May 17th, 2019 

May 10th, 2019


Book Review:
Little Darlings
By Melanie Golding


The best horror plays off of real-life fears.  For any parent the biggest fear has to be something happening to your children.  Melanie Golding assaulted this fear.  Playing with nursery rhymes and traditional children’s stories, Golding has created a new parent’s nightmare.

*​Read my review...
*Read Shelley's review...


May 7th, 2019


Book Review:
Cemetery Road
By Greg Iles


I love committing myself to big books.  I crave spending hours with interesting, well-developed characters.  I appreciate an author like Greg Iles, who has the patience and makes the time to create the stories that will occupy a portion of my life.

I’ve heard it said many times that an author should write what they know; Greg Iles is a southern boy, and he sets his stories, like  Cemetery Road, in small-town Mississippi.  

*​Read my review...


April 29th, 2019


Book Review:
The Pandora Room
By Christopher Golden


Ben Walker is living my childhood dream, well, he isn’t exactly living it because he is a fictional character, but you know what I mean.  I grew up on a healthy dose of Indiana Jones and Allan Quatermain; Harrison Ford and Richard Chamberlain stoked my love of the adventure of uncovering a lost mythical treasure in an exotic location.  Ben Walker is a modern version of my childhood heroes.

*​Read my review...


April 19th, 2019


Book Review:
The Last Big Thing
By David Moody


David Moody is one of my favorite authors.   I’ve been captivated by his writing since I first opened  Hater many years ago.  I’ve been nursing  The Last Big Thing  since its release in January.  I just can’t sit and read straight through an anthology; I like to place the stories in between other full-length books that I’m reading.  I find that this helps with my overall appreciation for the anthology as a whole.

*​Read my review...


April 9th, 2019


New Release & Review:
The Stillwater Girls
By Minka Kent


The Stillwater Girls  got off to an incredible start.  It begins with Wren and Sage; you can get all of their basics from the synopsis.  Then, chapter two:  Nicolette.  Wait!  What?  Who?  Nicolette is not in the synopsis.  Where is this going?

I followed along, loving the two sides to the story, wondering how and where the two would come together.  Kent’s writing style kept the suspense and mystery high.

*​Read my review...


April 8th, 2019


What will I be doing on the evening of April 10th?  That's easy.  I will be watching  The Silence  on Netflix!  The Silence  by Tim Lebbon was one of my favorite books, and I am more than a little excited to see it come to life!

*​Read my review...

*Watch the trailer...


April 5th, 2019


Book Review:
The Last
By Hanna Jameson
Releasing April 9th!


I love a good old-fashioned apocalyptic story - the nuclear war scenario has been left behind by biological/viral worlds.  It was interesting to see how Jameson brought this very real possibility back to life.


Imagine that it hits the fan in full force, world tensions reach that point of no return and someone pushes the button.  

*​Read my full review...


April 2nd, 2019


Book Review:
Soon the Light Will Be Perfect
By Dave Patterson
Releasing April 9th!


Sometimes a synopsis just grabs your attention and refuses to let go.  For me, Soon the Light Will Be Perfect  is one such book.  A coming-of-age story set in rural Vermont, it had a universality that it could have been set in Anytown, America.

*​Read my full review...


March 29th, 2019


Book Review:

All Roads End Here
(The Final War #2)
By David Moody


What David Moody has done with  The Final War series is genius.  I find that more and more authors don’t know when or how to end a series and move on to something new.  I loved the Hater series, it was a novel concept in the realm of “zombie” books.  I loved every moment that I spent with Danny McCoyne, but by the final pages of  Them or Us, Danny’s story was over, and I was good with that.

*​Read my full review...


March 22nd, 2019


Book Review:
Alien: Out of the Shadows
By Tim Lebbon


As a Tim Lebbon fan, I jumped at the free Audible Original Drama of  Alien: Out of the Shadows.  This “radio play” was a great change of pace from the books I had been listening to.

Lebbon brought me back to the world of  Alien, even the voice actor who did Ripley sounded similar enough to Sigourney Weaver.  This gave me a comfort/familiarity level that got me more involved, more quickly.  

*​Read my full review...


March 19th, 2019


Book Review:
Shelter in Place
By Nora Roberts


I don’t know if you’re aware of this or not, but Nora Roberts is one hell of a writer.  She continues to amaze me with her ability to develop storylines and seamlessly tie them all together.

Shelter in Place  is a story of love and hate; where love is the glue, if used properly, can fix anything.  The synopsis doesn’t do the story justice, there is so much more beneath the surface.

*​Read my full review...


March 12th, 2019


Book Review:
The Homecoming
By Andrew Pyper


The Homecoming  was one heck of an attention grabber.  Once I read the synopsis I knew that I wanted to read it, and the cover pulled me in with its comforting yet sinister scene.  The story started off with a bang, and I was hooked.

​Andrew Pyper developed an exquisite, multi-layered plot of deception and betrayal.  I loved the fact that there was always another twist or turn right around the corner.  

*​Read my full review...


March 11th, 2019


The Passage...What's Next?


Have you been enjoying Fox’s production of  The Passage? I sure have, and my wife doesn’t mind watching it with me as long as I rub her feet…quid pro quo. You may be wondering what other great stories are out there that can give you that same feeling.

*​Read the full post...


March 5th, 2019


Book  Review:
A Court of Thorns and Roses
By Sarah J. Maas


Every year, my wife and I love looking at the Goodreads Choice Awards.  We always find some great books to add to our overflowing TBR lists, and it’s fun to see if any of our favorites found their way onto the list.  We have this ongoing joke from one year to the next: “Who will win Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction?  Sarah J. Maas or Sarah J. Maas?”

*​Read my full review...


February 26th, 2019


New Release & Review:
Zeus Is Undead: This One Has Zombies
By Michael G. Munz


When you  kracken  open a book by Michael G. Munz you have to expect the unexpected and accept the fact that conventions will be broken, you may even find yourself craving an ice cream sundae.

It has been a while since my last epic quest with Leif and Tracy. I was ready to have a few good laughs, and Munz obliged.  

*​Read my full review...


February 19th, 2019


Book Review:
The Boy
By Tami Hoag


There is something about a heinous crime that grabs my attention.  A seven-year-old boy is brutally beaten in his own home, Hoag had my attention.

The Boy  is the second book in the Broussard and Fourcade series and my first venture into the small town of Bayou Breaux.  I didn’t feel like I was missing anything, the author seamlessly filled in any gaps that I may have been missing from book one.

*​Read my full review...


February 12th, 2019


New Release & Review:
The Hunting Party
By Lucy Foley


The Hunting Party  just seemed to hit me at the right time and in all the right ways.  I guess you could say it’s just what I was looking for.  The Hunting Party  is one part Friends From College, with another part  The Ritual  and the third part…I can’t say, I don’t want to spoil the surprise.

*​Read my full review...
*Read Shelley's review...


February 8th, 2019


I'm always adding new books to my to-be-read list.  What's a few more, right?  Well, these two have definitely piqued my interest.


The Pandora Room  by Christopher Golden is releasing on April 23rd.  I loved  Ararat, so I am very excited to go on a new adventure with Golden. 
​A chilling exploration of what happens when the original Pandora's Box is discovered in an ancient subterranean city, stirring international conflict and exposing the archaeological team to curses, whispers, and the terror of a legendary plague.

*​Read the synopsis...


- The Institute  by Stephen King is scheduled to release

on September 10th, 2019.  Yes!

Check out the synopsis:

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The

operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up

at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents—telekinesis and telepathy—who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke learns, graduated to Back Half, “like the roach motel,” Kalisha says. “You check in, but you don’t check out.”

In this most sinister of institutions, the director, Mrs. Sigsby, and her staff are ruthlessly dedicated to extracting from these children the force of their extranormal gifts. There are no scruples here. If you go along, you get tokens for the vending machines. If you don’t, punishment is brutal. As each new victim disappears to Back Half, Luke becomes more and more desperate to get out and get help. But no one has ever escaped from the Institute.



​​

The Tiger Catcher

​By Paullina Simons

Weekend + Reading = Bliss

Looking for a book to read

over the weekend? 

If you enjoy enemies-to-

lovers romances with

great banter, be sure to 

check out my review of 

The Unhoneymooners 

by Christina Lauren.


More books have been

added to this week's list of

new releases.  Enjoy!    


​            New Releases!


- Ten Hours - By Melissa

Toppen 

Ten hours…
That’s how much time we

spent together.
How much time I got with the man whose bright eyes and sultry smile almost made me forget that I was sick.
Six hundred minutes…
That’s how long it took me to fall in love.
Thirty-six thousand seconds...
And then it was over. And all I wanted was more.
More seconds. 
More minutes. 
More hours.
More him.
Ten hours…
Such a small, insignificant amount of time. 
Yet those ten hours changed everything.


- The Moth and the Flame (When Rivals Play #2)  – By B.B. Reid - This is the continuation of the story that began in  The Peer and the Puppet.


- F*ck Marriage  – By Tarryn Fisher 

Two years ago, Billie Tarrow's husband left her for another woman. Shamed and divorced, Billie retreated to her family home in Port Townsend, far from her old life in New York. After a near-death encounter, Billie decides to return to the city that took everything from her. 
But sometimes in the midst of heartache, hope suffocates the pain. 
Satcher Gable has carried a torch for Billie for ten years. When she suddenly returns to New York a single woman, he can't believe his good fortune. But convincing her to walk away from her heartache is proving more difficult than Satcher anticipated. A changed woman, Billie's only goal is revenge.


-
A Five-Minute Life  – By Emma Scott 

Remember us...when I can't.
Thea Hughes has five minutes to live.
A car accident stole her parents and left her with the second-worst documented case of amnesia in the world. She now has only minutes of experiences, of consciousness, of life...before her memory is wiped clean. The once effervescent artist with a promising future is reduced to scribbling with pens and paper, living an empty, quiet life, three hundred seconds at a time.
Jim Whelan is on autopilot.
A foster kid shuffled around the system since birth, he's lived his entire life without knowing love...and it's taken its toll--until he learned to fight back, carry his armor, and keep his head down.
Working as an orderly in the Blue Ridge Sanitarium, deep in Virginia countryside, Jim looked up...and found Thea.
When Thea has the chance to break free of her five-minute prison with a risky, experimental surgery, it could lead them both to an epic love they never thought possible... or one that could require the ultimate sacrifice.


-
The Trouble with Love  – By Claire Contreras 

Things on my wishlist:
1. Start a new, awesome job
2. Create the perfect dating app
3. Stop dating douchebags
Things that actually happen:
1. Got a job in my dream tech company 
2. Created a workplace dating app for said company
3. Was matched with Bennett, who happens to own the company and is also my brother’s best friend
They say when it rains, it pours, but this is some serious BS. It doesn’t help that Bennett was the man I had my last one night stand with. It definitely doesn’t help that he seems to want me just as much as I want him. The issue is, he won’t do anything about it, but then we’re forced to attend a tech conference in Vegas and I think it may just be what I need to turn this thing around.
New goal: get my brother’s best friend out of my system by all means necessary.


-
Darkest Deeds (Cavalieri Della Morte)  – By Cora Kenborn – Mafia romance!

-
The Billionaire Boss Next Door  – By Max Monroe - Romantic comedy!


Cheap Trick  – By Emily Goodwin 


The Behavior of Love  – By Virginia Reeves – Intriguing love triangle! 
Doctor Ed Malinowski believes he has realized most of his dreams. A passionate, ambitious behavioral psychiatrist, he is now the superintendent of a mental institution and finally turning the previously crumbling hospital around. He also has a home he can be proud of, and a fiercely independent, artistic wife Laura, whom he hopes will soon be pregnant.
But into this perfect vision of his life comes Penelope, a beautiful, young epileptic who should never have been placed in his institution and whose only chance at getting out is Ed. She is intelligent, charming, and slowly falling in love with her charismatic, compassionate doctor. As their relationship grows more complicated, and Laura stubbornly starts working at his hospital, Ed must weigh his professional responsibilities against his personal ones, and find a way to save both his job and his family.


The Unhoneymooners  – By Christina Lauren - Read my review!
Olive Torres is used to being the unlucky twin: from inexplicable mishaps to a recent layoff, her life seems to be almost comically jinxed. By contrast, her sister Ami is an eternal champion . . . she even managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a slew of contests. Unfortunately for Olive, the only thing worse than constant bad luck is having to spend the wedding day with the best man (and her nemesis), Ethan Thomas.
Olive braces herself for wedding hell, determined to put on a brave face, but when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning, the only people who aren’t affected are Olive and Ethan. Suddenly there’s a free honeymoon up for grabs, and Olive will be damned if Ethan gets to enjoy paradise solo.
Agreeing to a temporary truce, the pair head for Maui. After all, ten days of bliss is worth having to assume the role of loving newlyweds, right? But the weird thing is . . . Olive doesn’t mind playing pretend. In fact, the more she pretends to be the luckiest woman alive, the more it feels like she might be.


Red, White & Royal Blue  – By Casey McQuiston – M/M romance! 
What happens when America's First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales?
When his mother became President, Alex Claremont-Diaz was promptly cast as the American equivalent of a young royal. Handsome, charismatic, genius—his image is pure millennial-marketing gold for the White House. There's only one problem: Alex has a beef with the actual prince, Henry, across the pond. And when the tabloids get hold of a photo involving an Alex-Henry altercation, U.S./British relations take a turn for the worse.
Heads of family, state, and other handlers devise a plan for damage control: staging a truce between the two rivals. What at first begins as a fake, Instragramable friendship grows deeper, and more dangerous, than either Alex or Henry could have imagined. Soon Alex finds himself hurtling into a secret romance with a surprisingly unstuffy Henry that could derail the campaign and upend two nations and begs the question: Can love save the world after all? Where do we find the courage, and the power, to be the people we are meant to be? And how can we learn to let our true colors shine through?


- Wrong Bed, Right Girl (Accidental Love #2)  –

By Rebecca Brooks - Each book in this series can be ​read as a standalone.

Falling head-first into the wrong woman’s bed was not how Reed Bishop’s night was supposed to go. Now a gorgeous, half-naked ballet dancer was threatening his manhood…

with a book. He can’t blame her... 


-  Requiem & Reverie (The Sandman Duet #2) – By Keri Lake - Romantic thriller!  The conclusion to the story that began in  Nocturnes & Nightmares.

- Frisky Business  – By Lila Monroe - Romantic comedy!

Noah Hathaway is infuriatingly hot, annoyingly charming… and my new room-mate?! This pet-sitting gig was supposed to be a vacation from drama, but that was before the hunky guy in the pool-house started sticking his nose (and his annoyingly chiseled abs) in my business. 
I’m looking for Mr. Right, not Mr. Most Likely to Sneak Out of Bed (And Steal Your Breakfast Pop Tart On the Way Out the Door), so despite the red-hot sparks between us, I’m determined to stay away. But when one little party gets way out of hand, we’re suddenly both on the wrong side of trouble. Unless we can come up with ten thousand dollars in the next three weeks, we’re screwed. And not just when it comes to the adorable pooches. 
With the clock ticking, we have no choice but to team up and embark on a madcap scheme to save our asses - with the help of a few furry friends. But with the chemistry between us reading Defcon-69, can I keep my hands (and heart) to myself? Or will this pup-tastic scheme leave us both in the doghouse? 


-
The Dirty Bits: A K. Webster 2 in 1  – By K. Webster - Includes: Ex-Rated Attraction & Mr. Blakely.

-
Wild Thing  – By J.A. Huss 


- Power Players Box Set  – By Cassia Leo – Includes five standalone novels: Chase, Luke, Knox, Cash & King. 


- Hurt the One You Love: A Reluctant Office Romance  - By Megan Hart

She likes to watch.
Simone's been spying on Elliott through her office window for a few months, delighting in vicariously dating the handsome businessman who likes it a little rough. Simone is a woman who knows what she wants and isn't afraid to ask for it, and when she and Elliott end up in the same elevator, she makes sure to let him know she's up...or down...for a little mutual fun.
Elliott, however, has always struggled with what he thinks of as his harsher desires. Rough hands don't equal love, in his mind, and even though Simone tries to convince him otherwise, he's resistant to giving in to what they both really want. 
Will Elliott move beyond the past haunting him? 
Can Simone teach him the truth -- that sometimes, it's okay to hurt the one you love?


- Not Bad People  – By Brandy Scott – Thriller! 

​Three friends, thirty years of shared secrets, one impulsive gesture…and a terrible accident. When friendship goes bad, someone has to pay...

-
A Really Bad Idea  – By Jeannine Colette 

Everyone has a best friend. Mine just happens to be Dr. Christian Gallagher— the gorgeous, green-eyed heart surgeon who wants to have a baby with me.
Yes, you read that correctly...

-
The Night Before  – By Wendy Walker - Thriller!

Laura Lochner has never been lucky in love. She falls too hard and too fast, always choosing the wrong men. Devastated by the end of her last relationship, she fled her Wall Street job and New York City apartment for her sister’s home in the Connecticut suburb where they both grew up. Though still haunted by the tragedy that’s defined her entire life, Laura is determined to take one more chance on love with a man she’s met on an Internet dating site.
Rosie Ferro has spent most of her life worrying about her troubled sister. Fearless but fragile, Laura has always walked an emotional tightrope, and Rosie has always been there to catch her. Laura’s return, under mysterious circumstances, has cast a shadow over Rosie’s peaceful life with her husband and young son – a shadow that grows darker as Laura leaves the house for her blind date.
When Laura does not return home the following morning, Rosie fears the worst. She’s not responding to calls or texts, and she’s left no information about the man she planned to meet. As Rosie begins a desperate search to find her sister, she is not just worried about what this man might have done to Laura. She’s worried about what Laura may have done to him…


-
Choosing You : The Pierced Hearts Duet #2  – By M. Robinson - The conclusion to the story that began in Choosing Us.

-
Concerto  – By Skye Warren - The continuation of the story that began in  Overture.
 
-
We Contain Multitudes  – By Sarah Henstra – M/M romance! 

​Jonathan Hopkirk and Adam "Kurl" Kurlansky are partnered in English class, writing letters to one another in a weekly pen pal assignment. With each letter, the two begin to develop a friendship that eventually grows into love. But with homophobia, bullying, and devastating family secrets, Jonathan and Kurl struggle to overcome their conflicts and hold onto their relationship...and each other.

-
The Key to Happily Ever After  – By Tif Marcelo – Romantic comedy! 

All’s fair in love and business.
The de la Rosa family and their wedding planning business have been creating happily ever afters in the Washington, DC area for years, making even the most difficult bride’s day a fairytale. But when their parents announce their retirement, the sisters—Marisol, Janelyn, and Pearl—are determined to take over the business themselves.
But the sisters quickly discover that the wedding business isn’t all rings and roses. There are brides whose moods can change at the drop of a hat; grooms who want to control every part of the process; and couples who argue until their big day. As emotions run high, the de la Rosa sisters quickly realize one thing: even when disaster strikes—whether it’s a wardrobe malfunction or a snowmageddon in the middle of a spring wedding—they’ll always have each other.


-
Unbroken (Lawless, Texas)  – By Jay Crownover – Novella! 

-
F-Bomb (The Bear Bottom Guardians MC #9)  – By Lani Lynn Vale 


- My Ex-Best Friend’s Wedding  – By Wendy Wax 

Prized and stored away for safekeeping, the timeless ivory wedding dress, with its scooped neck and cleverly fitted bodice, sits gently folded in its box, whispering of Happily Ever Afters. To Kendra, Brianna, and Lauren it’s a reminder of what could have been, the promise of a fairy tale, and a friendship torn apart. But as Kendra knows firsthand: it wasn’t the dress’s fault. 
Once closer than sisters, Lauren and Bree have grown up and grown apart, allowing broken promises and unfulfilled dreams to destroy their friendship. A successful author, Lauren returns home to the Outer Banks, fiancé in tow, to claim the dress she never thought she’d wear. While Bree, a bookstore owner, grapples with the realities of life after you marry the handsome prince. As the former best friends wrestle with their uncertain futures, they are both certain of one thing: some betrayals can never be forgiven.  
Now on the eve of her daughter Lauren’s wedding, Kendra struggles with a secret she’s kept for far too long. And vows to make sure the dress will finally bring Lauren and Bree back together—knowing they'll need each other to survive the coming storm.


- A Perfect Lie  – By Lisa Renee Jones

- Wyatt (The Son Series #2)  – By Leanne Davis 

- She’s Like the Wind (Angel Sands #2)  – By Carrie Elks 

- Dear Lily  – By Drew Davies 


​​

Happy Reading! 



May 17th, 2019


Book Review:

Hyperion

By Dan Simmons


I’ve always loved Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales, the concept of a group of travelers telling each other stories to make their trip more interesting.  This idea could easily be applied to a more modern voyage.  Little did I know that Simmons had been there and done that with Hyperion.  When I realized that was what was going on, I had one of my “Oh, Hell yeah!” moments and Simmons had me hooked.


*​Read my review...



What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog

Another Life

By Robert Haller

    2 Book Lovers Reviews