2 Book Lovers Reviews

My Favorite Books of 2018!

My Best Friend's Exorcism

By Grady Hendrix

Week of September 26th, 2022


Book Review:

We Spread
By Iain Reid
New Release!
*Top Recommendation!*


Having read Iain Reid’s other two novels, I should have been better prepared for  We Spread. It is a chilling, emotional page-turner that kept me riveted to the pages, but this novel hit a little close to home.

Growing old is not only a privilege, but it can also be scary and worrisome. We all hope to be the ninety-year-old who is in good physical health, still sharp as a tack, and able to live independently in our home, partaking in hobbies and visits with family and friends. The prospect of growing old comes with the fears that we may not be one of the lucky ones. 

*Read my review...




Book Review:
The Wehrwolf
By Alma Katsu
New Release!


Alma Katsu has come highly recommended to me by a trusted source. My husband has been raving about her ability to take a historical event and make it even more horrific. As soon as I read the synopsis of  The Wehrwolf, I was not only intrigued, but thought that it was high time that I sampled Katsu’s writing for myself.

*Read my review...



Week of September 13th, 2022


Book Review:
I'm the Girl
By Courtney Summers

New Release!
Top Recommendation!*


As soon as I see that Courtney Summers is going to be releasing a new book, I immediately add it to my to-be-read list. I don’t need
to see the cover or read the synopsis; I just know that I will want to read it. Plain and simple as that. This novel is anything but plain
and simple, though. I’m the Girl  is everything that I love about this author’s writing, and it did not disappoint. 

*Read my review...




Book Review:
The Make-Up Test
By Jenny L. Howe

New Release!


What could be better than a romance novel that promises second chances, academic rivalries, and books!

This debut novel had a lot of things going for it. It had a strong female protagonist, body positivity, and it was set in academia. This was one of my most anticipated releases, it was offering up everything that I enjoy in a novel.

*Read my review...



Week of September 5th, 2022


Book Review:  
Mad About You
By Mhairi McFarlane


Mad About You  was another wonderful read by Mhairi McFarlane. She knows how to deliver the angst, tension, and emotions that I crave in a novel.

If you’re looking for a book that is heavy on the romance, this may not be exactly what you’re in the mood for. If you’re looking for a book with likable, relatable characters who you will be rooting for from the very beginning, an emotional storyline, fabulous wit, girl
power and, of course, a smattering of romance along the way, this is the book that you will want to read next.

*Read my review...



Week of August 22nd, 2022


Book Review:  
Dark Roads
By Chevy Stevens


Planning my summer reading usually includes selecting a book or two that will me keep my suspicious mind at work and give me
chills. The synopsis for Dark Roads definitely fit the bill for a suspenseful read that could keep me up way past my bedtime.

Dark Roads grabbed my attention right from the first page. I was immediately transported to the small community of Cold Creek.
While Cold Creek was probably not too different from other small, isolated communities, there was plenty of danger to be found there. 

*Read my review...



Week of August 15th, 2022


Book Review:  
Every Summer After
By Carley Fortune
*Top Recommendation!*


This book was the perfect read for my summer vacation. Every Summer After  was high on my to-be-read list, and I couldn’t have
picked a better time to dive in.

I think it’s safe to say that many of us probably have fond memories of the summer months from our youths. Whether it was going on camping trips, staying in a cottage, or going to summer camp, we
often made special friends that we only saw during the summer. 

*Read my review...



Week of August 8th, 2022


Book Review:  
Bend Toward the Sun
By Jen Devon
New Release!
*Top Recommendation!*


I always enjoy finding new-to-me authors who write the types of books that just seem to hit the mark for me. But wait, this is not just an author who is new to me, this is Jen Devon’s debut novel. Let me just say that if this is her debut novel, I cannot wait to see what
her second, third, and fourth (et cetera) novels are like!

*Read my review...



Summer Vacation - 2022


Summer Vacation Reading Recommendations!


Whether you’re traveling abroad to explore new locations or just sticking around home for some rest and relaxation, you’re
probably planning on reading a book or two...or maybe three. If you’re looking for some recommendations, you’ve come to the
right place. The books in this list are some of my favorite reads from this year.

*Read my list...



Week of July 18th, 2022


Book Review:
The Bodyguard
By Katherine Center
New Release!
*Top Recommendation!*


It’s not summer until I’ve read the latest novel by Katherine Center! Do you know what? It was everything that I had hoped it would be!

Just when I thought that I was heading into a dreaded book slump, this gem of a book grabbed me, captivated me, and pulled me right out of the doldrums. The Bodyguard made me want to spend every spare minute that I had reading. It’s been a while since I’ve felt like that, and I missed it, and I’m so happy to have that feeling again. Thank you, Katherine Center!

*Read my full review...





Book Review:
The Godparent Trap
By Rachel Van Dyken
   New Releas
e!   


The Godparent Trap is an enemies-to-lovers, opposites-attract romance. You couldn’t get much more opposite than these characters, but that’s what makes it fun.

Colby is a free-spirited food blogger, and Rip is a strait-laced accountant. The only thing that they ever really had in common was their mutual love for Monica and Brooks. When tragedy strikes and forces them to live together in order to raise Monica and Brooks’ two young children, they do what needs to be done in order to provide these children with a stable and loving home.

*Read my full review...



Week of July 11th, 2022


Book Review:
Corinne
By Rebecca Morrow
New Release!


As a reader who is drawn to novels about forbidden relationships, Corinne certainly grabbed my attention. Complicated relationships prevailed in this book, and I was intrigued right from the start.

The book takes place over the span of fifteen years. We meet Corinne as a teenager. Her family has hit some hard times. She and her 
mother and siblings are living with Enoch Miller’s family. The Millers are loyal members of the fundamentalist church in their hometown. Corinne has always existed on the sidelines of the congregation. She has never fit in and been completely accepted. 

*Read my full review...



Book Review:
Bet on It
By Jodie Slaughter
         New Release!
            

I’m always in search of books that offer up something a little bit different. When you’re an avid reader, sometimes the tropes, settings, and characters in novels can feel like you’ve already been there and done that. Well, Bet on It  was promising something a bit different. To the best of my recollection, I have never read a novel in which the two main characters’ first encounter was during a panic attack at a grocery store, or their second encounter at a bingo hall, so, naturally, I was intrigued.


*Read my full review...



Week of July 4th, 2022


Book Review:
Dream On
By Angie Hockman
New Release!


I’m always intrigued by books about fate and finding your soul mate, but  Dream On  dealt with it in a completely different way. Imagine
waking up from a six-day coma only to realize that the man that you thought was your boyfriend and have all of these memories of is just
a figment of your imagination…or is he? 

*Read my full review...



Week of June 27th, 2022


Book Review:
For You & No One Else
By Roni Loren

Releasing July 5th!


For You & No One Else  is a novel about finding your  own happiness, being true  to yourself, and forsaking social media in favor of living in the present.

As soon as I began reading this novel, I was convinced that I was going to love it. Two lonely people going to visit an animal shelter on Christmas Day? Yeah, how could I possible resist that?  Can a cat be your favorite character in a book? The answer is  yes. But this story isn’t just all about the cute and cuddly. It has plenty of depth, emotion, and steam, too.

*Read my full review...



Week of June 20th, 2022


Book Review:
Book Lovers 
By Emily Henry
 *Top Recommendation!* 


Yes! This was just the book that I needed in my life. Believe all the hype. This book is clever, witty, emotional, romantic, and a book lover’s delight. There was just so much to love about it.

Nora Stephens is a literary agent who works hard for her clients. She’s career-minded, hardworking, a true lover of books, and a
big fan of her younger sister Libby. Nora may have success in her professional life, but romantically, she’s been dumped too many times by men who have left her for a sweet, small-town woman, in other words, the complete opposite of Nora.


*Read my full review...



Week of June 13th, 2022


Book Review:
Can't Look Away 
By Carola Lovering
New Release!
   *Top Recommendation!*
 


This book took me somewhere I hadn’t expected it to, but I certainly enjoyed the trip.

This book has it all: drama, romance, and psychological suspense. In all honesty, I was in my happy place while I was reading  Can’t Look
Away
. It had everything that I love in a novel, and I was hooked right from the beginning.


*Read my full review...



Shelley's Daily Blog

What she's reading now.