2 Book Lovers Reviews

Drive

By Stephanie Fournet


October 16th, 2017


Release Blitz  &  Review:
Crave, Part Two
(Crave Duet)
By E.K. Blair


This book picked up right where the first one left off – thankfully.  I was eager to get back to Adaline and Kason’s story, although, I’ll admit that my eagerness was also met with a healthy dose of 
trepidation and unease.

This book is dripping with emotion.  E.K. Blair didn’t hold back.  She delivered a story that was raw, ugly, and painful.  There was no way around it.  With the subject matter and the way the first book ended, this part of the duet had to hurt.  My heart broke for the characters, I felt their heartache and pain right down to my toes.  The author didn’t just tell the story, she described every feeling and scene so that you could visualize and feel everything right along with the characters.

*See the blitz post & read my full review...



October 13th, 2017


Book Review:
The Idea of You
By Robinne Lee
*Top Recommendation!*


The Idea of You  is one of those exceptional reads that stays on your mind long after you’ve read the final page.  It’s a page-turner that keeps you riveted to the pages, all the while filling you with anxiety about what is awaiting you on the upcoming pages.  It’s a superbly written rock/pop star romance that will make you feel, make you 
think, and it will make you so happy to be a reader.

The rock star fantasy is alive and well in The Idea of You, however, this fantasy wasn’t even a blip on Solène Marchand’s radar.  All she did was agree to take her twelve-year-old daughter and her friends to an August Moon concert and meet and greet.  She had no idea that the sparks would fly between her and one of the members of the band.  But it was only a bit of harmless flirting, right?  Solène never believed that anything could actually come of an attraction between a thirty-nine-year-old mother and a twenty-year-old heart-throb, but she was so wrong.  Hayes Campbell was not just a pretty face and a distraction, he was a soulful, thoughtful man who was proving himself to be so much more than Solène had ever imagined.

*Read my full review...



October 6th, 2017


Book Review:
Dear Bridget, I Want You  

By Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

Is there a doctor in the house?  Oh, yes there is!


Dear Bridget, I Want You  is a sweet, sexy, humorous, fun read from start to finish.  These two authors know how to write an irresistible story that has all of the emotions and leaves you with a smile on your face.  I was hooked from the start (pun intended) and was completely swept up in Bridget and Simon’s story.  

​If you’re looking for a well-rounded romance that is as fuzzy as your most comfortable sweater, this is the book for you.  From the way that the characters met to their flirtatious banter to their undeniable chemistry, this book was just brimming with all of the things that make for an addictive romance.  I was completely smitten with the characters and the story, but what I didn’t expect was for there to be a twist.  I think I actually gasped out loud.  I love it when a book can surprise me, and I certainly was surprised.

*Read my full review...


September 29, 2017


Book Review:
The Unrequited
By Saffron A. Kent


I almost feel like I can breathe again.  Reading The Unrequited was an experience that kept my stomach tied in knots, my nerves rattled, and my heart aching, breaking, and racing.  I’m not quite sure what I was expecting from this book, but I can assure you that I got so 
much more.  


I’m at a bit of a loss for what to say in this review.  This was my first time reading a book by this author, and I can honestly say that it won’t be my last.  I love forbidden romances.  Love them!  I can’t help it.  I am intrigued by relationships that should never be.  It’s like watching a train wreck, you know you shouldn’t watch it, but you are drawn to its destructive nature.  Saffron A. Kent has written a romance that should’ve never been.  It’s wrong, complicated, messy, unstable, and obsessive - and I couldn’t tear my eyes away from it.  In all of the story’s destructive nature, there is an underlying beauty about the author’s storytelling that can’t be denied.

*Read my full review...


September 27, 2017


Cover Reveal:
Crave:  Part Two
Series:  Crave Duet
By E.K. Blair


 Releasing October 16th!   Available for pre-order.


Synopsis:

Weeks became months, and months became years. Each day, nudged Kason deeper into his addiction. Each memory of the girl destroyed fed the craving for what he could never have again. 
Leaving a life-altering first love behind, Adaline tried moving forward to find love and trust and happiness. Pain eventually faded, wounds slowly healed, yet scars were forever left behind.
But some scars feel like kisses. 
When the shattered pieces of their hearts are forced to meet again, the two of them must decide how much pain their love is worth enduring.
This is what happens when one person loves beyond the craving and the other craves beyond the loving.

*See the full cover reveal...


September 26th, 2017


New Release  &  Review:
The Visitors
By Catherine Burns


The Visitors is a chilling, gripping read that captured my attention from the very beginning.  It is one of those books where the story 
immediately pulls you in and you need to find out what is going to become of the characters.  While I finished the book in less than twenty-four hours, I must say that it isn’t an action-packed, edge-of-
your-seat kind of book.  The Visitors is definitely a page-turner, however, it is more of a slow-building tale into the disturbing lives of Marion and John Zetland.

*Read my full review...


*Read Greg's review...


September 22nd, 2017


Cover Reveal
Constant
By Rachel Higginson
Releasing November 16th!  
Available for pre-order.

A second chance romantic suspense.

Synopsis:

Fifteen years ago I met Sayer Wesley. I fell in love with him. 
I promised I would never leave him. I swore nothing could break us apart. 
Five years ago I broke my promise. I ran away. I took the one secret that could destroy us both and disappeared. 
Five days ago I thought I saw him. 
I knew it was impossible. Sayer was locked away, serving a deserved sentence in federal prison. He couldn’t find me. 
He wouldn’t find me. I was too good at hiding. Too good at surviving.
Because if Sayer ever found me, there would be hell to pay for a plethora of sins. The worst of which, he didn’t even know about yet. 
Five hours ago, I told myself I was crazy. 
Five minutes ago, I saw him again. 
Five seconds ago, I was too late. 




September 19th, 2017


New Release  &  Review:
The Life We Almost Had
By Laura Miller


The Life We Almost Had is a heartwarming second chance love story that is filled with Laura Miller’s signature small-town charm.  Her words effortlessly transport her readers to Sweet Home, Missouri and into the blossoming friendship and love story of Iva and Berlin. 

There’s nothing better than a love story that begins early on in the characters’ lives.  I always enjoy witnessing the very beginning of a relationship - from their first glances to the burgeoning friendship and, ultimately, to the deeper feelings that develop with every moment that they spend together.   

*Read my full review...


September 14th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Heathens 
By Amanda Richardson
*Top Recommendation!*


Heathens is an utterly captivating and mesmerizing read.  I am always drawn to love stories that are a bit darker, taboo, and that may nudge me out of my comfort zone, but what I ended up getting from this novel far surpassed my expectations.  I was pulled into the story right from the prologue and was held captive by the author’s rich descriptions and beautiful prose until the last page.  Heathens is a love story at its very core, but it is also a thought-provoking read that I haven’t been able to get out of my mind since I finished reading it.  

*Read my full review...


September 8th, 2017


Book Review:
Crave:  Part One
(The Crave Duet #1)
By E.K. Blair


This is not your average young adult/new adult romance novel.  The characters may be in their final year of high school, and yes, it has the normal teenage problems and angst, but E.K. Blair has turned
the angst up a few hundred notches.  It’s a young/new adult romance that deals with a very adult issue.

I read this book pretty quickly.   It was impossible not to get swept up in Adaline and Kason’s romance.  She was the new girl in town, he was the quiet boy from the wrong side of the tracks.  They were so darn sweet together.  They just hit it off and developed a lovely relationship.  But Kason had a secret that he was keeping from everyone in his life – with good reason.  You can’t fault a guy for keeping certain things…ahem…private.  This issue was wreaking havoc on his life. 

*Read my full review...


September 7th, 2017


Book News!


- The cover for  Forget You, Ethan  by Whitney G. has been revealed.  This book will be releasing in the fall/winter of 2017. It's a standalone friends-to-enemies-to-lovers romance!

Synopsis:
Keep your friends close and your enemies closer...
I've hated Rachel Dawson since I was seven years old.  
My next door neighbor and number one sworn enemy, she's the reason why almost all of our childhood fights ended with me setting something of hers on fire. (Or, vice versa.)

She snitched on me when I broke curfew. 
I snitched on her when she lied about having a boyfriend.  
We went back and forth like this throughout high school, both vowing to never talk to each other again when we went off to college.  
But that was until she showed up at my apartment during my senior year and asked me for a temporary place to stay. Until I realized just how much between us had changed, and the line I thought we'd never cross became harder and harder to ignore...




September 1st, 2017


Release Blitz  &  Review:
Three is a War
(Tangled Lies #3)
By Pam Godwin


*This series must be read in order.


The final book in a series is always somewhat bittersweet.  On the

one hand, I couldn’t wait to find out what was going to become of Danni, Cole, and Trace, but on the other hand, I was filled with nervous butterflies at what the possible outcome would be.  This book is it.  It’s decision time.  By the end of the book it was inevitable, someone would be left with a broken heart – I just hoped that it wouldn’t be me.

*Read my full review...







What she's reading now.

Shelley's Daily Blog