2 Book Lovers Reviews

​​Review

My Favorite Books of 2018!

The Arc

​By Tory Henwood Hoen

Week of January 10th, 2022


Book Review:

Always, in December

By Emily Stone


I love novels about chance meetings and serendipitous moments, so this one definitely caught my attention.

Always, in December is emotional and exudes a great deal of heart. I was invested in Josie’s life right from the beginning. She was likable and it was so easy to be on her side, hoping for the best for her.


*Read my full review...



*Holidays - 2021*


My Favorite Books of 2021!


The past couple of years have certainly been challenging, but we are
finally getting our lives back to normal, perhaps a “new” normal, but
whatever, I’ll take it (uh-oh, I may have spoken too soon). I think we can probably all agree that getting lost within the pages of a book
was a wonderful reprieve over the last year or two. Reading has provided me with an escape from real life, it took me on a new
adventure, thrilled me, frightened me, made me fall in love, but most importantly, it gave me a place to lose myself for a little while.

*See my list of favorite books for 2021...



Week of December 13th, 2021


Book Review:
                             If the Fates Allow                               
 By Rainbow Rowell


This was a fun, relevant little holiday story! This is a story that we can all relate to on some level. Our lives have changed because of
the pandemic, and things are now starting to, dare I say it, become more normal. Most of us went for long periods of time without
seeing our loved ones, some people threw caution to the wind. Christmas 2020 wasn’t the same for the majority of us, but this
year promises to be a bit brighter (fingers crossed).

*Read my full review...



Week of November 29th, 2021


Book Review:
                               Oh. What. Fun.                             
By Chandler Baker
New Release! 


We all want the holiday season to be a special time for our loved ones. For a season that is supposed to be filled with comfort and
joy, it often ends up being more of a stressed-out occasion for the ones who do all of the preparations.

Claire Clauster has always made the holidays sparkle for her family. She loves to follow traditions, feed her family their favorite meals,
wrap, entertain, and keep everyone merry, doesn’t she? 

*Read my full review...



Week of November 22nd, 2021


Book Review:
Just Haven't Met You Yet 
By Sophie Cousens
*Top Recommendation!*


This Time Next Year  made my list of favorite books for 2020, so, naturally, I was looking forward to reading Sophie Cousens’ new book  Just Haven’t Met You Yet. There’s nothing better than finding an author whose writing hits the mark for you, it’s even better when her newest novel lives up to my expectations. This book will definitely be making my list of favorite books of 2021!


*Read my full review...



Week of November 15th, 2021


Book Review:
A Head Full of Ghosts 
By Paul Tremblay
 


As part of my fall reading, I like to choose a few books that have the potential to scare the living daylights out of me. A Head Full of Ghosts has received a great deal of praise in the horror world 
since its release, claiming that it’s reminiscent of Stephen King’s  The Shining, Shirley Jackson’s  The Haunting of Hill House,
and William Peter Blatty’s  The Exorcist. How could I possibly resist that?

*Read my full review...



Week of November 8th, 2021


Book Review:
Heard It in a Love Song 
By Tracey Garvis Graves
New Release!


Heard It in a Love Song was one of my most anticipated novels for 2021. As a big fan of this author’s writing, I knew that she would take me on a captivating and emotional journey.

The story alternates between Layla and Josh’s perspectives. I was invested in the characters. They were normal, relatable, and 
vulnerable. Both of their marriages are over, and they are each navigating single life again. While we are witnessing them in their present-day lives, we also get flashbacks into their pasts. I enjoyed this aspect of the book. It gave me an insight into what pivotal moments had impacted their lives, hopes, dreams, and marriages. ​

*Read my full review...



Week of November 1st, 2021


Book Review:
The Naked Fisherman
By Jewel E. Ann


​This book had me at the title! But this is Jewel E. Ann, so I knew that there would be meaning behind such a cheeky book title.
I do love a forbidden romance, and I realized that it had been far too
long since I’d read one.

The first aspect that I enjoyed was that it was entirely from the female protagonist’s point of view. I like dual perspectives at times, but if I’m being completely honest, I want to be in the female’s head, wondering, worrying, and seeing everything play out from her perspective and, of course, feeling the rush of falling in love.

*Read my full review...



Week of October 25th, 2021


Book Review:
The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires
 By Grady Hendrix
*Top Recommendation!*


​Autumn is my favorite time of year for curling up and reading books that will scare the bejesus out of me. This book came highly recommended to me. My husband has been singing its praises for over a year now. He kept telling me that this book would be just the thing to keep me awake at night. He was right.

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires  grabbed my attention right from the get-go with its entertaining writing and fabulous characters. This book took me back in time to the ‘90s, to a book club of Southern housewives with a fascination for true-crime thrillers, serial killers, and mysteries. 

*Read my full review...
 



Week of October 18th, 2021


Book Review:
The Love Hypothesis
By Ali Hazelwood
*Top Recommendation!*


​This novel deserves every bit of the praise that it’s been receiving. As soon as I began reading  The Love Hypothesis, I knew that I had found a gem. This is a fabulous debut that, after finishing it, had me
wanting to go back to page one and read it all over again.

I adored Olive right from the very beginning. She’s intelligent, sweet, loyal, and quirky. I wanted to be her friend! When she needed to convince her friend that she was dating someone new (which she wasn’t), she grabbed the first guy that she came across in the hallway of her department. Lo and behold, she ended up kissing a highly revered, unapproachable, and feared professor. Yes!

*Read my full review...



Week of October 11th, 2021


Book Review:
The Party Crasher
By Sophie Kinsella
New Release!


​Sophie Kinsella’s books never fail to bring a smile to my face. The Party Crasher has all of the wit, heart, and quirky characters
that I have come to expect and love from her books. 


Effie is heartbroken when she finds out that her family home is being sold. It was bad enough when her parents decided to
divorce after so many years of marriage, but now Effie and her siblings would no longer be able to go and visit the house, share holiday meals there, and just bask in all of its eclectic charm.  It doesn’t matter if Effie is an adult, it still hurts.

*Read my full review...



Week of October 4th, 2021


Book Review:
The Violent Season
By Sara Walters
New Release!


​The fall season is my favorite time of year to curl up with a creepy, suspenseful novel. The Violent Season caught my eye with the 
cover, piqued my interest with the synopsis, and grabbed my full attention right from the first page.

This is a riveting debut novel that pulled me in quickly and didn’t want to let me go. Wyatt had suffered through an unimaginable loss, but then again, Wolf Ridge, Vermont was accustomed to loss. Every November, people in this sleepy little town end up dying.  For such a small blip on the map, Wolf Ridge has had more than its share of tragedies.  People are murdered, commit suicide, and die accidentally.  Wyatt thinks that there’s a “sickness” that occurs in Wolf Ridge, an inexplicable darkness that consumes people and forces them to act violently. 


*Read my full review...



Week of September 27th, 2021


Book Review:

Eight Perfect Hours 

By Lia Louis

New Release!

*Top Recommendation!*


After reading and loving  Dear Emmie Blue, I was eagerly awaiting the next book by Lia Louis.  Eight Perfect Hours  was everything that I had hoped it would be.  It is serendipity at its finest!

I adore stories about chance encounters, and this one certainly hit all of the marks.  I loved how Noelle and Sam met.  The whole situation was completely out of their control, and yet they were there together, meeting and spending the evening in each other’s company.  Even though their time together was fleeting, there just seemed to be something at play, something more between them.  Noelle felt something for Sam, something beyond just a fun night with a stranger, but she also knew that the probability of her ever seeing him again was very low.


*Read my full review...



Book Review:
Meet Me in London
By Georgia Toffolo
New Release!


What a delightful read!  I was in the mood for a lighthearted

romance with chemistry galore, and this novel did the trick.

Right from the beginning, Meet Me in London  captured my attention.  It is a fake relationship and opposites-attract romance all in one.  As soon as the protagonists met, I knew that I was going to enjoy this book. 

*Read my full review...


Book Review:
The Santa Suit
By Mary Kay Andrews
New Release!


Some people are still drinking margaritas, others are sipping pumpkin spice lattes, and I have gone straight into hot chocolate season.  After the past eighteen months, I’m of the belief that we could all use some magic in our lives.  If you’re looking for a holiday escape that is filled with hope, friendship, and meaningful connections, The Santa Suit  is for you.

*Read my full review...



​​Review

Shelley's Daily Blog

What she's reading now.