April 18th, 2017


Book Review:
Security By Gina Wohlsdorf


Ever since I first came across  Security, there was something intriguing about the book; it has a “big brother” aspect about it that piqued by interest.  I downloaded the sample, something I would recommend, and was captivated and strangely intrigued by the point-of-view from which the story was told.

See my full review​​...



April 7th, 2017


Book Review:
I'm Thinking of Ending Things By Iain Reid


This is one of those books that you love or hate; and you might not even know why.  Iain Reid had me questioning everything throughout the book.  What was going on?  Is that real?  Why.  Are.  You.  Doing.  That? Don’t go down the stairs!  Okay, that wasn’t a question, but I said it.

See my full review​​...
See Shelley's review...


April 4th, 2017


Book Review:
Wolves By  D.J. Molles


What is the price of vengeance?  After reading Wolves, I would have to say that it is your soul.

Every once in a while, I find a book that I connect with on multiple levels - a book that speaks to me, pulls me into the lives of the characters and leaves me craving more.  Wolves 

is one such book.  Many times as I was reading, my wife would ask me, “How is your book?”  All I could say in response was, “Dark.”  

See my full review​​...



March 31st, 2017


Upcoming Release:  
The Last Neanderthal By  Claire Cameron
Releasing April 25th!
Available for pre-order!


40,000 years in the past, the last family of Neanderthals roams the earth. After a crushingly hard winter, their numbers are low, but Girl, the oldest daughter, is just coming of age and her family is determined to travel to the annual meeting place and find her a mate.
But the unforgiving landscape takes its toll, and Girl is left alone to care for Runt...​

Read more...​​


March 28th, 2017


New Release & Review:

Almost Missed You By Jessica Strawser


You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression.  This old expression applies to books, as well as many other things.  A great start is key to pulling the reader into the story.  If the first chapter doesn’t captivate me, I am easily distracted and it’s damn near impossible to make up for that shortcoming.  Almost Missed You had no such issue.  


See my full review...



March 24th, 2017


Book Review:
The Emperor's Knives By Anthony Riches


​By the time you reach book seven in a series, you should know what to expect.  If you didn’t like the previous books, what the hell are you even doing here?  With Wounds of Honour, Anthony Riches opened up a whole new world of books for me; one with Roman Legions marching through hordes of blue-nosed barbarians.  I have become a huge fan of Riches, as well as a few others in the genre.

See my full review...​​


March 21st, 2017


New Release:
The Beach​head By Christopher Mari


After Earth is decimated, the entire remaining human population is marooned on an unfamiliar beach. The enigmatic winged Orangemen leave the survivors with instructions to remake their society, basic tools and weapons, and a few thousand books, including Bibles in many languages. As two generations are born and raised, conflicting theories as to the nature of the apocalypse continue to simmer.

Read more...​​


March 17th, 2017


Book Review:
The Girl with All the Gifts By M.R. Carey


Please sir, may I have another?  That is how I felt after reading  The Girl with All the Gifts.  This is one of the best books that just hit me perfectly in all the right places.  I laughed, I cried, where do I find the t-shirt?

The Girl with All the Gifts  is one of those cases where, with respect to the synopsis, less is more.  I read the synopsis and was immediately pulled in. 

See my full review...​​


March 14th, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Man in the Lighthouse By Erik Valeur


There are many different factors that will draw me into reading a particular book.  The cover, let’s be honest, we are all drawn to good covers; The Man in the Lighthouse has a great cover.  The genre, I have become a huge fan of dark Nordic mysteries and thrillers over the past few years.  Even the publisher is a factor that will influence a reader’s decision to read a particular book.  

See my full review...​​


March 10th, 2017


Book Review:
Testament
By David Gibbins

Releasing March 14th!


I’ve had a fascination with archaeology and ancient history since I was a kid.  Yeah, I wanted to be Indiana Jones when I grew up…there’s nothing wrong with that.  But then I grew up and learned that, well, Indiana Jones is not exactly what archaeology is; it’s more digging in trenches and hoping to find thousand- year old trash than finding lost cities of gold.  That is the fun in reading a book by David Gibbins... 

See my full review...​​


March 7th, 2017


Book Review:  
Red Devils
(The Front, Book Two)
By David Moody


This is a new-to-me concept, three authors working together on the same project where there is a clear, defined, concise point where one author hands the baton off to the next.  David Moody has grasped the baton handed to him by Timothy W. Long and he is off and running with Red Devils.

See my full review...​



March 3rd, 2017


Book Review:

 Neon Wings By David G. Barnett


A good book takes you away on a voyage to a different time and place.  A great book takes you back to a feeling of warmth and comfort that you long for.

Neon Wings is a great book.  I love horror that builds off of religion.  It pushes our limits and makes us think.  Neon Wings brought me back to The Prophecy, The Prince of Darkness and The Exorcist.  

See my full review...​

February 28th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Hell Is Open By Gard Sveen


Hell Is Open  begins with a brutal crime, unfortunately, these crimes happen all too often and are not restricted to any one place.  Gard Sveen grabbed my attention with this opening and kept me looking for more.

This is book two in the Tommy Bergmann series.  I haven’t read the first book yet, but I didn’t feel lost or as though I was missing something; so, if you haven’t read The Last Pilgrim, no worries...

See my full review...


February 24th, 2017


Upcoming Release:  Testament
By David Gibbins
Releasing March 14th!


Stay tuned for my review! 


586 BC 
The ancient world is in meltdown. In desperation the priests of the Temple look to the greatest navigators ever known to save their treasures. On a far distant shore, after a voyage more astonishing than any ever undertaken before, a Phoenician named Hanno flees for his life from a terrifying enemy, the place the prophets called the Chariot of the Gods…

Read more...


February 21st, 2017


Book Review:
Jericho's Razor By Casey Doran 


Jericho’s Razor is the most fun that I’ve had reading in quite some time.  The story kicks off in high gear and never really slows down.  It felt like a much more developed book than one of merely 167 pages, and I want more.

Jericho Sands is a fantastic character.  He has some baggage, a lot of baggage; he has some enemies, some really nasty enemies, and in the end, he is his own worst enemy.  

See my full review...


February 17th, 2017


Book Review:  

Screaming Eagles (The Front, Book One)
By Timothy W. Long 


I’m a sucker for a good zombie book; put a new twist on it and I’m in; put David Moody’s name on it and you better get out of my way.  I love the concept behind the creation of this series.  Timothy W. Long, David Moody and Craig DiLouie will each write individual books in this six-book series.  It’s a fantastic way to get introduced to some new authors, enjoy a fun, fresh story and have something to look forward to.


See my full review...


February 13th, 2017


Upcoming Release:  The Front:  Red Devils
By David Moody, ​Craig DiLouie

& Timothy W. Long 
Releasing Feb. 15th!


The undead Nazi army continues its march across Europe in the thrilling sequel to Screaming Eagles

The German stranglehold on the town of Bastogne has been released, only for the living dead to rise up and take their place. A ragtag group of men fight their way out of the chaos and make a frantic escape from the rubble and ruin...





This week's list of new releases

is posted below.  Enjoy!


      Cover Reveal:

         A Girl Like Me

Book 2 in the Like Us Duet

         By Ginger Scott

  Releasing on May 26th!


Synopsis:


I’m not supposed to be here.

Death has come for me more

than once, and each time it’s

been a boy who’s stood

between me and my final

breath.

I called him Christopher when

he saved me as a child. When

he came into my life again, only months ago, I knew him as Wes. Just as he did the time before, he disappeared the moment he made sure I was out of harm’s way; as if I didn’t need any more saving.

This time, though, death left me with a reminder of how powerful it is. I know it meant to strip me of my spirit again, but it failed.

Even so, I know I need Wes to survive. Our souls are woven together somehow, our every breath in sync. I feel it, even though everyone says I shouldn’t.

The world thinks he’s missing.
His loved ones don’t want to believe he’s dead.
Only I know just how special he is.

I’m going to find him and bring him home, where he belongs. Together, we’ll face impossible—we’ll rewrite our ending.

And when the bad guys come calling, we will always win.


*See the full cover reveal....




New Release & Review:

Before I Ever Met You

By Karina Halle

*Top Recommendation!*

​   


Will McAlister…sigh.  I don’t normally start off my reviews

by naming the male character,  but when you read this book

you will understand why.  Will McAlister is pure book

perfection.  Gushing over a fictional character isn’t some-thing that I do all that often, but this character just needs to

be celebrated.  He is pretty much the epitome of a book

boyfriend.  Karina Halle has written a book that captivated me from the first page.  I fell head over heels for Jackie and Will’s story, in fact, I wasn’t really ready for it to end.


*Read my full review...



New Releases!


 

Preppy, Part 3:  The Life and Death of Samuel Clearwater (King #7)  – By T.M. Frazier – The conclusion to Preppy & Dre’s story.  This series should be read in order.


- Too Complicated (The Lewis Cousins #2)  – By Bethany Lopez - Standalone.

Reardon Lewis is a small-town lawyer in Cherry Springs, the place where he and his cousins grew up. With the body of a Viking and the heart of a geek, Reardon is loyal to his family and indispensable to his community. The only thing missing in his life is love, and it just so happens that the one woman he has always wanted but could never have has just moved to Cherry Springs...

- Betrayed by Lies (Bound and Broken #3)  – By Rebecca Shea

- The Negotiator  – By Avery Flynn - Romantic comedy!

Wanted: Personal Buffer 
Often snarly, workaholic executive seeks “buffer” from annoying outside distractions AKA people. Free spirits with personal boundary issues, excessive quirks, or general squeamishness need not apply. Salary negotiable. Confidentiality required.
Workaholic billionaire Sawyer Carlyle may have joked he needed a buffer from their marriage-obsessed mom, but he didn’t need a waiting room filled with candidates to further distract him. (Thanks, bro.) But when a sexy job applicant shooes his mom and the socialite in tow out of his office, Sawyer sees the genius of the plan. And the woman. In fact, Miss Clover Lee might just get the fastest promotion in history, from buffer to fake fiancé...

- Dr. OB (St. Luke's Docuseries) – By Max Monroe - Romantic comedy!

It’s just a docuseries about your career as an OB/GYN, they said. 
It won’t interrupt your life during or after filming, they said. 
It is a great opportunity for the hospital and your practice, they said. 
Well, they—the television executives who seem intent on ruining my career and personal life with a fair number of creative liberties—lied. 
Now I’m stuck dealing with the consequences of believing them. 
Instead of being known as Dr. Will Cummings, Head of Obstetrics and Gynecology at St. Luke’s Hospital, I’m now being called Dr. Obscene. 
What devotion I’d hoped to earn in respect, I’ve instead received in patients flashing me seductive smiles and flirtatious winks during their exams. 
How’s a guy supposed to convince the most perfect woman he’s ever met that he’s not as much of an idiot in real life as he appears to be on camera? 

- I Do, Babe:  A Novella (Hades Hangmen #5.5)  – By Tillie Cole - This novella must be read after Damnable Grace (Hades Hangmen #5).

- Retaliate (Sin City Outlaws #3)  – By M.N. Forgy -  MC romance!  It is recommended you read Reign, and Mercy before Retaliate.

- Ghost in His Eyes  – By Carrie Aarons


- Get Hitched (Hard Rock Roots #9)  – By C.M. Stunich

Rock star romance!  The first book in the series, Real Ugly, is FREE!


- 180 Seconds  – By Jessica Park 

Some people live their entire lives without changing their perspective. For Allison Dennis, all it takes is 180 seconds…
After a life spent bouncing from one foster home to the next, Allison is determined to keep others at arm’s length. Adopted at sixteen, she knows better than to believe in the permanence of anything. But as she begins her third year in college, she finds it increasingly difficult to disappear into the white noise pouring from her earbuds.
One unsuspecting afternoon, Allison is roped into a social experiment just off campus. Suddenly, she finds herself in front of a crowd, forced to interact with a complete stranger for 180 seconds. Neither she, nor Esben Baylor, the dreamy social media star seated opposite her, is prepared for the outcome.
When time is called, the intensity of the experience overwhelms Allison and Esben in a way that unnerves and electrifies them both. With a push from her oldest friend, Allison embarks on a journey to find out if what she and Esben shared is the real thing—and if she can finally trust in herself, in others, and in love.


- Before I Ever Met You  – By Karina Halle – Forbidden office romance!  Read my review!

I first met William McAlister when I was just a teenager.
He was handsome, had a beautiful wife and was on the verge of success, having just joined my father as his business partner. Mr. McAlister was full of smooth charm, but back then he was barely a blip on my radar. Just a family friend.
Fast forward ten years: I’m 25 years old and a single mom trying to make things right for her seven-year old son. I’ve made some mistakes, grappled with my demons and now I’m back in the city of Vancouver, getting a second chance at a better life.
I’ve started by working for my father’s production company as an executive assistant. My first day on the job and I already know I could have a promising career there.
That is until I see Will McAlister for the first time in a decade.
Now recently divorced and as sophisticated as always, Will has gone from being my father’s friend and business partner to something so much more.
We’re both older, for one thing, and he just oozes this worldly confidence and stark sexuality. Combined with his tall, muscular build and sharp suits, strong jaw and bedroom eyes, Will has turned into one hell of a distraction.
A distraction I’m having a hard time staying away from, considering his office is right across from my desk and I work with him in such close proximity.
But it’s just a harmless crush, right?
It’s just an innocent fantasy of screwing him on his desk, right?
It can’t ever be more because he’s my father’s best friend, business partner, and my boss.
Right?
Wrong.


- It Had to be You  – By Melissa Kate - Former friends -to- lovers romance!

- If You Fight (Corrupted Love #2) –   By K.M. Scott - This series needs to be read in order.

- Lost Rider (The Coming Home Series #1)  – By Harper Sloan - Western romance!  

Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?
Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?


- The Dead List  – By Jennifer L. Armentrout

When Ella is mysteriously attacked on her way home from a party, her entire life changes as she finds herself at the center of an attempted murder investigation.
Ella tries to move on, but her attacker isn't done yet. He shows himself in the form of horrifying signs and symbols: a clown mask strewn on her bed, a dead bird in her backpack, a shadow moving past her window in the night. And as the weeks pass, it turns out that Ella isn't the only one being tormented.
With the help of an old flame, Jensen Carver, and her friends and family, Ella tries to attain some sense of normalcy, but she can't seem to shake the feeling that there's a dark pattern hidden in the killer's every move. Suddenly, even those in her innermost circle seem suspicious. In her seemingly safe West Virginia town, Ella starts to wonder who she can trust.


- The Whole Thing Together  – By Ann Brashares -

Read my review.

Summer for Sasha and Ray means the sprawling old house on Long Island. Since they were children, they’ve shared almost everything—reading the same books, running down the same sandy footpaths to the beach, eating peaches from the same market, laughing around the same sun-soaked dining table. Even sleeping in the same bed, on the very same worn cotton sheets. But they’ve never met.
Sasha’s dad was once married to Ray’s mom, and together they had three daughters: Emma, the perfectionist; Mattie, the beauty; and Quinn, the favorite. But the marriage crumbled and the bitterness lingered. Now there are two new families—and neither one will give up the beach house that holds the memories, happy and sad, of summers past.
The choices we make come back to haunt us; the effect on our destinies ripples out of our control . . . or does it? This summer, the lives of Sasha, Ray, and their siblings intersect in ways none of them ever dreamed, in a novel about family relationships, keeping secrets, and most of all, love.

- Ride Rough:  A Raven Riders Novel  – By Laura Kaye - MC romance!

Maverick Rylan won’t apologize for who he is—the Raven Riders Motorcycle Club Vice-President, a sought-after custom bike builder, and a man dedicated to protecting those he loves. So when he learns that the only woman who has ever held his heart is in trouble, he’ll move heaven and earth to save her...

- Shopping for a CEO’s Wife (Shopping for a Billionaire)  – By Julia Kent - Romantic comedy!

- Sin With Me (Bad Habit)  – By J.T. Geissinger – Rock star romance!  This book can be read as a standalone.

- Dirty Thief (Dirty Players #4)  – By Tia Louise - Romantic suspense!

- By The Hour:  The Pleasure Principle (The Pleasure Principle #2)  – By Roni Loren - Standalone.

Dr. Elle McCray has a plan. Work hard. Be the best. And do it alone. After her ex-husband’s betrayal, she’s learned being feared is a hell of a lot easier than being humiliated. So when trouble personified, Lane Cannon, dares to flirt with her, she shuts him down cold. Too gorgeous. Too cocky. And his job as The Grove’s sexual surrogate is to sleep with patients. No, thank you.
Former escort Lane Cannon has spent enough years with people looking down on him. Stupid. Trailer trash. Rent boy. He’s heard it all. He’s worked too hard to shed his past to let some haughty doctor cut him down. But something about Elle’s ice queen act has his dominant instincts perking up and his body taking notice. He can’t walk away.
After an evening of verbal sparring turns into a night of steamy hate sex, Lane’s ready for round two. But Elle proposes a business deal. How better to keep things strictly physical than to pay him for his services? 
Lane wants her, not her money. But he’ll play along in exchange for one thing—all the control. It’s only supposed to be a dirty little fling between colleagues, but these two are about to learn a lesson in love…by the hour.


- Father  – By Clarissa Wild – Dark romance/forbidden!  He's not your average priest!

- Hidden Depth (Lockhart Brothers #4)  – By Brenda Rothert – Standalone.

I had it all.
Breaking into the entertainment business as a teenager wasn’t easy. I spent years of my childhood traveling, auditioning and hoping my big break would come. And when it did, I rose to a level I never imagined.
Elle Tyler: model, singer and actress. I couldn’t go anywhere without security anymore. It was everything I ever wanted and more - fame, fortune and worldwide recognition. At age twenty-four, I was living a dream. 
But a single act of violence shattered my fairytale existence. In a matter of seconds, all the goodness in me was ripped to shreds. Overnight, the people around me dropped away, moving on to find the next big thing. I gave up on myself, becoming a woman so dark and forlorn I no longer recognized myself.
But the stranger who saved me that day, Justin Lockhart, never gave up on me... 



​​​Happy Reading!

Solo

By Lauren E. Rico

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

Skitter

By Ezekiel Boone

I can't wait to read this book!

April 26th, 2017

April 25th, 2017


New Release & Review:

The Last Neanderthal

By  Claire Cameron

I’ve always enjoyed a good historical book, usually the older the better.  With The Last Neanderthal, I’ve gone pre-historic.  Claire Cameron’s story bounces back and forth between Girl, our Neanderthal protagonist, and Rosamund Gale, and archaeologist excavating a groundbreaking site.


See my full review​...