2 Book Lovers Reviews

The Wall of Winnipeg and Me

 By Mariana Zapata

The Macedonian

By Nicholas Guild

November 14th, 2017


New Release & Review:

Into the Drowning Deep

By Mira Grant


My father was born in a small town on the ocean, the kind of town where you don’t marry anyone from town due to the risk of three-eyed children.  Luckily, my father married someone “from away”.  I’ve got:  two eyes, ten toes and ten fingers.  My father taught me an appreciation for the ocean, tempered with a few ounces of fear.  Mira Grant has captured the beauty, temptation and ruthless danger of the ocean.


*Read my full review...

November 3rd, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Why Did You Read That Book?


I know that every book isn’t for every reader.  We all have books that fall into our own wheelhouse and more that are just not for us.  When I come across a book that’s just not for me, I move on.  My mother always used to say, “If you don’t have something nice to say, shut the f*ck up.”  Well, maybe not in those exact words, but you get the drift.

*Read my full post...


October 31st, 2017


Book Review:
John Dies at the End ​By David Wong


Spoiler Alert!  Read the title.


I wasn’t sure about this book before I opened it.  The title is a bit weird, do I really want to know what happens before I start?  The synopsis was all over the place.  But what the hell, I want to know what all of the fuss is about.

I’ll tell you, the foreword by Don Coscarelli piqued my interest; by the time I finished the preface I was having a great time...

*Read my full review...


October 24th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Strange Weather ​By Joe Hill


I’m always a bit hesitant before beginning an anthology.  You see, I like big books, that is one of the things that I love most about Joe Hill, he’s not afraid to take me on a seven hundred and fifty page (or more) journey.  He has always kept me captivated through his tomes.  So, in Strange Weather I’ve got four short novels packed into approximately four hundred and fifty pages.  Could Joe Hill captivate me four times over in a fraction of the space he normally uses? 

*Read my full review...


October 20th, 2017


Book Review:
Wrath of the Ancients ​By Catherine Cavendish


I remember the March 1977 cover of  National Geographic, the one with King Tut’s golden sarcophagus.  That is where my fascination with the ancient world began:  Howard Carter, the cures of the pharaohs.  These are the things that can captivate a young person’s mind.


As soon as I read the synopsis of Catherine Cavendish’s  Wrath of the Ancients, I knew I had to read this book.  

*Read my full review...


October 17th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Losing Leah Holloway ​By Lisa Regan


The first thing I asked myself when I saw Claire Fletcher #2 was, how is Lisa Regan going to do this?  You see, Claire Fletcher was the victim in book one.  How much trouble can Lisa Regan inflict on this poor girl?  I, for one, had to know.

Don’t be fooled by Lisa Regan, sure, she may look all sweet and innocent, but somewhere inside of her thrives a dark, twisted mind that brings to life some of the most shocking crime books I’ve found. 

*Read my full review...


October 13th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Horror Bucket List


The more time I spend in this wonderful world of reading, the more I read, and the more I am introduced to authors that I want/should read.  Really, it is a vicious circle.  I thought that it would be fun to put together a bucket list of the authors that I haven’t read yet.  But with all of the genres that I read, my list became unmanageable, too many books, too little time.  So this bucket list consists of the horror authors who are well-established, the classics, if you will.

*Read my full list...


October 10th, 2017


Book Review:
The Ritual By Adam Nevill


“I’ve been waiting for a book  like you.  To come into my life.”

The Ritual  hit me in all of the right places.  It had everything that I was looking for in a book right now.  It was horror mixed with Nordic Noir.  It was gruesome and gory.  It felt like it was written just for me.

*Read my full review​​...


October 6th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Why Would I Want to Read That Book?


My wife and I share our website, she reads romance, I don’t (actually, sometimes I do).  Whenever a review request comes in we both say the same thing, “I hope it’s for you.”  As a blogger, I find it sad that I hope that the author contacting us doesn’t want me to read their book.

*Read my full post​​...


October 3rd, 2017


Book Review:
The Abbey of Death By Steven A. McKay


I went into this book at an unusual point.  The Abbey of Death is based on one of the characters from McKay’s The Forest Lord series, and I haven’t read any of the four books from the series.  I’ll admit, I didn’t need to know the backstory for this story to work for me, The Abbey of Death can easily stand alone.

*Read my full review​​...


September 26th, 2017


New Release & Review:

The Visitors By Catherine Burns


The Visitors is one of those books that immediately grabbed my attention.  A subtle cover that reveals a smidgen of the story; a synopsis that gives just enough to pull me in, without saying too much.  Hell, yeah!  I was completely on board for The Visitors

*Read my full review​​...

*Read Shelley's review...


September 22nd, 2017


Book Review:
Madness Treads Lightly By Polina Dashkova


I have been taking a literary trip around the world with the assistance of AmazonCrossing. It’s really interesting to experience how authors in other cultures write and develop their stories.  For this leg of my voyage, I’m off to Russia with Polina Dashkova’s Madness Treads Lightly.

Read my full review​​...



September 15th, 2017


Book Review:
Return to Ithaca By Glyn Iliffe


So here we are, Odysseus’ journey is coming to an end.  I have followed his and Eperitus’ travels, trials and tribulations through the previous five books.  Now we have the  Return to Ithaca.

As someone who is familiar with the works of Homer, one thing has bothered me since the first chapter.  If I’m spoiling anything for you, sorry, but the story has been around for three thousand years...

Read my full review​​...



September 12th, 2017


Book Review:
The Troop By Nick Cutter


I think we’ve all had those books, the ones that seem as though everyone else has already read, loved and sung their praises.  For me, The Troop was one of those books.  I’ve had The Troop on my Kindle since last October, I just needed to make the time to read it.  If you haven’t read The Troop yet, I highly recommend that you read it too.

Read my full review​​...



​​​​​September 8th, 2017

Where am I going this weekend?  That's an easy one - to the movies!  I can't resist watching one of the best books that I've read this year (or maybe ever) come alive on the big screen.


Book Review:
It By Stephen King


It…What can I say about It that hasn’t already been said?  Which superlatives haven’t already been used to describe Stephen King’s writing?  I’ll keep it simple and straight to the point…I loved It.  It, in my humble opinion, is one of the best books ever written.  You should really read It.  I should have read It years ago.

Read my full review​​...


September 1st, 2017


Book Review:
Daughters Unto Devils By Amy Lukavics


I put off reading this book for quite some time.  When I first saw Daughters Unto Devils I was immediately drawn to the cover, but then I saw that it was YA.  I had been going through a phase where every other horror book was YA, and they just weren’t up to the adult level of horror that I wanted.  So, I put Daughters Unto Devils on the back shelf.

Read my full review​​...


August 29th, 2017


Book Review:
One Year After By William R. Forstchen


Survival…that’s what it has been all about since the EMP.  Forstchen has allowed one full year to pass since the events of One Second After; yes, you must read book one before embarking on the journey in One Year After.


The first book in the series was about getting by, surviving and coming together.  The second is more about control and deception – an us and them scenario.  

Read my full review​​...



August 25th, 2017



Book Review:

The Stand

By Stephen King


The more I read by Stephen King, the more I come to appreciate his literary genius.  As a fan of the post-apocalyptic genre, I decided it was well past time for me to read  The Stand.

The Stand is not the sort of book that you just sit down and read; this book is a commitment, it is over fourteen hundred pages of book perfection.  The true genius is in the fact that by the end of the book I still craved more.  


Read my full review​...



August 22nd, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Other Girl By Erica Spindler


The Other Girl  had everything that I normally look for in a book:  a protagonist with a past she would like to put behind her, an evil villain who’s one step ahead of the law, and a ritualistic murder, for good measure.  I jumped at the opportunity to read an early copy.


There is no taking away from the fact that Erica Spindler is a good author and storyteller.  The story was well written and developed at a good pace, not too fast and not too slow.  

Read my full review​​...



August 18th, 2017


Book Review:

Autumn:  The City By David Moody


It was while I was reading The City that I heard about George Romero’s passing.  To be honest, it now feels like there is a massive hole in this genre that I have grown to love so much.  Now, you may wonder what Romero has to do with The City or even the Autumn Series.  Well, Romero set the standard, established the expectations and, whether consciously or subconsciously, Romero is the bar that all others will be judged by.​​

Read my full review​​...


August 15th, 2017


Book Review:

The Strain By Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan


You know that old sweater you have, the one that fits just right?  You’ve had it for years, it has gone on vacation with you, out to the theater and family functions.  Now it’s only fit for wearing around the house, but every time you pull it over your head it just makes you feel comfortable.  Delving into The Strain was like pulling on that old sweater.  This is what reading is supposed to be all about.

Read my full review​​...


August 11th, 2017


Book Review:
The Beachhead By Christopher Mari


​I’ve always been a sucker for a good old-fashioned apocalypse.  There are very few that are more old- fashioned than the Book of Revelation.  Christopher Mari has gone with his own interpretation of the aftermath, as told by John.  All right, I’m on board, let’s go!


Read my full review​​...



More books have been added

to this week's list of new

releases.  Enjoy!


   New Release  &  Review:

                 Constant

(The Confidence Game #1)

     By Rachel Higginson


Well, this book was certainly

different from what I’ve read

by Rachel Higginson in the

past.  The synopsis didn’t give

too much away.  I wasn’t really

sure what I was going to be

getting into with this story and

these characters, but I was

immediately intrigued. 

Constant  is a fast-paced

romantic suspense that pulled

me into the story, kept me

riveted to the pages, and has

left me wanting more.

*Read my full review...



New Releases!


- Savage:  The Awakening of Lizzie Danton  - By L.A. Fiore

They call him a monster.
Pale blue eyes as cold as ice that see right through you.
He’s hard.
He’s damaged.
He’s dangerous.
He lives in a castle fit for a fairy tale, but he’s no prince.
He’s savage.
He’s brutal.
He’s a killer.
By an act of fate, our worlds collide.
They call him a monster, but he is my salvation.


- On the Way to You  – By Kandi Steiner

What makes you happy?
That was the question Emery Reed asked me the day we met, and I couldn’t give him a single answer. I could have said my dog, or my books, or yoga — but I just stared.
And then, I got in his car.
It was crazy to take a road trip with a stranger, but after years of standing still, he was my one-way ticket to a new life, and I wasn’t going to miss it.
We shared the same space, the same car, the same hotel room — and still, we were strangers. One day we’d be laughing, the next, we wouldn’t speak. Emery was surrounded by impenetrable walls, but I wanted in.
Discovering his journal changed everything.
I read his thoughts, words not meant for anyone’s eyes, and the more I learned about him, the harder I fell. It turned out nothing made Emery Reed happy, and I wanted to change that.
I earned his trust by violating his privacy, and as wrong as it was, it worked — until one entry revealed a darkness I never knew existed, a timer I never knew was ticking.
Suddenly, what made me happy was saving Emery from himself. I just didn’t know if I could. 


- Bad at Love:  A Standalone Friends-to-Lovers Romance  – By Karina Halle

Marina is hot, blonde, and wickedly smart, but when it comes to men? She's hopeless. Between her quirks and her lack of filter, there isn't a man in Los Angeles that will stick around after the third date.
Her handsome, charming friend Lazarus has the opposite problem. Everyone wants to be the sexy Brit's girlfriend, but he gets bored and moves on quickly.
There's only one way to figure out why neither of them has cracked this love thing-- they'll date each other. On paper, it's the perfect experiment. But in reality, things between Marina and Laz get complicated quickly.
They might be bad at love, but they are even worse at being friends.


- The Roommate “dis” Agreement  – By Leddy Harper - Romantic comedy!

Item One: Divorced man seeks female roommate for companionship.
Cash Nicholson isn’t looking for a girlfriend, but he wants to come home to someone after a bad day at work.
Item Two: Single mother needs apartment.
Jade Robertson is desperate, and her best friend’s couch just isn’t going to cut it anymore.
Item Three: No surprises.
Romance.
Work.
Pasts.
Agreements aren’t promises…


- Mr. North  – By Callie Hart - She gets a job playing chess with New York's most elusive billionaire, but he wants to win her!

- Bad Habit (Bad Love #1)  – By Charleigh Rose – She falls for her brother's best friend!

BRIAR
I was infatuated with Asher Kelley the moment he came tumbling through my brother’s window five years ago. 
Even bruised and bloodied, he was the most beautiful boy I'd ever seen. 
We couldn't ever be together.
I was too young, and he was too untouchable. 
He was too troubled, and I was too naive. 
But the heart is rebellious, and mine decided it didn’t care about any of those things. 
As I got older, harmless flirting turned to stolen moments in dark corners. 
Until one day, he was gone without a trace.
Now, three years later, he’s back. 
Callous and cruel. 
He’s my brother’s best friend. My parents’ worst nightmare.
I should hate him. 
But like a Bad Habit, I can’t quit him...


- Love on the Edge of Time  – By Julie A. Richman

He likes whiskey and wild women

She likes Ben & Jerry’s
He’s about to get kicked out of 
his own band

She ate her way off the Miss America pageant circuit

What could these two possibly have in common? 

A psychiatrist 
A lot of unresolved issues
A whole bunch of shared life
times

And a love that is never-ending
As bad boy rocker, Jesse Winslow, and former pageant queen, Kylie Martin, each fight the demons screwing up their lives, the one person who holds the key to healing their ills and reuniting two souls that have searched for one another, lifetime after lifetime, is the only one who knows the whole truth.
And keeping that truth from them may just be in preeminent psychiatrist Dr. Claire Stoddard’s best interests.
Claire has committed the ultimate sin in the medical world. She’s fallen for the one man she’s forbidden to love.
Her patient, Jesse Winslow.
And she’s not about to lose him to Kylie Martin... Again.


- True Abandon  – By Jeannine Colette

Trish Hogan's life was destroyed when she gave her trust to her high school boyfriend, Jackson, and he abused it, changing the course of her life forever.
A decade later she’s living in Manhattan -- she has a roommate, a steady boyfriend and a career. When a hurricane puts the city on lock down, Trish gets a message she never thought she’d receive: Jackson is dying and alone. In a city of millions, she is the only person who can sit by his side...

- Spider  – By Ilsa Madden-Mills - Rock star/forbidden romance!

He calls himself Spider. 
I just knew him as the sinfully gorgeous guy with eyes of fire that fate sat next to me on the airplane. 
I didn’t know who he really was…British rock star…my stepbrother. 
He kissed me because he thought we’d never see each other again. We would... 

- Perfect Match  – By Lila Monroe – Romantic comedy!

Jack Callahan has the hottest smile in tech. And as for his ass...ets - well, there's a reason he's the biggest playboy in town. But thanks to douche-bro investors and my snake of a college nemesis (don't ask), he's also my last shot to take my new dating app from kick-ass idea to world-conquering, million-dollar reality.
There's just one problem: he doesn't believe you can make a program for love.
With my future on the line, I set him a challenge: if I can use the app to find his soulmate, he'll invest in my company. Simple, right? Wrong.
It turns out, Jack's cocky attitude pushes my buttons - in all the sexiest, most infuriating ways. My research tells me he's the absolute worst guy in the world for me... so why can't I keep my hands off him? And with my deadline approaching fast, how will I choose between my big break - or a broken heart?


- Wish You Were Mine  – By Tara Sivec - Emotional story!  Read my review!
Five years. I would've stayed away longer if I hadn't received the letter. Not a day has gone by that I haven't thought about her, haven't missed her smile, haven't wished that things were different.
The last time I saw my two best friends, I vowed to not stand in the way of their happiness, even if that meant I couldn't be a part of their lives. Cameron James and her emerald-green eyes were too much of a temptation and I couldn't stay and watch them together. Cameron deserved better than me. She deserved him.
But now that I am back, things are different. I'm not going to stand by and watch the woman I've always loved slip away again. I'm done living my life with regrets and I'm ready to tell her the truth. And I'll do whatever it takes to show her that I always wished she was mine.


- Twisted Truths (Blood Brothers #3)  – By Rebecca Zanetti – Romantic suspense!

Noni is desperate. Her infant niece has been kidnapped, and the only person who can save her is a private detective with too many secrets to count--and more enemies than he can name. A man who walked away from Noni without any warning a year ago, a man who broke her heart. But with Talia's life on the line, Noni needs his help now more than ever--and this time, she won't take no for an answer . . .

- Bodyguard (Hollywood A-List #2)  – By CD Reiss

As a world-class dancer at the height of her career, Emily enjoys all the perks of fame—the parties, the glamour, the tours—but they’ve also attracted the attention of a dangerous ex-boyfriend hell-bent on getting her back.
Enter Carter Kincaid, a bodyguard so crushingly sexy he takes her breath away.
Carter’s the best in the business, and Emily is—professionally speaking—off-limits. But when it comes to stirring his desires, she’s making all the right moves. What’s happening between them is so hot it could get both of them burned. As Emily’s past gets closer, Carter is willing to break every rule of the job to save her. But letting Emily into his life also means letting her in on the secrets of his own past. For these two, falling in love could be the greatest risk of all.

- Wicked Torture  – By J. Kenner - Standalone.

Outwardly, Noah Carter is riding high as the tech world’s hottest new genius. Inside, he’s still reeling from the abduction of his wife and baby daughter eight years ago, and then the devastating discovery of his child’s body. For years, he kept up hope that his wife was alive, but now that she’s been declared legally dead, he’s thrown himself even more deeply into his work, cutting himself off from emotional ties because they just hurt too damn much.
Then he meets Kiki Porter, an eternal optimist with a killer work ethic and dreams of fronting a band. And everything changes. Even though he tries his damnedest to fight it…

- Seducing the Defendant (The Conflict of Interest Series #2)  – By Chantal Fernando

Jaxon Bentley is a hardnosed criminal lawyer whose entire life revolves around his work. He’s been asked to represent Scarlett Reyes, a woman accused of murdering her police officer husband in cold blood. All the evidence points to Scarlett being guilty and Jaxon is sure it’s an open and shut case.
But when he meets his client, he can’t help but feel that she’s innocent and that there’s more to the story than meets the eye...


- He Loves Me…Knot  – By RC Boldt  – Second chance romance!

I never looked back after skipping out on my own wedding, even if it did leave me estranged from most of my family. Eight years later, I have the life I’ve always wanted. As an advertising account executive, my world is damn near perfect. 
Until I come face-to-face with my past. With the man I once loved. The man who holds my future in his hands. The man who’s hell-bent on getting even with me for leaving him at the altar. 
Even with all the unfinished business between us, I still love Knox Montgomery. The only problem? 
He loves me…KNOT.


- The Bed Mate:  A Room Mate Novella (1001 Dark Nights)  – By Kendall Ryan

I might be a typical guy, but these last few years, my love life’s been anything but. From crazy ex-girlfriends to one night stands who are stage-five clingers, my relationships go bad faster than the milk in your fridge. The only constant has been my best friend Maggie.
Fresh off a bad breakup of her own, I invite Maggie to my guy’s skiing weekend knowing she needs an escape from reality. But then something funny starts to happen. I start noticing things about her that I never noticed before... 


- Rock Solid  – By Carly Phillips & Erika Wilde  

Connor Prescott doesn't do one night stands (yes, ladies, he's an anomaly) so when he meets a beautiful woman during a snowed in night at the airport who wants to forget her heartache, he makes an exception. Their night together is incendiary, and by morning Connor wants more . . . except his sexy stranger is gone. He's pretty sure he'll never see her again, until three and a half years later she finds him, and changes his entire world with three little words . . . You're a daddy.


- Cherish Hard (Hard Play #1)  - By Nalini Singh

Sailor Bishop has only one goal for his future – to create a successful landscaping business. No distractions allowed. Then he comes face-to-face and lips-to-lips with a woman who blushes like an innocent… and kisses like pure sin.
Ísa Rain craves a man who will cherish her, aches to create a loving family of her own. Trading steamy kisses with a hot gardener in a parking lot? Not the way to true love. Then a deal with the devil (aka her CEO-mother) makes Ísa a corporate VP for the summer. Her main task? Working closely with a certain hot gardener...

- Defiant Queen (Anti-Heroes Collection #2)  – By Meghan March - Defiant Queen is the second book of the Mount Trilogy, and should be read following  Ruthless King.

- Begin Again:  Allie and Kaden’s Story  – By Mona Kasten

A new start. It's the only thing keeping Allie Harper going, when she packs up her life and moves across the country to Woodshill, Oregon. She's about to start college, desperate to leave the ghosts of her past behind her. Even if that means never talking to her parents again.
Now the hard part - finding an apartment before classes start. Just when it seems she'll have to live out of her car, Allie visits one more place. It's beautiful. With one exception: can she stand being roommates with campus bad boy Kaden White? Sure, Kaden is sexy with his tattoos and careless attitude, but he's also an arrogant jerk. With nowhere else to go, Allie moves in.
The first thing Kaden does is make a set of rules. Either Allie obeys, or she's out:
1. Don't talk about your girl problems.
2. Keep your mouth shut if I bring someone home.
3. We will NEVER hook up.
Easy enough, thinks Allie. Who would want to get involved with a brute like Kaden? But the more she gets to know him, the more she sees beyond his gruff facade...


- Two –Man Advantage  – By Toni Aleo – M/M hockey romance!


- Obsession Mine (Tormentor Mine #2)  - By Anna Zaires - Dark romance!  The continuation of the story that began in  Tormentor Mine.


- Finding Love (Behind Blue Lines #3)  - By Christine Zolendz


-  Free Ride (Shadow Keepers MC #1)  - By M.N. Forgy - New MC series!


- Constant (The Confidence Game #1)  – By Rachel Higginson - Romantic suspense!  Read my review.

Fifteen years ago I met Sayer Wesley. I fell in love with him. I promised I would never leave him. I swore nothing could break us apart.
Five years ago I broke my promise. I ran away. I took the one secret that could destroy us both and disappeared. 
Five days ago I thought I saw him. 
I knew it was impossible. Sayer was locked away, serving a deserved sentence in federal prison. He couldn’t find me. 
He wouldn’t find me. I was too good at hiding. Too good at surviving. 
Because if Sayer ever found me, there would be hell to pay for a plethora of sins. The worst of which, he didn’t even know about. 
Five hours ago, I told myself I was crazy. 
Five minutes ago, I saw him again. 
Five seconds ago, I was too late. 


El Santo  - By M. Robinson - Standalone.

I didn’t know darkness and evil lurked inside me until I had to murder in order to survive. Forced to become my own worst enemy. With so much blood on my hands, I was surprised I could still see my own skin.
I killed. 

I tortured. 
I loved… 


Happy Reading! 

November 17th, 2017

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog