2 Book Lovers Reviews

My Favorite Books of 2018!

March 15th, 2019


Book News!


- Aly Martinez has a new duet that will be releasing in May.  Written with Regret (Regret Duet #1)  is releasing on May 9th &  Written with You (Regret Duet #2)  will be out shortly after on May 30th.

Here's the synopsis:

When I was fifteen, a single bullet changed my life. I spent the next decade trying to outrun the devastation of my past, building an empire that would shield me from whatever life could throw at me.
But all the money in the world couldn’t help me when I found a screaming newborn abandoned on my doorstep.
I’d never wanted to be a father. Passing the sludge that ran through my veins down to an innocent child seemed like a tragedy. But there she was—pink cheeks, red hair, and mine.
Somehow, against all logic, that little girl became the best thing that ever happened to me. It was impossible to stay lost in the past when I was the only one who could protect her future.
Which is exactly why, when her mother came back four years later, I was ready for battle.
If only I could stop myself from falling in love with her during the war.



March 12th, 2019


New Release  &  Review:
House on Fire
By Bonnie Kistler


Ask any parent and they will tell you that their worst nightmare would be to lose a child.  House on Fire is the  story of any parent’s
worst fear, but it takes it a step further by throwing a wrench in what is already a terrible, senseless tragedy.  As soon as I read the synopsis for this  book, my interest was piqued and I was adding 
it to my reading list.  Bonnie Kistler had my full attention.

*Read my full review...



March 8th, 2019


Book News! 


Twice in a Blue Moon  by Christina Lauren is releasing on October 22nd!  I'm already in love with this cover and synopsis.  This beauty is definitely on my TBR list!  It is available for  pre-order.

Here's the synopsis:

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.
During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.
Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.​



March 5th, 2019


New Release  &  Review:
Between the Lies
By Michelle Adams


Chloe Daniels was fortunate to survive a horrific car accident, but it wasn’t only her body that was battered.  Chloe couldn’t remember
the events leading up to her crash, she didn’t remember her family who was by her side at the hospital, and she couldn’t even remember who she was.

I always try to imagine myself in the character’s shoes.  What would I do if I found myself in a similar situation to Chloe?  Needless to say, it would be unnerving and terrifying to not remember anything about yourself.  Chloe had to put her complete trust in her family, who she didn’t even know anymore.  She depended on the information and memories that they were willing to share with her in order to try to piece together the fragments of her shattered life.  

*Read my full review...



New Release  &  Review:
Beautiful Bad
By Annie Ward


Beautiful Bad  doesn’t waste any time grabbing the reader’s attention and throwing them into the thick of things.  Right from the beginning you’re made very aware that all is not well in Maddie and Ian’s suburban home.  From Maddie’s worry over her own sanity and questioning whether she should seek some professional help, to ten weeks later, The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call is placed from their home, Annie Ward had my full attention.

*Read my full review...



March 1st, 2019


Book News! 


​- Someone Like Me  by Stephanie Fournet is releasing on March 21st.  I'm looking forward to this one!

Here's the synopsis:

Drew Moroux has spent the last eight years in Angola State Pen, and if it were up to him, he’d rot there. 
He’ll never be able to make up for what he’s done, but when he finds himself on the outside, Drew has to keep it together for the two people in his family who still believe in him.
But holding it together means working, taking care of his grandmother, and keeping his nose clean. Not spending time with the girl next door. She’s way too good for someone like him.
Evie Lalonde is great at bending over backwards — on a yoga mat and for other people. Of course, that would be easier if her family approved of her job choice. Or her values. Or the way she sees the world. 
They definitely don’t approve of Drew Moroux.
But Evie knows the tortured auto mechanic with the gray eyes and rough hands needs a friend more than anything — even if he keeps pushing her away. Still, when she’s with him, friendship is the last thing on her mind. 
Falling for free-spirited Evie might be the best thing Drew’s ever done, but it could cost him more than his heart.



February 22nd, 2019


Book News!


The Dream  - By Laura Miller is releasing on April 2nd & is available for pre-order.


Here's the synopsis:

Most people call her Delilah.  But he called her Daisy. He was seventeen and a guest in her family’s home the summer she turned fifteen. They weren’t supposed to fall in love. But Everton knew two things early on. One: He knew that she was a rule he was most likely going to break. And two: He knew that if anyone discovered their secret, he would be forced to leave. That day came in early August. And it came without warning—or a goodbye. Now, she’s twenty-one. He’s twenty-three. And she’s standing right in front of him—close enough to touch. But he can’t. It’s been six, long years, but one thing remains: she’s still forbidden. And this time, he can’t cross the line.



February 19th, 2019


Book Review:
A Place Without You
By Jewel E. Ann

*Top Recommendation!*


A Place Without You  has made a place for itself on my list of favorite books.  This is a beautiful, heartfelt love story that swept me up in all things Henna and Bodhi. 

I was on Henna and Bodhi’s team from the very beginning.  From the way that they met and their intense chemistry, everything just seemed to be lining up perfectly for them.  I was convinced that they were meant to be.  Being that this is a forbidden romance, though, I suspected that it wasn't going to be that easy.  I knew that Jewel E. Ann was going to rip the rug out from under me and make this story hurt.

*Read my full review...



February 12th, 2019


New Release & Review:
The Hunting Party
By Lucy Foley 
*Top Recommendation!* 


The Hunting Party  was high on my list of anticipated books for 2019.  I wanted a book that would be eerie, put me on edge, keep me guessing, and chill me to the bone.  I am so happy to say that  The Hunting Party  delivered! 


What a lovely idea it would be to have an annual getaway with
your friends from university.  Well, that’s what I initially thought.  It would be nice to believe that you could just pick up where you left off after convocation, but situations change, and so do people.  

*Read my full review...
*Read Greg's review...



February 8th, 2019


Book News! 


- Take a look at the gorgeous cover and synopsis for  Say You Still Love Me  by K.A. Tucker!  It's releasing on August 6th & is available for pre-order.  I am beyond excited for this book!

Here's the synopsis:


Life is a mixed bag for Piper Calloway.
On the one hand, she’s a twenty-nine-year-old VP at her dad’s multibillion-dollar real estate development firm, and living the high single life with her two best friends in a swanky downtown penthouse. On the other hand, she’s considered a pair of sexy legs in a male-dominated world and constantly has to prove her worth. Plus she’s stuck seeing her narcissistic ex-fiancé—a fellow VP—on the other side of her glass office wall every day.
Things get exponentially more complicated for Piper when she runs into Kyle Miller—the handsome new security guard at Calloway Group, and coincidentally the first love of her life.
The guy she hasn’t seen or heard from since they were summer camp counselors together. The guy from the wrong side of the tracks. The guy who apparently doesn’t even remember her name.
Piper may be a high-powered businesswoman now, but she soon realizes that her schoolgirl crush is still alive and strong, and crippling her concentration. What’s more, despite Kyle’s distant attitude, she’s convinced their reunion isn’t at all coincidental, and that his feelings for her still run deep. And she’s determined to make him admit to them, no matter the consequences.


- Down Too Deep (Dirty Deeds #4)  by J. Daniels is releasing on October 8th, 2019 & is available for  pre-order!  I've been waiting for this book!  Each book in this series can be read as a standalone.

Read my review of Four Letter Word.
Read my review of Hit the Spot.
​- Read my review of Bad for You.


Here's the synopsis:


After his wife died two years ago, Nathan Bell has neglected his responsibility to his baby daughter, letting his parents raise her while he loses himself in his work. But when his parents give him an ultimatum, Nate needs new child care... fast.
Jenna Savage can see the pain Nate is in and how much he desperately wants to connect with his daughter. It's not a problem at all for the single mom to watch his little girl along with her own two children. Soon, Jenna can't help but fall in love with Nate and the family they seem to be building together, but can the career-driven, guilt-ridden man look beyond his heartbreak and learn to love again?


Team Player  by Julianna Keyes is releasing on March 28th & is available for pre-order A sports romance with a forbidden element? Yes, please!


Here's the synopsis:

Don’t hate the player…
BOTTOM NINE
Gwen Scott wants to love her job with the Charleston Thrashers, the MLB team she’s worshiped since she was a kid, but she can’t. Hateful colleagues and mind-numbing work make her days unbearable—until her head for baseball gets her exclusive access to the Thrashers’ clubhouse and she comes face-to-face with Tyler Ashe, the team’s sexy shortstop and baseball’s most ineligible bachelor.
BASES LOADED
Ty has sworn off relationships in order to focus on his all-star career, but with his best friend gone, his team struggling, and the press blaming him for every loss, the most recognizable man in the majors is in a slump. Until he starts spending his time off the field with a stern blonde who recites baseball stats for kicks and sees through his arrogant façade.
TWO OUT
As the Thrashers’ season gets into full swing and Gwen adjusts to her new job, their fun banter and friendly teasing turns into stolen kisses and countless steamy nights. The team’s strict policy against player-staff relationships throws a curve ball into the mix, but they can’t hide from their feelings any more than the most famous man in baseball can hide from the spotlight…



February 5th, 2019


New Release & Review:
I Owe You One
By Sophie Kinsella
*Top Recommendation!*


This is my first 5-star book of 2019!  It’s not a big surprise that Sophie Kinsella was able to hit the mark.  I started and finished this book with a big smile on my face.  I Owe You One  was just what I was looking for.  It had all of the wit, quirky characters, and heart that I have come to expect from this author.  It was simply a delightful and charming reading experience.

*Read my full review...




New Release & Review:
Forget You Know Me 
By Jessica Strawser


This book started off with a bang.  I was hooked.  My heart was pounding, my adrenaline was pumping, and I was suspicious of everyone and everything.  That’s exactly the reaction that I want to have when I’m reading a mystery/thriller book.  I was sitting on pins and needles and I was only one chapter in.

*Read my full review...
*Read Greg's review...



February 1st, 2019


 Book News! 


The Last Post  by Renée Carlino is releasing on August 20th & is available for pre-order.  I am a huge fan of her writing.  Needless to say, it's already on my TBR!

Here's the synopsis:

“See you on the other side.”
Laya Marston’s husband, Cameron, a daredevil enthusiast, always said this before heading off on his next adventure. He was the com-
plete opposite of her, ready and willing to dive off a cliff-face, or parachute across a canyon—and Laya loved him for it. But she was

different: pragmatic, regimented, devoted to her career and to supporting Cameron from the sidelines of his death-defying feats.
Opposites attract, right?
But when Cameron dies suddenly and tragically, all the stages of grief go out the window. Laya becomes lost in denial, living in the delusion that Cameron will come back to her. She begins posting on his Facebook page, reminiscing about their life together, and imagining new adventures for the two of them.
Micah Evans, a young and handsome architect at Laya’s father’s firm, is also stuck––paralyzed by the banal details of his career, his friendships, and his love life. He doesn’t know what he’s looking for, only that there is someone out there who can bring energy and spirit to the humdrum of his life.
When Micah discovers Laya’s tragic and bizarre Facebook posts, he’s determined to show Laya her life is still worth living. Leaving her anonymous gifts and notes, trying to recreate the sense of adventure she once shared with her late husband, Micah finds a

new passion watching Laya come out of the darkness. And Laya

finds a new joy in the experiences Micah has created for her.
But for Laya, letting another man in still feels like a betrayal to her

late husband. Even though Micah may be everything she could

wish for, she wonders if she deserves to find happiness again.






Shelley's Daily Blog

Sadie

By Courtney Summers


What she's reading now.