Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog

October 20th, 2017


Book Review:

Wrath of the Ancients

​By Catherine Cavendish


I remember the March 1977 cover of  National Geographic, the one with King Tut’s golden sarcophagus.  That is where my fascination with the ancient world began:  Howard Carter, the cures of the pharaohs.  These are the things that can captivate a young person’s mind.

As soon as I read the synopsis of Catherine Cavendish’s  Wrath of the Ancients, I knew I had to read this book.  


*Read my full review...

October 17th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Losing Leah Holloway ​By Lisa Regan


The first thing I asked myself when I saw Claire Fletcher #2 was, how is Lisa Regan going to do this?  You see, Claire Fletcher was the victim in book one.  How much trouble can Lisa Regan inflict on this poor girl?  I, for one, had to know.

Don’t be fooled by Lisa Regan, sure, she may look all sweet and innocent, but somewhere inside of her thrives a dark, twisted mind that brings to life some of the most shocking crime books I’ve found. 

*Read my full review...


October 13th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Horror Bucket List


The more time I spend in this wonderful world of reading, the more I read, and the more I am introduced to authors that I want/should read.  Really, it is a vicious circle.  I thought that it would be fun to put together a bucket list of the authors that I haven’t read yet.  But with all of the genres that I read, my list became unmanageable, too many books, too little time.  So this bucket list consists of the horror authors who are well-established, the classics, if you will.

*Read my full list...


October 10th, 2017


Book Review:
The Ritual By Adam Nevill


“I’ve been waiting for a book  like you.  To come into my life.”

The Ritual  hit me in all of the right places.  It had everything that I was looking for in a book right now.  It was horror mixed with Nordic Noir.  It was gruesome and gory.  It felt like it was written just for me.

*Read my full review​​...


October 6th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Why Would I Want to Read That Book?


My wife and I share our website, she reads romance, I don’t (actually, sometimes I do).  Whenever a review request comes in we both say the same thing, “I hope it’s for you.”  As a blogger, I find it sad that I hope that the author contacting us doesn’t want me to read their book.

*Read my full post​​...


October 3rd, 2017


Book Review:
The Abbey of Death By Steven A. McKay


I went into this book at an unusual point.  The Abbey of Death is based on one of the characters from McKay’s The Forest Lord series, and I haven’t read any of the four books from the series.  I’ll admit, I didn’t need to know the backstory for this story to work for me, The Abbey of Death can easily stand alone.

*Read my full review​​...


September 26th, 2017


New Release & Review:

The Visitors By Catherine Burns


The Visitors is one of those books that immediately grabbed my attention.  A subtle cover that reveals a smidgen of the story; a synopsis that gives just enough to pull me in, without saying too much.  Hell, yeah!  I was completely on board for The Visitors

*Read my full review​​...

*Read Shelley's review...


September 22nd, 2017


Book Review:
Madness Treads Lightly By Polina Dashkova


I have been taking a literary trip around the world with the assistance of AmazonCrossing. It’s really interesting to experience how authors in other cultures write and develop their stories.  For this leg of my voyage, I’m off to Russia with Polina Dashkova’s Madness Treads Lightly.

Read my full review​​...



September 15th, 2017


Book Review:
Return to Ithaca By Glyn Iliffe


So here we are, Odysseus’ journey is coming to an end.  I have followed his and Eperitus’ travels, trials and tribulations through the previous five books.  Now we have the  Return to Ithaca.

As someone who is familiar with the works of Homer, one thing has bothered me since the first chapter.  If I’m spoiling anything for you, sorry, but the story has been around for three thousand years...

Read my full review​​...



September 12th, 2017


Book Review:
The Troop By Nick Cutter


I think we’ve all had those books, the ones that seem as though everyone else has already read, loved and sung their praises.  For me, The Troop was one of those books.  I’ve had The Troop on my Kindle since last October, I just needed to make the time to read it.  If you haven’t read The Troop yet, I highly recommend that you read it too.

Read my full review​​...



​​​​​September 8th, 2017

Where am I going this weekend?  That's an easy one - to the movies!  I can't resist watching one of the best books that I've read this year (or maybe ever) come alive on the big screen.


Book Review:
It By Stephen King


It…What can I say about It that hasn’t already been said?  Which superlatives haven’t already been used to describe Stephen King’s writing?  I’ll keep it simple and straight to the point…I loved It.  It, in my humble opinion, is one of the best books ever written.  You should really read It.  I should have read It years ago.

Read my full review​​...


September 1st, 2017


Book Review:
Daughters Unto Devils By Amy Lukavics


I put off reading this book for quite some time.  When I first saw Daughters Unto Devils I was immediately drawn to the cover, but then I saw that it was YA.  I had been going through a phase where every other horror book was YA, and they just weren’t up to the adult level of horror that I wanted.  So, I put Daughters Unto Devils on the back shelf.

Read my full review​​...


August 29th, 2017


Book Review:
One Year After By William R. Forstchen


Survival…that’s what it has been all about since the EMP.  Forstchen has allowed one full year to pass since the events of One Second After; yes, you must read book one before embarking on the journey in One Year After.


The first book in the series was about getting by, surviving and coming together.  The second is more about control and deception – an us and them scenario.  

Read my full review​​...



August 25th, 2017



Book Review:

The Stand

By Stephen King


The more I read by Stephen King, the more I come to appreciate his literary genius.  As a fan of the post-apocalyptic genre, I decided it was well past time for me to read  The Stand.

The Stand is not the sort of book that you just sit down and read; this book is a commitment, it is over fourteen hundred pages of book perfection.  The true genius is in the fact that by the end of the book I still craved more.  


Read my full review​...



August 22nd, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Other Girl By Erica Spindler


The Other Girl  had everything that I normally look for in a book:  a protagonist with a past she would like to put behind her, an evil villain who’s one step ahead of the law, and a ritualistic murder, for good measure.  I jumped at the opportunity to read an early copy.


There is no taking away from the fact that Erica Spindler is a good author and storyteller.  The story was well written and developed at a good pace, not too fast and not too slow.  

Read my full review​​...



August 18th, 2017


Book Review:

Autumn:  The City By David Moody


It was while I was reading The City that I heard about George Romero’s passing.  To be honest, it now feels like there is a massive hole in this genre that I have grown to love so much.  Now, you may wonder what Romero has to do with The City or even the Autumn Series.  Well, Romero set the standard, established the expectations and, whether consciously or subconsciously, Romero is the bar that all others will be judged by.​​

Read my full review​​...


August 15th, 2017


Book Review:
The Strain By Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan


You know that old sweater you have, the one that fits just right?  You’ve had it for years, it has gone on vacation with you, out to the theater and family functions.  Now it’s only fit for wearing around the house, but every time you pull it over your head it just makes you feel comfortable.  Delving into The Strain was like pulling on that old sweater.  This is what reading is supposed to be all about.

Read my full review​​...


August 11th, 2017


Book Review:
The Beachhead By Christopher Mari


​I’ve always been a sucker for a good old-fashioned apocalypse.  There are very few that are more old- fashioned than the Book of Revelation.  Christopher Mari has gone with his own interpretation of the aftermath, as told by John.  All right, I’m on board, let’s go!

Read my full review​​...


August 8th, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Walls By Hollie Overton


I do this all the time; I find a new book, read the synopsis, grab the book, and finally read it months later, having completely forgotten the synopsis.  The Walls  was one such book, however, this created a great reading experience for me.  I went into it not knowing what to expect and I immersed myself in the story.

Read my full review​​...

Read Shelley's review...



July 25th, 2017


Book Review:
Bone White By Ronald Malfi


This is my second experience into the wonderful imagination of Ronald Malfi, and I have come to the conclusion that he is not human.  Ronald Malfi is some kind of demonic artist of words.  He can reach deep inside of you, grab hold of your soul and twist it to shreds.  He writes a pretty good book too!

Read my full review​​...


July 18th, 2017


Book Review: 
Hell Divers II:  Ghosts By Nicholas Sansbury Smith


I love a summer sequel; getting reacquainted with some old friends, making some new ones and just enjoying the time spent together.  The familiarity of the sequel is comforting. I am already invested in the world, I know the backstory, and I have an idea of where I would like the adventure to go. Ghosts fits the summer sequel spot superbly.

Read my full review​​...


July 14th, 2017


Book Review
The Breakdown By B.A. Paris

Available now!


The synopsis is key when it comes to my book reading decisions.  Too much information and I feel like there’s no point in reading the book, everything is already there.  Too little, and I don’t know if it is for me or not.  I guess I’m a bit of a Goldilocks when it comes to the synopsis, and The Breakdown had it just right.


Read my full review​​...


July 7th, 2017


Book Review: 
Dark Hollow By Brian Keene


There is nothing quite like mixing a little bit of mythical creature to up the ante on a horror story.  Brian Keene has done a fantastic job of mixing old with new:  satyrs frolicking with young ladies in the woods (alright, there was a lot more than just frolicking going on), a novelist in Pennsylvania starting his new story.

Read my full review​​...

God-Shaped Hole

By Tiffanie DeBartolo

New Release!

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​This week's list of new releases

is posted below.  Enjoy! 


       New Releases!


Cuffed (Everyday Heroes

#1)  – By K. Bromberg

“I hate you. I never want to

see you again.”
Grant Malone is not the reason

I moved back to Sunnyville—at

least that’s what I tell myself.

Yet, those parting words I said

to him back in third grade,

ring in my ears every time a

townsperson brings up one of

the Malone boys. I thought

time had healed my wounds. 

I was wrong. Nothing could

have prepared me for how I

felt when I finally saw him

again.
Twenty years does a lot to turn a boy into a man. One who hits all my buttons—sexy, funny, attractive, and a police officer. But Grant is off limits because he knows too much about my past.
But I’m drawn to him. That damn uniform of his doesn’t hurt either. It’ll be my downfall. I know it.
What’s one night of sex going to hurt . . . right?
***
I’ve always loved Emmy Reeves.
That’s why I’m shocked to see her all these years later. The shy girl I once knew is all grown up.
Adventurous and full of life, she owns my heart now, just as much as she did back then. Convincing her of that is a whole different story.
I’ll give her the one night she asks for—like that’s a hardship—but when it comes to letting her walk away after, she has another thing coming. There’s no way in hell I’m letting her go this time without a fight.


Move the Stars (Something in the Way #3)  – By Jessica Hawkins – The conclusion to the series!  Forbidden romance!

It was a hot summer day when I met him on the construction site next to my parents' house. If I’d known then what I do now, would I have kept on walking? Manning was older, darker, experienced—and I’d trusted him when he said the story would only ever be about us...

-
Too Distracting (The Lewis Cousins #3)  – By Bethany Lopez

As the successful and driven CEO of Lewis Sporting Goods, Dillon rarely has time to eat a home cooked meal, let alone put any time or effort into maintaining an actual relationship. He's been living on fumes and casual encounters for so long that finding love and starting a family never even crossed his mind, until his cousins Gabe and Reardon found women who gave them both. 
Laurel has been in love with Dillon since she was nine years old. Unfortunately, he's always seen her as his little sister's pesky best friend. She can't stop her heart from beating frantically whenever he's near, but she's become an expert at keeping her feelings from everyone, especially Dillon. Her secret has been safe, until now...
When Laurel needs help with her business plan, her best friend urges her to seek help from Dillon. Determined to push her feelings aside and focus on her fledgling business, Laurel knows she needs to do whatever it takes to succeed, even if it means being treated to indifference and big brother teasing from the man she loves. 

-
Hard Wood  – By Lauren Blakely - Romantic comedy.  Standalone.

Women often say a good man is hard to find. And a hard man is even better.
That's why I'm quite a catch-- good, hard, loaded, and wait for it...I'm ready to settle down too. But the woman I want to pitch my tent with lives clear across the country. Neither of us wants to get lost in those woods. All I have to do is resist her for the week she's in town.
I try. I swear I try. But yeah, that doesn't work out. 
And after one fantastic night with my good friend Mia, I'm ready to give her years of nights under the stars. What's a few thousand miles when love's involved? But there's a hitch in my plans -- she just hired my adventure tour company. If there's one thing I'm committed to, it's running a squeaky clean business. Number one on my list of iron-clad rules?
Don't screw your customers.
But what's a guy to do when she's so hard to resist? How hard can it be to keep our hands off each other for a quick group tour down the hills and over the trails? I'm about to find out, and I have a feeling I'm going to need a new badge of honor because things are about to get very hard in the woods.

-
The Final Fight (Fighting Series #8)  – By JB Salsbury – Military romance!  The final book in the series!  

When life brings you the perfect person at the worst possible time…
On a weekend visit to Las Vegas to visit his brother, Marine Braeden Daniels meets a woman who challenges him in ways he can’t deny. The best part is she wants what he wants. 
No strings. No feelings. Just fun. 
AJ is a Las Vegas performer who is finally living her dream. Growing up poor, she’s determined to succeed at any cost. No one will stand in her way—not even a hot Marine who breezes into her life all confidence and a cocky smile. 
A few stolen weekends and neither can deny the feelings quickly growing between them. But the obstacles that keep them apart become more devastating when the Marine Corps calls Braeden away for a six-month deployment. 
It’s only six months. 
What could possibly happen? 


-
The Bachelors  – By E.S. Carter – A contemporary twist on Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice!

It is a well-known fact that a single man without a penny to his name must be in want of a rich wife.
Darcy, Bingham and Wick Austen are about to lose the family business. 
Without a miracle or a substantial cash investment, Austen's—the bookstore chain that was established by their great-great-grandfather—will go into receivership.
A chance encounter at a charity ball with the attractive, single and filthy-rich Bennet sisters has Wick Austen convincing his brothers that the way to save their livelihoods rests at the Bennet's red-soled-shoe clad feet. 
But these three women are far more than your average, simpering, society-loving heiresses.
Darcy isn't so sure about his youngest brother's plan, especially when the smart, feisty and ridiculously sexy Eliza Bennet shoots down his advances in a ball of flames, and accuses him of being a proud and egotistical jerk. 
Meanwhile, Bingham meets the sweet and approachable Jane, and insta-love ensues, and Wick gets used up and spat out by the youngest and most flighty sister, Lydia.
Will the Austen bachelors secure a wife and save the family name or will they become the Bennet sister's latest
conquests?



Releasing Tomorrow - October 24th!


- Acquisition (Takeover Duet #1)  – By Chelle Bliss – Office romance!

A one-night stand with a handsome stranger wasn't a problem--until he tries to steal her company.
Ambitious, high-powered CEO Lauren Bradley is one press release away from catapulting her company to new heights. Rival CEO, Antonio Forte is arrogant, controlling, and sexy. She should know, since Antonio's a one-night stand she thought she'd never see again.
Antonio wants to take over more than her company, he wants her as part of the Acquisition.
Let the games begin...


-
Forever Right Now  – By Emma Scott - Standalone.

Darlene Montgomery has been to hell and back…more than once. After a stint in jail for drug possession, she is finally clean and ready to start over. Yet another failed relationship is just the motivation she needs to move from New York to San Francisco with the hopes of resurrecting her dance career and discovering that she is more than the sum of her rap sheet. As Darlene struggles in her new city, the last thing she wants is to become entangled with her handsome—but cranky—neighbor and his adorable little girl...
Sawyer Haas is weeks away from finishing law school, but exhaustion, dwindling finances, and the pressure to provide for himself and his daughter, Olivia, are wearing him down. A federal clerkship--a job he desperately needs--awaits him after graduation, but only if he passes the Bar Exam. Sawyer doesn’t have the time or patience for the capricious—if beautiful—dancer who moves into the apartment above his. But Darlene’s easy laugh and cheerful spirit seep into the cracks of his hardened heart, and slowly break down the walls he’s resurrected to keep from being betrayed ever again.
When the parents of Olivia’s absentee mother come to fight for custody, Sawyer could lose everything. To have any chance at happiness, he must trust Darlene, the woman who has somehow found her way past his brittle barbs, and Darlene must decide how much of her own bruised heart she is willing to give to Sawyer and Olivia, especially when the ghosts of her troubled past refuse to stay buried.


-
A Little Too Late  – By Staci Hart – He falls in love with the nanny!

I wasn’t supposed to fall in love with the nanny.
When my wife left, she took the illusion of happiness with her, and I’ve been caught in a free fall ever since. For nine long months, I’ve been fighting to figure out how to be a single dad, how to be alone. 
For nine long months, I’ve been failing.
When Hannah walked through the door, I took my first breath since I’d found myself on my own. She slipped into our lives effortlessly, showing me what I’ve been missing all these years. Because Hannah made me smile when I thought I’d packed the notion of happiness away with my wedding album.
She was only supposed to be the nanny, but she’s so much more. 
The day my wife left should have been the worst day of my life, but it wasn’t. It was when Hannah walked away, taking my heart with her.


-
Alpha Mail  – By Brenda Rothert

Sienna Mills knows her alpha males. 
They brood. 
They growl. 
They love the word “mine”.
After spending her early twenties in and out of relationships with alphas, Sienna used her knowledge to found Alpha Mail, a booming business that allows women to sign up for emails, letters, and texts from their own brooding, red-blooded man.
Her star is on the rise and Sienna is attracting the interest of investors when a mysterious man starts messaging her about the true nature of an alpha. She’s got it all wrong, he says, and he’s willing to show her how a real man makes women respond.
The more Sienna hears from him, the more aggravated she becomes. Who does this anonymous, supposed alpha think he is, anyway? 
And yet…she can’t deny his messages are becoming the best part of her days. Commitment-phobic Sienna finds herself wanting more from her sensei of seduction. But is she willing to trust her heart to an alpha again?

-
Tainted Butterfly (Tainted Knights #2)  – By Terri Anne Browning – Rock star romance!

We have a history.
His childhood was full of darkness and all I have ever wanted was to give him the light. Now he puts that darkness into his music, and protecting the girl who has always worshiped him. 
But time changes people. 
It has changed me. 
I'm no longer the little caterpillar he has always called me. I know he needs me—I need him too. 
Now I have to make a choice…
Stay and pretend like he hasn’t eviscerated my heart. 
Or let go of him completely. 


Hangry (The Girls #1)  – By Lily Kate – A contemporary sports romantic comedy!

I sold my soul for a hamburger.
And I have no regrets. When a girl is trapped indefinitely in an elevator with a smoking hot burger and an empty stomach, even the strongest of women will crumble.
The story goes like this: Bradley Hamilton, former professional hockey player and the most frustrating human alive, offered me half of his hamburger in exchange for a date. I took him up on the offer—while under duress—and now I’m stuck with the consequences. Specifically, the scorching kiss that has me drooling for more.
However, there’s one whopper of a problem. This man has been a thorn in my side for the last twenty years—ever since he moved next door and became my older brother’s best friend. We’ve gone head to head for years, and now, he’s trying to buy out my restaurant in order to plop one of his big fat gyms there instead...


-
Falling Fast – By Aurora Rose Reynolds

Colton Allyster is relieved to be back home. After a year of rehabilitation, losing his career as a Marine along with his fiancé, he’s had to learn quickly what’s really important. Colton grew up wanting to serve his country. Managing his parents’ biker bar was never part of his plan, but after meeting Gia Caro, he’s beginning to think that’s exactly where he’s meant to be.
Ever since Gia Caro arrived in the small, sleepy town of Ruby Falls, Tennessee, her life has spiraled out of control. Between losing her grandmother a little more each day to dementia, and her hot boss’s constant attention, her once quiet existence isn’t so quiet anymore.
After weeks of sidestepping Colton, things get out of hand, and before Gia knows what’s happening, she’s spending her nights in his bed and her mornings in his kitchen. And as he cleans out drawers and makes room in his closet, she starts to wonder if she’s falling too fast.
 



Releasing Later This Week!


- October 26 - #1 Player  – By T. Gephart - Romantic comedy!
Lila Callan had an unconventional upbringing—unavoidable when your mother owns a brothel. But while she’d inherited some of her parents’ ‘wacky and offbeat’, she was also strong, independent and incredibly intelligent. The fact she was tall, beautiful and blond was a bonus she never really cared to exploit. She wasn’t uptight; it’s just that long term was more her thing, with zero interest in one-night stands. 
Until she met Ryan York and then she isn’t so sure. 
Blindingly good looking.
Insane body.
Infectious sense of humor.
And charm for days. 
Ryan York was movie star material. 
Except that he wasn’t. 
He’d turned his back on the idea of hitting the big time, more content with being Eric Larsson’s—his best friend who was a movie star—right-hand man. Despite his laid-back persona, he was a guy who could get stuff done. And women lined up to be done by Ryan. He did not have a problem with that. Not. At. All. 


- October 27Wicked Envy (The Wicked Horse Vegas #3)  – By Sawyer Bennett

The best of friends.
Two men. One woman.
A sinful playground called The Wicked Horse.

Entrepreneur turned millionaire, Dane Hawthorne, has been known to get his kicks at The Wicked Horse Vegas, and he has no shortage of beautiful women waiting for a shot at him. Driven to succeed, no matter if he’s in the boardroom or the bedroom, Dane never backs down from a challenge.
Avril Carrigan isn’t the type of woman to take risks in her personal life but after a broken heart and too much liquid courage, Avril decides to best way to get over one man, is to get under another. Looking to experience all the debauchery she’s heard about from her best friend and business partner, Dane, she requests one thing of him—take her to The Wicked Horse.
The request seems simple. One friend helping another in her time of need. But now that they’ve crossed the threshold, things aren’t as easy as they once seemed. Not only is Dane looking at Avril in a new light, but so is their other business partner and best friend, Andrew Collings. As Dane’s envy blooms, he wonders if he made the right decision when he agreed to show Avril his wicked world.
What happens when the lines of friendship are blurred and boundaries are crossed? Will their relationships survive or will jealousy tear them all apart?


- October 27Fervent  – By Claudia Burgoa

As a former Army Ranger who works for a high intelligence, private security company, I’ve seen my fair share of death, betrayal, and pain. 
I’ve lived them. 
I trust no one, only my brothers, and my best friend.
I wasn’t always like that. Everything changed the day my parents died and my nation was attacked. 
Since then, family comes first. Work is my mistress. 
Nothing else matters. 
That is, until she walked into my life.
Short dress, long, tanned legs, and honey eyes that make me weak. 
She’s chaos.
She’s sunshine and daffodils.
She’s loud.
She’s a fighter.
She’s a dreamer.
She’s everything I hate.
Why is it so hard to walk away from her?



Happy Reading! 

John Dies at the End

By David Wong

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

October 23rd, 2017