What she's reading now.

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

My Favorite Books of 2018!

Week of June 13th, 2022


Book Review:
Can't Look Away 
By Carola Lovering
New Release!
   *Top Recommendation!*
 


This book took me somewhere I hadn’t expected it to, but I certainly enjoyed the trip.

This book has it all: drama, romance, and psychological suspense. In all honesty, I was in my happy place while I was reading  Can’t Look
Away
. It had everything that I love in a novel, and I was hooked right from the beginning.


*Read my full review...



Week of June 6th, 2022


Book Review:
Meant to Be Mine 
By Hannah Orenstein
New Release!


Meant to Be Mine  piqued my interest as soon as I read the synopsis. A novel about fate, finding your soul mate, strong family bonds,
traditions, and tied all together with great writing? Of course, I wanted to read it.

Edie Meyer’s grandmother has a rare power: she can tell you the date when you will meet your true love. She did it for all of her
family members, and she has never steered them wrong.

*Read my full review...



Week of May 23rd, 2022


Book Review:
Made in Manhattan
 By Lauren Layne
 


When I’m in the mood for some witty banter and romantic chemistry, Lauren Layne’s novels are always high on my list. After reading a couple of books with heavier themes, I needed a break, an escape, and I decided that Manhattan was the ideal spot for my next literary getaway.

*Read my full review...



Week of May 16th, 2022


Book Review:

See You Yesterday

By Rachel Lynn Solomon

New Release!


How frustrating and frightening would it be to relive the same terrible day over and over again? Rachel Lynn Solomon takes this scenario and runs with it in a fun, adventurous, romantic read.


Barrett Bloom just wants to reinvent herself after her lonely, disastrous high school years. She is hopeful that her freshman year of university will be the fresh start that she needs. Unfortunately, her first day of university isn’t the smoothest, brilliant start that she had anticipated. 


*Read my full review...



Week of May 9th, 2022


Book Review:
Reservations for Six
By Lindsey Palmer
New Release!  


Reservations for Six is a propulsive page-turner about three couples who have been getting together for each of their birthdays at the same restaurant for a decade. They order the same food, imbibe on wine, and catch up. Sounds like a nice tradition, right? But on 
Nathan’s fortieth birthday, the celebration is marred by his shocking
announcement.


*Read my full review...



Week of May 2nd, 2022


Book Review:
Where the Crawdads Sing
By Delia Owens

*Top Recommendation!* 


This book was on my TBR list for way too long (I know, that’s the story of my life). While everything about this book screamed to me to read it, I will admit that I was a tad apprehensive because of all the hype that it had received since its release. I truly wanted to 
love it as much as everyone else had. Well, I absolutely adored this novel!


*Read my full review...



Week of April 19th, 2022


Book Review:
Part of Your World
By Abby Jimenez
New Release!
*Top Recommendation!*


Part of Your World  had everything that I’ve come to expect from Abby Jimenez. This book is filled with humor, heart, tons of
emotion, characters that I rooted for (and some that I wanted to see spontaneously combust), and, of course, a few animals that just added the oohs and awws to the story.

*Read my full review...



Week of April 4th, 2022


Book Review:
The Younger Wife
By Sally Hepworth
New Release!
*Top Recommendation!*


Confession: This was my first book by Sally Hepworth.

With that off my chest, I can honestly say that it definitely won’t be my last. It’s been a while since I have read a book so quickly. Once I began, I didn’t want to put it down. Real life was put on the back burner, chores waited to be finished, laundry sat in the hamper, 
supper waited to be cooked, I had reading to do!

*Read my full review...



Week of March 28th, 2022


Book Review:
The Next Thing You Know 
By Jessica Strawser
New Release!


My interest in this book was piqued when I saw that it was being compared to A Star is Born  and  Me Before You. My initial thought was that this book was probably going to tear my heart to shreds, but I was more than a willing victim.

Jessica Strawser created a thought-provoking, meaningful, heartbreaking story that kept me needing to know more about these
intriguing characters. 

*Read my full review...



Week of March 21st, 2022


Book Review:
In a New York Minute 
By Kate Spencer
New Release!


I love a good meet-cute. Give me an interesting, different way for a couple to meet and I’m instantly intrigued, however, unfortunately for Franny and Hayes, their meet-cute was more of a meet-disaster.

Franny Doyle was having a bad day. She was laid off from her job, she was worried about paying her bills, and the subway doors 
ripped the back of her silk dress, exposing her to the other inhabitants of New York City. Luckily, Hayes Montgomery III was riding on Franny’s subway, and he stepped in to offer her his suit jacket. Chivalry is not dead! But their little exchange wasn’t just between them, oh, no, another passenger posted the whole encounter online and it went viral. 

*Read my full review...



Week of March 14th, 2022


Book Review:
Listening Still 
By Anne Griffin
New Release!

*Top Recommendation!*


I’m going to start off by saying that this book will definitely be making my list of favorite books of 2022! As a reader, I’m always
looking for books that have a certain something special and different from what I have read in the past, and I can happily say that  Listening Still  did just that.

I was immediately intrigued by the story of a woman who could hear and talk with the recently deceased. For the Mastersons, death was not eerie or creepy. They were the local undertakers in their community, providing a needed service to bid a final farewell to people’s loved ones.

*Read my full review...



Week of March 7th, 2022


Book Review:
The Suite Spot
By Trish Doller  
New Release!


The past couple of years have been challenging, but thanks to Trish Doller, I sailed away to the Caribbean in 2021, and this year, I was
whisked away to a quaint island on Lake Erie. Books really are a great escape.

Good characters make a good story. I loved the characters in  The Suite Spot. Rachel was a bit down on her luck, but she was a go-getter, a single mother who  wanted to do the best for her and her daughter. While she had a history of settling for “good enough” when it came to romantic partners, she deserved so much more than just settling. 

*Read my full review...



Week of February 28th, 2022


Book Review:

The Love of My Life
By Rosie Walsh 
New Release!   
*Top Recommendation!*


Secrets, secrets, and more secrets! This novel was a fast-paced whirlwind of emotions. Once I began reading it, I didn’t want to
put it down. I would read just one more chapter…mmm…maybe just one more, and that really meant a few more after that. There’s
nothing better than finding a book that pulls you in so completely that you just ignore real life for a little while.

*Read my full review...




For You & No One Else

​By Roni Loren

Shelley's Daily Blog