May 16th, 2017


Book Review:
The Hanging Girl  By  Jussi Adler-Olsen


The Hanging Girl is book six in the Department Q series.  Department Q is the Danish cold-case division that is headed up by Carl Morck.  Perhaps it could be read as a stand-alone, personally, I would recommend reading the series in order so that you can fully appreciate the evolution of the characters.

It has been three years since Carl, Assad and Rose investigated  The Marco Effect.  

See my full review​​...


May 4th, 2017


Book Review:
Skitter (The Hatching #2) By  Ezekiel Boone


The arachnopocalypse is on!  Skitter picks up right where The Hatching left off, read The Hatching first, this is important.  You don’t like spiders?  Good!  Read these books in an old barn, it will add ambience.

It has been a little under a year since I read The Hatching, that’s quite a few books and many lives since I left this world of Ezekiel Boone’s creation.  

See my full review​​...




April 25th, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Last Neanderthal By  Claire Cameron​


I’ve always enjoyed a good historical book, usually the older the better.  With The Last Neanderthal, I’ve gone pre-historic.  Claire Cameron’s story bounces back and forth between Girl, our Neanderthal protagonist, and Rosamund Gale, and archaeologist excavating a groundbreaking site.

See my full review​​...



April 18th, 2017


Book Review:
Security By Gina Wohlsdorf


Ever since I first came across  Security, there was something intriguing about the book; it has a “big brother” aspect about it that piqued by interest.  I downloaded the sample, something I would recommend, and was captivated and strangely intrigued by the point-of-view from which the story was told.

See my full review​​...



April 7th, 2017


Book Review:
I'm Thinking of Ending Things By Iain Reid


This is one of those books that you love or hate; and you might not even know why.  Iain Reid had me questioning everything throughout the book.  What was going on?  Is that real?  Why.  Are.  You.  Doing.  That? Don’t go down the stairs!  Okay, that wasn’t a question, but I said it.

See my full review​​...
See Shelley's review...


April 4th, 2017


Book Review:
Wolves By  D.J. Molles


What is the price of vengeance?  After reading Wolves, I would have to say that it is your soul.

Every once in a while, I find a book that I connect with on multiple levels - a book that speaks to me, pulls me into the lives of the characters and leaves me craving more.  Wolves 

is one such book.  Many times as I was reading, my wife would ask me, “How is your book?”  All I could say in response was, “Dark.”  

See my full review​​...



March 31st, 2017


Upcoming Release:  
The Last Neanderthal By  Claire Cameron
Releasing April 25th!
Available for pre-order!


40,000 years in the past, the last family of Neanderthals roams the earth. After a crushingly hard winter, their numbers are low, but Girl, the oldest daughter, is just coming of age and her family is determined to travel to the annual meeting place and find her a mate.
But the unforgiving landscape takes its toll, and Girl is left alone to care for Runt...​

Read more...​​


March 28th, 2017


New Release & Review:

Almost Missed You By Jessica Strawser


You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression.  This old expression applies to books, as well as many other things.  A great start is key to pulling the reader into the story.  If the first chapter doesn’t captivate me, I am easily distracted and it’s damn near impossible to make up for that shortcoming.  Almost Missed You had no such issue.  


See my full review...



March 24th, 2017


Book Review:
The Emperor's Knives By Anthony Riches


​By the time you reach book seven in a series, you should know what to expect.  If you didn’t like the previous books, what the hell are you even doing here?  With Wounds of Honour, Anthony Riches opened up a whole new world of books for me; one with Roman Legions marching through hordes of blue-nosed barbarians.  I have become a huge fan of Riches, as well as a few others in the genre.

See my full review...​​


March 21st, 2017


New Release:
The Beach​head By Christopher Mari


After Earth is decimated, the entire remaining human population is marooned on an unfamiliar beach. The enigmatic winged Orangemen leave the survivors with instructions to remake their society, basic tools and weapons, and a few thousand books, including Bibles in many languages. As two generations are born and raised, conflicting theories as to the nature of the apocalypse continue to simmer.

Read more...​​


March 17th, 2017


Book Review:
The Girl with All the Gifts By M.R. Carey


Please sir, may I have another?  That is how I felt after reading  The Girl with All the Gifts.  This is one of the best books that just hit me perfectly in all the right places.  I laughed, I cried, where do I find the t-shirt?

The Girl with All the Gifts  is one of those cases where, with respect to the synopsis, less is more.  I read the synopsis and was immediately pulled in. 

See my full review...​​


March 14th, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Man in the Lighthouse By Erik Valeur


There are many different factors that will draw me into reading a particular book.  The cover, let’s be honest, we are all drawn to good covers; The Man in the Lighthouse has a great cover.  The genre, I have become a huge fan of dark Nordic mysteries and thrillers over the past few years.  Even the publisher is a factor that will influence a reader’s decision to read a particular book.  

See my full review...​​


March 10th, 2017


Book Review:
Testament
By David Gibbins

Releasing March 14th!


I’ve had a fascination with archaeology and ancient history since I was a kid.  Yeah, I wanted to be Indiana Jones when I grew up…there’s nothing wrong with that.  But then I grew up and learned that, well, Indiana Jones is not exactly what archaeology is; it’s more digging in trenches and hoping to find thousand- year old trash than finding lost cities of gold.  That is the fun in reading a book by David Gibbins... 

See my full review...​​


March 7th, 2017


Book Review:  
Red Devils
(The Front, Book Two)
By David Moody


This is a new-to-me concept, three authors working together on the same project where there is a clear, defined, concise point where one author hands the baton off to the next.  David Moody has grasped the baton handed to him by Timothy W. Long and he is off and running with Red Devils.

See my full review...​



March 3rd, 2017


Book Review:

 Neon Wings By David G. Barnett


A good book takes you away on a voyage to a different time and place.  A great book takes you back to a feeling of warmth and comfort that you long for.

Neon Wings is a great book.  I love horror that builds off of religion.  It pushes our limits and makes us think.  Neon Wings brought me back to The Prophecy, The Prince of Darkness and The Exorcist.  

See my full review...​

February 28th, 2017


New Release & Review:
Hell Is Open By Gard Sveen


Hell Is Open  begins with a brutal crime, unfortunately, these crimes happen all too often and are not restricted to any one place.  Gard Sveen grabbed my attention with this opening and kept me looking for more.

This is book two in the Tommy Bergmann series.  I haven’t read the first book yet, but I didn’t feel lost or as though I was missing something; so, if you haven’t read The Last Pilgrim, no worries...

See my full review...


February 24th, 2017


Upcoming Release:  Testament
By David Gibbins
Releasing March 14th!


Stay tuned for my review! 


586 BC 
The ancient world is in meltdown. In desperation the priests of the Temple look to the greatest navigators ever known to save their treasures. On a far distant shore, after a voyage more astonishing than any ever undertaken before, a Phoenician named Hanno flees for his life from a terrifying enemy, the place the prophets called the Chariot of the Gods…

Read more...



One is a Promise

By Pam Godwin

May 26th, 2017

May 23rd, 2017


Book Review:

Black Mad Wheel 

By  Josh Malerman


Anyone who has read Bird Box knows that Josh Malerman is capable of reaching inside, grabbing your soul and freaking the hell out of it.  Once I saw that he had a new book releasing, I knew that I needed to read it.


Black Mad Wheel  played back and forth between two timelines in the protagonist’s life.  


See my full review​...

If you're looking for a book to

lose yourself in this weekend,

there is a great selection of

new releases listed below!

Enjoy!


          It's Live!

         A Girl Like Me

          (Like Us, #2)  

          By Ginger Scott 

*Top Recommendation!*


This is  the continuation of

the  story that began in

A Boy Like You.  If you

haven't read A Boy Like ​You,

I highly recommend it.  It is so

good!  Read my review.

Here's the synopsis for A Girl

Like Me:

I’m not supposed to be here.
Death has come for me more 
than once, and each time it’s 

been a boy who’s stood between me and my final breath.
I called him Christopher when he saved me as a child. When he came into my life again, only months ago, I knew him as Wes. Just as he did the time before, he disappeared the moment he made sure I was out of harm’s way; as if I didn’t need any more saving.
This time, though, death left me with a reminder of how powerful it is. I know it meant to strip me of my spirit again, but it failed.
Even so, I know I need Wes to survive. Our souls are woven together somehow, our every breath in sync. I feel it, even though everyone says I shouldn’t.
The world thinks he’s missing.
His loved ones don’t want to believe he’s dead.
Only I know just how special he is.
I’m going to find him and bring him home, where he belongs. Together, we’ll face impossible—we’ll rewrite our ending.
And when the bad guys come calling, we will always win.


*See the full Release Day post & enter the giveaway...


Book News!


*Just "click" on the book title or cover to read more!*


​- Take Your Time (A Boston Love Story #4)  by Julie Johnson is releasing on July 11th & is available for pre-order!

This romantic comedy can be read as a standalone.


- The cover for Forgetting You, Forgetting Me (Memories from Yesterday #1)  by Monica James has been revealed.  This book is releasing on June 26th & is available for pre-order.  I can't wait to read it!


- Hideaway  by Penelope Douglas is the next book in the Devil's Night Series.  It's releasing on August 22nd & is available for pre-order.


- Have you seen the cover for  The Tutor  by K. Larsen?  This book is releasing on June 5th!  This looks dark and intriguing!  





New Releases!


- Completely Captivated  – By AD Justice – Standalone.

- A Girl Like Me (Like Us #2)  – By Ginger Scott - Stay tuned for my review!  See the Release Day post!

- Ruckus (Sinners of Saint #3)  – By L.J. Shen – Forbidden romance!  Standalone.


- Behind the Wall:  A Novella  – By Jane Harvey-Berrick – Forbidden romance!


- Cheater’s Regret (Curious Liaisons #2)  – By Rachel 

Van Dyken - Standalone.
Austin Rogers’s dreams of 
domestic bliss involved 

watching Netflix and eating hot dogs with the love of her 

life. But then he cheated on her. And dumped her—as if 

the whole thing was her fault.  To maintain her pride and 

restore her sanity, she decides to get revenge. It feels 

immensely satisfying to plot her ex’s downfall—but so does

kissing him.
Thatch Holloway, a plastic surgeon straight out of residency, knows he ruined the best thing that ever happened to him. But not all cheaters are created equal. He got himself into this messed-up situation—true—but he has his reasons for what happened, and he’d do it all again to protect Austin...

Somebody Else’s Sky (Something in the Way #2)

– By Jessica Hawkins - This is the continuation of the story 

that began in  Something in the Way.


-
Without Words  – By 
Delancey Stewart

After an accident in the line of  duty, firefighter Roberto

DeRosa’s life is turned upside down. His career fighting fires  is over, and he’s left with an uncertain future and an injury that makes communicating difficult for him. The only time words flow easily is when they’re lyrics and he has a guitar in his hands. Talking to women is definitely out, especially if they have bright blue eyes that seem to see right into his soul.
Dani Hodge is on the brink of realizing her dream of opening a small combination wine and book store in San Diego’s funky Ocean Beach neighborhood. But before she can open the doors, there’s work to be done, more work than she can do herself.
When the tattooed guy who completely ignored her at a bar walks by and offers her a hand wrangling a tile saw, Dani can’t afford to say no—and why would she say no to Mr. Strong and Silent when his stare conveys more than words could?


- Tyson  – By Kathy Coopmans

-
Twenty-Two (Assassins #12)  – By Toni Aleo – Hockey romance!

-
Just a Little Junk  – By Stylo Fantome - Romantic comedy!

Jodi Morgan is having a bad weekend.
After partying a little too hard, she wakes up with a monster hangover and almost no recollection of the night before. So imagine her surprise when she looks in her trunk and instead of finding a spare tire, she finds the last guy she'd danced with before blacking out.
Who is he? How did he get in there? How did he die? And oh dear lord, did she kill him!?

-
Reel to Real  - By Kahlen Aymes - Hollywood romance!


- Stand:  A Bleeding Stars Stand-Alone Novel  - By A.L. Jackson - Rock star romance!


- Nudes:  A Hollywood Romance  – By Sarah Robinson 

Ben Lawson is making a comeback... After a few tabloid headlines, they think they know me. They don't know a damn thing. As CEO of a movie production company, I'll show them who I really am when we hit it big at the box office. My ex thought her smear tactics would ruin me, but I'm unbreakable. Rising from the debris, I swore I'd never let a woman distract me like that again. But then, my leading actress walked on the set and changed everything.   
Seductive, sexy, and unapologetic, Aria Rose could break me. I wanted to help her, protect her...love her. Instead, I destroyed her.   
Aria Rose is baring it all.... 
I knew better. I knew not to trust another Hollywood heartthrob with a reputation like his. He was my boss and became my ruin. I should have stayed far away from him. Ben Lawson promised me the world. He even promised me his heart.   
But he destroyed everything--my heart, my career, us. 


-
Grand Slam (The Boys of Summer)  – By Heidi McLaughlin

Win the game. Lose your heart.
Everyone knows who I am and that I could have any female fan I want. That's supposed to be the "perk" of playing left field for the Boston Renegades. But I don't want just any woman; I want her.
She should be just another face in the crowd, but I can't stop thinking about the one night we spent together-and her look of regret the morning after...


-
Buns (The Hudson Valley Series #3) – By Alice Clayton - Romantic comedy!  The books in this series can be read as a standalones.

Clara Morgan is living the dream, if you can call rebranding hotels that are desperate for a new life and running any kind of marathon a dream. Which she does. But the career she loves and the endurance races that keep her adrenaline pumping have kept her too busy to put down any roots. Growing up in foster care, she’s never been able to establish traditions of her own, which may be why she’s fascinated by the rituals that generations-old family resorts are known for. She’s especially interested in the Bryant Mountain House, and not just for their secret recipe for the yummy, gooey, can’t-get-enough-of Hot Cross Buns….
Archie Bryant, the man with the Buns, is fifth generation and one-day-owner of the charming yet run-down Bryant Mountain House in Bailey Falls, New York... 


-
The Roses of May (The Collector’s Trilogy #2)  – By Dot Hutchison – The continuation of the story that began in The Butterfly Garden!

-
Real Sexy (Real Dirty Duet #2)  – By Meghan March

-
Infinite Us  – By Eden Butler – Time travel romance!

Love is timeless…
Nash Nation loves zeroes and ones, over-sized monitors and late office hours. He’s too busy taking over the world to make time for relationships—that is, until his new neighbor Willow O’Bryant barges into his life, and now Nash can’t shake the feeling that this isn’t the first time she’s interrupted his world.
Then, the dreams start. And in the dreams—memories.
Memories of a girl named Sookie who couldn’t count on love or friendship, never mind forever. Memories of a library and a boy called Isaac and secrets made in private that destroyed his world.
The memories seem real, but who do they belong to?
When Nash and Willow discover the truth, life as they know it unravels.
The bridge between this life and the next is shored up by blood and bone and memory. Sometimes, that bridge leads to the place we’ve always wanted to be.

-
Sexy Stranger  – By Kendall Ryan

He's rude. Arrogant. And too hot to handle. 
And she's stranded with him for an entire week. 
He knows the sexy stranger doesn't belong in his small town, but he's determined to keep her there. The second she opens her smart mouth, he wants to swap a whole lot more than insults with her. She’s got a secret. But he’s got his own agenda. 
Buckle up. 


-
Falling Hard (Blackhawk Boys #4)  – By Lexi Ryan – Football romance!  Each book in this series can be read as a standalone.

Former actress Emma Rothschild is partying in Vegas in disguise. But I’m not fooled. Five years ago, I knew that body better than my own, and I haven’t forgotten a single detail—not the curve of her hip beneath my hand or the hitch in her breath when I kiss her neck.
When Emma’s unexpectedly left alone in Sin City, I agree to spend the weekend with her. As friends. Why not? If I can knock down the toughest guys in the NFL, I’m strong enough to keep my hands to myself, even if she is the sexiest woman I’ve ever met. 
Emma is part of my past—years so shrouded in secrets that not even my best friends know the truth about who I am. I’m a single dad now and not interested in revisiting my old ways or trying to win back the only woman I ever let close enough to break my heart. 
But this is Vegas, where all bets are off, and with Emma, nothing ever goes as planned…


-
Tough Love  – By Max Henry

Eight years ago, Amelia Harris had her life ripped out from underneath her. Being the centre of the town gossip was hard enough, but when the boy who promised her forever left without so much as a goodbye, he took her ability to love with him.
After family tragedy brings Evan North back into her life, the secrets of her past have never felt as close as they do now. When the same scandal that tore them apart rears its ugly head, will history be doomed to repeat itself?


-
In the Heir (Westerly Billionaires #1)  – By Ruth Cardello

Brett Westerly is his father’s golden child, but it’s come at a cost. As head of the family corporation, he throws himself into his work—hiding in his office is easier than confronting the reality of his broken family.
After a bitter divorce that split the family and divided loyalties, the wealthy Westerly matriarch offers an early inheritance to any grandchild who marries and invites the entire family to the wedding. Brett’s brother Spencer rashly gets engaged, and Brett knows it’s his duty to intervene. But he never imagined the unwelcome desire Spencer’s fiery fiancée would spark in him. Now the man who’s used to getting everything he could want has met the one woman he can’t have.
Ever since she was a girl, Alisha Coventry considered Spencer and his sister Rachelle the family she didn’t have. When Spencer asks for her help, Alisha has no problem becoming his fake fiancée—until she meets Spencer’s sexy older brother Brett. The chemistry between them is undeniable—forbidden—but as their relationship deepens, Brett is determined to have her.
Alisha only wanted to help the family make amends. Now she’s falling for the wrong Westerly.


-
Master of Solitude  – By Cherise Sinclair

-
Personal Delivery (Billionaire Secrets #1)  – By Ainsley Booth - Romantic comedy!

I recognize the sound of his truck turning off in front of my building.
Not only do I recognize it, but my pulse picks up and I get all hot and bothered. Then I hear the low growl cutting out, followed by the clank of metal as he pulls up the back door to grab my package….
Grab my package?
That sounds so dirty.
Which is probably appropriate given some of the fantasies I’ve had about him.
My obsession with the new, mysterious delivery driver is crazy. Intense. Distracting.
The last thing I need is to be crushing on a six-foot-something distraction with a dirty grin.
But my friends have other plans.


- This is the End, Baby (War & Peace #7)  - By K. Webster - The final book in the series.  This series needs to be read in order.


-Kingdom (Avenue Ink Series #2)  - By A.M. Johnson - Second chance romance! Standalone.


- Donovan (Face-Off Series #3)  – By Jillian Quinn –

Hockey romance!


- Loving Jade:  Flynn's Stroy (The Riverstone Estate Series #3) – By Roya Carmen – Standalone.




​​Happy Reading!

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

Killer of Kings

By Matthew Harffy

New Release!