October 17th, 2017


New Release & Review:

Losing Leah Holloway

​By Lisa Regan


The first thing I asked myself when I saw Claire Fletcher #2 was, how is Lisa Regan going to do this?  You see, Claire Fletcher was the victim in book one.  How much trouble can Lisa Regan inflict on this poor girl?  I, for one, had to know.

Don’t be fooled by Lisa Regan, sure, she may look all sweet and innocent, but somewhere inside of her thrives a dark, twisted mind that brings to life some of the most shocking crime books I’ve found. 


*Read my full review...

October 13th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Horror Bucket List


The more time I spend in this wonderful world of reading, the more I read, and the more I am introduced to authors that I want/should read.  Really, it is a vicious circle.  I thought that it would be fun to put together a bucket list of the authors that I haven’t read yet.  But with all of the genres that I read, my list became unmanageable, too many books, too little time.  So this bucket list consists of the horror authors who are well-established, the classics, if you will.

*Read my full list...


October 10th, 2017


Book Review:
The Ritual By Adam Nevill


“I’ve been waiting for a book  like you.  To come into my life.”

The Ritual  hit me in all of the right places.  It had everything that I was looking for in a book right now.  It was horror mixed with Nordic Noir.  It was gruesome and gory.  It felt like it was written just for me.

*Read my full review​​...


October 6th, 2017


Greg's Grumbles:
Why Would I Want to Read That Book?


My wife and I share our website, she reads romance, I don’t (actually, sometimes I do).  Whenever a review request comes in we both say the same thing, “I hope it’s for you.”  As a blogger, I find it sad that I hope that the author contacting us doesn’t want me to read their book.

*Read my full post​​...


October 3rd, 2017


Book Review:
The Abbey of Death By Steven A. McKay


I went into this book at an unusual point.  The Abbey of Death is based on one of the characters from McKay’s The Forest Lord series, and I haven’t read any of the four books from the series.  I’ll admit, I didn’t need to know the backstory for this story to work for me, The Abbey of Death can easily stand alone.

*Read my full review​​...


September 26th, 2017


New Release & Review:

The Visitors By Catherine Burns


The Visitors is one of those books that immediately grabbed my attention.  A subtle cover that reveals a smidgen of the story; a synopsis that gives just enough to pull me in, without saying too much.  Hell, yeah!  I was completely on board for The Visitors

*Read my full review​​...

*Read Shelley's review...


September 22nd, 2017


Book Review:
Madness Treads Lightly By Polina Dashkova


I have been taking a literary trip around the world with the assistance of AmazonCrossing. It’s really interesting to experience how authors in other cultures write and develop their stories.  For this leg of my voyage, I’m off to Russia with Polina Dashkova’s Madness Treads Lightly.

Read my full review​​...



September 15th, 2017


Book Review:
Return to Ithaca By Glyn Iliffe


So here we are, Odysseus’ journey is coming to an end.  I have followed his and Eperitus’ travels, trials and tribulations through the previous five books.  Now we have the  Return to Ithaca.

As someone who is familiar with the works of Homer, one thing has bothered me since the first chapter.  If I’m spoiling anything for you, sorry, but the story has been around for three thousand years...

Read my full review​​...



September 12th, 2017


Book Review:
The Troop By Nick Cutter


I think we’ve all had those books, the ones that seem as though everyone else has already read, loved and sung their praises.  For me, The Troop was one of those books.  I’ve had The Troop on my Kindle since last October, I just needed to make the time to read it.  If you haven’t read The Troop yet, I highly recommend that you read it too.

Read my full review​​...



​​​​​September 8th, 2017

Where am I going this weekend?  That's an easy one - to the movies!  I can't resist watching one of the best books that I've read this year (or maybe ever) come alive on the big screen.


Book Review:
It By Stephen King


It…What can I say about It that hasn’t already been said?  Which superlatives haven’t already been used to describe Stephen King’s writing?  I’ll keep it simple and straight to the point…I loved It.  It, in my humble opinion, is one of the best books ever written.  You should really read It.  I should have read It years ago.

Read my full review​​...


September 1st, 2017


Book Review:
Daughters Unto Devils By Amy Lukavics


I put off reading this book for quite some time.  When I first saw Daughters Unto Devils I was immediately drawn to the cover, but then I saw that it was YA.  I had been going through a phase where every other horror book was YA, and they just weren’t up to the adult level of horror that I wanted.  So, I put Daughters Unto Devils on the back shelf.

Read my full review​​...


August 29th, 2017


Book Review:
One Year After By William R. Forstchen


Survival…that’s what it has been all about since the EMP.  Forstchen has allowed one full year to pass since the events of One Second After; yes, you must read book one before embarking on the journey in One Year After.


The first book in the series was about getting by, surviving and coming together.  The second is more about control and deception – an us and them scenario.  

Read my full review​​...



August 25th, 2017



Book Review:

The Stand

By Stephen King


The more I read by Stephen King, the more I come to appreciate his literary genius.  As a fan of the post-apocalyptic genre, I decided it was well past time for me to read  The Stand.

The Stand is not the sort of book that you just sit down and read; this book is a commitment, it is over fourteen hundred pages of book perfection.  The true genius is in the fact that by the end of the book I still craved more.  


Read my full review​...



August 22nd, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Other Girl By Erica Spindler


The Other Girl  had everything that I normally look for in a book:  a protagonist with a past she would like to put behind her, an evil villain who’s one step ahead of the law, and a ritualistic murder, for good measure.  I jumped at the opportunity to read an early copy.


There is no taking away from the fact that Erica Spindler is a good author and storyteller.  The story was well written and developed at a good pace, not too fast and not too slow.  

Read my full review​​...



August 18th, 2017


Book Review:

Autumn:  The City By David Moody


It was while I was reading The City that I heard about George Romero’s passing.  To be honest, it now feels like there is a massive hole in this genre that I have grown to love so much.  Now, you may wonder what Romero has to do with The City or even the Autumn Series.  Well, Romero set the standard, established the expectations and, whether consciously or subconsciously, Romero is the bar that all others will be judged by.​​

Read my full review​​...


August 15th, 2017


Book Review:
The Strain By Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan


You know that old sweater you have, the one that fits just right?  You’ve had it for years, it has gone on vacation with you, out to the theater and family functions.  Now it’s only fit for wearing around the house, but every time you pull it over your head it just makes you feel comfortable.  Delving into The Strain was like pulling on that old sweater.  This is what reading is supposed to be all about.

Read my full review​​...


August 11th, 2017


Book Review:
The Beachhead By Christopher Mari


​I’ve always been a sucker for a good old-fashioned apocalypse.  There are very few that are more old- fashioned than the Book of Revelation.  Christopher Mari has gone with his own interpretation of the aftermath, as told by John.  All right, I’m on board, let’s go!

Read my full review​​...


August 8th, 2017


New Release & Review:
The Walls By Hollie Overton


I do this all the time; I find a new book, read the synopsis, grab the book, and finally read it months later, having completely forgotten the synopsis.  The Walls  was one such book, however, this created a great reading experience for me.  I went into it not knowing what to expect and I immersed myself in the story.

Read my full review​​...

Read Shelley's review...



July 25th, 2017


Book Review:
Bone White By Ronald Malfi


This is my second experience into the wonderful imagination of Ronald Malfi, and I have come to the conclusion that he is not human.  Ronald Malfi is some kind of demonic artist of words.  He can reach deep inside of you, grab hold of your soul and twist it to shreds.  He writes a pretty good book too!

Read my full review​​...


July 18th, 2017


Book Review: 
Hell Divers II:  Ghosts By Nicholas Sansbury Smith


I love a summer sequel; getting reacquainted with some old friends, making some new ones and just enjoying the time spent together.  The familiarity of the sequel is comforting. I am already invested in the world, I know the backstory, and I have an idea of where I would like the adventure to go. Ghosts fits the summer sequel spot superbly.

Read my full review​​...


July 14th, 2017


Book Review
The Breakdown By B.A. Paris

Available now!


The synopsis is key when it comes to my book reading decisions.  Too much information and I feel like there’s no point in reading the book, everything is already there.  Too little, and I don’t know if it is for me or not.  I guess I’m a bit of a Goldilocks when it comes to the synopsis, and The Breakdown had it just right.


Read my full review​​...


July 7th, 2017


Book Review: 
Dark Hollow By Brian Keene


There is nothing quite like mixing a little bit of mythical creature to up the ante on a horror story.  Brian Keene has done a fantastic job of mixing old with new:  satyrs frolicking with young ladies in the woods (alright, there was a lot more than just frolicking going on), a novelist in Pennsylvania starting his new story.

Read my full review​​...


June 30th, 2017


Book Review: 
The Silence By Tim Lebbon


I’ve got my own kind of bucket list: authors that I haven’t read yet, who have a fantastic looking collection of works and whom I’ve heard a plethora of great things about.  I try to read one of these authors once in a while. Tim Lebbon fits the bill perfectly; when I read the synopsis for  The Silence, I knew that was the one for me.

Read my full review​​...


June 23rd, 2017


Book Review:

 The Substitute By Nicole Lundrigan


I love a great crime/ mystery.  Nicole Lundrigan intrigued me with her synopsis, just enough to grab my attention, but not too much as to give the story away.  The Substitute certainly did not disappoint.  I was pulled into the story and could not escape the web that Lundrigan weaved.


Read my full review​​...


June 16th, 2017


Book Review
Heart-Shaped Box By Joe Hill


Heart-Shaped Box sat on my Kindle, unread for far too long.  I’ve taken a bit of a shining to Joe Hill’s writing; he writes old school in a newfangled way.  His books, the ones that I have read, are all a good length (no one hundred page novellas), complete standalones (there is no book 15 in the series) and definitely unique.

Read my full review​​...



Drive

By Stephanie Fournet

Strange Weather

By Joe Hill

New Release!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

October 17th, 2017

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​This week's list of new releases

is posted below.  Which one(s)

are you looking forward to 

​reading?  Enjoy! 


     New Releases!


Most of All You:  A Love

Story  – By Mia Sheridan
A broken woman . . .
Crystal learned long ago that

love brings only pain. Feeling

nothing at all is far better than

being hurt again. She guards

her wounded heart behind a

hard exterior and carries

within her a deep mistrust of

men, who, in her experience,

have only ever used and taken.
A man in need of help . . .
Then Gabriel Dalton walks

into her life. Despite the terrible darkness of his past,

there's an undeniable goodness in him. And even though she knows the cost, Crystal finds herself drawn to Gabriel. His quiet strength is wearing down her defenses and his gentle patience is causing her to question everything she thought she knew.
Only love can mend a shattered heart . . .
Crystal and Gabriel never imagined that the world, which had stolen everything from them, would bring them a deep love like this. Except fate will only take them so far, and now the choice is theirs: Harden their hearts once again or find the courage to shed their painful pasts.


Sol (Love in Translation #1)  - By Leslie McAdam - Forbidden romance!  
A bohemian Spanish instructor teaches a disciplined, but wounded soldier how to lose control.
The army taught me discipline. Order. Control.
None of that matters the day I walk into her classroom.
Or her bedroom.
What's more important than my grade?
Not failing her.


- Crave, Part Two (Crave Duet)  – By E.K. Blair - This is the continuation of Adaline & Kason's story. 

Read my review of Crave, Part One.

Read my review of Crave, Part Two. <--They're both spoiler-free!

- Drive  – By Stephanie Fournet - I love this author's writing!  Stay tuned for my review at the end of the week.

Growing up as the daughter of a world famous blues legend, Rainey Memphis Reeves learned everything she needed to know about musicians. They are phony, unfaithful, and never home — even when it matters.
Six years ago, an accident left her shattered, and even now, Rainey can’t trust herself behind the wheel of a car.
But when she meets Jacques Gilchrist, the sweet, soulful, and heart-stoppingly handsome Uber driver, Rainey discovers she can forget her fear when she’s with him.
Until she learns he’s a musician. And worse than that, he’s good. Too good.
Jacques Gilchrist has tried for years to break out of the small-town music scene, but as soon as he meets Rainey, he can’t stop writing songs about her. He’s about to take the world by storm, but if he wants Rainey by his side, Jacques will have to prove he’s nothing like her father.
He’s determined, even if he has to drive her across the country to do it.


- The Day She Cried  - By K. Webster - Contemporary romance!

She was my first love.
She was my first hate.
The very sun in my world tried to burn me alive with her lies and cruelty.
Until I dimmed her light for good…
Or so I thought.
Now she’s back.
Cracked. Broken. Lost.
And for the first time in a long time, I feel free.
Free from our past. Free from my present that suffocates me. Free to destroy her future.
Her misery is my music.
Thrilling. Invigorating. Intoxicating.
For so long, all I’ve done is hate her.
So why do I love her?


Drive  – By Kate Stewart - This book is already getting some amazing reviews!
Music . . . the heart’s greatest librarian. The average song is three and a half minutes long; those three and a half minutes could lead to a slow blink, a glimpse of the past, or catapult the soul into heart-shattering nostalgia. At the height of my career, I had the life I wanted, the life I’d always envisioned. I’d found my tempo, my rhythm. Then I received a phone call that left me off key. You see, my favorite songs had a way of playing simultaneously. I was in love with one man’s beats and another’s lyrics. But when it came to the soundtrack of a life, how could anyone choose a favorite song? So, to erase any doubt, I ditched my first-class ticket and decided to take a drive, fixed on the rearview. Two days. One playlist. And the long road home to the man who was waiting for me.


- The Last Mrs. Parrish  – By Liv Constantine - Psychological thriller!

Amber Patterson is fed up. She’s tired of being a nobody: a plain, invisible woman who blends into the background. She deserves more—a life of money and power like the one blond-haired, blue-eyed goddess Daphne Parrish takes for granted.
To everyone in the exclusive town of Bishops Harbor, Connecticut, Daphne—a socialite and philanthropist—and her real-estate mogul husband, Jackson, are a couple straight out of a fairy tale.
Amber’s envy could eat her alive . . . if she didn't have a plan. Amber uses Daphne’s compassion and caring to insinuate herself into the family’s life—the first step in a meticulous scheme to undermine her. Before long, Amber is Daphne’s closest confidante, traveling to Europe with the Parrishes and their lovely young daughters, and growing closer to Jackson. But a skeleton from her past may undermine everything that Amber has worked towards, and if it is discovered, her well-laid plan may fall to pieces. 


- The Company  – By J.A. Huss 

Some people are above the law. Those people are called COMPANY.
Twenty-eight-year-old James Fenici has been an assassin since he was sixteen. He's amassed debts and favors from countless Company brothers and participated in hundreds of Company jobs. But there are not enough favors in the world to clear his debt and make him worthy of the only girl he's ever wanted.
Eighteen-year-old Harper Tate is the girl who doesn't exist. Born and raised on a megayacht in a tropical paradise, she was destined to be a secret until now. Now she must choose between two Company men; The one she loves or the one chosen to give her the world.
Thirteen-year-old Sasha Cherlin is the girl who knows everything and understands nothing at all. Her future is filled with vengeance and death, but her dreams are filled with hope and a promise of love.


- Misadventures of a Backup Bride (Misadventures #4)  – By Shayla Black - Each book in this series can be read as a standalone.

An Overnight Billionaire…
When Carson Frost inherits a confectionary that rakes in billions but is too cash-strapped to last another sixty days, he agrees to take a loan from his late father’s rival. There are two catches: Carson has to sign over a permanent stake in the company and marry the man’s daughter.
Concocts a Fake Bride…
Two weeks before the wedding, he gets cold feet and claims he’s in love with someone else. The investor says he’ll still hand over the cash if Carson takes a stroll down the aisle—with the woman who owns his heart. Since he isn’t even dating anyone, Carson panics. Where is he going to find a bride willing to jilt him at the altar on such short notice?
And Whips Up a Little Love.
Ella Hope is an actress happy for any paying gig, but jilting a hottie in public isn’t what she had in mind. Still, she needs rent, and he’s in a bind. How hard can it be? While playing at matrimony, suddenly their intimacy isn’t so fake. Ella can’t help but fantasize that Carson is her groom and they will live happily ever after. But once his company is safe, will he want her anymore?

- Burn for You (Slow Burn #1)  – By J.T. Geissinger

Jackson “The Beast” Boudreaux is rich, gorgeous, and unbelievably rude to the staff at Chef Bianca Hardwick’s New Orleans restaurant. Bianca would sooner douse herself in hot sauce than cook for Jackson again, but when he asks her to cater his fund-raiser, Bianca can’t refuse, knowing the cash will help pay her mother’s medical bills. Then Jackson makes another outrageous request: Marry me. The unconventional offer includes an enormous sum—money Bianca desperately needs, even if it does come with a contract—and a stunning ring.
The heir to a family bourbon dynasty, Jackson knows the rumors swirling around him. The truth is even darker. Still, he needs a wife to secure his inheritance, and free-spirited, sassy Bianca would play the part beautifully. Soon, though, their simple business deal evolves into an emotional intimacy he’s built walls to avoid.
As the passion heats up between them, Bianca and Jackson struggle to define which feelings are real and which are for show. Is falling for your fake fiancé the best happy ending…or a recipe for disaster?


- Dignity (The Breaking Point #2)  – By Jay Crownover

Looks can be deceiving.
I knew that most people took one look at the ink and the impossibly big and strong body it covered and decided I was a brawler…a bruiser…a beast. However, I was hardwired to be a thinker, not a fighter.
I should have chosen to use my brain and talents to be one of the good guys, a hero, a man with dignity and worth.
I turned my back on dignity and sold my soul to the highest bidder, deciding to dance with the devil, instead. 
I couldn’t figure out how to help myself, so there was zero chance I knew how to save someone else.
That someone else was Noe Lee. She was the unkempt, unruly thief who was just as smart as I was and twice as street savvy. She was annoyingly adorable beneath the dirt and grime, and she was in trouble. In way over her head, I told myself it wasn’t my job to keep her from drowning. In the Point, it was sink or swim, and I wasn’t the designated lifeguard on duty. 
I shut the door in her face, but now she’s gone…vanished…disappeared without a trace. It took less than a second for me to realize that I wanted her back. 
When a woman comes along that melts all the frozen, hard things you’re made of; you’ll do anything you have to, to bring her home. 
What you see is not always what you get…and with a man like me, what you get is more than anyone ever bargained for.

- Ruthless King (The Anti-Heroes Collection #1)  – By Meghan March

New Orleans belongs to me. 
You don’t know my name, but I control everything you see—and all the things you don’t. 
My reach knows no bounds, and my demands are always met. 
I didn’t need to loan money to a failing family distillery, but it amuses me to have them in my debt. 
To have her in my debt. 
She doesn’t know she caught my attention. 
She should’ve been more careful. 
I’m going to own her. Consume her. Maybe even keep her. 
It’s time to collect what I’m owed. 
Keira Kilgore, you’re now the property of Lachlan Mount.


- The Vault:  A Sinfully Sexy Collection  - What happens when you lock 22 authors in a vault and don’t let them come out until they’ve finished their books?
You get one sinfully sexy collection.


- In too Deep:  Station Seventeen , Book 3  - By Kimberly Kincaid

As Station Seventeen’s rookie, Luke Slater knows his fire and EMS training will be both rigorous and risky, but he never imagined having to partner up with the one woman he wants to keep at arm’s length most of all. Quinn Copeland is as wide-open as Luke is reserved. He has no interest in letting the sweet and sexy paramedic rock his hard-earned control. But the need for composure becomes the need to survive when they find themselves in the crosshairs of a brutal gang leader on their first shift together.
Paramedic Quinn Copeland’s station mates aren’t just her friends. They’re her family. She’d do anything to keep them safe—including reluctantly trusting her impossible-to-read, impossibly gorgeous new partner with the one thing she holds close. As the passion between Luke and Quinn goes from a slow burn to a sizzle, their steps grow more and more dangerous, both in the fire house and out. Can they outwit a cold-blooded killer and face the fears that could cost them everything? Or are they in too deep?


-Shiver  - By Ella Frank & Brooke Blaine  - Standalone.

This is not a love story. It is not a romance. This is an obsessive stalker lust story that contains darker themes...

Wide-eyed and innocent, you stumbled into my world, never knowing the danger that lurked within. The Wolfe’s Den is no place for a little lamb, but you came anyway, and from the moment you stepped inside, you were mine.
In my life there are no happy accidents. Every move is carefully orchestrated. Every situation premeditated. That’s what makes the hunt so intoxicating. 
What you need, I become. 
What you crave, I will give. 
Except the one thing you desire above all else—love. 
Everything I told you is true—I’m not a good man, but you choose what you want to hear. 
You shouldn’t have come that night. Maybe then you’d be safe. But it’s too late now.
I want you because you remind me of him. I need you to give me back what I lost.





Releasing Later This Week!


- October 18Ten Thousand Points of Light  – By Michelle Warren 

Five years ago an unthinkable tragedy slashed Cait London’s life into two parts: Before she had amnesia, and after. 
Determined to keep her past hidden and start over, she moves to Chicago and plunges into a new job—all while keeping a walled distance from everyone she meets. The strategy works until free-spirited Aggie parks herself in the empty seat across from her at Mr. Moon’s Coffee House. This new, eye-opening friendship has Cait reconsidering her solitary existence as she watches Aggie pinwheel through jobs and men with her arms spread wide and face lifted skyward. She longs to be like her. Worry free. Anxiety free. Just... free. 
Now, Cait’s stepping beyond her boundaries and taking unthinkable chances, like crushing on her impossibly sexy landlord, Evan Wade. He’s flirty, annoying, and with him living in the same apartment building, she can’t stop thinking about him. If she can sleep with him once, perhaps she can get him out of her system. The problem is, Evan seems bulletproof to her advances. And as the two develop a connection, it becomes clear that Cait may not succeed before her heart remembers what it feels like to love. 

- October 19Rewrite  – By Stephanie Rose - Standalone.  Available for pre-order for $0.99 cents!

Once upon a time, a girl loved a boy and he loved her back. They lived happily ever after. 
But our story was never that simple. 
I loved Josh with all I had, right until the day he left. Now, all these years later, he was back—and wanting me the way I’d always longed for him. Except now, I belonged to someone else. Someone who never left me the way Josh had. I figured that was the end of our story. I couldn’t alter the past. 
I didn’t want to rewrite my future.
Brianna was always more than my best friend. She was the shining light in my black hole of an existence, and I loved her with every cell and bone in my body. I wasn’t good enough for her, though—more the villain than the hero in our fairy tale. When I had to leave, I vowed to come back a better man—for her. But when I finally did return, she wasn’t waiting for me anymore. She had someone new, her very own Prince Charming. Did that mean our story was over? I couldn't change our past.
It was time to rewrite our ending.


- October 20Bountiful (True North #4)  – By Sarina Bowen

No last names. No life stories. Those were the rules.
Once upon a time a cocky, copper-haired tourist sauntered into Zara’s bar. And even though she knew better, Zara indulged in a cure for the small-town blues. It was supposed to be an uncomplicated fling—a few sizzling weeks before he went back to his life, and she moved on. 
Until an accidental pregnancy changed her life. 
Two years later, she’s made peace with the notion that Dave From Brooklyn will never be found. Until one summer day when he walks into her coffee shop, leveling her with the same hot smile that always renders her defenseless.
Hockey star Dave Beringer has never forgotten the intense month he spent with prickly Zara. Their nights together were the first true intimacy he’d ever experienced. But the discovery of his child is the shock of a lifetime, and his ugly past puts relationships and family out of reach.
Or does it? Vermont’s countryside has a way of nurturing even tortured souls. The fields and the orchards—and hard won love—are Bountiful.


- October 20 - Unintended:  A Sin Series Standalone  - By Georgia Cates

Captor becomes lover…
I’m a marksman. Mobster. Deadly assassin. 
My job is to protect my brotherhood, but that isn’t my only responsibility. 
I’m Kieran Hendry, the up-and-coming leader of The Order, and a new duty calls. I must take a wife. 
A wife I don’t know. 
A wife born into a position at the top of The Fellowship hierarchy.
A wife who will forge a strong alliance between her brotherhood and mine. 
A wife I don’t want.
I knew next to nothing about Westlyn Breckenridge when I abducted her, but I quickly discover that she’s intelligent, strong, defiant, selfless. And beautiful.
One night with her is all it takes for me to see that she is no typical Mafia princess. I’m hopeful this arranged marriage won’t be the miserable union I imagined it to be. But convincing my intended to give us a chance won’t be easy when she sees me as the enemy. The brute who kidnapped her. The vile fiend who threatened to do as he wished with her body.
It’s true. I am all those things. I had cruel intentions. But everything has changed. My affection for her is unexpected. My love, unintended.

 


Happy Reading! 

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Shelley's Daily Blog