2 Book Lovers Reviews

My Favorite Books of 2018!

Week of June 22nd, 2020


 New Release  &  Review:
The Swap
By Robyn Harding


The Swap  is a fast-paced domestic thriller that kept me riveted to the pages.  If you’re looking for a summer read that will grab you, immerse you in the characters’ lives, and make you appreciate your own life, this book is sure to please.


*Read my full review...



New Release Review: 

Something Like Perfect

By S.C.Stephens


I am a huge fan of S.C. Stephens and the Thoughtless Series, so when I saw that she was releasing another book that looked like it would be screaming angst, I was more than a little interested.


I do not shy away from novels that contain love triangles, cheating, or forbidden situations, in fact, I run right to them.  My favorite books are always the ones that are able to make me feel every emotion: the butterflies, the anticipation, the plummeting doom of heartache, the will they or won’t they.


Read my full review...



Week of June 1st, 2020


New Release  &   Review:
The Lies That Bind
By Emily Giffin
*Top Recommendation!*


The only drama that I flock to is within the pages of the books that I choose to read, and this book provided plenty of that.  I’ve had some ups and downs in my reading over the past couple of months, but this book drew me in from the very beginning and was impossible to put down.

The Lies That Bind  was an intriguing read.  I was completely invested in Cecily’s story.  She was heartbroken, missing her ex-boyfriend, and was seriously considering getting in touch with him.  I think I was even shaking my head while I was reading it and thinking  No, girl, don’t do it!  Luckily, a stranger was able to change her mind before she did something that she might have regretted.  She and this handsome stranger enjoyed a couple of drinks and each other’s company and shared a connection that seemed as though it was meant to be.  

*Read my full review...



Week of May 19th, 2020


New Release  &  Review:
The Sunday Girl
By Pip Drysdale
*Top Recommendation!*


Crazy good! This book will be making my list of favorite books for 2020, in fact, The Sunday Girl  is probably one of my favorite 
psychological thrillers of all time! Trust me, it’s that good!

As soon as I began reading this novel, I did not want to put it down. It was perfect pandemic reading. I wasn’t supposed to be leaving my house, and as long as I had this book in my hand, I had absolutely no desire to. I was happily glued to the pages.

*Read my full review...



Week of April 27th, 2020


New Release  &  Review:
Where the Lost Wander
By Amy Harmon
*Top Recommendation!*


As soon as I began reading this book, I knew that it was going to be special. After only a few chapters I told my husband that tears were
inevitable in an Amy Harmon book. I was right on both counts.

Where the Lost Wander  is a historical fiction about a wagon train that is heading West in search of a better, more promising life. This novel hooked me from the very beginning. While I don’t read a great deal of historical fiction, Amy Harmon has convinced me that I should. With her incredible writing, attention to detail, and a story that will both break your heart and mend it again, Where the Lost Wander  is everything that I have come to expect from a book by this author.

*Read my full review...



Week of April 13th, 2020


Book Review:
The Hating Game
By Sally Thorne
*Top Recommendation!*


I’ve had this book on my to-be-read list since it was released, in other words, for far too long.  I was waiting for just the right time to dive in, and as it turns out, during a pandemic proved to be the perfect time.  One of the reasons that I enjoy reading so much is that it lets me leave my current reality and escape into a fictional world for a bit.  I needed to escape.  I needed something that would change my mind, give me a reprieve, and completely invest me in a fun, romantic story.  The Hating Game was the perfect read for me.

*Read my full review...​



Week of April 6th, 2020


New Release  &  Review:
The Silent Treatment
By Abbie Greaves


My interest was piqued from the moment that I read the synopsis for  The Silent Treatment.  As a reader who is drawn to stories about married couples, I was instantly intrigued by a novel about a couple who hadn’t spoken in six months.  Six months!  I needed to 
know what had happened in their lives to stop their communication.

*Read my full review...​



Week of March 23rd, 2020


New Release   &  Review:
The Honey-Don't List
By Christina Lauren


There’s nothing better than looking forward to a book, finally reading it, and having it check off all of your boxes.  If I see that these authors have a new book in the works, I automatically add
it to my to-be-read list, often without even reading the synopsis.  The Honey-Don’t List  had a few of my favorite 
things:  home decorating, great chemistry between the characters, tension, and plenty of this duo’s signature wit and charm.  

*Read my full review...



Week of March 9th, 2020


This is a stellar week for new releases!  I have two reviews and top recommendations that I have been dying to share with you, and this week is the week!



New Release  &  Review:
In Five Years 
By Rebecca Serle 

*Top Recommendation!*


As soon as I read the synopsis for  In Five Years, I knew that I had to read it.  Was it everything that I had expected?  No, but in this case, that certainly wasn’t a bad thing.  Rebecca Serle turned this story around in a way I hadn’t anticipated, it was so much more, and it ended up being just what my heart needed.

*Read my full review...



New Release  &  Review:
My Dark Vanessa
By Kate Elizabeth Russell
*Top Recommendation!*


Some books push a reader out of their comfort zone, this one shoved me.  My Dark Vanessa  is my first five-star book of 2020, and it is so well deserved.

This novel delves into the taboo relationship between a fifteen-year-old student and her forty-two-year- old English teacher.  It alternates between Vanessa’s teenage years, when their relationship began, to 2017, when another student has come forward with claims of sexual abuse against the same teacher.  This back and forth worked perfectly for Vanessa’s story.  It allows the reader to witness everything that transpired from the very beginning, to be alongside Vanessa, and to see the relationship from her point of view.  It clearly portrays the manipulative nature of abuse, the abuse itself, and the long-lasting repercussions that it had on her life.

*Read my full review...



Week of February 24th, 2020


Book Review:
The Life That Mattered
(The Life Duet #1)
By Jewel E. Ann


That was a trip!  I never really know what to expect from a book by Jewel E. Ann, and that’s a good thing.  Between her intriguing 
characters, her intense story-lines, and her twists and turns, the only thing I can be sure of is that I will get an entertaining and gripping reading experience.

There’s not a whole lot that I can say about this book without giving too much away.  No spoilers here, my friends.  It took me a few chapters to really get a feel for this novel.  It’s not that it didn’t capture my interest right away, I was just trying to figure out where this story was going to go.  I had many scenarios dancing around in my head, wondering where the author was going to direct me before completely obliterating any of my ideas.  As I mentioned earlier, you can never feel completely comfortable and at home with one of her books.  The rug will always get pulled out from under your feet, you just need to grip your book firmly and brace yourself for it.

*Read my full review...



Week of February 10th, 2020


Book News!


Heart Bones   by Colleen Hoover was just announced!  What's it about?  I know that it's a contemporary romance, but the synopsis
hasn't been revealed yet.  ​It is releasing on July 28th and is available for pre-order.  For me, that's enough said!  :)



Week of February 3rd, 2020


New Release  &  Review:

Together We Caught Fire

By Eva V. Gibson


What a great way to start off my reading for 2020!  Together We

Caught Fire  may be Eva V. Gibson’s debut novel, but it certainly
didn’t feel that way.  This book has exquisite writing, depth, and a story that made me feel a plethora of emotions.

This is a forbidden romance, however, this novel is so much more than that.  The characters were so well developed, and I was immediately pulled in and invested in their lives.  They all had their own issues that they were trying to deal with, which were equally heartbreaking, shocking, and slightly disturbing.  I’m choosing not to go into great detail because I think that readers should pick this book up and experience it for themselves.

*Read my full review...






Shelley's Daily Blog

The All-Night Sun

By Diane Zinna

What she's reading now.