2 Book Lovers Reviews

June 23rd, 2017


Book Review:
My Name Is Not Isla
By Eliza Freed


My Name Is Not Isla is the story of one young woman’s journey to regain control of her life.  What began as a God-given talent and a dream, turned in the hectic, taxing life of a pop star that didn’t glitter quite as brightly as she her wide eyes had imagined.  Along
with fame and fortune came a world filled with dominance, abuse, prying eyes, obsessive fans, and lies masquerading as the truth.  When the price of fame becomes too high, and her freedom becomes a greater desire than her celebrity life, she escapes the bright lights, the flashbulbs, the pretend relationships, and the hulking security in search of the simple life and freedom that she craves.

*Read my full review...




June 22nd, 2017


Book News!


Dear Bridget, I Want You  by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland is releasing on September 18th! This looks so good!

Here's the synopsis:

Dear Bridget,


I’m writing this letter because it’s highly doubtful I’ll ever garner the courage to say this to your face. 
So, here goes.
We’re totally wrong for each other. You’re the proper single mum with a good head on your shoulders. I’m just the carefree British doctor passing through town and temporarily living in your converted garage until I head back to England.
But here’s the thing… for some bloody reason, I can’t stop thinking about you in very inappropriate ways. 
I want you.
The only reason I’m even admitting all of this to you right now is because I don’t believe it’s one-sided. I notice your eyes when you look at me, too. And as crass as I appear when we’re joking around about sex, my attraction to you is not a joke. 
So, what’s the purpose of this note? I guess it’s a reminder that we’re adults, that sex is healthy and natural, and that you can find me just through the door past the kitchen. More specifically, it’s to let you know that I’m leaving said door cracked open from now on in case you’d like to visit me in the middle of the night sometime. 
No questions asked. 
Think about it. 
Or don’t. 
Whatever you choose.
It’s doubtful I’ll even end up sliding this letter under your door anyway. 

--Simon



June 16th, 2017


Blog Tour  &  Review:
Dangerous Rush
(Furious Rush #2)
By S.C. Stephens


Available now!

*This is the continuation of the story that began in  Furious Rush.


Furious Rush left me rubbing my hands together in giddy 
anticipation of this next book in the series.  I remember thinking that the level of angst had just been turned up a few notches, which was exactly where I wanted it to go, and exactly where I expected this author to take the story.  Dangerous Rush took that level of angst and revved it up even higher.  I was feeling all of the familiar pangs of emotion and turmoil, but it was elevated to a point that made my heart pound that little bit faster.​

*See the blog tour post & read my full review...




June 13th, 2017


Release Blitz:
Dangerous Rush
(Furious Rush #2)
By S.C. Stephens

Available now!

*This is the continuation of the story that began in  Furious Rush.

Synopsis:


Feeling the rush comes with a price… 

Mackenzie Cox has lost everything—except Hayden Hayes. With Kenzie’s racing career over, and her family no longer speaking to her, Hayden has been her rock, as she tries to pick up the pieces of what was once her life.

But when Hayden’s racing team hires his beautiful ex-girlfriend, Felicia, to be their new hotshot rider, Kenzie and Hayden’s seemingly solid relationship begins to crack. Kenzie can only watch from the sidelines, as Felicia lives the life she was forced to leave behind, and as tension begins to build between Hayden and Kenzie, she wonders if Hayden isn’t the man she once knew.


*See the full Release Blitz...


June 11th, 2017


New Release  &  Review:
The Story of Us
By Tara Sivec

Available Now!


Tara Sivec has succeeded at leaving me in an emotional puddle of my own tears.  I’m not a weepy reader.  I may get a tear in my eye, sniff a bit, and blame it on allergies, but I don’t generally have big fat
tears rolling down my face while I’m reading.  This book made me struggle through the final twenty-five percent – I couldn’t read the words on the page through my tear-filled, blurry eyes.  With that being said, The Story of Us provided me with an experience that I’m always searching for when choosing my next read – I want to feel the story in the pit of my stomach and I want to feel a connection to the characters.  This book was brimming with emotion.

As soon as I saw that this book was about first loves and second chances, I knew that I was going to have to add it to my reading list.  If you’re expecting a book about young love, broken hearts, and a chance at forgiveness and a fresh start, you will absolutely get that, but you will also get so much more.  The Story of Us had so many layers that added to this captivating love story.  It has all of the elements that make for a compelling read, however, it takes the reader on a deep emotional journey filled with sacrifices, secrets, lies, pain, loss, and heartache.  


*Read my full review...



June 9th, 2017


Release Blitz &  Review:
One is a Promise
Tangled Lies, #1
By Pam Godwin
*Top Recommendation!*


Available Now!


One is a Promise  was everything that I had hoped it would be.  I didn’t want to put it down.  I didn’t want it to end.  I knew that this was going to be an all-consuming, tumultuous, sexy, angst-filled
read – and I couldn’t be happier.  This is Pam Godwin at her finest.  She has woven an addictive tangled web…and I never want to escape. 

I was hooked on this story and characters right from the beginning, and glued to the pages until the very last page.  I am always searching, hoping for that book that will make me feel all of the emotions right along with the characters.  I want to feel that connection.  One is a Promise took me to my reading happy place.  I was immediately invested in Danni, Cole, and Trace’s story and felt every emotion right in the pit of my stomach, from the fluttering butterflies to the anxiety and ache.  

*See the blitz post & read my full review...​  



June 8th, 2017


Book News!

Cover Reveal
SIN
A Vegas Nights Novel #1
By Emma Hart


Releasing on July 18th!  

Pre-order  for $0.99 cents!
*Standalone*


Synopsis:


Damien fox lived up to his name. Cunning, sly, and dangerous, fifty percent of Vegas’ strip clubs were his.  Whatever he wanted, money, attention, women, he got.
And now he wanted to buy my bar, no matter the cost.
I wanted him to go to hell on a first-class ticket.
He played a dirty game, and I followed his rules. I let him think he would win.
Despite our differences, it was clear to see that we were no more than two broken hearts colliding in the darkness.
Closed off, sexy, and holding a pain that would crush a lesser man, he was the ultimate sin.
One I couldn’t deny myself, even though I knew better than to trust a fox...


*See the full cover reveal...



Blitz
My Roommate's Girl
By Julianna Keyes

Releasing on June 12th!

Special  pre-order  price of $2.99.


Synopsis:

The day a judge gave me the choice between going to prison or going to college was the day I vowed to stop stealing. Never again would I see something beautiful and beyond my means and take it, just because I wanted it. Just because I could.
When I moved in with Jerry, it was with good intentions. I needed a place to live while I got my degree, and he needed a roommate. 
Then I saw Aster.
Blond and beautiful, good, pure, sweet, smart…and Jerry’s girlfriend. She was everything I never thought I could have. Except…maybe I can.
So I put a plan into action. Yeah, I’d probably go to hell, but it would be worth it. I wanted Aster. I wanted her yesterday and tomorrow and every possible way.
But you know what they say.
Be careful what you wish for…because you just might get it.


*See the full blitz post...



June 5th, 2017


Cover Reveal
After All
By Karina Halle


Releasing on June 26th!
A standalone lovers-to-enemies-to-lovers contemporary romance.


Synopsis:


Emmett Hill is the perfect gentleman.
At least that’s what his PR team wants the world to think.
Tall, handsome, and wickedly charming, Emmett is in the midst of a career comeback, having landed the role of a villain in a popular TV show. The only problem is, Emmett has come a long way from the “nice guy” characters he used to play and his old squeaky clean image is quickly being tarnished by bar fights, womanizing and bad boy behaviour. Considering he’s two years shy of forty, it’s an act he needs to drop. And fast.
Enter Alyssa Martin.
At twenty-eight, Alyssa is tired and ready for a change. Her job as office manager has grown stagnant and unfulfilling, while she’s become continuously frustrated with Vancouver’s lackluster dating scene, always searching for Mr. Right in a city of Mr. Wrongs.
When Emmett and Alyssa’s paths cross at a mutual friend’s wedding, their chemistry is off-the-charts hot, culminating in a steamy one-night stand.
What neither expected was for the media catch wind of their coupling – and run with it.
Now Emmett has to convince Alyssa to date him for the sake of his image. Her curvy, cute and “normal” persona is just the ticket to smoothing out his reputation, while Emmett provides Alyssa with the excitement and change her life has been lacking.
The only problem is, the two fight like cats and dogs outside of the bedroom.
And considering their arrangement is just for show, they shouldn’t be in the bedroom with each other anyway.
Right?
Try telling them that.


*See the full cover reveal...




June 2nd, 2017


Cover Reveal
Dangerous Rush
(Rush, #2)
By S.C. Stephens


Releasing on June 13th!  Available for pre-order.


Synopsis:
Feeling the rush comes with a price...

Mackenzie Cox has lost everything—except Hayden Hayes. 
With Kenzie's racing career over, and her family no longer speaking to her, Hayden has been her rock, as she tries to pick up the pieces of what was once her life.

But when Hayden's racing team hires his beautiful ex-girlfriend, Felicia, to be their new hotshot rider, Kenzie and Hayden's seemingly solid relationship begins to crack. Kenzie can only watch from the sidelines, as Felicia lives the life she was forced to leave behind, and as tension begins to build between Hayden and Kenzie, she wonders if Hayden isn’t the man she once knew.

*See the full cover reveal....


June 1st, 2017


Review Tour:
A Girl Like Me
(Like Us, #2)
By Ginger Scott
*Top Recommendation!*


*This is the continuation of the story that began in  A Boy Like You.*

A Girl Like Me  was one of my most highly anticipated books.  After being completely captivated and left hanging by A Boy Like You, I couldn’t wait to get back into Joss and Wes’s story again.  This book did not disappoint.  I couldn’t be happier with where the author took this story.  As soon as I began reading it, I was immediately pulled back in to the characters’ lives, totally immersed in the intriguing, mysterious storyline that surrounded them and their special, unbreakable connection. 

While this book is a love story at its core, it is also something extra, something more.   This duet stands out, it offers something unique and unexpected in its genre. 

*See the tour post, read my full review & enter the giveaway... ​



May 30th, 2017



New Release  &  Review:

White Fur

By Jardine Libaire


White Fur is an interesting spin on the star-crossed lovers trope.  This is not a love story that will sweep readers off their feet.  Jardine Libaire has written a book that is raw, gritty, and rich in description. It has a dark, melancholic feel to it that stayed with me throughout the book’s entirety.  It is oddly alluring and pulled me into the lives of the characters.  My curiosity was piqued early on, and I wanted 
to find out what was going to become of this couple.

Read my full review...  





Shelley's Daily Blog

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

By Taylor Jenkins Reid


What she's reading now.