July 8th, 2016


Book Review:

Dawn of the Dead 

By George A. Romero


When there is no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth.”


There isn’t a more iconic line than this in all of the zombie world.  I have to admit that I have done this backward.  I saw the movie many, many years ago and have finally gotten around to reading the book.  


See my full review... 

August 30th, 2016

Book Review:

The Jersey Devil

​By Hunter Shea


I’ll be honest, I don’t like New Jersey.  Granted, my experience with New Jersey has been limited exclusively to the Interstates as I have been passing through.  I’m sure that there are some very lovely parts of the Garden State, I’ve just never seen any of them as I sat at a standstill for hours on the Interstate.  Hunter Shea has given me more reasons to be leery about New Jersey...


See my full review...

July 15th, 2016

Book Review:

Zeus Is Dead

By Michael G. Munz


This book is unlike anything I have ever read before in my life. In this story the Greek Gods are alive and well, except for Zeus, he’s dead (see title). With the King of the Gods out of the way, the remaining Olympians reveal themselves to the 21st century. 



See my full review... 

Hexagram

​By Duncan P. Bradshaw

August 10th, 2016

Meet the Author:

Rich Baker


Rich has always had a talent for spinning a tale, but never considered being a writer - that is until he stopped listening to all the reasons why people say one CAN'T be a writer and decided to just...write. Along the way he's met some inspirational people who have helped and encouraged him to pursue his goals. You'll see them in the acknowledgements of his first published solo work.  


Meet Rich Baker...

July 19th, 2016

Book Review:

Ghost Run

By J.L. Bourne


I was first introduced to J.L. Bourne’s writing several years ago.  We were on vacation, and my wife and I spent some time perusing the shelves at the local Barnes & Noble.  I found “Two Zombie Thrillers in One Volume!”  The cover immediately caught my eye and I left the store with Day By Day Armageddon, Origin to Exile and a few other great books in my hands.


See my full review... 

Just Released!

Just Released!

August 19th, 2016

Book Review:

Tortures of the Damned

By Hunter Shea


I have a problem.  I have a lot of books, more books than I can read.  And I keep buying more.  Tortures of the Damned is a prime example of this problem.  Last year while on vacation, my wife and I hit up every book store that we could find (yeah, we do that).  We’ll even pull off the interstate if we spot a Barnes & Noble or BAM.  


See my full review...

​​July 26th, 2016


​​Book Review:

The Night Parade

By Ronald Malfi


Now, this!  This is exactly what I want to read!  Ronald Malfi covered just about every human emotion possible:  fear, apprehension, hope and hatred.  He made me laugh, and Goddamn it, he made me cry.  When I finished reading The Night Parade I gave myself a good swift kick in the buttocks for not having read Malfi until now.


See my full review...

August 9th, 2016


Book Review:

High Octane Damnation By Brett Williams


High Octane Damnation is a supercharged, soul-sucking ride to vengeance with a pit stop in drunken debauchery.  Brett Williams has taken an Old Testament approach to dealing with pain and loss.


Packed into this quick read (I actually read it in one sitting) is our…um…hero, James McGuire.  


See my full review...

July 5th, 2016


Book Review:

The Hatching 

By Ezekiel Boone


Spider!  Want to scare the crap out of someone?  Just yell Spider!  I can’t really say that I am afraid of spiders, but…there is just something unnatural about them.  The eight legs, the way that they move, eat; they just don’t fit into my normal world.  I guess that’s why spiders have been objects of fear for so many years, along with all of the other creepy crawlies that scurry...


See my full review... 

Four Letter Word

By J. Daniels

July 12th, 2016


Book Review:

Hell Dancer 

By Wol-vriey


Reading the synopsis for Hell Dancer, I really wasn’t sure what I should expect.  The only thing that I did figure on was that this author was going to offer up a story unlike any that I’ve ever read, along with a great deal of shock value.  In that respect, Wol-vriey did not disappoint.



See my full review... 

Weeks 0f July 25th & August 1st

Just Released!

August 12th, 2016

Book Review:

Scratch

By David Moody


Nobody.  I mean nobody does family dysfunction as well as David Moody.  The shit has hit the fan and the world is falling down all around us; leave it to David Moody to make us forget all about that, to watch the train wreck of a nasty divorced couple.


​​See my full review...

July 1st, 2016


Book Review:

Time Heals No Wounds

By Hendrik Falkenberg


Over the past few years, I have been having a fantastic time traveling through Northern Europe by means of translated novels.  This is my first venture into Germany, for a good old fashioned crime novel.  I was immediately intrigued by the synopsis.  I love a dark crime story...


See my full review... 

August 17th, 2016

Book Review:

A Dragon at the Gate

By Michael G. Munz


I was initially drawn to The New Aeneid Cycle by the kick-ass cover of A Shadow in the Flames (don’t kid yourself, covers matter), and the concept of a futuristic link to Aeneas and Diomedes (my favorite Greek hero – tough as hell and not a cry baby like that other so-called tough guy, Achilles).  


See my full review...

Just Released!

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​This week's list of new

releases is posted below.​  ​​

It's another great week to

​be a reader.  Enjoy!   


      Cover Reveal:

        Touching Down

     By Nicole Williams

Releasing on October 9th!


Synopsis:

The whole world might be in

love with him. But all he’s ever

loved is her.

 
Grant Turner’s name is

synonymous with football.

The fans and media can’t get enough of the player known as The Invincible Man, a nickname he earned while growing up in one of the toughest neighborhoods in the country and the nickname he’s kept by being one of the best players in professional football today. No one can take him down. He’s unstoppable.

But even a suit of armor has its weak point, and Grant’s has always been Ryan Hale.
They were a couple of kids when they fell in love, and just when it looked like the happy ending neither expected was within reach, Ryan disappeared. No explanations. No good-byes.
 
Grant coped by throwing himself into the game for seven years, and he’s finally moved on. Or so he thinks.
 
When she walks back into his life, all of those feelings come crashing back, despite the warnings in his head that tell him she’ll leave him again. Grant can withstand the league’s toughest defensive line, but he’s always been weak where she’s concerned.
 
No man can take Grant Turner down.
 
But one woman certainly can.
 
One woman will.


See the full cover reveal...



 New Releases!


Just Released- Turbulence - By Whitney Gracia Williams <--She's back! 

He and I met under a cloud of clichés: 
Boy meets girl. Boy charms girl. Boy f*#ks girl. 
Our story was supposed to end right after the orgasms, right after we went our separate ways. 
But then we saw each other again… 
And neither of us could walk away. 
Our rules were simple. 
Our passion was scandalous. 
Our hearts were supposed to be safe… 
But when you find something so all-consuming—something so intoxicating and inescapable, you’ll risk everything you’ve ever had, even if you’re destined to crash and burn. 
This is us. 
This is our messed up love. 
This is turbulence.


- Rushing In (The Blackhawk Boys #2) - By Lexi Ryan - Sports romance!  Each book in this series can be read as a standalone.  

The favor seemed simple: Keep my new stepsister out of trouble for one summer. 
I’ve never met Grace Lee, but Mom tells me she’s a quiet and artsy college student with a troubled past. When I agreed to let her stay with me, I thought it was no big deal. I expected to share my apartment with a sullen girl who’d spend hours locked in her room. 

I didn’t expect a walking fantasy determined to make me lose my cool. 

I didn’t expect a woman with secrets so dark, so deep, I’d throw away everything if it would save her from the past. 


- Booty Camp Dating Service - By Debra Anastasia -Romantic comedy!


- Balance - By Lucia Franco - A forbidden romance between a gymnast & her coach!


- Rules of a Rebel & a Shy Girl – By Jessica Sorensen

- A friends to lovers romance!
It started with a kiss and
ended with a list. The middle

is a bit more complicated... 

- The Debt – By Karina Halle - This is a standalone.

Jessica Charles shouldn't have even been in London when the  unthinkable happened.
She should have been back at 
home in Edinburgh, perhaps 

hanging with her boyfriend, having drinks with her sister or doing yoga with her group of friends. She should have been going on in her normal, dependable life as always.

But on that fateful day in August, when a mentally-ill ex-soldier opened fire in public, Jessica's world changed forever.

Now single and crippled from the gunshot wounds, Jessica finds herself scared and alone, losing faith in herself and humanity with each agonizing moment that passes.
That is until a stranger enters her life. A stranger who makes her live again...

-
Author Anonymous:  A True Story – By E.K. Blair  - Ooh!  This book looks intriguing!

She’s an author. 
She’s a mother. 
She’s a wife. 
She’s a fraud, a woman marked and bound by her own deceit. 

Experience the astounding tale of how Anonymous battled through a year of scandals and betrayals, how her world fell from its axis with a single choice, and how she lost herself between reality and fantasy. 


-
Wide Open Spaces – By Aurora Rose Reynolds - A second chance romance!

That moment your life changes. 
That moment that changes your life. 
That moment you love someone more than you love yourself. 
That was the moment we gave our son up for adoption and the moment I was left bare. A wide-open space that would forever be empty. 
There are moments that define you as a person, moments that prove just how strong you are, moments you push yourself to keep going forward when all you really want to do is give up. It was in one of those moments when I reached out and found him waiting for me...

-
Sweetest Sorrow (Forbidden Series #2) – By J.M. Darhower – The sequel to By Any Other Name.

​The story of star-crossed lovers caught in the middle of the biggest rivalry New York has ever seen, determined to make it… if only they can survive their parents' feud.


- Fabricating Jada - By Vanessa Marie - If you like romantic tension & witty, sarcastic banter...this is the book for you!  Read my review.

​I need a mentor.  
YouTube videos can only teach me so much.  
And I want to learn from someone real.  
From someone tangible.  
But no one takes me seriously.  
Only in my wildest dreams would I be mentored by Jesse Valentine.  
He’s the top motorcycle and hot rod fabricator in the nation.  
He also has the reputation for being one of the biggest jerks that ever lived.  
Not to mention they say he can’t keep it in his pants.  
I’m not interested in any of that.  
Only in his knowledge.  
I crave it.  
And then I heard about the class he’s holding for the public.  
I had to earn my spot.  
Prove my worth.  
Show them all that I was more than just some silly girl.  
My name is Jada Carmen and I was born to build cars.


- Sunset in Central Park – By Sarah Morgan - A friends to lovers romance!

-
For Better or Worse (The Wedding Belles) – By Lauren Layne

When small-town girl Heather Fowler finally gets promoted from assistant to actual wedding planner, she’s determined to make it as one of Manhattan’s elite Wedding Belles. Unfortunately, her first client demands an opulent black-tie affair at the Plaza…in five months’ time. Heather’s days quickly become a flurry of cake tastings, dress-fittings, RSVP cards, and bridal tantrums. But what she’s really losing sleep over is the live music blaring from her playboy neighbor’s apartment all night.

Five years ago, Josh Tanner was an up-and-comer on Wall Street, complete with the penthouse and the migraines. But a grim cancer diagnosis made him realize there is more to life than the corner office. If only he could convince his pretty, workaholic neighbor to let loose, too. As Heather lets down her guard, Josh is surprised when he starts falling for the sweet, vulnerable woman hiding beneath those power suits. Soon, it’s Heather’s turn to convince Josh to take the biggest risk of all: love.


-
Stripped Down – By Emma Hart - This book can be read as a standalone.

Rich. Demanding. Hot. Crazy.
That was Beckett Cruz in a nutshell.
Not to mention wild, determined, dangerous, and forbidden.
He was my boss--and, after a drunken moment of insanity, my new husband.
An annulment was impossible... so was keeping him.
I was taking my daughter and leaving, determined to give her a quieter life.
But Beckett Cruz had never taken no for an answer.
And he wasn't about to take mine.
What happens in Vegas... might just keep you there.


-
Dirty Little Lies:  A Men of Summer Novel – By Lora Leigh

-
Last Chance:  A Second Chances Novel – By L.P. Dover

One last chance. 

That’s all Luke Collins, local bad boy and motocross champion, has to not only find his redemption, but win back the girl he lost. He’ll stop at nothing to make her his, even if it means playing dirty. 

Lara Jacobs doesn’t want her heart broken again and refuses to give Luke a second chance. After he left her after their one night stand, she ran right into the arms of her close friend, Grayson Moore. He’s always loved her, and he’s determined to make her see he’s what she needs. 

However, in life nothing goes as planned and tragedy strikes. After a fatal accident nearly claims Lara’s life, she’s left inside a world she can’t remember. Her memories are gone, including those of the men vying for her heart. Grayson sees her loss as a possibility to forget her love for Luke, but Luke sees it as an opportunity to start over. All he wants is one last chance to show her that she’s the one he’s been in love with all along. 


-
El Diablo:  The Devil (A Good Ol’ Boys Spin-off) – By M. Robinson - She was under my protection, until she became my obsession.  But who was going to save her... 
From. Me. The devil himself. 

-
Like the Back Of My Halo (Soaring Bird Book #1) – By Heidi Hutchinson

-
When Stars Collide – By Micalea Smeltzer - She marries her brother's best friend in Las Vegas!

-
Crave (Splendor #2) – By Janet Nissenson – The follow-up to Covet.  She was the only woman he wanted…but the only one he couldn’t have...

-
An Indecent Proposal (The O'Malleys) – By Katee Robert

-
The Darkest Link – By Scarlett Cole

-
Sacred Serenity (Lotus House #2) – By Audrey Carlan

-
This Isn’t Over, Baby (War & Peace #3) – By K. Webster – Gabe’s story! You need to read This is War, Baby & This is Love, Baby first.  

*Read my review of  This is War, Baby.  

*Read my review of This is Love, Baby.

Her Darkest Nightmare – By Brenda Novak - Mystery/Thriller!


- Disclaim (Deliver #3) – By Pam Godwin - Dark romance!  It is recommended to read after Deliver and Vanquish, but it can be read as a standalone.  

*Read my review of Deliver.  

*Read my review of Vanquish.

- Binary Code– By D.H. Sidebottom & Rebecca Sherwin


- September 1 - Lost in Rewind (Audio Fools #3) - By Tali Alexander - This book can be read as a standalone.​​



​​Happy Reading!​​​​​ 

Just Released!

July 22nd, 2016


Book Review:

Ride the Serpentine By Andre Duza


Ride the Serpentine was unlike anything I’ve read before.  It seemed more like a screenplay than a book.  It really gave me the same feeling like I got from The Blair Witch Project.  Descriptions setting the scene with a couple of the guys talking in the background and then the narrator’s voice-over. 


See my full review... 

Just Released!

August 23rd, 2016

Blog Tour & Review:

Stolen Away

By Kristin Dearborn


I love a story that starts with a BANG!  Kristin Dearborn has done exactly that with Stolen Away.  Right from the start I was pulled into a parent’s worst nightmare, your infant child stolen right out of your own home.  This sends Trisha into momma bear mode; is there a monster or demon more dangerous than a momma bear?!


See the tour post & review...

June 28th, 2016


Book Review:

The Binding

By Nicholas Wolff


I was immediately intrigued by The Binding.  The synopsis talks about mental disorders and evil spirits that are both tied up into a “town’s wicked history”.  I love the type of book that blurs the lines between the natural and the supernatural.​​


See my full review... 

August 31st, 2016

August 26th, 2016

Book Review:

Mega

​By Jake Bible


Let’s be honest, the sea creature genre is a tough pool to jump into.  As an author, you almost have to decide to go in one of two directions:  try to live up to the tension and genuine fear of Peter Benchley’s Jaws or go for the pure unadulterated fun of Piranha 3D


See my full review...

August 24th, 2016

Meet the Author:

Hunter Shea


Hunter Shea is the product of a misspent childhood watching scary movies, reading forbidden books and wishing Bigfoot would walk past his house. He doesn’t just write about the paranormal – he actively seeks out the things that scare the hell out of people and experiences them for himself. 


Meet Hunter Shea...

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Daily Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog

    2 Book Lovers Reviews