2 Book Lovers Reviews

The Wall of Winnipeg and Me

 By Mariana Zapata

I Am Not A Serial Killer

By Dan Wells

November 14th, 2017


New Release & Review:

Into the Drowning Deep

By Mira Grant


My father was born in a small town on the ocean, the kind of town where you don’t marry anyone from town due to the risk of three-eyed children.  Luckily, my father married someone “from away”.  I’ve got:  two eyes, ten toes and ten fingers.  My father taught me an appreciation for the ocean, tempered with a few ounces of fear.  Mira Grant has captured the beauty, temptation and ruthless danger of the ocean.


*Read my full review...

November 3rd, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Why Did You Read That Book?


I know that every book isn’t for every reader.  We all have books that fall into our own wheelhouse and more that are just not for us.  When I come across a book that’s just not for me, I move on.  My mother always used to say, “If you don’t have something nice to say, shut the f*ck up.”  Well, maybe not in those exact words, but you get the drift.

*Read my full post...


October 31st, 2017


Book Review:
John Dies at the End ​By David Wong


Spoiler Alert!  Read the title.


I wasn’t sure about this book before I opened it.  The title is a bit weird, do I really want to know what happens before I start?  The synopsis was all over the place.  But what the hell, I want to know what all of the fuss is about.

I’ll tell you, the foreword by Don Coscarelli piqued my interest; by the time I finished the preface I was having a great time...

*Read my full review...


October 24th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Strange Weather ​By Joe Hill


I’m always a bit hesitant before beginning an anthology.  You see, I like big books, that is one of the things that I love most about Joe Hill, he’s not afraid to take me on a seven hundred and fifty page (or more) journey.  He has always kept me captivated through his tomes.  So, in Strange Weather I’ve got four short novels packed into approximately four hundred and fifty pages.  Could Joe Hill captivate me four times over in a fraction of the space he normally uses? 

*Read my full review...


October 20th, 2017


Book Review:
Wrath of the Ancients ​By Catherine Cavendish


I remember the March 1977 cover of  National Geographic, the one with King Tut’s golden sarcophagus.  That is where my fascination with the ancient world began:  Howard Carter, the cures of the pharaohs.  These are the things that can captivate a young person’s mind.


As soon as I read the synopsis of Catherine Cavendish’s  Wrath of the Ancients, I knew I had to read this book.  

*Read my full review...


October 17th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Losing Leah Holloway ​By Lisa Regan


The first thing I asked myself when I saw Claire Fletcher #2 was, how is Lisa Regan going to do this?  You see, Claire Fletcher was the victim in book one.  How much trouble can Lisa Regan inflict on this poor girl?  I, for one, had to know.

Don’t be fooled by Lisa Regan, sure, she may look all sweet and innocent, but somewhere inside of her thrives a dark, twisted mind that brings to life some of the most shocking crime books I’ve found. 

*Read my full review...


October 13th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Horror Bucket List


The more time I spend in this wonderful world of reading, the more I read, and the more I am introduced to authors that I want/should read.  Really, it is a vicious circle.  I thought that it would be fun to put together a bucket list of the authors that I haven’t read yet.  But with all of the genres that I read, my list became unmanageable, too many books, too little time.  So this bucket list consists of the horror authors who are well-established, the classics, if you will.

*Read my full list...


October 10th, 2017


Book Review:
The Ritual By Adam Nevill


“I’ve been waiting for a book  like you.  To come into my life.”

The Ritual  hit me in all of the right places.  It had everything that I was looking for in a book right now.  It was horror mixed with Nordic Noir.  It was gruesome and gory.  It felt like it was written just for me.

*Read my full review​​...


October 6th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Why Would I Want to Read That Book?


My wife and I share our website, she reads romance, I don’t (actually, sometimes I do).  Whenever a review request comes in we both say the same thing, “I hope it’s for you.”  As a blogger, I find it sad that I hope that the author contacting us doesn’t want me to read their book.

*Read my full post​​...


October 3rd, 2017


Book Review:
The Abbey of Death By Steven A. McKay


I went into this book at an unusual point.  The Abbey of Death is based on one of the characters from McKay’s The Forest Lord series, and I haven’t read any of the four books from the series.  I’ll admit, I didn’t need to know the backstory for this story to work for me, The Abbey of Death can easily stand alone.

*Read my full review​​...


September 26th, 2017


New Release & Review:

The Visitors By Catherine Burns


The Visitors is one of those books that immediately grabbed my attention.  A subtle cover that reveals a smidgen of the story; a synopsis that gives just enough to pull me in, without saying too much.  Hell, yeah!  I was completely on board for The Visitors

*Read my full review​​...

*Read Shelley's review...


September 22nd, 2017


Book Review:
Madness Treads Lightly By Polina Dashkova


I have been taking a literary trip around the world with the assistance of AmazonCrossing. It’s really interesting to experience how authors in other cultures write and develop their stories.  For this leg of my voyage, I’m off to Russia with Polina Dashkova’s Madness Treads Lightly.

Read my full review​​...



September 15th, 2017


Book Review:
Return to Ithaca By Glyn Iliffe


So here we are, Odysseus’ journey is coming to an end.  I have followed his and Eperitus’ travels, trials and tribulations through the previous five books.  Now we have the  Return to Ithaca.

As someone who is familiar with the works of Homer, one thing has bothered me since the first chapter.  If I’m spoiling anything for you, sorry, but the story has been around for three thousand years...

Read my full review​​...



September 12th, 2017


Book Review:
The Troop By Nick Cutter


I think we’ve all had those books, the ones that seem as though everyone else has already read, loved and sung their praises.  For me, The Troop was one of those books.  I’ve had The Troop on my Kindle since last October, I just needed to make the time to read it.  If you haven’t read The Troop yet, I highly recommend that you read it too.

Read my full review​​...



​​​​​September 8th, 2017

Where am I going this weekend?  That's an easy one - to the movies!  I can't resist watching one of the best books that I've read this year (or maybe ever) come alive on the big screen.


Book Review:
It By Stephen King


It…What can I say about It that hasn’t already been said?  Which superlatives haven’t already been used to describe Stephen King’s writing?  I’ll keep it simple and straight to the point…I loved It.  It, in my humble opinion, is one of the best books ever written.  You should really read It.  I should have read It years ago.

Read my full review​​...


September 1st, 2017


Book Review:
Daughters Unto Devils By Amy Lukavics


I put off reading this book for quite some time.  When I first saw Daughters Unto Devils I was immediately drawn to the cover, but then I saw that it was YA.  I had been going through a phase where every other horror book was YA, and they just weren’t up to the adult level of horror that I wanted.  So, I put Daughters Unto Devils on the back shelf.

Read my full review​​...


August 29th, 2017


Book Review:
One Year After By William R. Forstchen


Survival…that’s what it has been all about since the EMP.  Forstchen has allowed one full year to pass since the events of One Second After; yes, you must read book one before embarking on the journey in One Year After.


The first book in the series was about getting by, surviving and coming together.  The second is more about control and deception – an us and them scenario.  

Read my full review​​...



August 25th, 2017



Book Review:

The Stand

By Stephen King


The more I read by Stephen King, the more I come to appreciate his literary genius.  As a fan of the post-apocalyptic genre, I decided it was well past time for me to read  The Stand.

The Stand is not the sort of book that you just sit down and read; this book is a commitment, it is over fourteen hundred pages of book perfection.  The true genius is in the fact that by the end of the book I still craved more.  


Read my full review​...



August 22nd, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Other Girl By Erica Spindler


The Other Girl  had everything that I normally look for in a book:  a protagonist with a past she would like to put behind her, an evil villain who’s one step ahead of the law, and a ritualistic murder, for good measure.  I jumped at the opportunity to read an early copy.


There is no taking away from the fact that Erica Spindler is a good author and storyteller.  The story was well written and developed at a good pace, not too fast and not too slow.  

Read my full review​​...



August 18th, 2017


Book Review:

Autumn:  The City By David Moody


It was while I was reading The City that I heard about George Romero’s passing.  To be honest, it now feels like there is a massive hole in this genre that I have grown to love so much.  Now, you may wonder what Romero has to do with The City or even the Autumn Series.  Well, Romero set the standard, established the expectations and, whether consciously or subconsciously, Romero is the bar that all others will be judged by.​​

Read my full review​​...


August 15th, 2017


Book Review:

The Strain By Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan


You know that old sweater you have, the one that fits just right?  You’ve had it for years, it has gone on vacation with you, out to the theater and family functions.  Now it’s only fit for wearing around the house, but every time you pull it over your head it just makes you feel comfortable.  Delving into The Strain was like pulling on that old sweater.  This is what reading is supposed to be all about.

Read my full review​​...





This week's list of new releases

is posted belowEnjoy!


       Cover Reveal:

       Over Us, Over You

           By Whitney G.

Releasing November 30th!

   Available for pre-order.


Synopsis:


Subject: Delete this message

after you read it...

Dear Hayley,
I'm assuming you're still hung-

over, so I'll make this brief.
Last night, you slipped under

my sheets (without my

permission), and we almost

had sex. I got the hell out of the

bed once I realized it was you, and I took you home.
That's the story.
The end.
Period.
Just in case you've forgotten, you're my best friend's little sister. We will never be anything more. (We can't be anything more.) Our previous friendship is still unresolved--or "over" in your terms, so I'd prefer if we worked on becoming 'just friends' again since you're in town.
Nonetheless, I'm not a man who leaves questions unanswered--even the drunken ones, so to properly close our inappropriate conversation:
1) Yes, I liked the way your lips felt against mine when you were on top of me.
2) Yes, I do "prefer" rough sex, but I'm pretty sure I wasn't rough with you.
3) No, I had no idea you were still a virgin...


This message never happened,
Corey


 Pre-order:     Amazon   ~   iBooks




New Releases!


- Lips Close to Mine  – By Robin Bielman

I wasn't supposed to see Levi Pierce ever again. A few months ago, he charmed the pants off me and we spent one incredible night together.
End of story.
Only it wasn't. Pretty soon everywhere I turn, I see him. Our best friends are dating. My mother mistakenly—and happily—thinks he's my plus-one to my cousin's wedding. And he's the guy I have to work with on the most important job opportunity of my life.
Here's my problem: I like Levi. I like his killer smile and his dreamboat eyes and definitely the way he makes me feel in bed. But I've sworn off relationships. So when the sexual tension reaches epic proportions and we fall back into bed together, I tell myself it's temporary. When I start to feel more, I tell myself it's over.
Only Levi isn't a forget-it kind of guy. When his lips are close to mine and he swears he's always wanted me, my defenses disappear. But some things in life just aren't meant to be.
Or are they?


- Dr. Stantons The Epilogue  – By TL Swan

-
Hushed Torment (Iron Fury MC #2)  – By Bella Jewel – Forbidden MC romance!

One accident changed my life.
One single second changed everything for me.
In one terrifying moment, everything I knew was gone.
Music is the only thing that keeps me holding on.
When the opportunity arises for me to tour with country music star, Scarlett Belle, I take it.
An escape.
A chance. 
Only it isn’t enough to lift the shadows of my past.
And when I meet him, dangerous and different, I can’t turn away.
He is forbidden to me.
The President of a Motorcycle Club.
A man who could bring noise back into my soundless world.
But the shadows of my past haunt me.
They linger like a dark nightmare, reminding me that we can never be.
Because my sins are far too heavy.
And my mind far too broken.
Music is the only escape I can allow into my life.
The only one that I will let seep through my hungry veins.
But he’s always there.
And he’s persistent.
But if he knew what I kept behind closed doors…no.
I must continue my life just the way it is.
Without him.
Breathing in my nightmare.
Living in my Hushed Torment.


- The Risks We Take  - By Barbara C. Doyle

We were the push and the pull of the ocean - a combination that couldn't decide it's ending factor. After twelve years, you'd think seeing each other would be welcome. But too much has changed since we parted.
Ian Wells, former childhood friend of Kasey Miller, is the same boy who moved just before hell broke loose. The same boy that Kasey nursed a crush on since they were five, and the same boy that never called once since the day he left twelve years ago.
But now he was there, living in the apartment next door like he could waltz back into her life. No amount of time could heal how much he missed as they grew up ... grew apart.
All he wanted was to get to know the girl he used to love spending every waking moment with, but all she wanted was to be left alone by the boy she blamed for all the pain. 
He was an up-and-coming rock star, and she was an up-and-coming train wreck. Together, they'll have to figure out what risks are worth taking before losing it all.




Releasing Tomorrow - November 21st!


- Little Broken Things  – By Nicole Baart - Suspense!

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn's house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.
While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.


-
Poison  – By Galt Niederhoffer – Suspense!  Marital issues!

Cass and Ryan Connor have achieved family nirvana. With three kids between them, a cat and a yard, a home they built and feathered, they seem to have the Modern Family dream. Their family, including Cass' two children from previous relationships, has recently moved to Portland —a new start for their new lives. Cass and Ryan have stable, successful careers, and they are happy. But trouble begins almost imperceptibly. First with small omissions and white lies that happen daily in any marital bedroom. They seem insignificant, but they are quickly followed by a series of denials and feints that mushroom and then cyclone in menace.

-
Dirty Filthy Fix (1001 Dark Nights)  – By Laurelin Paige - Each novella in the 1001 Dark Nights can be read as a standalone.

I like sex. Kinky sex. The kinkier the better.
Every day, it’s all I think about as I serve coffee and hand out business agendas to men who have no idea I’m not the prim, proper girl they think I am.
With a day job as the secretary to one of New York’s most powerful men, Hudson Pierce, I have to keep my double life quiet. As long as I do, it’s not a problem.
Enter: Nathan Sinclair. Tall, dark and handsome doesn’t come close to describing how hot he is. And that’s with his clothes on. But after a dirty, filthy rendezvous, I accept that if we ever see each other again, he’ll walk right by my desk on his way to see my boss without recognizing me.
Only, that’s not what happens. Not the first time I see him after the party. Or the next time. Or the time after that. And as much as I try to stop it, my two worlds are crashing into each other, putting my job and my reputation at risk. 
And all I can think about is Nathan Sinclair. 
All I can think about is getting just one more dirty, filthy fix.


-
The Rivalry  – By Nikki Sloane – Football romance!

This tight end is at the top of his game. 
He’s good with his hands, even better with his sexy mouth, and the best at making me forget my own name. His—ahem—stats are perfect.
But I can’t fall for him. 
He might be everything I want, all rolled into a glorious package of gridiron god, but there’s one teeny-tiny problem. The vile, loathsome team I’ve spent my entire life hating—my beloved school’s arch-rival?
This guy is their star player.


-
Sweet Tea and Sympathy (Southern Eclectic #1)  – By Molly Harper - Brand-new contemporary romance series!

Nestled on the shore of Lake Sackett, Georgia is the McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop. (What, you have a problem with one-stop shopping?) Two McCready brothers started two separate businesses in the same building back in 1928, and now it’s become one big family affair. And true to form in small Southern towns, family business becomes everybody’s business.
Margot Cary has spent her life immersed in everything Lake Sackett is not. As an elite event planner, Margot’s rubbed elbows with the cream of Chicago society, and made elegance and glamour her business. She’s riding high until one event goes tragically, spectacularly wrong. Now she’s blackballed by the gala set and in dire need of a fresh start—and apparently the McCreadys are in need of an event planner with a tarnished reputation.
As Margot finds her footing in a town where everybody knows not only your name, but what you had for dinner last Saturday night and what you’ll wear to church on Sunday morning, she grudgingly has to admit that there are some things Lake Sackett does better than Chicago—including the dating prospects. Elementary school principal Kyle Archer is a fellow fish-out-of-water who volunteers to show Margot the picture-postcard side of Southern living. The two of them hit it off, but not everybody is happy to see an outsider snapping up one of the town's most eligible gentleman. Will Margot reel in her handsome fish, or will she have to release her latest catch?

-
Head Coach:  Hellions Angels  – By Lia Riley - Enemies-to- lovers romance!

Neve Angel’s life is all work and no play, but she wouldn’t have it any other way.  One of Denver’s top sports reporters, she's fought hard to make it in a male-dominated world, and she won’t back down from a fight with anyone–not even the Hellions’ gruff head coach, Tor Gunnar. Her hostile relationship with the icy Scandinavian is the stuff of local legend.
Tor Gunnar hates dealing with the media; at best, they are a nuisance and at worst, a distraction. And no one distracts him more than the scrappy, sexy reporter who gets him hot under the collar. When he wins a not-so-friendly bet with Neve, he decides it’s high time they either kiss or kill each other, and invites her as a date to an out-of-town wedding.
But what happens when enemies become lovers? Will they be able to smother their sizzling attraction, or is it time to start playing for keeps?


-
Dirty Scoundrel  – By Jessica Clare

Clay Price has everything he’s ever wanted, except the one thing money can’t buy—Natalie Weston. Years ago, Clay and Natalie were in love…until she turned down his marriage proposal. Now Clay and his brothers are oil-rich billionaires, and they can have whatever they want. And what Clay wants is Natalie in his bed, no matter what it takes. If it means being ruthless, he’ll do it.  
Natalie gave up on true love years ago when the realities of the world destroyed her fairy-tale hopes. Giving up Clay is her biggest regret in life, and she’s excited to see him return…until she finds out why. Clay’s got one hell of a proposal for her: he’ll save her father’s business and bail Natalie out of debt if she’ll agree to become his very personal assistant. It’s clear that he wants more from her than just typing. 
It’s also clear that Natalie has no choice. This scoundrel’s bet could destroy any hope they had of reconciliation—or it could bring them together once and for all…


- Love:  A Hollywood Romance  - By Jillian Dodd - The final book in the Keatyn Chronicles!  

Follow the lives and loves of those who work at Captive Films:
Riley Johnson -- Captive Films' CEO and millionaire playboy is hot, privileged, and seriously single. He's got it all--a brand new jet, exotic cars, a luxury penthouse, and a different aspiring actress (or two) in his bed every night. His life is perfect until the only girl he ever loved walks back into it, causing him to wonder if he truly has it all.
Keatyn Douglas -- Hollywood's sweetheart and owner of Captive Films leads a chaotic, glamorous life. But running a successful film studio, writing scripts, and her own acting career leave little time for the things she dreams of, like marrying the man she loves and having babies. When drama starts at work, she may decide to give it all up for life out of the fast lane.
Dawson Johnson -- The dark and dreamy marketing consultant joins Captive to escape his past. For the last two years, his sole focus has been on caring for his adorable daughters after tragedy struck their lives. He comes to Captive looking for a fresh start and, if all goes well, he might find a lot more than that in Hollywood.
Knox Daniels -- Considered the sexiest man alive by a certain magazine, the sentiment is echoed by the actor's adoring fans. While romance abounds in the roles he plays, he's convinced he'll never find his own happily ever after--until he meets a woman who just might change that. 
Shelby Benson -- The beautiful cocktail waitress and wanna-be actress struggles to make ends meet. A chance encounter with Riley Johnson is her lucky break and the golden ticket to everything she's ever dreamed of--fame, power, money, sex, and love.





Happy Reading! 

November 20th, 2017

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog