2 Book Lovers Reviews

My Favorite Books of 2018!

May 14th, 2019


New Release & Review:
The Unhoneymooners
By Christina Lauren 


Whenever I see that Christina Lauren have a new book coming out, it automatically gets added to my list of must-read books.  I’ve come to the conclusion that they have some magical ability to always put a smile on my face.  Of course, that magical ability is all talent.  No 
matter my mood, their writing is an elixir that never fails to have me laughing out loud.

*Read my full review...



May 7th, 2019


New Release & Review:
Sunset Beach
By Mary Kay Andrews


It has been a few years since I’ve read a book by Mary Kay Andrews.  Reading Sunset Beach  and reacquainting myself with her signature writing style, I honestly don’t know why it’s taken me so long to 
dive back into her novels, but I’m certainly glad that I have.

After experiencing a great deal of loss and disappointment, Drue Campbell’s life is anything but stable and secure.  With the recent loss of her mother, her job, her boyfriend, and an injury that has prevented her from participating in a sport that she’s always been passionate about, there is nothing keeping Drue in Fort Lauderdale.  When her estranged father shows up at her mother’s funeral and offers her a job at his law firm, Drue is less than enthusiastic for this opportunity to work closely with her father and his latest wife – who also just so happens to be one of Drue’s old “friends.”  But when her father also informs her that she is the new owner of her grandparents’ beloved cottage on Sunset Beach, well, it would be impossible to turn down a much-needed place to hang her hat – even if the cottage is now a dilapidated version from her childhood memories.  

*Read my full review...
 


May 1st, 2019


Cover Reveal:
Making Up
By Helena Hunting
Releasing on July 16th!


Synopsis:

Cosy Felton is great at her job—she knows just how to handle the awkwardness that comes with working at an adult toy store. So 
when the hottest guy she’s ever seen walks into the shop looking completely overwhelmed, she’s more than happy to turn on the 
charm and help him purchase all of the items on his list.
Griffin Mills is using his business trip in Las Vegas as a chance to escape the broken pieces of his life in New York City. The last thing he wants is to be put in charge of buying gag gifts for his friend’s bachelor party. Despite being totally out of his element, and mortified by the whole experience, Griffin is pleasantly surprised when he finds himself attracted to the sales girl that helped him.
As skeptical as Cosy may be of Griffin’s motivations, there’s something about him that intrigues her. But sometimes what happens in Vegas doesn’t always stay in Vegas and when real life gets in the way, all bets are off. 

Filled with hilariously awkward situations and enough sexual chemistry to power Sin City, Making Up is the next standalone in the Shacking Up world.


​*Read more...



Book News!


Butterfly in Frost  by Sylvia Day is releasing on August 27th, 2019 & is available for  pre-order.  This is a novella.

Here's the synopsis:

Once, I would never have imagined myself here. But I’m settled now. In a place I love, in a home I renovated, spending time with new friends I adore, and working a job that fulfills me. I am reconciling the past and laying the groundwork for the future.
Then Garrett Frost moves in next door.
He’s obstinate and too bold, a raging force of nature that disrupts the careful order of my life. I recognize the ghosts that haunt him, the torment driving him. Garrett would be risky in any form, but wounded, he’s far more dangerous. I fear I’m too fragile for the storm raging inside him, too delicate to withstand the pain that buffets him. But he’s too determined…and too tempting.
And sometimes hope soars above even the iciest desolation.



April 30th, 2019


New Release & Review:
Under the Northern Lights
By S.C. Stephens


There’s something about a survival story that always piques my interest.  Give me a survival story that is written by one of my favorite authors and I am over the moon.

Nature is the most unpredictable, formidable adversary.  Let’s be honest, you would have to be a brave person to fly solo to a remote location to photograph wildlife, and Mallory Reynolds was definitely a brave woman.  Despite her family’s concerns, she was living her life the way she wanted to and pursuing her life’s passion.  Her bravery was put to the test when her plane crashed, leaving her seriously injured, cold, alone, and in an area that could be rife with animals looking for easy prey.

*Read my full review...



New Release  &  Review:
Little Darlings
By Melanie Golding


Little Darlings is an eerie, creepy tale.  Inspired by fairy tales and folklore, it preys on the doubts, insecurities, and worries that many new mothers experience.  It certainly grabbed my attention, filled me with all of the apprehension and fear that I would expect and want from a book in this genre.

*Read my full review...



April 26th, 2019


Book Review:
Irresistible
(Cloverleigh Farms #1)
By Melanie Harlow


This was my first book by Melanie Harlow.  What was I waiting for?!  There’s no better feeling than picking a book that hits you in all the right places.  Irresistible  hit the mark for me. 

I was immediately pulled into the story and completely drawn to the characters.  It was an emotional, sexy, forbidden romance that flowed effortlessly and naturally.  It was an all-around entertaining reading experience.  It offered up plenty of moments that had my heart beating faster, had me laughing, and had me holding my breath in anticipation.  It wasn’t an overly angst-filled romance, but there were several times when my stomach was tied up in knots over what was transpiring – I love that feeling!

*Read my full review...



April 16th, 2019


New Release & Review:
Normal People
By Sally Rooney


Normal People  is an interesting, thought-provoking novel that follows a young “couple” as they finish high school and maneuver into university life.  At a mere glance, it may seem like a typical 
romance story between two people from different sides of the tracks, but to be honest, there is nothing really typical about this story.

*Read my full review...



April 12th, 2019


Book Review:
Sadie 
By Courtney Summers
Top Recommendation!


This book is the true definition of a page-turner.  ​I was pulled into Sadie and Mattie’s story immediately, and with every chapter I  fell deeper and deeper into the mystery of what happened to Sadie.  I would tell myself that I only had time to read one more chapter, but as soon as one chapter ended, I felt compelled to keep reading, it was an all-consuming reading experience.

*Read my full review...



April 2nd, 2019


New Release & Review:
The Girl He Used to Know
By Tracey Garvis Graves
 Top Recommendation!


You know that feeling you get when you finish a book and you just sit and wonder how you are going to move on from it?  The Girl He Used to Know was one of those books.  After just reading the first few pages, I knew that it was going to be a special, heartfelt reading experience, one that would make me feel every emotion, not only while I was immersed in it, but long after the final word was read.

*Read my full review...​



New Release Review:
The Dream

By Laura Miller
Top Recommendation!


No one writes small-town romances like Laura Miller.  In fact, this is my favorite book by her. 

Once again, she has written a beautiful, heartfelt romance that swept me off my feet.  I could visualize every moment in this book.  Laura Miller set the scene beautifully.  I felt as though I was right there with the characters in the quaint, charming country setting. 

*Read my full review...



April 1st, 2019


Cover Reveal:
Never Fall in Love with a Rockstar
By Rachel Higginson
Releasing June 25th!
Available for 
pre-order.


Synopsis:

My name is Clover Calloway and I’ve lived two separate lives. 
The first, I like to call “my past.” I never talk about it.
I try not to think about it.
My rockstar days of playing in one of the hottest bands on the planet
are over. Along with the most volatile, beautiful, tragic love story of all time.
Over the past five years, I’ve settled into my second life. My “normal life.” The one where I work a normal job, hang out with normal people and fall in love with a normal, but wonderful guy. The life where I’m admittedly a little bored, but also safe. 
My past wasn’t boring. But my past broke my heart into a million, unfixable pieces. So, I’m determined to keep it where it belongs—

behind me. 
And the man responsible for the shattering of me? Malachi Porter,

lead singer and mastermind of Bright Tragedy, should stay there too. Far away from me and this idyllic life I’ve carved out for

myself. 
But what happens when my two lives collide? 
When Malachi comes crashing into my perfectly normal world, he threatens to destroy it, promises to annihilate everything I’ve

replaced him with. 
He upends everything I thought I wanted and forces me to question the reasons I left Bright Tragedy all those years ago.
But I didn’t walk away five years ago, I ran. As fast as I could go. And while my heart is whispering that it’s different this time—that he’s different—my brain is screaming for me to run again.
Malachi Porter isn’t a normal guy. And he doesn’t belong in my “normal life.” But, nevertheless, he’s bound and determined to make a place for himself here.
I just hope my heart can survive him, that we don’t burn into another bright tragedy. 



*See the full reveal & read the first chapter...


Shelley's Daily Blog

The Tiger Catcher

By Paullina Simons


What she's reading now.