2 Book Lovers Reviews

Dear Bridget, I Want You

By Penelope Ward 

& Vi Keeland

September 15th, 2017


Book Review:
Return to Ithaca By Glyn Iliffe


So here we are, Odysseus’ journey is coming to an end.  I have followed his and Eperitus’ travels, trials and tribulations through the previous five books.  Now we have the  Return to Ithaca.

As someone who is familiar with the works of Homer, one thing has bothered me since the first chapter.  If I’m spoiling anything for you, sorry, but the story has been around for three thousand years...

Read my full review​​...



September 12th, 2017


Book Review:
The Troop By Nick Cutter


I think we’ve all had those books, the ones that seem as though everyone else has already read, loved and sung their praises.  For me, The Troop was one of those books.  I’ve had The Troop on my Kindle since last October, I just needed to make the time to read it.  If you haven’t read The Troop yet, I highly recommend that you read it too.

Read my full review​​...



​​​​​September 8th, 2017

Where am I going this weekend?  That's an easy one - to the movies!  I can't resist watching one of the best books that I've read this year (or maybe ever) come alive on the big screen.


Book Review:
It By Stephen King


It…What can I say about It that hasn’t already been said?  Which superlatives haven’t already been used to describe Stephen King’s writing?  I’ll keep it simple and straight to the point…I loved It.  It, in my humble opinion, is one of the best books ever written.  You should really read It.  I should have read It years ago.

Read my full review​​...


September 1st, 2017


Book Review:
Daughters Unto Devils By Amy Lukavics


I put off reading this book for quite some time.  When I first saw Daughters Unto Devils I was immediately drawn to the cover, but then I saw that it was YA.  I had been going through a phase where every other horror book was YA, and they just weren’t up to the adult level of horror that I wanted.  So, I put Daughters Unto Devils on the back shelf.

Read my full review​​...


August 29th, 2017


Book Review:
One Year After By William R. Forstchen


Survival…that’s what it has been all about since the EMP.  Forstchen has allowed one full year to pass since the events of One Second After; yes, you must read book one before embarking on the journey in One Year After.


The first book in the series was about getting by, surviving and coming together.  The second is more about control and deception – an us and them scenario.  

Read my full review​​...



August 25th, 2017



Book Review:

The Stand

By Stephen King


The more I read by Stephen King, the more I come to appreciate his literary genius.  As a fan of the post-apocalyptic genre, I decided it was well past time for me to read  The Stand.

The Stand is not the sort of book that you just sit down and read; this book is a commitment, it is over fourteen hundred pages of book perfection.  The true genius is in the fact that by the end of the book I still craved more.  


Read my full review​...



August 22nd, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Other Girl By Erica Spindler


The Other Girl  had everything that I normally look for in a book:  a protagonist with a past she would like to put behind her, an evil villain who’s one step ahead of the law, and a ritualistic murder, for good measure.  I jumped at the opportunity to read an early copy.


There is no taking away from the fact that Erica Spindler is a good author and storyteller.  The story was well written and developed at a good pace, not too fast and not too slow.  

Read my full review​​...



August 18th, 2017


Book Review:

Autumn:  The City By David Moody


It was while I was reading The City that I heard about George Romero’s passing.  To be honest, it now feels like there is a massive hole in this genre that I have grown to love so much.  Now, you may wonder what Romero has to do with The City or even the Autumn Series.  Well, Romero set the standard, established the expectations and, whether consciously or subconsciously, Romero is the bar that all others will be judged by.​​

Read my full review​​...


August 15th, 2017


Book Review:
The Strain By Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan


You know that old sweater you have, the one that fits just right?  You’ve had it for years, it has gone on vacation with you, out to the theater and family functions.  Now it’s only fit for wearing around the house, but every time you pull it over your head it just makes you feel comfortable.  Delving into The Strain was like pulling on that old sweater.  This is what reading is supposed to be all about.

Read my full review​​...


August 11th, 2017


Book Review:
The Beachhead By Christopher Mari


​I’ve always been a sucker for a good old-fashioned apocalypse.  There are very few that are more old- fashioned than the Book of Revelation.  Christopher Mari has gone with his own interpretation of the aftermath, as told by John.  All right, I’m on board, let’s go!

Read my full review​​...


August 8th, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Walls By Hollie Overton


I do this all the time; I find a new book, read the synopsis, grab the book, and finally read it months later, having completely forgotten the synopsis.  The Walls  was one such book, however, this created a great reading experience for me.  I went into it not knowing what to expect and I immersed myself in the story.

Read my full review​​...

Read Shelley's review...



July 25th, 2017


Book Review:
Bone White By Ronald Malfi


This is my second experience into the wonderful imagination of Ronald Malfi, and I have come to the conclusion that he is not human.  Ronald Malfi is some kind of demonic artist of words.  He can reach deep inside of you, grab hold of your soul and twist it to shreds.  He writes a pretty good book too!

Read my full review​​...


July 18th, 2017


Book Review: 
Hell Divers II:  Ghosts By Nicholas Sansbury Smith


I love a summer sequel; getting reacquainted with some old friends, making some new ones and just enjoying the time spent together.  The familiarity of the sequel is comforting. I am already invested in the world, I know the backstory, and I have an idea of where I would like the adventure to go. Ghosts fits the summer sequel spot superbly.

Read my full review​​...


July 14th, 2017


Book Review
The Breakdown By B.A. Paris

Available now!


The synopsis is key when it comes to my book reading decisions.  Too much information and I feel like there’s no point in reading the book, everything is already there.  Too little, and I don’t know if it is for me or not.  I guess I’m a bit of a Goldilocks when it comes to the synopsis, and The Breakdown had it just right.


Read my full review​​...


July 7th, 2017


Book Review: 
Dark Hollow By Brian Keene


There is nothing quite like mixing a little bit of mythical creature to up the ante on a horror story.  Brian Keene has done a fantastic job of mixing old with new:  satyrs frolicking with young ladies in the woods (alright, there was a lot more than just frolicking going on), a novelist in Pennsylvania starting his new story.

Read my full review​​...


June 30th, 2017


Book Review: 
The Silence By Tim Lebbon


I’ve got my own kind of bucket list: authors that I haven’t read yet, who have a fantastic looking collection of works and whom I’ve heard a plethora of great things about.  I try to read one of these authors once in a while. Tim Lebbon fits the bill perfectly; when I read the synopsis for  The Silence, I knew that was the one for me.

Read my full review​​...


June 23rd, 2017


Book Review:

 The Substitute By Nicole Lundrigan


I love a great crime/ mystery.  Nicole Lundrigan intrigued me with her synopsis, just enough to grab my attention, but not too much as to give the story away.  The Substitute certainly did not disappoint.  I was pulled into the story and could not escape the web that Lundrigan weaved.


Read my full review​​...


June 16th, 2017


Book Review
Heart-Shaped Box By Joe Hill


Heart-Shaped Box sat on my Kindle, unread for far too long.  I’ve taken a bit of a shining to Joe Hill’s writing; he writes old school in a newfangled way.  His books, the ones that I have read, are all a good length (no one hundred page novellas), complete standalones (there is no book 15 in the series) and definitely unique.

Read my full review​​...


June 9th, 2017


Book Review: 
The Bone Collection By Kathy Reichs


The Bone Collection was a great way for me to be introduced to a new-to-me author.  As a rule, I’m not a huge fan of anthologies.  I find that the stories are over before they’ve really had a chance to begin.  The Bone Collection contains four stories within its 388 pages.  It had a bit more meat and potatoes to the stories.

Read my full review​​...


June 6th, 2017


Summer Book Recommendations


Summer is that time of year when things tend to slow down a bit, we sit outside, relax, have a few beverages.  The kids are out of school, and the extracurricular activities are on a temporary hiatus.  It is a fantastic time to read those books that you’ve always wanted to read, but you just haven’t found/made the time.  I’ve actually been doing a little bit of that all year long.  So, to help inspire your summer reading list, I thought I would share a few of my own, “Why the hell did I wait so long to read this?” books.

Read my list​​...


June 1st, 2017


New Release & Review:

Killer of Kings By  Matthew Harffy


Book four, I have been following Beobrand’s trail of vengeance now for two years.  It is a trail filled with death, destruction and devastation.  I have witnessed Beobrand grow from a young “green” warrior into a leader of men.

What I really like about Harffy’s writing is the fact that he keeps it real.  ​

See my full review​​...


May 30th, 2017


Book Review:

Twisted By Andrew E. Kaufman


Twisted is one of those books that I wanted to read

from the first time I saw it.  The title, the cover, the synopsis, Twisted was on my radar!  Now, I just had to read it.

Twisted delivered on its promise.  It is a twisted tale that grabbed me right from the start.  Around every corner, Kaufman drops one WTF moment after another.

See my full review​​...


May 23rd, 2017


Book Review:  

Black Mad Wheel By Josh Malerman


Anyone who has read Bird Box knows that Josh Malerman is capable of reaching inside, grabbing your soul and freaking the hell out of it.  Once I saw that he had a new book releasing, I knew that I needed to read it.

Black Mad Wheel  played back and forth between two timelines in the protagonist’s life.  ​


See my full review​​...


Wrath of the Ancients

By Catherine Cavendish

New Release!

September 22nd, 2017


Book Review:

Madness Treads Lightly

By Polina Dashkova


I have been taking a literary trip around the world with the assistance of AmazonCrossing. It’s really interesting to experience how authors in other cultures write and develop their stories.  For this leg of my voyage, I’m off to Russia with Polina Dashkova’s Madness Treads Lightly.


Read my full review​...


September 22nd, 2017

This week's list of new releases

has been updated below.  ​Get

ready to add more books to

your TBR list - it's a great 

week to be a reader!  Enjoy!  


       Cover Reveal

                Constant

    By Rachel Higginson

Releasing November 16th!

Available for pre-order.

A second chance romantic

suspense.

Synopsis:


Fifteen years ago I met Sayer

Wesley. I fell in love with him.

I promised I would never leave

him. I swore nothing could

break us apart. 
Five years ago I broke my

promise. I ran away. I took the one secret that could destroy us both and disappeared. 
Five days ago I thought I saw him. 
I knew it was impossible. Sayer was locked away, serving a deserved sentence in federal prison. He couldn’t find me. 
He wouldn’t find me. I was too good at hiding. Too good at surviving.
Because if Sayer ever found me, there would be hell to pay for a plethora of sins. The worst of which, he didn’t even know about yet. 
Five hours ago, I told myself I was crazy. 
Five minutes ago, I saw him again. 
Five seconds ago, I was too late. 













New Release  &  Review:

The Life We Almost Had

By Laura Miller


The Life We Almost Had is a heartwarming second chance

love story that is filled with Laura Miller’s signature small-

town charm.  Her words effortlessly transport her readers to Sweet Home, Missouri and into the blossoming friendship and love story of Iva and Berlin. 

*Read my full review...


      

​​New Releases!


- On a Tuesday  - By Whitney G. - A second chance love story, inspired by Adele's "When We Were Young".

We met on a Tuesday.
Became best friends, then lovers, on a Tuesday.
And everything fell apart on a Tuesday...
Charlotte Taylor has three automatic strikes in my book: 1) She hates me. She also claims that I'm a "domineering jerk with a huge, overbearing ego." (I do have something huge. It's not my ego, though.) 2) She takes our mandatory tutoring sessions way too seriously. 3) She's sexy as hell...And a virgin.
At least, those were her strikes before our study sessions started lasting longer than they were supposed to. Until one innocent kiss became a hundred dirty ones, and until she became the first woman I ever fell hard for.
Our future together after graduation was supposed to be set:
Professional football for me. Law school for her.
But she left me at the end of the semester with no explanation, and then she completely disappeared from my life.
Until tonight.
We met on a Tuesday.
Became everything, then nothing, on a Tuesday.
And now it's seven years later, on a Tuesday...


Dear Bridget, I Want You By Penelope Ward &

Vi Keeland - Standalone.

Dear Bridget,
I’m writing this letter because
it’s highly doubtful I’ll ever

garner the courage to say this  to your face.
So, here goes.
We’re totally wrong for each
other. You’re the proper single

mum with a good head on your shoulders. I’m just the

carefree British doctor passing through town and temporarily living in your converted garage until I head back to England.
But here’s the thing… for some bloody reason, I can’t stop thinking about you in very inappropriate ways.
I want you.
The only reason I’m even admitting all of this to you right now is because I don’t believe it’s one-sided. I notice your eyes when you look at me, too. And as crass as I appear when we’re joking around about sex, my attraction to you is not a joke.
So, what’s the purpose of this note? I guess it’s a reminder that we’re adults, that sex is healthy and natural, and that you can find me just through the door past the kitchen. More specifically, it’s to let you know that I’m leaving said door cracked open from now on in case you’d like to visit me in the middle of the night sometime.
No questions asked.
Think about it.
Or don’t.
Whatever you choose.
It’s doubtful I’ll even end up sliding this letter under your door anyway.
―Simon


-
Exes with Benefits  – By Nicole Williams – Second chance romance!

The only benefit I want from my ex is a divorce. 
We got married for all the wrong reasons. The one thing we got right was our separation. I should have known better than to think I could bet on forever with a guy like Canaan Ford. Everything about him screamed impermanent, from his wild eyes to his restless soul. 
When I left him and the small town I’d spent my whole life in, I swore I’d never go back. Never only turned out to be five years. Canaan claims he’s changed, but he hasn’t—same knowing smile, same rough demeanor, same body crafted from sin and sinew. And yet, something is different. He thinks this is his chance for redemption. My disagreement comes in the form of divorce papers dropped in his lap. He refuses to sign them. Unless . . .
He wants a month to prove himself to me—that’s his offer. One month to make me fall in love with him again and if I don’t, he’ll sign the papers. As much as I want to say no, I agree. I can suffer my ex for a short amount of time if that’s what it takes to be free of him once and for all. I fell for him once; I won’t make that same mistake twice. 
He says we’re not over. I say we were over before we got started. Only one of us can be right, and I can’t let it be him.

-
King of Code  – By CD Reiss – Hackers!

Taylor Harden is a man on the edge.
The edge of fame. The edge of untold wealth.
The edge of utter humiliation.
He built an unhackable system, and in front of everyone, it’s hacked. 
His reputation goes from king to goat in a split second. Boom. Like that.
Some dude in Barrington, USA (AKA Nowhere) has locked down Taylor’s code, and if he doesn’t get it back, he’s going to be wearing a monkey suit for the rest of his life.
Except, this guy? This hacker from Nowhere? He’s not a guy. 
Harper Watson’s all woman. And she has a plan for Taylor, his code, and his body.


-
Catch My Fall:  A Falling Novel  – By Jessica Scott – Military romance!  Friends-to-lovers!

Former Army Sergeant Deacon Hunter is trapped. Trapped in the friend zone. The woman who captured his heart when they were deployed in Iraq has never looked back at the time they stole. 
Former Army Sergeant Kelsey Ryder has scars, the kind of scars that no one ever sees, no one ever knows about unless she tells them. Working around the guys at the Pint, she’s reminded of everything she lost when she left the Army behind. 
But some scars refuse to stay hidden. 
One fateful night changes everything and neither of them know if their relationship will ever be the same. 
All Deacon knows is that he’ll be there to catch her when she finally falls.


​- Breaching the Contract (The Conflict of Interest Series #1)  - By Chantal Fernando

Katerina Dawson knows exactly what she wants from life. And as the new associate at the top law firm in the city, she’s ready to live out her dreams of becoming a criminal lawyer. But going on coffee runs and babysitting kids during the day was definitely not what she had in mind. She knows that anyone else would kill to be in her shoes, but she has to draw the line somewhere. That’s easier said than done, though, when Kat has to confront her handsome boss…
Tristan Channing and Jaxon Bentley run a successful law firm together and the two partners couldn’t be busier right now. When Jaxon suddenly takes a leave of absence, Tristan begrudgingly assumes responsibility of the new associate, the hot new associate, who has curves for days. Needing to keep his distance from her, Tristan sends Kat on needless errands and has her doing work even an intern wouldn’t touch, like picking up his kids. But his plan backfires when he sees his children grow attached to Kat and sees her getting comfortable in his home. It triggers something deep within him, and it feels right to have her there. Will Tristan be able to keep his work and personal lives separate, or will he find that his heart holds the final verdict?


- The Life We Almost Had  – By Laura Miller – Second chance romance!  Read my review!

Back before everyone left the little town of Sweet Home to the ghosts, she was the girl next door. And he was the boy, who could never get on her father’s good side. But none of that mattered. The only thing that mattered was that her heart had picked him.
But that was years ago. And now, Berlin’s sister is praying for someone to show up to take her brother’s mind off the girl from his past. And surely enough, that someone does. But will this girl be able to cut the chains of his first love or will she just make him fall harder for that little girl he left behind in Sweet Home, Missouri? 
One week is all they have.


-
Lucas:  A Cold Fury Hockey Novel  – By Sawyer Bennett - Standalone hockey romance!

Lucas Fournier is only serious about one thing: hockey. The league’s fun-loving charmer, Luc is always up for a good prank or a great lay, and he has no intention of settling down. But being traded to the Carolina Cold Fury—and to play alongside his big brother, Max—is no joke. With another title in sight, the last thing Luc wants is to let his new teammates down. To succeed, Luc will need to keep his head in the game and the most . . . er, demanding member of his anatomy in check. But when temptation hits, Luc hits back harder.
Museum curator Stephanie Frazier has always put business before pleasure, which just about explains her nonexistent sex life. But when Stephanie meets Luc at a champagne-fueled gala, she finds herself flirting like crazy—and going home with the uninhibited athlete. For one night, she learns what passion is all about. She just never counted on the little surprise Luc leaves behind. And that’s when things really start to get . . . interesting.


-
My Image of You  – By Melanie Moreland

My name is Adam Kincaid, and I’m the best at what I do. After losing my parents, I decided to follow in their footsteps, and now I’m the most daring freelance photographer in the world.
Maybe some think I’m a loner, but I don’t care. All that matters is the shot: braving danger and devastation in search of a single image with the power to tell someone’s story. But as good as I am, accidents happen—and thank god for that, because it’s what leads me to her. . . .
Alexandra Robbins. My nurse. My savior.
With her fiery red hair and crystal-clear blue eyes, the camera loves her . . . and I have to have her. We soon find that we’re perfect together. We just fit, physically and emotionally. And yet something isn’t right. Something from her past is haunting her, and no matter what I do to help her break free, I lose her.
Today is the day I try to win her back. Not only do I need an explanation, I need her in my bed once again. I don’t just want a damn picture—I want her. Because what we have is a love that never fades away. . . .

-
Fool Me Once (First Wives Series #1)  – By Catherine Bybee - A series about four women and their alliance of newfound friendship, unexpected love, and second chances.

-
Healed by You (The Harbour Series #2)  – By Christy Pastore – Hollywood romance!

-
Best Day Ever  – By Kaira Rouda – Psychological thriller!

Paul Strom has the perfect life: a glittering career as an advertising executive, a beautiful wife, two healthy boys and a big house in a wealthy suburb. And he’s the perfect husband: breadwinner, protector, provider. That’s why he’s planned a romantic weekend for his wife, Mia, at their lake house, just the two of them. And he's promised today will be the best day ever. 
But as Paul and Mia drive out of the city and toward the countryside, a spike of tension begins to wedge itself between them and doubts start to arise. How much do they trust each other? And how perfect is their marriage, or any marriage, really? 


-
The Queen  – By Skye Warren – The final book in the Masterpiece duet.

-
Love Profound (Cowboys and Angels #2)  – By Kelly Elliott

Wicked Dirty  – By J. Kenner – Standalone.

Sometimes bad isn’t good enough…
On the outside, Lyle Tarpin is a clean-cut Hollywood actor whose star is on the rise. Inside, he’s battling his own demons, shunning relationships and finding solace in the arms of a string of anonymous women paid very well for their discretion. 
But when he’s photographed in a compromising position by an over-eager reporter, the only way to save his career is to say that the woman he was with is his fiancée. And now Lyle has to play a very public game with the only woman who’s ever managed to get under his skin...

-
Beautiful Scars  – By Shiloh Walker

Three years after her divorce, Chaili Bennett is over her ex. Her only problem now? Of the few men she’s dated since, no one “gets” her. Not like Marc Archer—a man who’s never seen her as more than a friend.
Marc Archer needs a date for a last-minute charity event, and he needs it fast. Not that women aren’t throwing themselves at his world-famous face and body, but sometimes it’s less messy—as in less personal—to use his sister Shera’s escort service.
The last woman on earth Marc expects to see in his sister’s office is Chaili. There’s something different about her, but nothing pleases him more when Shera sets them up. That simple date quickly evolves into much more as they both discover the other fills a deep, secret need they’ve shared with no one else...

-
After Office Hours:  Seducing the Professor  – By Amelia J. Matthews & Heather Young-Nichols - Forbidden romance!

-
Rock Me – By Carly Phillips  – Rock star romance!

A pop star in danger.
Her reluctant bodyguard.
A past they can’t deny.
Summer Michelle is on the verge of ultimate fame. 
Ben Hollander has sworn off mixing business with pleasure. 
But keeping his hands off of the sexy songstress is easier said than done and once the threat is neutralized, will she choose fame over love? 

-
Drawn to Him:  A Romance Collection  - By Willow Winters, M. Never, L.J. Shen, K. Webster, Isabella Starling, A. Zavarelli & K.L. Kreig  – A collection of eight exclusive never-before-seen novellas!  

-
Turning up the Heat  – By Erika Wilde

Radio personality Kerri McCree really likes sex. Talking about sex, that is . . . 
Kerri knows firsthand that you can hide a lot behind a microphone. Although she's earned a reputation for discussing every aspect of sex on her show, she's never had to back it up . . . until a sexy mystery caller proves to be even more irresistible in person...

-
One More Thing (A 47 Things Novel)  – By Lilliana Anderson


- Born, Darkly (Darkly, Madly Duet #1)  - By Trisha Wolfe - I've already heard some great things about this book!

He challenged her sanity.
She shattered his reality.
They dared each other...to the brink of madness.
A dark and twisted maze awaits criminal psychologist London Noble when she falls for her patient, convicted serial killer, Grayson Pierce Sullivan. As she unravels the traps, her sanity tested with each game, she's forced to acknowledge the true evil in the world around her.


- Five  - By J.A. Huss - A standalone and spin-off of the Rook & Ronin series.

Five Aston has known Rory Shrike for as long as he can remember. He played with her in the sandbox. He went to every damn horse show just to be supportive. He helped her with her French, walked her home from school, and faked his test scores just to stay with her a little longer and not be sent off to college early.
But eventually he had to move on.
And so did she.
Never has a second chance meant so much to a boy who loves a girl. 


- Ride It Out (A Desert Dogs Novel)  - By Cara McKenna

There’s a new deputy in town, and she’s a law unto herself.


- Solace - By S.L. Scott - Second chance romance!

A heartwarming small town romance with plenty of action and swoons that will have this hometown hero vying for the affections of his high school sweetheart.


- The Evolution of Ivy:  Antidote  - By Lauren Campbell

This is not a standalone.  This is the continuation of the story that began in  The Evolution of Ivy.  The first book is FREE for a limited time!



 

Happy Reading!

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog