2 Book Lovers Reviews

August 8th, 2017


New Release  &  Review:
The Forbidden
By Jodi Ellen Malpas
 *Top Recommendation!*


Jodi Ellen Malpas had me at the title, but the cover and synopsis were equally intriguing.  The Forbidden was an all-consuming novel that I read in record time.  While it may contain subject matter that may not appeal to every reader, I urge you to leave your morals at the door, step outside of your comfort zone, lower the barriers and let yourself experience Annie and Jack’s intense love story – you won’t be disappointed.

I’m not the type of reader who shies away from a tumultuous love story.  I want a story that is going to stir up my emotions and make me feel something.  Whether I agree with the subject matter or not, I want to be affected by what I’m reading – good or bad, uncomfortable or not, I need to feel the story.  I felt  The Forbidden.  Every word and every sentence was felt – from my pounding heart to the butterflies in my stomach to the ache that I felt right down to my toes.   As I frantically flipped the pages, I was living the story right alongside the characters. 

*Read my full review...



New Release  &  Review:
The Walls
By Hollie Overton


The Walls is a fast-paced book that pulled me into the story and kept me riveted to the pages until the end.

Kristy Tucker’s job is to work as a public information officer in the prison system.  She works closely with the media and death row inmates.  She knows the harsh extent of the crimes that people commit and the dangerous people who have committed them.  There is never a good day at her job, but it pays the bills and helps her to raise her son and care for her ill father.  Being an only child and a single mother, her adult life has been devoted to her family, often putting her own desires on the back-burner.  Her personal life takes a turn when she meets the handsome judo instructor who has taken a shining to her son.

*Read my full review...

​*Read Greg's review...



July 27th, 2017


New Release  &  Review:
The Difference Between Us
By Rachel Higginson

*Top Recommendation!*


This book kept a smile on my face from beginning to end.  It was pure enjoyment.  I love a good opposites attract book, and this one just hit all of the marks.  If you’ve read  The Opposite of You, then you’ve already met Molly and Ezra, but if you haven’t had the 
chance to read it yet, no worries, this book can be read as a standalone (The Opposite of You is definitely worth a read, though).

I am a huge fan of the slow burning romance, and Rachel Higginson has delivered this perfectly.  There isn’t an instant relationship or a quick roll in the proverbial hay.  No, the relationship that develops in this book is definitely one that simmers slowly and then builds and intensifies.  In my opinion, that’s the best part of any romance novel.  It’s the anticipation and the build-up that always keeps me glued to the pages.  Throw in the fact that Molly and Ezra didn’t exactly hit it off when they first met and this only adds to the fun.

*Read my full review...​



July 18th, 2017


Release Blitz  &  Review:
Wrecked
By JB Salsbury
*Top Recommendation!*


Synopsis:


When you can't trust yourself, how can you ask anyone else to?
It's been months since Aden Colt left the Army, and still the memories haunt him. When he moved into a tiny boat off the 
California coast, he thought he'd found the perfect place to escape life. Then Sawyer shows up and turns his simple life upside down. Beautiful and sophisticated, she seems out of place in this laid-back beach town. Something is pushing her to experience everything she can-including Aden. But as much as he wants her, starting a relationship with Sawyer puts them both at risk. For Aden, the past doesn't stay there; it shows up unexpectedly, uncontrollably, and doesn't care whose life it wrecks.     


My Review 

I was only a couple of chapters into Wrecked when I knew that I was reading a book with five star potential.  JB Salsbury immediately pulled me into Aden and Sawyer’s story and had me completely hooked.  If a book entices me early on and makes me want to avoid my other responsibilities just so that I can keep reading it, I know that it is going to be special.  I’m not ashamed to admit that I did shirk on some of my daily tasks because I didn’t want to leave the story or these characters.  As an avid reader, I chase this feeling all the time, and when I find a book that takes me there, I never want it to end.

Wrecked is the whole package.  It has all of the elements that I love when reading a contemporary romance.  It has fantastic characters, a heartfelt storyline, humor, and plenty of romance that will make readers melt.  With every turn of the page, I was feeling this story.  In all honesty, I can’t sing this book’s praises enough...  

*See the Release Blitz, read my full review & enter the giveaway...



July 14th, 2017


Release Blitz  &  Review:
Two is a Lie
(Tangled Lies, #2)
By Pam Godwin


Available now!  *Top Recommendation!*

*This series must be read in order.


Two is a Lie  is the second book in the Tangled Lies series.  This 
series must be read in order. If you haven’t read  One is a Promise, back away from this review, grab a copy of the first book, close and lock your door and get ready to have your heart torn in two.

Excuse me while I try to remove my heart from the pit of my stomach.  Yes, the angst and emotions were amped up even more in this book.  Best feeling ever if you’re an angst lover, which I am.  After finishing the first book, I was beyond anxious to get back to the messy, complicated dilemma that Danni had found herself in.  And with the way the first book ended, I knew that Danni would be faced with a terrible decision.  

*See the Release Blitz and read my full review...



July 13th, 2017


New Release  &  Review:
Cocky Client
By Whitney G.

Available Now!


Cocky Client was a fun, quick way to escape reality for a little while.  Once again, Whitney G. has provided her readers with a sexy novella in her Steamy Coffee Collection to read and enjoy in one sitting. 

We’ve all had those days where we would’ve been better off just staying in bed.  After a morning filled with mishaps and bad luck, Penelope should have known that things were going to go from bad to worse with her meeting with a prospective client for her PR firm.  Poor Penelope.  In a city as populated as New York City, what were the chances that she would come face-to-face with her one-night stand from the previous night?  

*Read my full review...




July 7th, 2017


Book Review:
Everything, Everything
By Nicola Yoon


After hearing so many great things about this book from fellow readers, I immediately added it to my ever-growing list of books that I need to read.  I’m always searching for a book that is a bit unique, one that will take me on a completely different journey.  Everything, Everything caught my attention as soon as I read the synopsis.  I had never read a book with a character who had the same condition as Madeline, and I wanted to step inside her sheltered world and discover more about her.

Madeline suffers from a condition in which her immune system is so fragile that she is unable to ever go outside.  Her condition is so severe that if anyone comes to her house they need to be decontaminated.  Their house has air that has been specifically filtered to suit her needs.  Madeline’s health is routinely checked and charted to ensure that her health has not been compromised in any way.  The only people who Madeline is in contact with are her mother, who is also a doctor, and Carla, her nurse who tends to her while her mother is at work.

*Read my full review...



July 6th, 2017


Book News!


The cover for  Sick Fux  by Tillie Cole has been revealed.  Yes, that is the name of the book!  ;)  The author describes this book as a dark, messed up, unhealthy, unconventional love story.  She had me at dark and messed up!  The release date has not been revealed.

Synopsis:

When Ellis Earnshaw and Heathan James met as children, they couldn’t have been more different. Ellis was loud and beautiful – all blond  hair, bright laughs and smiles. Heathan was dark and brooding, and obsessed with watching things die.
The pair forged an unlikely friendship, unique and strange. Until they were ripped apart by the sick cruelty of others, separated for years, both locked in a perpetual hell.
Eleven years later, Heathan is back for his girl. Back from a place from which he thought there was no return. Back to seek revenge on those who wronged them.
Time has made Heathan’s soul darker, polluted with hatred and the thirst for blood.
Time has made Ellis a shell of her former self, a little girl lost in the vastness of her pain.
As Heathan pulls Ellis out of her mental prison, reviving the essence of who she once was, down the rabbit hole they will go.
With malice in their hearts and vengeance in their veins, they will seek out the ones who hurt and destroyed them.
One at a time.
Each one more deadly than the last.
Tick Tock.​



June 27th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Until It Fades
By K.A. Tucker
*Top Recommendation!*


Until It Fades is contemporary romance at its finest.  It captured my full attention at the very beginning and kept me completely engrossed until the final page.  With characters that I immediately cared about, a story that is rich with emotion, and a romance that will make even the most hardened hearts believe in love, Until It Fades is a perfect, well-rounded romance that just hit all the marks.

Living in a small community, you can expect that everyone is going to know your business – your triumphs, downfalls, and your misfortunes. Unfortunately, once you’ve made a reputation for yourself in a small town, it’s nearly impossible to shake it.  Catherine has experienced her share of difficult times in her twenty-four years.  She made some poor choices in her teenage years.  She did things that, looking back now, she regrets.  Despite her attempts to move forward with her life, she still feels the judgment, hears the whispers, and sees the sneers from the locals.

*Read my full review...



June 26th, 2017



New Release & Review:
Forgetting You, Forgetting Me
By Monica James
*Top Recommendation!*


One thing is for certain, I won’t  be forgetting this book in the near future.   Forgetting You, Forgetting Me wreaked havoc  on my emotions.  With every turn of the page, I felt as though I was living through the  story right alongside Lucy.  This isn’t an easy love story.

It’s tumultuous, difficult, heart-wrenching, and gutting, in other words, it was exactly what I was hoping for. 

Lucy Tucker’s life was changed in the blink of an eye.  The future that she had envisioned with her fiancé was ripped from her on what should have been the happiest day of their lives.  I felt her loss, devastation, and heartache.  Every emotion that she felt was palpable and raw.  Her new reality may have been painful to witness, but despite the number of times that my heart plummeted into the pit of my stomach, I was completely committed and invested in her story. 

*Read my full review...





Shelley's Daily Blog

Beautiful Mistake

By Vi Keeland


What she's reading now.