January 11th, 2019


Book Review:
The Captives
By Debra Jo Immergut


I’m always intrigued by stories that involve seemingly good people who end up making really bad decisions.  What compels them to take a particular path?  How easy is it for them to push their morality and ethics aside?  The Captives  piqued my interest very early on.  I was drawn into the characters’ lives and wanted to know what made them tick.

*Read my full review...



December 28th, 2018


My Favorite Books of 2018!


It's the time of year where we reflect on the year that has just gone by, and also get to anticipate the year ahead.  I always enjoy reminiscing about the books that I've read and reviewed over the year, but it's never an easy feat to narrow my list down to just a 
few of my favorites.  So, how do I choose?  Well, the books on this list are the ones that I couldn't stop thinking about (even after I turned the final page), they made me want to ignore "real" life just to read them, and they touched me in some way, making me extremely happy to be a reader!

I hope that you had a wonderful 2018.  May your 2019 be filled with happiness, good health, and an abundance of good books!  Enjoy!

*See my list of favorite books of 2018!   



December 21st, 2018


Book Review:
Verity
By Colleen Hoover
*Top Recommendation!*


This was the first time that I’ve ever been creeped out by a Colleen Hoover book, but I loved this side of her writing!  It was everything that you could want from a thriller.  It was clever, gripping, suspenseful, and horrifying.  I never thought that I would use the word “horrifying” to describe one of her books, but that’s exactly what it was.

*Read my full review...



December 14th, 2018


Book Review:
The Song of David 
By Amy Harmon


There are a few authors whose books always leave me wondering how they are able to imagine such thoughtful, heartfelt stories.  Amy Harmon is certainly one of those authors.  Her writing never fails to deliver a touching story that fills me with so many emotions and leaves me completely satisfied.  I always have to pause after reading one of her books and just let all of the goodness sink in. 

*Read my full review...



December 4th, 2018


New Release  &  Review:
My Favorite Half-Night Stand
By Christina Lauren
*Top Recommendation!*


Sitting down to read  My Favorite Half-Night Stand was like sitting down with a close-knit group of friends.  Once again, this writing duo has created characters that you can’t help but feel connected to.  I felt as though I knew each one of them personally.  This book was exactly what I had hoped it would be, it was entertaining, witty, emotional, and delivered a story that I was completely invested in.


*Read my full review...



November 30th, 2018


Book News!
*Oh, I'm already looking forward to this one!*
Under the Northern Lights
By S.C. Stephens
Releasing  April 30, 2019!
Available for pre-order.


Synopsis:

Mallory Reynolds is a driven woman fueled by her passion for photographing wild animals in remote locations.  Every year she makes a trek deep into Alaska, but this time the unthinkable happens: she crash-lands after her plane stalls out in a storm. Injured, vulnerable, and threatened by the very creatures she loves, Mallory fears the worst—until she’s rescued by Michael Bradley, a mysterious mountain man living in self-imposed exile.
Mallory is grateful for Michael’s help but desperate to return home to let her family know she’s alive. Unfortunately, neither of them can leave Michael’s secluded cabin until spring. Mallory’s stuck with a stranger for months.
As Mallory recovers, a deep bond begins to form between the pair. Mallory is convinced that fate brought them together, but Michael is buried in his past, unable to move forward. Undaunted, Mallory tends to Michael’s heart as tenderly as he cared for her wounds—but will her love be enough to heal him?



November 27th, 2018


Book Review:
Tin Man
By Sarah Winman
*Top Recommendation!*


I’m not even sure where to really start with this review.  Having just finished Tin Man a few moments ago, I am still reeling from the overall mood that this story cast on me. For a shorter novel, Tin Man really left a strong impression on me and wreaked havoc on my emotions.  This book has been on my to-be-read list for quite some time, and I am so glad that I finally got around to reading it.  These characters and this story will surely be on my mind for days to come.

*Read my full review...



November 16th, 2018


Book Review:
As Dust Dances 
By Samantha Young


This book ended up surprising me.  I was expecting an enemies-to-lovers romance, a good dose of angst, and a slow-burning romance, and I got all of that, but what I didn’t expect was for this book to tug on my heartstrings so much.  If you’re looking for a well-rounded love story that invests you in the characters’ lives, look no further, this one is sure to please.

*Read my full review...



November 2nd, 2018


The fall is the perfect time to cozy up with a few creepy stories.  If you're looking for a quick, eerie escape, check out my latest reviews for three of the stories from the Dark Corners Collection.


Book Reviews:
Dark Corners Collection

- Hannah-Beast by JenniferMcMahon
- The Sleep Tight Motel by Lisa Unger
- The Tangled Woods by Emily Raboteau


*Read all three reviews...



October 26th, 2018


Book Review:
Josh & Hazel's Guide to Not Dating
By Christina Lauren
*Top Recommendation!*


I read this book from cover to cover with a big smile on my face.  There’s no other way to describe it, this book is just pure fun.  Between the adorable, quirky characters, the witty banter, and the slow burning romance that was building between these two 
friends, I was completely immersed in this story and loving every single minute of it.

*Read my full review...



October 19th, 2018


Book Review:
The Woman in the Window
By A.J. Finn


This book came highly recommended to me, in fact, every time I was between novels and perusing my books, my husband kept insisting that I read The Woman in the Window, assuring me that it was right up my alley.  Well, he was right. 

Right from the beginning, The Woman in the Window  had me on high alert.  Call me suspicious, but I didn’t trust one character in this book.  I was even beginning to have my doubts about Anna’s cat!  No, not really, but you get my point.  I felt as though I was bumbling along with Anna, trying to make sense of what was going on.  What was real?  What was a figment of her deluded, inebriated imagination? It kept my hackles rising with every new chapter.

*Read my full review...



October 9th, 2018


New Release & Review:
        Fight or Flight         
By Samantha Young
*Top Recommendation!*


Everything about this book just screamed my name.  First of all, the cover is adorable, then there’s the synopsis that hints at all of the potential banter and angst that I adore, and finally, it’s written by Samantha Young!  I’m just going to get right down to it and say that I LOVED this book!  I thoroughly enjoyed every second that I 
spent within these pages.  Fight or Flight ended up surpassing my already high expectations.  Don’t let that cute, whimsical cover fool you, this book packs a punch that you will feel in the pit of your stomach and right down to your toes.



*Read my full review...



October 2nd, 2018


New Release & Review:
Consumed
(Firefighters #1)
By J.R Ward


I was already a fan of J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series, so when I heard that she was going to be writing a new series about a
different type of brotherhood —firefighters— my interest was more than a little piqued.  This brotherhood also included a “Sister,” a feisty, strong, determined woman whose destiny and family legacy was forged in smoke and flames. 

*Read my full review...
*Read Greg's review.


Shelley's Daily Blog

Forget You Know Me​

By Jessica Strawser


What she's reading now.

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

My Favorite Books of 2018!

My Favorite Books of 2018!