2 Book Lovers Reviews

July 18th, 2018


Cover Reveal:
Harsh
By Debra Doxer
Releasing  September 4th!  

Available for pre-order.


Synopsis:

Each day dies with night, and every dream fades in the morning. 
That’s what Vincent Rossi knows. His life has been one tough break after another. Even when good things happen, they get destroyed because that’s how the universe works. It gives and it takes, but it mostly takes.
No matter how terrible today is, there’s always the promise of tomorrow.
That’s what Annalise Cantana knows. She’s experienced tragedy and triumph in her life. The tragedy happened to her. It was beyond her control. The triumph is her spirit, which, despite the odds, remains unbroken.
When this cynical man is hired to protect the woman who refuses to dwell on the negative, their lives become intertwined. Like opposing forces, Vincent and Annalise repel and attract until he is unable to resist the light she brings to each day. She thaws the ice in his veins and makes him smile. She cares about him in a way he doesn’t deserve.
But hidden beneath the closeness building between them lies a secret that could extinguish that light forever. It would devastate Annalise if she found out, and would unravel the hope Vincent finally dares to embrace.
In the end, he must make an impossible choice: hold tight to the first glimmer of happiness in his life, or forsake it all to save her and watch another dream turn to dust.

*See the full cover reveal...



July 17th, 2018


New Release  &  Review:
All Your Perfects
By Colleen Hoover
*Top Recommendation!*


There are certain books that come along that reinforce my love of reading, this is one such book.  I wasn’t very far into  All Your Perfects  when I knew that it was going to be special.  It has all of the unique qualities that I have come to expect from this author.  She pulled me in, kept me completely invested, and gave me one of the best reading experiences that I’ve had this year.

This is a truly captivating story that had my heart soaring one minute and then plummeting into my stomach in the next.  It is a raw, honest, real, and utterly heartbreaking portrayal of the devastating struggle that many married couples have to face.  

*Read my full review...




July 13th, 2018


Book Review:
Disgrace
By Brittainy C. Cherry


As soon as I read the synopsis for  Disgrace, my interest was piqued.  I’m always drawn to books that deal with marital issues, and let me be straight with you right off the bat, this book is emotional.  If you don’t want to feel a gamut of emotions, walk away now.  

Disgrace  is told in dual points of view between Grace and Jackson.  Both characters have been through a great deal in their lives.  As readers, we get to see flashes of Jackson’s youth, and how events from his past have shaped the man that he is today.  His hardened, gruff, angry behavior is simply a product of what he has endured.  While my heart did break at times for Jackson’s pain, he did infuriate me, too.  He certainly wasn’t always on his kindest, best behavior when it came to Gracelyn, and that definitely got under my skin.  Ah, but I must admit that there is something about these types of fictional characters that, despite their bullish behavior, keeps the readers flipping the pages.

* Read my full review...



July 9th, 2018


Cover Reveal:
Two Weeks' Notice
By Whitney G.
Releasing on July 20th!

Synopsis:

To Whom It May Concern:
 
I am writing this letter to formally announce my resignation from Parker International (& the arrogant, condescending CEO) effective
two weeks from today. 
 
This was a VERY EASY decision to make, as the past two years have been utterly miserable. I wish his next executive assistant all the luck in the world (she'll need it) and if my boss should need me to do anything over the next two weeks, kindly tell him that he can do it [his] goddamn self... 
 
Sincerely (Not Really), 
Tara Lauren  
 
That’s the version of my two weeks’ notice I should’ve sent to my boss, because the more professional version--the one where I said I was "grateful for all the opportunities," and "honored by all the rewarding experiences" over the years? 
That letter was rejected with his sexy, trademark smirk and an “I highly suggest you read the fine print of your contract...”
So, I did. 
And now I've realized that unless I fake my death, poison him, or find a way to renegotiate my impossible contract, I’m stuck working under one of the cockiest and most ruthless bosses in New York. 
 
Then again, I thought that was the case until he called me late last night with an emergency proposition...
 
**This is a standalone contemporary romance.**



July 3rd, 2018


Book Review:
Sometimes I Lie
By Alice Feeney


There are three things that I should tell you about this book:
1. It is extremely fast-paced.
2. I was never sure who I believed or who I could trust.
3. I never saw the twist coming.

I was in the mood for a psychological thriller, and this one certainly did not disappoint.  It pulled me in right from the beginning and
held my rapt attention until the final page.  It is a clever, intricate, well-plotted story that I am still unable to shake.

*Read my full review...



June 26th, 2018


New Release  &  Review:
The Problem with Him
(Opposites Attract #3)
By Rachel Higginson


I have been a fan of this series since the first book.  While  The 
Problem with Him
 is the third book in this series, it can be read as a standalone, however, I do highly recommend the other books, too.

Rachel Higginson has mastered the art of writing the slow burning romance.  I’m not a reader who is in any hurry to get to the main event, or in this case, the main course.  I prefer to take my time and let the anticipation build up to the boiling point, and let me tell you, the outcome was well worth the wait.  These two characters had the push and pull, the competitive edge, the witty banter, and the chemistry that just made for an overall entertaining reading experience.  

*Read my full review...



June 22nd, 2018


Book Review:
The Brightest Sunset
(The Darkest Sunrise Duet #2)
By Aly Martinez


While I will sometimes squeeze other books in between a duet or a series (just to mix things up a bit), I went right into this one as soon as I finished  The Darkest Sunrise.  I was just too curious to find out what was going to happen to these characters. 

The second book in a duet is always difficult to review.  I want to discuss the specific parts that pulled me in or had me shaking my head in frustration, but I certainly don’t want to spoil anything for any future readers.  The Brightest Sunset  picked right up where the first book left off – Phew!  Even though I had the twist figured out in the first book, I needed to know how these characters were going to navigate their new realities. 

*Read my full review... 



June 15th, 2018


Book Review:
The Darkest Sunrise 
(The Darkest Sunrise Duet #1)
By Aly Martinez


I’m a little late getting to the party with this book, but better late than never.  I’m so glad that I finally took the plunge into this book/duet.  It’s riveting, emotional, and gut-wrenching, but it also has some lighter, humorous moments and banter to help make this a well-rounded reading experience.

*Read my full review...



June 8th, 2018


Book Review:
My Oxford Year
By Julia Whelan


My expectations were quite high for  My Oxford Year.  Along with a synopsis that seemed to be written just for me, many of my fellow readers were spouting off their love for this book.  Add all of that to the fact that it was supposed to be perfect for fans of Sparks and 
Moyes  and  is being made into a major motion picture, and my
curiosity was definitely piqued.  I was eager to immerse myself in all things Oxonian, and I am pleased to say that my expectations were met.

*Read my full review...         



June 1, 2018


Blog Tour  &  Review:
I Flipping Love You
By Helena Hunting


I Flipping Love You  is a fun, lighthearted, sexy little romp through the Hamptons.  It’s high on wit and romance, and low on angst, which makes it a great addition to your own beach bag.  It’s the perfect source of escapism. 


Right from their very first introduction, I knew that Rian and Pierce’s interactions were going to be pure gold.  They had an instant spark and attraction, but their banter was what truly won me over.  While he was a little pushy, flirtatious, and smug, she was very prickly and antagonistic toward him.  It’s this kind of back and forth that, in my opinion, adds to the best chemistry between characters.  There was certainly no denying the chemistry that these two shared!​

*See the blog tour post & read my full review...



May 25th, 2018


Book Review:
Birthday Girl
By Penelope Douglas


Whenever I hear someone say, “Forbidden romance novel,” my ears perk up and I am immediately in search mode for any and all information about the book in question.  It was as if  Birthday Girl  was calling my name, taunting me with all of its potential for a butterfly-inducing angst fest.

Birthday Girl  had me right from the beginning.  I was pulled into the story from the first moment that Jordan and Pike met.  He ended up being a kind, friendly diversion to an otherwise disappointing night for Jordan.  Their meeting was completely innocent, but their connection and spark was undeniable.  Too bad Jordan was already in a relationship, and even worse that Pike was her boyfriend’s father.  I could feel my own cheeks heat up when they discovered that little nugget of news.  Awkward

*Read my full review...



May 15th, 2018


New Release  &  Review:
How to Walk Away
By Katherine Center
*Top Recommendation!*


To say that I enjoyed this book would be a major understatement.  How to Walk Away had my complete attention 
right from the first page and didn’t let me go until the end.  Actually, that’s not quite true, I continued to think about the story, the characters, and the inspiring message that this book had long after I finished reading it.

How to Walk Away  was the whole shebang.  It was tragic, heartbreaking, hopeful, witty, and romantic.  A good book is an enjoyable diversion for an hour or so, but a great book pulls the reader in, immediately invests them in the lives of the characters, and doesn’t let them go.  This was a great book!  

*Read my full review...



May 8th, 2018


New Release & Review:

What Should Be Wild

By Julia Fine   


What Should Be Wild  was a captivating read from beginning to end.  As soon as I read the synopsis for this book, my interest was piqued.  If I may be perfectly honest, the stunning cover was what 
first caught my eye.  Gorgeous, and so fitting for this dark tale.

It’s difficult to imagine a life in which you can’t truly experience touch – such a basic human interaction that we crave from the moment we take our first breath.  Maisie Cothay was not your basic, average girl.   Her slightest touch could snuff the life out of a human being or other living thing, but another swipe, poke or brush could also bring it back to life.  

*Read my full review...


Shelley's Daily Blog

The Simple Wild

By K.A. Tucker


What she's reading now.