May 16th, 2017


Book Review:
The Hanging Girl  By  Jussi Adler-Olsen


The Hanging Girl is book six in the Department Q series.  Department Q is the Danish cold-case division that is headed up by Carl Morck.  Perhaps it could be read as a stand-alone, personally, I would recommend reading the series in order so that you can fully appreciate the evolution of the characters.

It has been three years since Carl, Assad and Rose investigated  The Marco Effect.  

See my full review​​...


May 4th, 2017


Book Review:
Skitter (The Hatching #2) By  Ezekiel Boone


The arachnopocalypse is on!  Skitter picks up right where The Hatching left off, read The Hatching first, this is important.  You don’t like spiders?  Good!  Read these books in an old barn, it will add ambience.

It has been a little under a year since I read The Hatching, that’s quite a few books and many lives since I left this world of Ezekiel Boone’s creation.  

See my full review​​...




April 25th, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Last Neanderthal By  Claire Cameron​


I’ve always enjoyed a good historical book, usually the older the better.  With The Last Neanderthal, I’ve gone pre-historic.  Claire Cameron’s story bounces back and forth between Girl, our Neanderthal protagonist, and Rosamund Gale, and archaeologist excavating a groundbreaking site.

See my full review​​...



April 18th, 2017


Book Review:
Security By Gina Wohlsdorf


Ever since I first came across  Security, there was something intriguing about the book; it has a “big brother” aspect about it that piqued by interest.  I downloaded the sample, something I would recommend, and was captivated and strangely intrigued by the point-of-view from which the story was told.

See my full review​​...



April 7th, 2017


Book Review:
I'm Thinking of Ending Things By Iain Reid


This is one of those books that you love or hate; and you might not even know why.  Iain Reid had me questioning everything throughout the book.  What was going on?  Is that real?  Why.  Are.  You.  Doing.  That? Don’t go down the stairs!  Okay, that wasn’t a question, but I said it.

See my full review​​...
See Shelley's review...


April 4th, 2017


Book Review:
Wolves By  D.J. Molles


What is the price of vengeance?  After reading Wolves, I would have to say that it is your soul.

Every once in a while, I find a book that I connect with on multiple levels - a book that speaks to me, pulls me into the lives of the characters and leaves me craving more.  Wolves 

is one such book.  Many times as I was reading, my wife would ask me, “How is your book?”  All I could say in response was, “Dark.”  

See my full review​​...



March 31st, 2017


Upcoming Release:  
The Last Neanderthal By  Claire Cameron
Releasing April 25th!
Available for pre-order!


40,000 years in the past, the last family of Neanderthals roams the earth. After a crushingly hard winter, their numbers are low, but Girl, the oldest daughter, is just coming of age and her family is determined to travel to the annual meeting place and find her a mate.
But the unforgiving landscape takes its toll, and Girl is left alone to care for Runt...​

Read more...​​


March 28th, 2017


New Release & Review:

Almost Missed You By Jessica Strawser


You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression.  This old expression applies to books, as well as many other things.  A great start is key to pulling the reader into the story.  If the first chapter doesn’t captivate me, I am easily distracted and it’s damn near impossible to make up for that shortcoming.  Almost Missed You had no such issue.  


See my full review...



March 24th, 2017


Book Review:
The Emperor's Knives By Anthony Riches


​By the time you reach book seven in a series, you should know what to expect.  If you didn’t like the previous books, what the hell are you even doing here?  With Wounds of Honour, Anthony Riches opened up a whole new world of books for me; one with Roman Legions marching through hordes of blue-nosed barbarians.  I have become a huge fan of Riches, as well as a few others in the genre.

See my full review...​​


March 21st, 2017


New Release:
The Beach​head By Christopher Mari


After Earth is decimated, the entire remaining human population is marooned on an unfamiliar beach. The enigmatic winged Orangemen leave the survivors with instructions to remake their society, basic tools and weapons, and a few thousand books, including Bibles in many languages. As two generations are born and raised, conflicting theories as to the nature of the apocalypse continue to simmer.

Read more...​​


March 17th, 2017


Book Review:
The Girl with All the Gifts By M.R. Carey


Please sir, may I have another?  That is how I felt after reading  The Girl with All the Gifts.  This is one of the best books that just hit me perfectly in all the right places.  I laughed, I cried, where do I find the t-shirt?

The Girl with All the Gifts  is one of those cases where, with respect to the synopsis, less is more.  I read the synopsis and was immediately pulled in. 

See my full review...​​


March 14th, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Man in the Lighthouse By Erik Valeur


There are many different factors that will draw me into reading a particular book.  The cover, let’s be honest, we are all drawn to good covers; The Man in the Lighthouse has a great cover.  The genre, I have become a huge fan of dark Nordic mysteries and thrillers over the past few years.  Even the publisher is a factor that will influence a reader’s decision to read a particular book.  

See my full review...​​


March 10th, 2017


Book Review:
Testament
By David Gibbins

Releasing March 14th!


I’ve had a fascination with archaeology and ancient history since I was a kid.  Yeah, I wanted to be Indiana Jones when I grew up…there’s nothing wrong with that.  But then I grew up and learned that, well, Indiana Jones is not exactly what archaeology is; it’s more digging in trenches and hoping to find thousand- year old trash than finding lost cities of gold.  That is the fun in reading a book by David Gibbins... 

See my full review...​​


March 7th, 2017


Book Review:  
Red Devils
(The Front, Book Two)
By David Moody


This is a new-to-me concept, three authors working together on the same project where there is a clear, defined, concise point where one author hands the baton off to the next.  David Moody has grasped the baton handed to him by Timothy W. Long and he is off and running with Red Devils.

See my full review...​



March 3rd, 2017


Book Review:

 Neon Wings By David G. Barnett


A good book takes you away on a voyage to a different time and place.  A great book takes you back to a feeling of warmth and comfort that you long for.

Neon Wings is a great book.  I love horror that builds off of religion.  It pushes our limits and makes us think.  Neon Wings brought me back to The Prophecy, The Prince of Darkness and The Exorcist.  

See my full review...​

February 28th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Hell Is Open By Gard Sveen


Hell Is Open  begins with a brutal crime, unfortunately, these crimes happen all too often and are not restricted to any one place.  Gard Sveen grabbed my attention with this opening and kept me looking for more.

This is book two in the Tommy Bergmann series.  I haven’t read the first book yet, but I didn’t feel lost or as though I was missing something; so, if you haven’t read The Last Pilgrim, no worries...

See my full review...


February 24th, 2017


Upcoming Release:  Testament
By David Gibbins
Releasing March 14th!


Stay tuned for my review! 


586 BC 
The ancient world is in meltdown. In desperation the priests of the Temple look to the greatest navigators ever known to save their treasures. On a far distant shore, after a voyage more astonishing than any ever undertaken before, a Phoenician named Hanno flees for his life from a terrifying enemy, the place the prophets called the Chariot of the Gods…

Read more...



One is a Promise

By Pam Godwin

May 29th, 2017

May 23rd, 2017


Book Review:

Black Mad Wheel 

By  Josh Malerman


Anyone who has read Bird Box knows that Josh Malerman is capable of reaching inside, grabbing your soul and freaking the hell out of it.  Once I saw that he had a new book releasing, I knew that I needed to read it.


Black Mad Wheel  played back and forth between two timelines in the protagonist’s life.  


See my full review​...

This week's list of new releases

is posted below.  Enjoy!


          New Releases!


- Crave Me (Luminous)

By Stacey Lynn - She wants her

sister's ex-boyfriend who lives

a BDSM lifestyle!

-
Plight  – By K.M. Golland

I promised myself to a man.

Well, technically, I promised

myself to a boy. We were eight

years old. Neighbours. He

gave me a Cheezel, pushed it

onto my finger, and asked me

to marry him. 

I ate the Cheezel. 
I also said, “Yes” but that we’d

have to wait until we were thirty.
It was my thirtieth birthday last week and now he’s calling in that promise. 
Seriously, Elliot Parker is insane if he thinks that an out of the blue private Facebook message stipulating the binding law of an oral contractual agreement is going to seal our twenty-two-year bullshit engagement. 
Insane.
I wonder if he really does look like his profile picture, though.



Releasing Tomorrow - May 30th!


- When It’s Real  – By Erin Watt – She’s hired as a star’s fake girlfriend!

Under ordinary circumstances, Oakley Ford and Vaughn Bennett would never even cross paths. 
There's nothing ordinary about Oakley. This bad-boy pop star's got Grammy Awards, millions of fangirls and a reputation as a restless, too-charming troublemaker. But with his home life disintegrating, his music well suddenly running dry and the tabloids having a field day over his outrageous exploits, Oakley needs to show the world he's settling down—and who better to help him than Vaughn, a part-time waitress trying to help her family get by? The very definition of ordinary. 
Posing as his girlfriend, Vaughn will overhaul Oakley's image from troublemaker to serious artist. In return for enough money to put her brothers through college, she can endure outlandish Hollywood parties and carefully orchestrated Twitter exchanges. She'll fool the paparazzi and the groupies. She might even start fooling herself a little. 
Because when ordinary rules no longer apply, there's no telling what your heart will do…

-
The Way Back Home  - By Carmen Jenner – Military romance!

August Cotton shouldn’t be here. When a tragic accident calls him home to Magnolia Springs, this returned Veteran adds his parents to the list of things he’s lost in recent years, right along with his IED detection dog and his left leg. As the sole guardian of his four-year-old sister, August must rely on his Marine training in raising a tiny hellion who’s as stubborn as he is. But the Corps could never prepare him for this. Nor could they prepare him for Olivia Anders, a woman who’ll stop at nothing to get her way. 
As owner of Paws for Cause, Olivia is no stranger to the broken men and women who return home from war. She’s no stranger to broken dogs either. In fact, she’s made it her mission to pair the two and enrich both of their lives, but pairing ornery and aloof August Cotton will take some work. The last thing August wants is some pushy southern woman occupying his parents’ bed and breakfast and forcing him to open up about the hell he narrowly escaped, but that’s exactly what Olivia intends.
They complete one another, and yet they can’t stand to be in the same room. 
Can Olivia make this hardened Marine feel again and finally show his heart the way back home?


- No One but You – By Brenda Novak

Struggling to make ends meet after a messy divorce, Sadie Harris is at the end of her tether. Her waitressing gig isn't enough to pay the bills let alone secure primary custody of her son, Jayden, a battle she refuses to lose. Desperate, she accepts a position assisting Dawson Reed—the same Dawson Reed who recently stood trial for the murder of his adoptive parents. Joining him at his isolated farm seems risky, but Sadie is out of options. 
Dawson has given small town Silver Springs plenty of reasons to be wary, but he's innocent of the charges against him. He wants to leave his painful past behind and fix up the family farm so he can finally bring his dependent sister home where she belongs. 
As Sadie and Dawson's professional relationship grows into something undeniably personal, Sadie realizes there's more to Dawson than the bad boy everyone else sees—he has a good heart, one that might even be worth fighting for.


-
The Watcher  – By Bella Jewel - Romantic suspense!

NOW YOU SEE HER . . .
Seven years ago, Marlie Jacobson was kidnapped by a serial killer—and lived to tell about it. But it was actually her mother who told the story, in a bestselling book that made Marlie famous. Today, she’s known as the girl who slayed a killer. The one who got away. Now, there’s just one thing Marlie wants to get away from: her past. But when her little sister disappears, her worst fears come rushing back—with a vengeance…
NOW SHE’S GONE.
Kenai Michelson is a world-renowned investigator. Dark, brooding, and dangerously good-looking, he’s the kind of man Marlie would normally avoid at all costs. But Kenai is her only hope in finding her missing sister. Together, Kenai and Marlie follow a trail of clues that leads them toward the truth—and into each other’s arms. As her trust in Kenai grows, so does their fierce connection. But will their desire turn deadly as they close in on a ruthless enemy who’s watching their every move?


-
One of Us Is Lying  – By Karen M. McManus – The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars!


-
White Fur  – By Jardine Libaire - Stay tuned for my review!

When Elise Perez meets Jamey Hyde on a desolate winter afternoon, fate implodes, and neither of their lives will ever be the same. Although they are next-door neighbors in New Haven, they come from different worlds. Elise grew up in a housing project without a father and didn’t graduate from high school; Jamey is a junior at Yale, heir to a private investment bank fortune and beholden to high family expectations. Nevertheless, the attraction is instant, and what starts out as sexual obsession turns into something greater, stranger, and impossible to ignore.  
The unlikely couple moves to Manhattan in hopes of forging an adult life together, but Jamey’s family intervenes in desperation, and the consequences of staying together are suddenly severe. And when a night out with old friends takes a shocking turn, Jamey and Elise find themselves fighting not just for their love, but also for their lives. 

-
Forbidden Promises (The O’Malleys)  – By Katee Robert

Sloan O'Malley just left her entire world behind-her family, her wealth, and even her real name. For the first time in her life, she's free. She can live the "normal" life she's always wanted. A life without fear. But there's nothing safe about her intensely sexy next-door neighbor.
Jude MacNamara has no room for innocence in his life. Only revenge. Still, he's never been able to walk away from the forbidden, and Sloan--who is every inch of pure, mouthwatering temptation--has forbidden written all over her. Only after it's way too late does he discover the real danger: claiming Sloan as his puts a target on her back. To protect her, Jude is willing risk everything . . . and to hell with the consequences.


-
Shacking Up  – By Helena Hunting – Standalone.  Romantic comedy!

Ruby Scott is months behind on rent and can’t seem to land a steady job. She has one chance to turn things around with a big audition. But instead of getting her big break, she gets sick as a dog and completely bombs it in the most humiliating fashion. All thanks to a mysterious, gorgeous guy who kissed—and then coughed on—her at a party the night before.
Luckily, her best friend might have found the perfect opportunity; a job staying at the lavish penthouse apartment of hotel magnate Bancroft Mills while he’s out of town, taking care of his exotic pets. But when the newly-evicted Ruby arrives to meet her new employer, it turns out Bane is the same guy who got her sick.
Seeing his role in Ruby’s dilemma, Bane offers her a permanent job as his live-in pet sitter until she can get back on her feet.


-
Found Underneath – By K.L. Kreig – The conclusion to the story that began in  Lost In Between!

-
In This Moment – By Karma Brown

Meg Pepper has a fulfilling career and a happy family. Most days she’s able to keep it all together and glide through life. But then, in one unalterable moment, everything changes. 
After school pickup one day, she stops her car to wave a teenage boy across the street…just as another car comes hurtling down the road and slams into him. 
Meg can’t help but blame herself for her role in this horrific disaster. Full of remorse, she throws herself into helping the boy’s family as he rehabs from his injuries. But the more Meg tries to absolve herself, the more she alienates her own family—and the more she finds herself being drawn to the boy’s father. 
Soon Meg’s picture-perfect life is unravelling before her eyes. As the painful secrets she’s been burying bubble dangerously close to the surface, she will have to decide: Can she forgive herself, or will she risk losing everything she holds dear to her heart?


-
The Clover Chapel (Jamison Valley Series #2) – By Devney Perry - Second chance romance!  Standalone.

She took a dare and fell in love. Truth would have been the smarter choice.
After years of living under her father’s thumb, Emmeline is ready to break free. She’s abandoned her life as a New York socialite to follow her dream of becoming a kindergarten teacher in a small, wholesome town. Seeing the man that nearly broke her was absolutely not what she had hoped to find in Prescott, Montana.
Nick hasn’t seen his Emmy in nine years, but that doesn’t mean he’s forgotten a thing about the woman he loves. After just one blissful night as man and wife, he gave her up, sacrificing his own happiness to keep her safe—far away from him. But the moment she walks back into his lonely life is the moment he decides never to let her go again. He won’t waste his second chance. All he has to do is win back Emmeline’s heart, keep her safe from the shadows in his past and prove to her that taking a wager on him is a sure bet.


-
One Taste of Angel  – By Violetta Rand – MC romance!

Their love was the stuff of Shakespeare - two star-crossed lovers from rival MC's, divided by their families' bloody history, but fate has given Eagle and Serafina a second chance. 

-
Somehow, Some Way (A Billionaire Builders Novella)  – By Jennifer Probst


- Black Tie Optional  - By Anne Marie Walker - Romantic comedy!

Everything about Coleman Grant III oozes power and sex. And not the perfunctory kind either, but the sheet clawing, heart stopping, gasping for air after you’ve screamed so loud you can’t breathe kind. From his dark wavy hair that stands in an artfully rumpled mess, to the blue eyes that sear your skin, to his full, sensual lips - on the surface he’s pure perfection.
Too bad he's an asshole. An arrogant, uptight corporate raider hell bent on destroying the environment one species at a time.
Everything about Olivia Ramsey screams hippie humanitarian. From her blond hair tied in a sloppy bun, to her faded jeans with the Bonnaroo patch sewn on the thigh, to her combat boots still splattered with mud from the previous day’s site visit.
So it makes perfect sense that they would get married. In Vegas. Stone-cold sober.
Cole needs a wife. Olivia needs to save an endangered species. But what starts as a marriage of convenience soon turns into a battle of wills and sexual tension. Love is a game, and Olivia and Cole are ready to win.


Releasing Later This Week!


- May 31
If We Fall (Corrupted Love #3)  – By K.M. Scott – Conclusion to the series!

- May 31
He Lived Next Door – By Portia Moore

There are ugly truths
and pretty lies.
When I lost them
I chose neither.
I wrapped myself in silence.
My husband, my best friend, became a stranger who gave up.
Then....
He moved next door, and everything changed.
You think you know this story,
but you don't.
Be careful what you ask for because the answer may not come the way you think.

- June 1
The Foxe & The Hound – By R.S. Grey – Romantic comedy!

When your life is a hot mess at twenty, it’s cute. At twenty-seven…well, not so much.
It’s just that my lofty dreams—making it as a real estate agent, paying rent on time, showering daily—have stayed just that: dreams. Oh, and love? I’ve decided love might be a little ambitious for me at the moment. Instead, I’ve settled for the two guys who will never leave me: Ben & Jerry.
That is, until Dr. Adam Foxe takes up residence as the town’s new vet.
With his strong jaw, easy confidence, and form-fitting scrubs, it’s not long before every housewife in Hamilton is dragging neglected tomcats in for weekly checkups.
Like everyone else, I’m intrigued. Even after I spoil my chance at a good first impression, he still offers me a proposition I can’t refuse: play his girlfriend at a family function and he’ll hire me as his real estate agent. Welcome to love in the 21st century...


-
June 1- Love In Transit:  One Blurb:  Six Different Stories – Anthology –  Jana Aston, Ainsley Booth, Kitty French, BJ Harvey, Raine Miller & Liv Morris 

-
June 1Daddy Darkest (Doctors of Darkness #1) – By Ellery Kane - Standalone.  Psychological thriller!

Bury your secrets. Bury them deep...​
A month after her high school graduation, small-town-girl Samantha “Sam” Bronwyn boards a plane with her best friend, Ginny. Destination: San Francisco. But when Ginny disappears inside an airport bathroom wearing Sam’s letterman jacket, it doesn’t take her long to figure out she was the intended target. Alone in a strange city, Sam’s on a run for her life—drawn into a dark past she never knew existed. A past where secrets aren’t all that’s buried and where revenge comes at the highest price...




​​Happy Reading!

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

The Silence

By Tim Lebbon

New Release!