January 16th, 2018


Book Review:

Furious By T.R. Ragan


I love a good crime thriller, especially one that leans a bit to the dark side.  Furious is all that and more.  I know that you never get between a mother and her kids, Momma Bear comes to life.

To say that Faith McMann had a bad day is a massive understatement.  Ragan starts this story off with a bang, and keeps the good times rolling.  I was pulled into Faith McMann’s life and needed her to have her vengeance.


*Read my full review...



January 12th, 2018


Greg's Old Shorts:
Temple of the Jaguar By J.R.Rain & Aiden James


Can the protagonist make the story?  Temple of the Jaguar  proves that, yes, it can!  Nick Caine is one of the best characters I’ve come across in a long time.  Imagine if Han Solo and Indiana Jones’ love child had another love child with Allan Quatermain and Axel Foley’s love child.  That would be Nick Caine.  He is snarky, sarcastic and trouble follows him wherever he goes.

Read my full review...


January 9th, 2018


Book Review:
The Snowman By Jo Nesbo


I’m always a wee bit leery of jumping into one of these never-ending series.  I’ve had my eye on Jo Nesbo’s Harry Hole for a while, wondering if I want/need to start at the beginning.  With the movie being released, it seemed that surely  The Snowman must be able to standalone and must be one of the best Harry Hole books.

Read my full review...


January 2nd, 2018


New Release & Review:
The Woman in the Window By A.J. Finn


It looks like  The Woman in the Window  will be the last book that I read in 2017.  What a fantastic way to end my year of reading.  I always hate to compare a book to another, I feel obliged to make an exception in this case; The Woman in the Window is The Girl on the Train meets Rear Window.  

Read my full review...


December 29th, 2017


Top Books of 2017


Well, another one bites the dust.  2017 has come to an end, it has been a great year of reading. 

At this time of year I think about the books that really touched me, you know, the ones that I kept thinking about long after I finished them, the ones that I still think about.

This year is a mix of old and new, many different genres, but none of them have really left me.

See my top books of 2017...


December 22nd, 2017


Book Review:
The Wolves of Winter By Tyrell Johnson


I’m always on the lookout for a new and exciting book in the post-apocalyptic genre.  The Wolves of Winter  jumped out at me; the cover screamed Nordic noir, another favorite genre, while the synopsis is all post-apocalyptic.  I was ready to saddle up and head north with Tyrell Johnson.


*Read my full review...


December 19th, 2017


Book Review:
Frankenstein:  The Prodigal Son By Dean Koontz


Do you remember the first years of American Idol?  When one of the contestants would give a particularly good, unique performance of a “classic”, Randy Jackson would say, “You made it your own, dawg!”  Well, Dean Koontz certainly has made Frankenstein his own.

There is a certain wow factor that an author like Dean Koontz brings to his stories.  He goes well beyond the basic storyline...  

*Read my full review...


December 12th, 2017


Book Review:
Nightfall By Stephen Leather


With all of the book options out there, I like to think that I am picky when it comes to purchasing a book.  I’ll be patient, waiting for it to go on sale, and when it does, I’ll read the sample to make sure that it is my kind of story.  July of last year, that’s exactly what I did with Nightfall.

*Read my full review...


December 5th, 2017


New Release & Review:
One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning 

By David Moody


When I saw that David Moody was working on more books in the  Hater series, I nearly peed my pants – not really, but I was exceptionally stoked.  It has been a few years since I read  Them or Us.  This was the series that made me question:  Can it be a zombie if it’s not dead?  And, does it really matter how or why it happened or just what we do with it?

*Read my full review...


December 1st, 2017


Book Review:
The Macedonian By Nicholas Guild


I’ve always been a fan of Greek and Roman history.  I find that it puts our modern hubris in its place.  The accomplish-ments, voyages, conquests and architecture of this period puts modern technology to shame.  You didn’t need all of our modern conveniences to conquer the world or build awe-inspiring buildings.

*Read my full review...


November 28th, 2017


Book Review:
I Am Not A Serial Killer By Dan Wells


Sometimes I like to get up early on a Saturday morning before everyone else, grab the laptop and a cup of coffee and browse through the books online.  It’s my quiet time and that’s how I like to spend it.  I get to peruse all the available and upcoming books at my own leisure and find some interesting books.  This is how I came across  I Am Not A Serial Killer.​​

*Read my full review...


November 21st, 2017


Book Review:
I Am Legend By Richard Matheson


I usually like to read the book before I see the movie.  In the case of  I Am Legend, it just didn’t work out that way.  I Am Legend has reinforced the fact that Hollywood will f*ck up anything and everything it touches.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the Will Smith movie, but give it the same name and say that it’s based on the book…No Way!  A mild influence perhaps, but it is in no way the same thing.  

*Read my full review...


November 14th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Into the Drowning Deep By Mira Grant


My father was born in a small town on the ocean, the kind of town where you don’t marry anyone from town due to the risk of three-eyed children.  Luckily, my father married someone “from away”.  I’ve got:  two eyes, ten toes and ten fingers.  My father taught me an appreciation for the ocean, tempered with a few ounces of fear.  Mira Grant has captured the beauty, temptation and ruthless danger of the ocean.

*Read my full review...


November 3rd, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Why Did You Read That Book?


I know that every book isn’t for every reader.  We all have books that fall into our own wheelhouse and more that are just not for us.  When I come across a book that’s just not for me, I move on.  My mother always used to say, “If you don’t have something nice to say, shut the f*ck up.”  Well, maybe not in those exact words, but you get the drift.

*Read my full post...


October 31st, 2017


Book Review:
John Dies at the End ​By David Wong


Spoiler Alert!  Read the title.


I wasn’t sure about this book before I opened it.  The title is a bit weird, do I really want to know what happens before I start?  The synopsis was all over the place.  But what the hell, I want to know what all of the fuss is about.

I’ll tell you, the foreword by Don Coscarelli piqued my interest; by the time I finished the preface I was having a great time...

*Read my full review...


October 24th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Strange Weather ​By Joe Hill


I’m always a bit hesitant before beginning an anthology.  You see, I like big books, that is one of the things that I love most about Joe Hill, he’s not afraid to take me on a seven hundred and fifty page (or more) journey.  He has always kept me captivated through his tomes.  So, in Strange Weather I’ve got four short novels packed into approximately four hundred and fifty pages.  Could Joe Hill captivate me four times over in a fraction of the space he normally uses? 


*Read my full review...


October 20th, 2017


Book Review:
Wrath of the Ancients ​By Catherine Cavendish


I remember the March 1977 cover of  National Geographic, the one with King Tut’s golden sarcophagus.  That is where my fascination with the ancient world began:  Howard Carter, the cures of the pharaohs.  These are the things that can captivate a young person’s mind.


As soon as I read the synopsis of Catherine Cavendish’s  Wrath of the Ancients, I knew I had to read this book.  

*Read my full review...




The Terror

​By  Dan Simmons


January 19th, 2018


Greg's Old Shorts:

Cowboys Vs Zombies

By Eric S. Brown


​This one falls within the subgenre of a subgenre, the zombie western.  There are more books in there than you might think.  It’s not a bad addition to the subgenre.  Eric Brown has done something a bit different from what I’ve seen before, and that’s always a good thing.


Read my full review...



What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

January 19th, 2018

​​​​​​​​​​More books have been added

to t​​​​​​​his week's list of new

releases.  Enjoy! 


       New Releases!


​ - Midnight Blue  - By L.J.

Shen - Rock star romance!

It should have been easy.
I needed the money. He

needed a babysitter to keep

him from snorting himself to

death.
I was cherry-picked especially

for him. Responsible.

Optimistic. Warm. Innocent.
The worst part is that I should

have known better.
Alex Winslow. British rock

star. Serial heartbreaker.

Casanova with whiskey eyes.
“Don’t get near the devil in a leather jacket. He’ll chew you up and spit you out.”
Guess what? I didn’t listen.
I signed the contract.
World tour. Three months. Four Continents. One hundred shows.
My name is Indigo Bellamy, and I sold my soul to a tattooed god.
Problem was, my soul wasn’t enough for Alex Winslow. He ended up taking my body, too.
Then he took my heart.
Then he took my all.


- Hidden Seams  - By Alessandra Torre

A billion-dollar fashion empire, and it’s about to be mine…
I've worked a decade for this. I've sold my soul and my reputation. I've lived a lie, smiled for the cameras, and hated myself, all for this fortune.
And then … she pops up. A mysterious heir with a rap sheet, combat boots, and a mouth that I want to pin shut with my—
It doesn’t matter. I’ve played this game for a decade. I can continue the charade a little longer, keep my hands to myself and her body out of my mind. 
I can keep my secret until the ink dries and everything is mine.
Or not.


- This is Not a Fairytale  - By Rebecca Kate - Looks angsty!

This is not a fairytale. This isn't boy meets girl. They don't fall madly, truly, deeply in love and live happily ever after after. If you were looking for a sweet romance, then turn around right now. This is a story of the one I should have loved, the one I never should have gotten mixed up with, and the one I always wanted but would never have. Of all the stories I've written in my life, this is the one that set fire to my soul. This is my story. This is our story. ​
You know what they say, if you can't be with the one you love, love the one you're with...


The Perfect Roommate  – By Minka Kent - Psychological thriller!  
She’s my roommate. 
I know how she takes her tea, how she organizes her closet.
I know when she goes to bed each night, what she eats for breakfast, the passcode on her phone. 
I know she calls her mother on Mondays, takes barre on Thursdays, and meets her friends for drinks on Fridays.
But more important than any of that … I know what she did.  


- Thrive (Guardian Protection)  - By Aly Martinez - Second chance romance!  Standalone.

Technically, you aren’t supposed to fall in love with your best friend’s girl. 
But if we’re talking technicalities, he wasn’t supposed to be cheating on her every other weekend, either.
The day I met Mira York, I knew she was off-limits. But after months of stealing side-glances while he ruined the most beautiful woman I’d ever seen, I realized there wasn’t a rule in the world I wouldn’t break to make her mine.
She chose him anyway.
I wasn’t sure how I’d ever move on, but bitterness turned into fuel for my fire.
Without Mira, I thrived.
Until seventeen years later, when she showed back up, begging for protection from the very same man she’d left me for all those years earlier.
Now, it was my turn to choose. 
And she wasn’t going to like my answer.


- Rules of Engagement  - By Lily White - Romantic suspense!

Rule No. 1: Do not enter the game unless you intend to finish. Once accepted, there is no escape.
This is a love story, one that comes with rules, expectations, and dark shadows. One where the man who challenges me the most is cloaked in deception. I had no choice but to accept the terms, nowhere to run once the clock started ticking.
Donovan Stone was a man few people dared to cross.
He was dark.
He was dominating.
He was so silent that you had to watch him closely to begin to know what he was thinking.
He was my boss, and the man I should have run from the minute I walked into his corporate office.
Like any bad decision, it took time for me to see the truth about the game I’d entered, for me to understand that it wasn’t the stalker in the shadows I should fear, but the man who pulled the strings.
I had no choice.
At least, that’s the lie I told myself to forgive my foolish actions.
And while running as fast as I could through twisted mazes and deceitful games, I understood that the Rules of Engagement were now my life.


- Bold - By Jennifer Michael - Contemporary romance!


- Waiting for the Sun  – By Robin Hill - Debut novel.  I  love  that cover!
A quirky ray of sunshine breathes new life into a lonely widower.
Be the butterfly, Frankie… 
Francesca Valentine would rather swear off chocolate than go on vacation solo, but she made a promise to her late father to come out of her shell and live a little. When her best friend bails on their annual girls’ trip, she vows to do just that, but her plan is foiled when the hotel loses her reservation. Alone and stranded in Austin, Texas during one of the world’s largest music festivals, she's rescued by a mysterious stranger, and an unexpected friendship blossoms.
Ten years after losing his family in a tragic accident, Darian Fox is finally back on his feet. The onetime rock star turned successful indie label-owner is content with the isolated life he’s created for himself and wants to keep it that way. But when he’s forced to travel to Texas on behalf of his company, he finds it’s hard to be alone in a city overrun with people. He meets the beautiful, magnetic Francesca and discovers alone is the last thing he wants to be... 

- Sex, Not Love  – By Vi Keeland - Standalone.

My relationship with Hunter Delucia started backwards. 

We met at a wedding—him sitting on the groom’s side, me 

sitting on the bride’s. Stealing glances at each other throughout the night, there was no denying an intense, mutual attraction. 
I caught the bouquet; he
caught the garter. Hunter held

me tightly while we danced and suggested we explore the

chemistry sparking between us.

His blunt, dirty mouth should’ve turned me off. But for some crazy reason, it had the opposite effect on me.
We ended up back in my hotel room. The next morning, I headed home to New York leaving him behind in California with the wrong number.
I thought about him often, but after my last relationship, I’d sworn off of charming, cocky, gorgeous-as-sin men. A year later, Hunter and I met again at the birth of our friends’ baby. Our attraction hadn't dulled one bit. After a whirlwind trip, he demanded a real phone number this time. So I left him with my mother’s—she could scare away any man with her talks of babies and marriage—and flew back home.
I’d thought it was funny, until the following week when he rang the bell at Mom’s house for Sunday night dinner... 

-
Deviant (Condemned #5)  – By Gemma James - Dark romance!  This series needs to be read in order.  If you haven't started this series yet, Torrent (Condemned #1) is FREE!  Read my review of Torrent.

-
Wanted  – By Maya Banks - One dark secret. One destroyed engagement. And the baby that will expose everything…

-
Decidedly With Love – By Stina Lindenblatt

Fake boyfriend Rule #1: never fall for your fake girlfriend. 
Oops. 
Emma Lovejoy runs Aphrodite’s Boutique, a store that specializes in all things love-related. A store that she adores with all her heart, and which is at risk of being shut down and replaced with a condo development.  
Playboy Travis Hamilton was raised by his feisty, well-meaning grandmother, who is determined to help her grandson find The One. But when most women he meets tend to be puck bunnies or women only interested in his hockey-player income—and let’s not forget the nutcase of an ex-girlfriend—why bother?  
Travis realizes only a fake girlfriend will deter his grandmother’s matchmaking scheme. Too bad the one woman who can help him is the sexy redhead who wants to assist him as much as she wants her eyeballs to be dunked in hot sauce and barbecued. To convince her, he promises to help her with her own dilemma...


-
Man Card (Man Hands #2)  – By Sarina Bowen & Tanya Eby – Romantic comedy! Standalone.

Ash:
I still don't know how it happened. One minute I was arguing with my arrogant competitor--our usual trash-talk over who deserves the larger commission. But somehow I went from throwing down to kneeling down...
It can never happen again. I don't even like Braht. He's too slick. He's a manipulating mansplaining party boy in preppy clothes.
So why can't I get him out of my head?

-
Scoring Mr. Romeo (The Wrong Series #3)  – By A.M. Madden & Joanne Schwehm

Here's a tip: never underestimate romance. 
Falling in love was the furthest thing from my mind. I'm a single mother raising a strong little boy, and he is my one and only priority. 
The universe felt otherwise, sending me―actually, my son's soccer ball―hurdling toward a stunningly handsome, perfect man, who said all the right things. He made it hard to ignore how much I missed romance. 
In the past, when I met a man, they ran as soon as they heard I was a widow with a child. Not this guy. No, he fell in love with my son, and in turn, my son fell in love with him. But, it was hard to believe he felt the same about me. My job was to be the strong one―to protect our hearts from sweet dreams that never lasted...

-
The Heartbreak Sheriff – By Elle Kennedy - Romantic suspense!

A sheriff gets a second chance—but must balance his love for the law with his love for this woman...


- Headmaster (Lessons from the Rack)  – By Tara Sue Me - Erotic romance!

Lennox MacLure, owner of the RACK Academy, has sworn off the Dominant/submissive lifestyle. Years ago, his submissive, Winnie, died in a car accident following a heated argument for which he blames himself. Guilt-ridden and emotionally closed off, Lennox sees the academy as both his punishment and penance for her death. 
Mariela, a dance instructor and a natural submissive, was Winnie’s best friend and longs to help Lennox move past his grief. She’s accepted that he will never see her as anything more than a friend, but she still wants to help him acknowledge what he needs. Mariela comes up with a plan of seduction, guaranteed to unleash the Dominant he’s willfully buried—but the passion they unleash could prove to be stronger than they are ready to handle.


-
The Bitter Root Inn (Jamison Valley #5)  – By Devney Perry - Each book in this series can be read as a standalone.


-
Tempt Me – By Carly Phillips – Single dad and the nanny!

Burned by an ex with a wandering eye, Austin Rhodes has sworn off women. His sole focus is his young daughter - and despite his good intentions, the little girl's live-in nanny. He hired Mia Atwood to care for his child but he finds himself lusting after her instead. Keeping his distance isn’t easy but he’s determined to be a gentleman. Until Mia's past comes back to haunt her and she’s in need of Austin’s brand of protection. Suddenly she’s his in every sense of the word — and he’ll do whatever it takes to shield the woman who tempts him beyond reason.

- The Social Affair:  A Psychological Thriller – By Britney King 

A timeless, perfect couple waltzes into the small coffee shop where Izzy Lewis works. Instantly enamored, she does what she always does in situations like these: she searches them out on social media.
Just like that--with the tap of a screen-- she's given a front row seat to the Dunns' picturesque life. This time, she's certain she's found what she's been searching for. This time, she'll go to whatever lengths it takes to ensure she gets it right--even if this means doing the unthinkable.





Happy Reading!