August 7th, 2018


New Release  &  Review:
The Simple Wild
By K.A. Tucker
*Top Recommendation!*


The Simple Wild  was one of my most highly anticipated reads of the summer.  What could be better than sitting back and letting K.A. Tucker’s captivating storytelling transport you to the wilds of 
Alaska for a story of family, reconnecting, forgiveness, and love?  This story didn’t just meet my expectations, it surpassed them.  This book had my undivided attention from the very beginning and took me on an incredible adventure that I’ll never forget.

*Read my full review...




Book Review:
Foe 
By Iain Reid


Assume nothing.  That’s my advice for any potential readers.  Don’t assume that you are going to be able to pick this book up and read only a few pages at a time.  If you’re confident that you’ll be able to see the twist coming, think again.  If you believe that you’ll be able to finish this book and then not give it a second thought, good luck with that.  After reading  I’m Thinking of Ending Things, I should’ve known that  Foe was going to be just as gripping, chilling, and mysterious.  Once again, Iain Reid’s writing captivated me from the beginning and kept my curiosity piqued until the very end.

*Read my full review...

*Read Greg's review...



July 23rd - August 5th, 2018


Summer/Vacation Reading & Recommendations


It’s the most wonderful time of the year – vacation time! 

I am planning on lounging poolside with some books…and my

family, of course.  


If you’re looking for a book or two to dive into this summer, I have some recommendations for you.  These are the books that I’ve read so far this year that have stayed with me long after I finished reading their final pages.  While they weren’t all released in 2018, this is the year that I finally got around to reading them.

I’ve also included my own vacation/summer reading list.  There are some great upcoming releases that I am looking forward to, as well as a few that I’ve had sitting on my Kindle or bookshelf for far too long.

*Read my full post...