June 17th, 2019 

June 4th, 2019


New Release & Review:
Another Life
By Robert Haller


The famous “coming of age” story; you could say that it’s been done to death, but with each generation of authors there is always something fresh and new to the genre: the era, the locale, the gender of the protagonist or protagonists, as the case may be.

*Read my review...


May 31st, 2019


Weekend  Audiobook Recommendations!


Sci-Fi  - Hyperion  - By Dan Simmons - This book was excellent!  I'm already looking forward to the next one in this series.  Read my review.

Thriller - Cemetery Road  - By Greg Iles- Read my review.

Horror/Dystopian - All Roads End Here  - By David Moody - If you like dark stories that take you where you might not want/expect to go, read /listen to this author's books! - Read my review.


May 24th, 2019


Long Weekend Reading!


If you're looking for a book to read over the weekend, I have a few recommendations for you.

-Horror - N0S4A2  - By Joe Hill - This book is going to be on the small screen (AMC) in June, but we all know that the book is always better!  Read my review.

Thriller - The Homecoming  - By Andrew Pyper - Read my review.

Mythology/Historical - Circe  - By Madeline Miller - Read my review.

A good laugh - Lamb  - By Christopher Moore - Read my review.


May 14th, 2019


Book Review:
Hyperion
By Dan Simmons


I’ve always loved Chaucer’s  The Canterbury Tales, the concept of a group of travelers telling each other stories to make their trip more interesting.  This idea could easily be applied to a more modern voyage.  Little did I know that Simmons had been there and done that with  Hyperion.  When I realized that was what was going on, I had one of my “Oh, Hell yeah!” moments and Simmons had me hooked.

*​Read my review...


May 10th, 2019


Book Review:
Little Darlings
By Melanie Golding


The best horror plays off of real-life fears.  For any parent the biggest fear has to be something happening to your children.  Melanie Golding assaulted this fear.  Playing with nursery rhymes and traditional children’s stories, Golding has created a new parent’s nightmare.

*​Read my review...
*Read Shelley's review...


May 7th, 2019


Book Review:
Cemetery Road
By Greg Iles


I love committing myself to big books.  I crave spending hours with interesting, well-developed characters.  I appreciate an author like Greg Iles, who has the patience and makes the time to create the stories that will occupy a portion of my life.

I’ve heard it said many times that an author should write what they know; Greg Iles is a southern boy, and he sets his stories, like  Cemetery Road, in small-town Mississippi.  

*​Read my review...


April 29th, 2019


Book Review:
The Pandora Room
By Christopher Golden


Ben Walker is living my childhood dream, well, he isn’t exactly living it because he is a fictional character, but you know what I mean.  I grew up on a healthy dose of Indiana Jones and Allan Quatermain; Harrison Ford and Richard Chamberlain stoked my love of the adventure of uncovering a lost mythical treasure in an exotic location.  Ben Walker is a modern version of my childhood heroes.

*​Read my review...


April 19th, 2019


Book Review:
The Last Big Thing
By David Moody


David Moody is one of my favorite authors.   I’ve been captivated by his writing since I first opened  Hater many years ago.  I’ve been nursing  The Last Big Thing  since its release in January.  I just can’t sit and read straight through an anthology; I like to place the stories in between other full-length books that I’m reading.  I find that this helps with my overall appreciation for the anthology as a whole.

*​Read my review...


April 9th, 2019


New Release & Review:
The Stillwater Girls
By Minka Kent


The Stillwater Girls  got off to an incredible start.  It begins with Wren and Sage; you can get all of their basics from the synopsis.  Then, chapter two:  Nicolette.  Wait!  What?  Who?  Nicolette is not in the synopsis.  Where is this going?

I followed along, loving the two sides to the story, wondering how and where the two would come together.  Kent’s writing style kept the suspense and mystery high.

*​Read my review...


April 8th, 2019


What will I be doing on the evening of April 10th?  That's easy.  I will be watching  The Silence  on Netflix!  The Silence  by Tim Lebbon was one of my favorite books, and I am more than a little excited to see it come to life!

*​Read my review...

*Watch the trailer...


April 5th, 2019


Book Review:
The Last
By Hanna Jameson
Releasing April 9th!


I love a good old-fashioned apocalyptic story - the nuclear war scenario has been left behind by biological/viral worlds.  It was interesting to see how Jameson brought this very real possibility back to life.


Imagine that it hits the fan in full force, world tensions reach that point of no return and someone pushes the button.  

*​Read my full review...


April 2nd, 2019


Book Review:
Soon the Light Will Be Perfect
By Dave Patterson
Releasing April 9th!


Sometimes a synopsis just grabs your attention and refuses to let go.  For me, Soon the Light Will Be Perfect  is one such book.  A coming-of-age story set in rural Vermont, it had a universality that it could have been set in Anytown, America.

*​Read my full review...


March 29th, 2019


Book Review:

All Roads End Here
(The Final War #2)
By David Moody


What David Moody has done with  The Final War series is genius.  I find that more and more authors don’t know when or how to end a series and move on to something new.  I loved the Hater series, it was a novel concept in the realm of “zombie” books.  I loved every moment that I spent with Danny McCoyne, but by the final pages of  Them or Us, Danny’s story was over, and I was good with that.

*​Read my full review...


March 22nd, 2019


Book Review:
Alien: Out of the Shadows
By Tim Lebbon


As a Tim Lebbon fan, I jumped at the free Audible Original Drama of  Alien: Out of the Shadows.  This “radio play” was a great change of pace from the books I had been listening to.

Lebbon brought me back to the world of  Alien, even the voice actor who did Ripley sounded similar enough to Sigourney Weaver.  This gave me a comfort/familiarity level that got me more involved, more quickly.  

*​Read my full review...


March 19th, 2019


Book Review:
Shelter in Place
By Nora Roberts


I don’t know if you’re aware of this or not, but Nora Roberts is one hell of a writer.  She continues to amaze me with her ability to develop storylines and seamlessly tie them all together.

Shelter in Place  is a story of love and hate; where love is the glue, if used properly, can fix anything.  The synopsis doesn’t do the story justice, there is so much more beneath the surface.

*​Read my full review...


March 12th, 2019


Book Review:
The Homecoming
By Andrew Pyper


The Homecoming  was one heck of an attention grabber.  Once I read the synopsis I knew that I wanted to read it, and the cover pulled me in with its comforting yet sinister scene.  The story started off with a bang, and I was hooked.

​Andrew Pyper developed an exquisite, multi-layered plot of deception and betrayal.  I loved the fact that there was always another twist or turn right around the corner.  

*​Read my full review...


March 11th, 2019


The Passage...What's Next?


Have you been enjoying Fox’s production of  The Passage? I sure have, and my wife doesn’t mind watching it with me as long as I rub her feet…quid pro quo. You may be wondering what other great stories are out there that can give you that same feeling.

*​Read the full post...


March 5th, 2019


Book  Review:
A Court of Thorns and Roses
By Sarah J. Maas


Every year, my wife and I love looking at the Goodreads Choice Awards.  We always find some great books to add to our overflowing TBR lists, and it’s fun to see if any of our

favorites found their way onto the list.  We have this ongoing joke from one year to the next: “Who will win Best

Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction?  Sarah J. Maas or Sarah J. Maas?”

*​Read my full review...


Never Fall in Love with a Rockstar

​By Rachel Higginson

This week's list of new and

upcoming releases is

posted.  Enjoy!   


     New Releases!


Parental Guidance  –

By Avery Flynn – Romantic

comedy! 

All I want is to play hockey

on the Ice Knights, instead,

I'm in a viral video for all

the wrong reasons and

my mom--yes, my mom--

has taken over my

dating apps. Then, when

I think it can't get any

worse, the fates deliver

Zara Ambrose, a five-

feet-nothing redhead with

more freckles than inches and

who'd rather be anywhere other than on a date with me. 
Now a bet with her friends and my PR nightmare have us both stuck in this go-on-five-dates-with-the-same-person hell situation. But if we band together, we can get the whole thing over with and go on with our lives. It's perfect! No feelings. No future. No fuc-- *ahem* fun. No naked fun.
What could go wrong? Nothing--as long as I remember the rules. Don't notice the way she looks in a dress. Don't react when she does that little shivery sigh thing whenever we touch. Don't think about the fact that she's never had a toe-curling orgasm that wasn't self-delivered and just how badly I want to change that.
Five dates--that's it--and then we go our separate ways. At least, that was the plan.


-
How to Lose a Fiancé  – By Stefanie London 

​Sophia Andreou has always been the “good daughter” who tried to keep her domineering father happy. She followed the rules and did everything that was asked of her. But this time, her father is asking too much. The family company is crumbling, and her father has arranged a marriage to a Greek billionaire who can save their property business. What?! Umm no thank you. If Cinderella can dress up to win a prince, surely Sophia can do the opposite and ditch hers...
Dion Kourakis has come a long way from being an orphan with only a single friend to his name. Now he runs a billion-dollar investment company and has the respect of everyone in Europe. His charming personality covers a lot of emotional scars, including his desire to make his mentor proud. Dion doesn’t exactly want a bride to go along with his next business deal, and he plans on letting the lass down gently when they meet...
Only, his future bride has turned out to be nothing like what he thought she’d be. She’s quirky and has a habit of turning up to social events in strange outfits. It doesn’t take a genius to figure out what she’s up to, but the harder she tries to convince him she’d be an awful wife, the more he wants to convince her they’d be perfect together.


- 10-Code (Rock Point)  - By Freya Barker - Older woman/younger man romance!

As a forty-one-year-old mother of three boys, working two jobs, Marya Berger doesn’t have the time or energy to consider a relationship. Especially after a lifetime of poor choices in the romance department. But when the disappearance of a young boy strikes a little too close to home, and a younger man she’s tried to ignore offers his help, she doesn’t stand in the way.
Single father, Dylan Barnes, the junior member of the La Plata County FBI team at thirty-three, has his focus firmly on his job and his son, Max. He’s certainly not looking to complicate his life, when he finds himself at his son’s soccer game, sitting beside the spirited brunette he can’t get out of his mind. Fate, however, appears to have different plans.
When an unspeakable crime draws the attention of the FBI, Dylan finds himself torn between his job and his instinctive need to protect Marya and her boys.


 


Releasing Tomorrow – June 18th!


- The Lemon Sisters  – By Jill Shalvis 

Brooke Lemon has always led the life she wanted, wild adventures—and mistakes—included, something her perfect sister, Mindy, never understood. So when Mindy shows up on Brooke’s doorstep in the throes of a break-down with her three little kids in tow, Brooke’s shocked.
Wanting to make amends, Brooke agrees to trade places, taking the kids back to Wildstone for a few days so Mindy can pick up the pieces and put herself back together. What Brooke doesn’t admit is she’s just as broken . . . Also how does one go home after seven years away? It doesn’t take long for Brooke to come face-to-face with her past, in the form of one tall, dark, sexy mistake. But Garrett’s no longer interested. Only his words don’t match his actions, leaving Brooke feeling things she’d shoved deep.
Soon the sisters begin to wonder: Are they lemons in life? In love? All they know is that neither seems to be able to run far enough to outpace her demons. And when secrets surface, they’ll have to learn that sometimes the one person who can help you the most is the one you never thought to ask.


-
Letters to Molly (Maysen Jar #2)  – By Devney Perry

-
Girl in the Rearview Mirror  – By Kelsey Rae Dimburg – Thriller!

They are Phoenix’s First Family: handsome Philip Martin, son of the sitting Senator, an ex-football player who carries himself with an easy grace and appears destined to step into his father’s seat when the time is right; his wife Marina, the stylish and elegant director of Phoenix’s fine arts museum; and their four-year-old daughter Amabel, beautiful and precocious and beloved.
Finn Hunt is working a dull office job to pay off her college debt when she meets Philip and charms Amabel. She eagerly agrees to nanny, thinking she’s lucked into the job of a lifetime. Though the glamour of the Martins’ lifestyle undeniably dazzles Finn, her real pleasure comes from being part of the family: sharing quick jokes with Philip in the kitchen before he leaves for work; staying late when Marina needs a last-minute sitter; and spending long days with Amabel, who is often treated more like a photo op than a child.
But behind every façade lurks a less attractive truth. When a young woman approaches Finn, claiming a connection with Philip and asking Finn to pass on a message, Finn becomes caught up in a web of deceit with the senate seat at its center. And Finn isn’t exactly innocent herself: she too has a background she has kept hidden, and under the hot Phoenix sun, everything is about to be laid bare. . . . 

-
For His Pleasure (Forbidden Lovers)  – By Shelly Bell 

Cash Turner could never resist a woman in need. It's what shapes his desires--and sealed his fate. Recently released from prison after serving time for a murder he didn't commit, Cash has to keep his head down and stay out of trouble. That means avoiding the curvy, delicious temptation of Dreama Agosto . . . a woman who holds his future in her hands...

-
A Story Like Ours (Love Story Duet #2)  – By Robin Huber - The conclusion of the story that began in  A Love Like Yours.


-
Nine:  The Tale of Kevin Clearwater  – By T.M. Frazier - Standalone.

Nine lives. 
Nine inches. 
One chance to make her his. 
Preppy's brother is about to live up to the family legacy in more ways than one.


-
Hooked: A Love Story on 7th and Main  – By Elizabeth Hunter - Standalone.  Opposites-attract romance!

She’s in high heels; he wears hiking boots. 
Can these two opposites make romance in Metlin work?
Tayla McKinnon is not a small town girl. The fashion blogger moved to Metlin with two goals in mind: help her friend start a book store and have a little fun. A year later, Tayla has made new friends, successfully launched INK, and is ready for a new challenge. Too bad she can’t get a certain rock-climbing, comic book geek off her mind.
Jeremy Allen has been playing the long game with Tayla, even though the avid outdoorsman was certain she was the one from the minute he set eyes on her. They may have different tastes, but their chemistry is undeniable. 
When a job opportunity from a new fashion start-up lands in her inbox, Tayla takes it as a sign. She’s not meant for a small town, even though her best friend and her inconvenient crush are trying to convince her otherwise.
Jeremy can’t believe Tayla would be willing to leave her new life behind, but maybe he’s been playing it too cool. 


-
Violent Ends (White Monarch Trilogy #2)  – By Jessica Hawkins - The continuation of the story that began in  Violent Delights.

-
Broken With You (Stark Security)  – By J. Kenner

True love never fades…
After surviving a troubled childhood, Denise can’t believe that she’s blissfully married to her partner and soulmate. She’s confident that not even Mason’s long-term, deep-cover assignment will shake their bond. And she certainly doesn’t anticipate that when he finally walks back through her door that he’ll have no memory of her, himself, or their time together…
When Mason is pulled out of an operation gone bad, all he knows is what he’s told — that he was a covert agent, that he has information vital to national security somewhere in his head, and that they can tell him no more for fear of burying those hard-fought secrets even further. They tell him nothing else; not even that the beautiful woman who makes his heart beat faster is not just his partner, but also his wife. 
The secret she must keep wrecks Denise, who wants only to return to Mason’s arms. But despite the desire that still burns hot between them, she can’t tell him who she is—or that she’s carrying his child. 
But when dark forces threaten both their lives in order to retrieve the information trapped in Mason’s mind, it’s not their past that will be tested, but the tenuous new love now burning hot between them.


-
Satisfaction Delivered  – By Marie Harte – Romantic suspense!  The conclusion to Triggerman Inc.

 


Releasing Later This Week!


- June 19 - Saving the Billionaire  – By Jane Harvey-Berrick

- June 19
99 Days With You  – By Catherine Miller

Sometimes the end is the start of forever…
Emma and Nathan couldn’t be more different. But when they meet in a hospital waiting room, to the sound of a ticking clock and surrounded by faded magazines, they are both terrified, nervous and alone. And they have one fatal thing in common…
Emma lives a quiet life. She looks after her disabled mother. She lives vicariously through the well-thumbed pages and cracked spines of her beloved books.
Nathan spends his days fifteen thousand feet above the ground, soaring through the air, stomach somersaulting, as a sky diving instructor. After a lifetime of having a recurring dream that he would die at twenty-seven, he treats every day like it’s his last.
As fate throws Emma and Nathan together, everything is about to change.
Emma has never been kissed, or tasted champagne, or travelled abroad. Nathan has never fallen in love, worn odd socks, or grown a sunflower from a seed.
Emma and Nathan vow never to waste an hour, knowing that goodbye could come all too soon. But as they lose their hearts to one another against all the odds, have they found each other too late? 


- June 20
Stuck with You: A One Week Novella  – By Roya Carmen

Corrie MacMillan has been through a lot these past few years. Feeling down in the dumps, she packs up and gets away for a bit — her friends have lent her their beach cottage for a week. Corrie is looking forward to getting off the grid and having a quiet week with her two Pomeranians. On the week’s agenda: journal, walk on the beach, paint, read, relax and reflect on life. 
Unfortunately, her plans hit a snag when she finds her soon-to-be ex, Jacob, at the cottage too. Turns out they’ve been double booked.
Jacob is as pig-headed as she is, and neither one of them is willing to give up the cottage. Ultimately, they decide that they can co-exist as long as there are a few rules in place. They both promise to behave. 
But when Corrie catches the sexy carpenter neighbor’s eye, Jacob gets a little jealous. Turns out he’s not so good at keeping promises.
And apparently, Corrie’s not as over Jacob as she thought she was. 


- June 21
What We Do in the Night (Day to Night #1)  – By Stylo Fantome - Available for pre-order for .99 cents!

Just five months ago, Valentine O'Dell started working at a very special kind of club - one where you can dance the night away, or live out your greatest fantasy. She's learned to lose herself to her nights, forgetting all her day time woes as she charms every man she meets. It's easy enough to do when she doesn't let her feelings get involved.
Then Ari Sharapov walked in and changed everything.
Working for his father's law firm has left Ari with very little control over his life, so when he meets Valentine for the first time, he sees a girl who is desperate for someone to take care of her. To take over her. So what he can't get for himself in the day time, he'll simply take for himself at night. But when power struggles lead to real feelings, who's actually controlling whom?
Some relationships are better left in the dark.





​​​​Happy Reading! 



June 17th, 2019


Book Review:

Hope for the Wicked

By Edward Lorn


I’ve been reading a lot of traditionally published books lately, you know the ones, with a team of editors, proofreaders, and marketing experts behind them.  More often than not they’re good books, while at the same time, they can be a little vanilla.  One of the so-called experts decides you can’t do this or that, someone might get offended, or worse yet, triggered.  


*Read my review...

What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog

The Girl Without Skin

​By Mads Peder Nordbo

    2 Book Lovers Reviews