2 Book Lovers Reviews

The Girl Without Skin

​By Mads Peder Nordbo

May 27th, 2019 

May 14th, 2019


Book Review:
Hyperion
By Dan Simmons


I’ve always loved Chaucer’s  The Canterbury Tales, the concept of a group of travelers telling each other stories to make their trip more interesting.  This idea could easily be applied to a more modern voyage.  Little did I know that Simmons had been there and done that with  Hyperion.  When I realized that was what was going on, I had one of my “Oh, Hell yeah!” moments and Simmons had me hooked.

*​Read my review...


May 10th, 2019


Book Review:
Little Darlings
By Melanie Golding


The best horror plays off of real-life fears.  For any parent the biggest fear has to be something happening to your children.  Melanie Golding assaulted this fear.  Playing with nursery rhymes and traditional children’s stories, Golding has created a new parent’s nightmare.

*​Read my review...
*Read Shelley's review...


May 7th, 2019


Book Review:
Cemetery Road
By Greg Iles


I love committing myself to big books.  I crave spending hours with interesting, well-developed characters.  I appreciate an author like Greg Iles, who has the patience and makes the time to create the stories that will occupy a portion of my life.

I’ve heard it said many times that an author should write what they know; Greg Iles is a southern boy, and he sets his stories, like  Cemetery Road, in small-town Mississippi.  

*​Read my review...


April 29th, 2019


Book Review:
The Pandora Room
By Christopher Golden


Ben Walker is living my childhood dream, well, he isn’t exactly living it because he is a fictional character, but you know what I mean.  I grew up on a healthy dose of Indiana Jones and Allan Quatermain; Harrison Ford and Richard Chamberlain stoked my love of the adventure of uncovering a lost mythical treasure in an exotic location.  Ben Walker is a modern version of my childhood heroes.

*​Read my review...


April 19th, 2019


Book Review:
The Last Big Thing
By David Moody


David Moody is one of my favorite authors.   I’ve been captivated by his writing since I first opened  Hater many years ago.  I’ve been nursing  The Last Big Thing  since its release in January.  I just can’t sit and read straight through an anthology; I like to place the stories in between other full-length books that I’m reading.  I find that this helps with my overall appreciation for the anthology as a whole.

*​Read my review...


April 9th, 2019


New Release & Review:
The Stillwater Girls
By Minka Kent


The Stillwater Girls  got off to an incredible start.  It begins with Wren and Sage; you can get all of their basics from the synopsis.  Then, chapter two:  Nicolette.  Wait!  What?  Who?  Nicolette is not in the synopsis.  Where is this going?

I followed along, loving the two sides to the story, wondering how and where the two would come together.  Kent’s writing style kept the suspense and mystery high.

*​Read my review...


April 8th, 2019


What will I be doing on the evening of April 10th?  That's easy.  I will be watching  The Silence  on Netflix!  The Silence  by Tim Lebbon was one of my favorite books, and I am more than a little excited to see it come to life!

*​Read my review...

*Watch the trailer...


April 5th, 2019


Book Review:
The Last
By Hanna Jameson
Releasing April 9th!


I love a good old-fashioned apocalyptic story - the nuclear war scenario has been left behind by biological/viral worlds.  It was interesting to see how Jameson brought this very real possibility back to life.


Imagine that it hits the fan in full force, world tensions reach that point of no return and someone pushes the button.  

*​Read my full review...


April 2nd, 2019


Book Review:
Soon the Light Will Be Perfect
By Dave Patterson
Releasing April 9th!


Sometimes a synopsis just grabs your attention and refuses to let go.  For me, Soon the Light Will Be Perfect  is one such book.  A coming-of-age story set in rural Vermont, it had a universality that it could have been set in Anytown, America.

*​Read my full review...


March 29th, 2019


Book Review:

All Roads End Here
(The Final War #2)
By David Moody


What David Moody has done with  The Final War series is genius.  I find that more and more authors don’t know when or how to end a series and move on to something new.  I loved the Hater series, it was a novel concept in the realm of “zombie” books.  I loved every moment that I spent with Danny McCoyne, but by the final pages of  Them or Us, Danny’s story was over, and I was good with that.

*​Read my full review...


March 22nd, 2019


Book Review:
Alien: Out of the Shadows
By Tim Lebbon


As a Tim Lebbon fan, I jumped at the free Audible Original Drama of  Alien: Out of the Shadows.  This “radio play” was a great change of pace from the books I had been listening to.

Lebbon brought me back to the world of  Alien, even the voice actor who did Ripley sounded similar enough to Sigourney Weaver.  This gave me a comfort/familiarity level that got me more involved, more quickly.  

*​Read my full review...


March 19th, 2019


Book Review:
Shelter in Place
By Nora Roberts


I don’t know if you’re aware of this or not, but Nora Roberts is one hell of a writer.  She continues to amaze me with her ability to develop storylines and seamlessly tie them all together.

Shelter in Place  is a story of love and hate; where love is the glue, if used properly, can fix anything.  The synopsis doesn’t do the story justice, there is so much more beneath the surface.

*​Read my full review...


March 12th, 2019


Book Review:
The Homecoming
By Andrew Pyper


The Homecoming  was one heck of an attention grabber.  Once I read the synopsis I knew that I wanted to read it, and the cover pulled me in with its comforting yet sinister scene.  The story started off with a bang, and I was hooked.

​Andrew Pyper developed an exquisite, multi-layered plot of deception and betrayal.  I loved the fact that there was always another twist or turn right around the corner.  

*​Read my full review...


March 11th, 2019


The Passage...What's Next?


Have you been enjoying Fox’s production of  The Passage? I sure have, and my wife doesn’t mind watching it with me as long as I rub her feet…quid pro quo. You may be wondering what other great stories are out there that can give you that same feeling.

*​Read the full post...


March 5th, 2019


Book  Review:
A Court of Thorns and Roses
By Sarah J. Maas


Every year, my wife and I love looking at the Goodreads Choice Awards.  We always find some great books to add to our overflowing TBR lists, and it’s fun to see if any of our favorites found their way onto the list.  We have this ongoing joke from one year to the next: “Who will win Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction?  Sarah J. Maas or Sarah J. Maas?”

*​Read my full review...


February 26th, 2019


New Release & Review:
Zeus Is Undead: This One Has Zombies
By Michael G. Munz


When you  kracken  open a book by Michael G. Munz you have to expect the unexpected and accept the fact that conventions will be broken, you may even find yourself craving an ice cream sundae.

It has been a while since my last epic quest with Leif and

Tracy. I was ready to have a few good laughs, and Munz obliged.  

*​Read my full review...


February 19th, 2019


Book Review:
The Boy
By Tami Hoag


There is something about a heinous crime that grabs my attention.  A seven-year-old boy is brutally beaten in his own home, Hoag had my attention.

The Boy  is the second book in the Broussard and Fourcade series and my first venture into the small town of Bayou Breaux.  I didn’t feel like I was missing anything, the author seamlessly filled in any gaps that I may have been missing from book one.

*​Read my full review...



This week's list of new and

upcoming releases is posted

below.  Enjoy!  


     New Releases!


Echoes of Time (The

Surviving Time Series

#3)  – By Calia Read – Final

book in the series!

-
Knights Burden

(Rumblin’ Knights #4) 

– By Bella Jewel 

Broken doesn’t describe him. 
His demons now define him. 
Brody. 
The name that left my lips

so many times. 
The name that stole my

heart. 
The name that made me into
the woman I am today. 
The name that eventually shattered my world so completely. 
He built me up, with love and desire - his darkness tore me down. 
Now he’s gone. 
Out there – trying to fight a battle that isn’t his to fight. 
He’ll die. No truer words have been spoken. 
Everyone tells me to walk away, to let go.

​I can’t fix him. 
I can’t save him. 
I can’t keep hanging on.
How can I let go?


-
A Debt Owed  –  By
Clarissa Wild – Dark romance!
I wasn’t always cold-hearted
and vindictive. 
She made me that way. 
Charlotte Davis … the most beautiful and privileged princess there is. 
I’d kill for her to be mine.We met by chance at her father’s wedding … And then again years later. 
But she forgot about me. Ignored me. Enraged me. 
Then her father did the unforgivable, and I made it my lifelong goal to ruin him... 
By taking her as payment towards a debt he owed. 
A debt she will repay by marrying me. 
Until death do us part. 


 


Releasing Tomorrow – May 28th!


- The Flatshare  – By Beth O’Leary

Tiffy and Leon share an apartment. Tiffy and Leon have never met.
After a bad breakup, Tiffy Moore needs a place to live. Fast. And cheap. But the apartments in her budget have her wondering if astonishingly colored mold on the walls counts as art.
Desperation makes her open minded, so she answers an ad for a flatshare. Leon, a night shift worker, will take the apartment during the day, and Tiffy can have it nights and weekends. He’ll only ever be there when she’s at the office. In fact, they’ll never even have to meet.
Tiffy and Leon start writing each other notes – first about what day is garbage day, and politely establishing what leftovers are up for grabs, and the evergreen question of whether the toilet seat should stay up or down. Even though they are opposites, they soon become friends. And then maybe more.
But falling in love with your roommate is probably a terrible idea…especially if you've never met.


-
Mine  – By Courtney Cole – Thriller! 

When Tessa Taylor unlocked her husband Ethan’s iPad to discover nude photos from a twenty-six-year-old bombshell named Lindsey, her seemingly perfect life came to a screeching halt.
With a hurricane barreling toward Florida and Ethan stuck on a business trip, Tessa finds herself imprisoned in her own home with a choice to make: Does she ride out the storm until she can confront Ethan in person, or does she take matters into her own hands?
Increasingly restless and desperate for revenge, Tessa resolves to act. And when she lures Lindsey over a few hours later, there’s no turning back.
What ensues is a battle of wills between two well-matched opponents, blinded by love for the same man but driven by demons of their own. Like storm-ravaged Florida, neither woman will be the same when the skies clear.
He’s mine. Both wife and mistress would stake their lives on it. But only one of them can be right.


-
The Learning Curve  – By Mandy Berman –  Student/Professor! 

Fiona and Liv are seniors at Buchanan College, a small liberal arts school in rural Pennsylvania. Fiona, who is still struggling emotionally after the death of her younger sister, is spending her final college year sleeping with abrasive men she meets in bars. Liv is happily coupled and on the fast track to marriage with an all-American frat boy. Both of their journeys, and their friendship, will be derailed by the relationships they develop with Oliver Ash, a ruggedly good-looking visiting literature professor whose first novel was published to great success when he was twenty-six.
But now Oliver is in his early forties, with thinning hair and a checkered past, including talk of a relationship with an underage woman—a former student—at a previous teaching job. Meanwhile, Oliver’s wife, Simone, is pursuing an academic research project in Berlin, raising their five-year-old son, dealing with her husband’s absence, and wondering if their marriage is beyond repair.


-
Passion on Park Avenue (The Central Park Pact Book #1)  – By Lauren Layne

For as long as she can remember, Bronx-born Naomi Powell has had one goal: to prove her worth among the Upper East Side elite—the same people for which her mom worked as a housekeeper. Now, as the strongminded, sassy CEO of one of the biggest jewelry empires in the country, Naomi finally has exactly what she wants—but it’s going to take more than just the right address to make Manhattan’s upper class stop treating her like an outsider.
The worst offender is her new neighbor, Oliver Cunningham—the grown son of the very family Naomi’s mother used to work for. Oliver used to torment Naomi when they were children, and as a ridiculously attractive adult, he’s tormenting her in entirely different ways. Now they find themselves engaged in a battle-of-wills that will either consume or destroy them…


-
Unexpected (Start Up in the City #1)  – By Kelly Rimmer 

The next three decades of Abby Herbert’s life are as carefully planned out as the last three were. Best career ever? Check. Great friends, one of whom she lives with in a stunning Tribeca apartment? Check. Perfect man to share her dream family? Surely just a matter of time. But then she gets devastating news from her doctor—if she wants to get pregnant, she needs to get started on that by…well, yesterday. On the bright side, she has the perfect person in mind to be the father.
Tech entrepreneur Marcus Ross has been harboring decidedly not-friends feelings toward Abby. He doesn’t want to lose her and, knowing his feelings are one-sided, he’s been trying to move on. When he learns about the curveball Abby’s just been hit with, he promises to be there for her however she wants him to be, even if the idea of fatherhood is a little complicated for him right now. But it isn’t long until boundaries start to blur, and a deal struck between friends starts to turn into something perilously close to feelings that could change everything…


-
Million Dollar Devil  – By Katy Evans 

Heir apparent to her father’s company, Lizzy Banks needs a man. The perfect man. But when the rich “fundbabies” she usually rubs shoulders with prove impossible to hire, she takes a chance on a raw beast of a man salvaged from the wreckage of a bar brawl.
James Rowan earns a modest income as a YouTube daredevil, but he can’t refuse Lizzy’s million dollar deal. As she polishes his rough edges, creating a sophisticated gentleman fit for the highest circles of society, not only does she bring out the perfect man—it’s like she’s making the man of her dreams. How can she resist?
Though Lizzy loves seeing James in his clothes—and out of them—he isn’t the kind of man you bring home to Daddy. Her father’s disapproval and the pressure of the campaign have her eyeing the straight and narrow, but Lizzy’s finding it awfully hard to resist the devil on her shoulder…


-
Bridal Boot Camp  – By Meg Cabot

Physical trainer Roberta “Rob” James moved to Little Bridge hoping she’d found paradise, but things haven’t turned out quite as she’d hoped. The closest Rob has come to her “happily ever after” is happy hour at the Mermaid Café with her buddy Bree, the bartender slash waitress who’s got romance problems of her own.
But Rob’s situation suddenly changes when sheriff’s deputy Ryan Martinez accidentally enrolls in her bridal boot camp class. Turning mush into metal in time for the big day is Rob’s passion (because even the happiest bride could use a little toning).
But what happens when a guy who’s all mush meets a girl who’s all metal?
They discover they have a lot to learn . . . about each other, themselves, and the island paradise they’ve come to call home.


-
Luna Freed: Beyond the Wall  – By Margaret McHeyzer - The sequel to  Luna Caged!  Book one is  free for a limited time!

-
Taming Georgia  – By Ellie Wade – A Flawed Heart Spin-off standalone!  Second chance romance!

-
Unsuitable: A Forbidden Cove Novel  – By Lavinia Kent – Older woman/younger man romance!

Jordan Robinson knows firsthand that when a woman marries a rich older man, people are going to talk. But now, with her husband gone, Jordan lives a quiet life of seclusion, managing her charities and staying away from the limelight. Then everything changes after an unexpected kiss leads to the best sex of her life—and a secret affair Jordan never wants to end.
A sexy young mogul who’s used to getting what he wants, Clay has wanted Jordan Robinson ever since he was seventeen and saw her emerge dripping from a swimming pool in a white bikini. But now he’s all grown up . . . and now she’s his. But when their relationship is exposed, the fallout is devastating. Yet Clay’s a man in his prime—and Jordan’s a woman worth fighting for. They may have started as a fling, but Jordan Robinson belongs in his bed, in his life . . . and forever in his heart.


-
Smooth Moves  – By Marie Harte - Workplace romance!

Former Marine Cash Griffith is a brawny beacon for trouble, always finishing a fight that someone else starts. Working at his family's moving company, he does his best to keep a low profile, but he can't help but tangle with the newest employee, Jordan Fleming.
When Jordan joins Vets on the Go! she has her hands full with her new job and her rebellious teenage brother, not to mention going toe to toe with the obnoxious, arrogant, incredibly hot Marine at work. Soon their battles turn to camaraderie, and one kiss leads to a connection neither of them expected. But when dark secrets come to light, will their bond break...or strengthen into a happily-ever-after they desperately desire?


-
Take the Bride: A Knight Brothers Novella (1001 Dark Nights) – By Carly Phillips


 

Releasing Later This Week!


- May 30The Tiger Catcher (End of Forever #1)  – By Paullina Simons – New trilogy!  Time travel romance!  Stay tuned for my review.

​Can true love ever die?
Julian lives a charmed life in Los Angeles. Surrounded by friends, he is young, handsome, and runs a successful business. Everything changes after he has a fateful encounter with a mysterious young woman named Josephine. Julian's world is turned upside down by a love affair that takes him–and everyone else in his life–by storm. For the two new lovers, the City of Angels is transformed into a magical playground.
But Josephine is not what she seems and carries secrets that threaten to tear them apart—seemingly forever.
A broken man, his faith in tatters, Julian meets a mysterious stranger who tells him how to find Josephine again if he is willing to give up everything and take a death-defying trip from which no one has ever returned.
So begins Julian and Josephine's extraordinary adventure of love, loss, and the mystical forces that bind people across time and space. It is a journey that propels Julian toward an impossible choice which will lead him to love fulfilled…
…or to oblivion.


- May 30
I Heart Hawaii  – By Lindsey Kelk – Romantic comedy! 


- May 30
Teach Me (There’s Something About Marysburg #1)  – By Olivia Dade 

- May 31
Needing Forever Volume 2  – By Terri Anne Browning – Rock star romance! 

 

​​

Happy Reading! 



May 24th, 2019


Long Weekend Reading!


If you're looking for a book to read over the weekend,

I have a few recommend-

ations for you.


Horror - N0S4A2  - By Joe Hill - This book is going to be on the small screen (AMC) in June, but we all know that the book is always better!  Read my review.


- Thriller - The Homecoming  - By Andrew Pyper - Read my review.


- Mythology/Historical - Circe  - By Madeline Miller - Read my review.


- A good laugh - Lamb  - By Christopher Moore - Read my review.


What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog