2 Book Lovers Reviews

April 25th, 2017


Cover Reveal:
Sweet Surrender

(Sugar Rush #3)
By Nina Lane
Releasing on May 16th!
*Standalone*


Synopsis:

He’s an encyclopedia of sex. She’s ready to do some research.

Super-efficient Kate Darling needs lessons in love. As executive assistant to the CEO of the Sugar Rush Candy Company, Kate knows everything about organization and nothing about relationships. Then she literally falls into the arms of Tyler Stone, youngest Sugar Rush heir and notorious bad boy.

After a colossal screw-up involving a pretty girl and a stolen speedboat, Tyler is facing the punishment of an actual job. His father has sentenced him to organize the company library, which is Tyler’s definition of cruel and unusual punishment. But if he can convince industrious, resourceful Kate to help him, he’ll earn his release in no time.

Kate is no fool. Tyler is an authority on sex, and she wants to learn. She’ll help him with the library—if he’ll teach her about the erotic side of romance.

Cataloging, alphabetizing, and metadata collide in a storm of lust, sweat, and dirty talk as Kate and Tyler get to work on both the library and each other. But when he starts falling for her, their hot affair will be one for the books.


*See the full cover reveal...



April 24th, 2017


Book Review:
The Whole Thing Together
By Ann Brashares

Releasing on April 25th!


I have a confession…I never read the Sisterhood series.  This was my first book by Ann Brashares.  I didn’t go into it with any preconceived ideas, my only expectation was for an interesting read that would take me into the lives of the characters.  It did just that.

The Whole Thing Together is essentially a family drama.  I was glad to have the page that listed the Thomas - Harrison family names and their connections.  During the first few chapters I found myself going back to this page quite a bit in order to acquaint myself with the characters.

The book revolves around a summer house where the two families spend alternating weeks.  The family dynamics are not neat and tidy - they are complicated, messy, and emotional.  

*Read my full review...



April 21st, 2017


Cover Reveal:
Tangled Lies Series
By Pam Godwin
Contemporary Romance/Love-triangle
*3 Book Series -  Not Stand-alones*


One is a Promise (Tangled Lies #1) Synopsis:
Releasing on June 6th!
Available for pre-order.


One promise.
One forever.

One look and I knew Cole was mine. My dark rebel in leather.
My powerhouse of passion, devastating smiles, and impulsiveness.
When his job sends him overseas, he promises to return to me.
A promise that’s destroyed in the most irrevocable way.

Two years later, an arrogant suit invades my heartbroken loneliness.

Clean-cut and stern, Trace is everything Cole wasn’t.
At first, he’s a job that will rescue my dance company. But as he intrudes on my life, our hostile relationship evolves.
He knows I’m still in love with Cole, but his dedication is my undoing.

Then a catastrophic moment changes everything.

Promises resurface.
Lies entangle.
And an impossible choice shatters my world.

I love two men, and I can only have one.

*See the full cover reveal for the entire series...​




April 13th, 2017


Book Review:
Blurred Lines
By Lauren Layne


This book was pure fun from start to finish.  Lauren Layne’s 

dialogue and witty banter stole the show in this friends-to-lovers romance.  I was smiling, laughing out loud, and reading passages to my husband throughout the book’s entirety.  I read as a source of entertainment and enjoyment, and Blurred Lines  certainly 
entertained.

The book is told in alternating chapters from Parker and Ben’s perspectives.  I loved getting inside of their heads to see exactly what the heck they were thinking.  They weren’t merely friends, they were best friends and roommates.  They knew each other at their best and worst.  They understood each other, supported each other, and needed each other.  I adored their relationship.  They had such an easy camaraderie, but would that all change if they became friends-with-benefits?


*Read my full review...


April 11th, 2017


Cover Reveal:
Love Me in the Dark  
By Mia Asher
Releasing on April 23rd!


Synopsis:

​Two strangers in Paris...
One passionate, earth-shattering kiss.

He was the artist upstairs
with the tantalizing smile and laughing eyes. 

He was the devil inviting me to sin,
seducing me to dance in the bright moonlight. 

He was desire and need. 

When he touched me, my body sang--
my soul came alive. 

But I belonged to another man,
and he didn't want to let me go. 

*See the full cover reveal & enter the giveaway...​


April 7th, 2017


Book Review:
I'm Thinking of Ending Things
By Iain Reid


​This book grabbed my attention from the beginning and didn’t let me go until I reached the final page.  But that’s not exactly true.  It’s been a few day since I finished  I’m Thinking of Ending Things and 
I’m still thinking about this book.  I started and finished it in the same day – I didn’t want to put it down.  I told myself that I would just read it a little while longer…and just a bit longer…and then it was done.  It’s not the longest novel, but the fact that I ignored real life so that I could keep reading it says something about the gripping story and writing.​ 

*Read my full review...


*Read Greg's review...


April 6th, 2017


Cover Reveal:
Before I Ever Met You
By Karina Halle
Releasing on April 25th!


Synopsis:

I first met William McAlister when I was just a teenager.
He was handsome, had a beautiful wife and was on the verge of success, having just joined my father as his business partner. Mr. 
McAlister was full of smooth charm, but back then he was barely a blip on my radar. Just a family friend.
Fast forward ten years: I’m 25 years old and a single mom trying to make things right for her seven-year old son. I’ve made some mistakes, grappled with my demons and now I’m back in the city of Vancouver, getting a second chance at a better life.
I’ve started by working for my father’s production company as an executive assistant. My first day on the job and I already know I could have a promising career there.
That is until I see Will McAlister for the first time in a decade.
Now recently divorced and as sophisticated as always, Will has gone from being my father’s friend and business partner to something so much more.
We’re both older, for one thing, and he just oozes this worldly confidence and stark sexuality. Combined with his tall, muscular build and sharp suits, strong jaw and bedroom eyes, Will has turned into one hell of a distraction.
A distraction I’m having a hard time staying away from, considering his office is right across from my desk and I work with him in such close proximity.
But it’s just a harmless crush, right?
It’s just an innocent fantasy of screwing him on his desk, right?
It can’t ever be more because he’s my father’s best friend, business partner, and my boss.
Right?
Wrong.

*See the full cover reveal...


April 5th, 2017


Cover Reveal
The Story of Us
By Tara Sivec
Releasing on June 11th!
Available for pre-order.


Synopsis:

How much can a man take before he breaks?
1,843 days. That's how long I survived in that hellhole.  They tried to break me, but I resisted. And I owe it all to the memory of warm summer nights, the scent of peaches, and the one woman who loved me more than I ever deserved to be loved. Now, I'll do anything to get back to her. 

Only Shelby Eubanks isn't the girl I left behind all those years ago. She's someone else, a stranger. My Shelby-my little green-eyed firecracker-would never give up her dreams, would never disappear into her mother's ambitions. But I won't give up on her. On us. I may be broken, and scarred, and not the man I used to be, but I will do whatever it takes to remind her of the story of us.

*See the full cover reveal...


March 31st, 2017


New Release Review:
The Hard Truth About Sunshine
By Sawyer Bennett
*Top Recommendation!*


From the dedication at the beginning of the book until the
acknowledgements at the back, I was completely captivated by
this story.  It has taken me a few days to try and get my thoughts together in order to write this review.  The Hard Truth About Sunshine is one of those special books that has touched my heart and soul.  After reading the synopsis, I knew that this book was going to be emotional, heartbreaking, and that it had the potential to take me places that would be dark and slightly uncomfortable.  It was all of these things, but it was also so much more.  This is a heartfelt journey between four unlikely people who are each struggling with their own issues, demons, and uncertain futures.

*Read my full review & see the Blitz post...


March 24th, 2017


Book Review:
The Opposite of You
By Rachel Higginson
*Top Recommendation!*

Releasing on March 30th!    Available for pre-order.


I adored every delectable morsel of this book.  This was one of the best slow burning romances that I’ve read in quite some time.  The author took her time to develop the characters and their relation-
ships, allowing her readers to become acquainted with them, to feel for them, and to fill her readers with anticipation with every turn of the page. 

The Opposite of You  hooked me from the very beginning.  It is brimming with realistic characters and emotions.  Nothing about this story is forced or rushed.  The story flows effortlessly, providing an authentic, engaging reading experience.  I didn’t want to put it down once I began reading it, and I certainly didn’t want to see it come to an end.

*Read my full review...


March 17th, 2017


Release Blitz & Review:
Block & Tackle
By Elise Faber, Stephanie Fournet

& Kristin Vayden​


Synopsis:

Football, hockey, and everything in between!
Things are about to heat up on the ice and between the sheets. 
Each book is a fully fledged, standalone novel about forbidden love.
What happens when you get your dream job and temptation is your ex-hockey-star boss?
Or when the league's top wide receiver has his eyes on you and he's supposed to be just a client?
Perhaps you find yourself in enemy territory because the woman you love is your best friend's sister?
Find out all the dirt in Block & Tackle!

*See the Release Blitz, read my review & enter the giveaway...


March 15th, 2017


Cover Reveal:
The First Year
By Genevieve Gannon
Releasing on April 24th!


 
Available for pre-order.


Synopsis:

The first year of marriage is hard no matter what. Throw in jealous exes, high-pressure careers and two wildly different families, and the degree of difficulty goes up a few more notches. Determined
to beat the odds, one couple comes up with a plan to keep their romance alive – but life has other ideas.

Saskia is an up-and-coming jewellery designer, waiting tables at a trendy cafe to keep her fledgling company afloat. Andrew is a corporate lawyer who wants to be known for more than his family’s money. They’re passionate about their work and each other, but with Andy’s job in jeopardy and Saskia’s jewellery label taking off, the pressure is taking its toll.

As life pulls them in different directions, the two of them are forced to decide: Just how important is their marriage? And how hard are they willing to work to protect it?


*See the full cover reveal...


March 14th, 2017


Book Review:
The Someday Girl
(The Girl Duet, #2)
By Julie Johnson
*Top Recommendation!*


Whenever I’m about to read the final book in a duet or series, I’m filled with a mixture of anticipation and apprehension.  How is the author going to conclude the story?  Will it be everything that I was
hoping for?  Well, I can honestly say that Julie Johnson  did not disappoint, in fact, she  went above and beyond.  She went places with this book that I never expected her to take me.  She continued to put my emotions through the wringer and make me  feel  this story in the best possible way.  Oh, and she still managed to completely shock me and leave me in a puddle of my own tears.  Respect.  

*Read my full review...

*Read my review of The Monday Girl (The Girl Duet, #1)...




March 10th, 2017


Book Review:
Dirty Doctor 
By Whitney G.


This was another fun, steamy afternoon break spent with the naughty words of Whitney G.!  Dirty Doctor  was everything
that she promised it would be.  It was a light, sexy read that 
provided a little escape from real life.

Garrett Ashton is a successful doctor in a private practice in New York City.  He has brains, success, looks, but his personal life is more or less nonexistent.  He doesn’t have time for relationships, so to satisfy his healthy libido, he resorts to using an exclusive app geared to meeting other successful professionals looking for a good time.

*Read my full review...


March 7th, 2017


New Release  &  Review:
Below Deck 
By Tara Sivec


This book dragged me right out of the doldrums of winter.  Below Deck was an enjoyable, fun, steamy romp through the turquoise waters of the Caribbean.  Filled with humor and plenty of tension, Below Deck was a book that grabbed me from the get-go and kept me thoroughly entertained until the end.

*Read my full review...


March 3rd, 2017


New Release  &  Review Tour:
A Boy Like You
By Ginger Scott
*Top Recommendation!*


This is one of the best books that I have ever had the pleasure of

reading.  It’s not just one of my favorite reads of the week, month, or

even the year; it belongs on my list of favorite books of all-time.  Five stars isn’t enough.  Once I finished reading  A Boy Like You, I sat there staring blankly at my Kindle wondering how I was going to

write a review that would do this book the justice that it so deserves.  


I was only a few pages into the book when I knew that it was going to

be special.  Right from the prologue, my heart was beating rapidly, I

was fighting back my tears, and I was settling in for what was

promising to be an unforgettable journey.  It ended up being an unforgettable journey and so much more.  Ginger Scott has an

incredible talent for pulling her readers in, making them feel her words instead of simply reading them.  I never felt as though I was merely reading the story; I was living it and experiencing every single emotion right along with the characters.  This is the feeling that I am constantly chasing as an avid reader, and I found it with  A Boy Like You.

*See the tour post, read my full review & enter the giveaway...



Shelley's Daily Blog

Solo

By Lauren E. Rico


What she's reading now.