2 Book Lovers Reviews

Zeus Is Undead: This One Has Zombies​

By Michael G. Munz

February 15th, 2019 

February 8th, 2019


I'm always adding new books to my to-be-read list.  What's a few more, right?  Well, these two have definitely piqued my interest.


The Pandora Room  by Christopher Golden is releasing on April 23rd.  I loved  Ararat, so I am very excited to go on a new adventure with Golden. 
​A chilling exploration of what happens when the original Pandora's Box is discovered in an ancient subterranean city, stirring international conflict and exposing the archaeological team to curses, whispers, and the terror of a legendary plague.

*​Read the synopsis...


- The Institute  by Stephen King is scheduled to release on September 10th, 2019.  Yes!

Check out the synopsis:

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents—telekinesis and telepathy—who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke learns, graduated to Back Half, “like the roach motel,” Kalisha says. “You check in, but you don’t check out.”

In this most sinister of institutions, the director, Mrs. Sigsby, and her staff are ruthlessly dedicated to extracting from these children the force of their extranormal gifts. There are no scruples here. If you go along, you get tokens for the vending machines. If you don’t, punishment is brutal. As each new victim disappears to Back Half, Luke becomes more and more desperate to get out and get help. But no one has ever escaped from the Institute.



February 5th, 2019


New Release & Review:
Forget You Know Me
By Jessica Strawser


I always hate to age myself in my reviews, but sometimes an author leaves me without a choice.  Forget You Know Me  started off like Barney’s (How I Met Your Mother) mixtape – it started off with a BAM!  I was left wondering where this story was going.  I love it when an author starts their story like this.  Strawser grabbed my attention – I was not going to be distracted.

*​Read my full review...
*Read Shelley's review...


January 29th, 2019


Book Review:
Of Blood and Bone
(Chronicles of The One, Book 2)
By Nora Roberts


After completing  Year One, Nora Roberts had me primed for book two, Of Blood and Bone, in her Chronicles of the One series.  Needless to say, I was not disappointed.

I’ll do my best to write this review, but this is not the type of series where you could jump in anywhere along the way.  Roberts is building off of the world she masterfully created in Year One.  

*​Read my full review...


January 25th, 2019


Book Review:

The Lost Puzzler

By Eyal Kless


I’m sorry, but I could not wait for this story to end.

The Lost Puzzler  dragged on for far too long, considering the storyline.  Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love a long story, and at 528 pages, this book is far from one of the longest that I’ve read.


The story was an overlapping tale, consisting of a scribe’s adventure in unearthing the mysterious disappearance of Rafik (story number two). 


*​Read my full review...


January 18th, 2019


Book Review:
Box of Bones
By Jeremy Bates


This seems to be Jeremy Bates’ forte, the short story that quickly pulls his readers in and hits them over the head with an unanticipated ending.  In that sense, Box of Bones does not disappoint.

Jim’s story is an interesting one, and one that is not completely absurd.  He gets himself in over his head in a foreign country to find himself trapped in a coffin.  Is there any good way for this to end?

*​Read my full review...


January 11th, 2019


Book Review:
White Stag
By Kara Barbieri


And now for something completely different.  White Stag  is a Norse mythology-based YA novel that is filled with goblins and a cornucopia of other unique creatures.  I love it when an author promises something new that goes outside of the norm of what is out there.

Unfortunately, White Stag was filled with many distractions.  I kept thinking of Netflix’s Friends from College while I was reading it. 

*​Read my full review...


January 8th, 2019


Book Review:
Seven Days
By Patrick Senécal


I’d heard quite a bit of praise for Patrick Senécal, even before I knew that the English version of  Les Sept Jours de Talion  was going to be released.  To be honest, I’m surprised that it took this long for one of his books to come to the English audience.  With the comparisons to King and Nesbo, my expectations rose even higher.

*​Read my full review...


December 28th, 2018


Top Books of 2018!


At the end of the year I always find it fun to take a look back at the fantastic books that I had a chance to read over the past twelve months.  It's never easy putting a list like this together, there are so many great books that I read, some just have to be there, then there are some others that I ask myself, how can that not be on the list?  But I suppose that is the challenge, picking the cream of the crop.  I hope that you had a great reading year, and here's hoping that 2019 is filled with more amazing reads!

*​See my list of top books of 2018...


December 21st, 2018


Book Review:

The Christmas Hirelings
By Mary Elizabeth Braddon


It’s always fun getting into the holiday season.  When I saw that  The Christmas Hirelings  was being offered for free on Audible, I thought that it would be a great addition to my holiday preparations.

The Christmas Hirelings  is set in Braddon’s contemporary period, circa mid to late eighteen hundreds.  It is set in an aristocratic household and revolves around a preposterous idea.  ​​​

Read my full review...


December 14th, 2018


Book Review:
The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore
By Kim Fu


Sometimes I’ll read a synopsis and get a specific idea in my head.  This can be a good thing or a bad thing, but it’s the reality of what I do.

When I read the synopsis of  The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore, I thought: Awesome!  This sounds like a West Coast, female version of  The Troop meets  Stand by Me (tell me that doesn’t sound fabulous). 

Read my full review...


December 11th, 2018


Book Review:
Galapagos
By Kurt Vonnegut


I think that everyone’s reading is influenced early on by the people in our lives.  Parents, teachers, friends, they all tend to point us in certain directions for our reading.  My influencing factors pointed me in directions other than Vonnegut. But I’ve heard his name come up frequently over the past few years, so it seemed to be about time to give him a shot.  I’ve certainly been missing something special.

Read my full review...


December 4th, 2018


Book Review:
Ararat
By Christopher Golden


I love a story with a mysterious monster, make it biblical in nature and I am hooked.  Ararat is one of those books I had been eyeing for a while before finally embarking on the voyage.


​Golden masterfully created his cast of characters, although listed as Ben Walker #1, there were many other characters with critical roles.  


​​​Read my full review...


November 27th, 2018


Book Review:
The Outsider
By Stephen King


I’ve always found that it’s hard to go wrong with a book from Stephen King, he completely dominates the horror charts and shelves.  I love the meandering, detailed trails that I’ve traveled with him and his characters.

The Outsider grabbed hold of me with an incredible start.  I was left with feelings of: How?  What?  Why?  This story began with a total mind-f*ck.  I loved it.

​​Read my full review...


November 20th, 2018


Book Review:
Annihilation
By Jeff VanderMeer


Appropriately, this is going to be a strange one.  My Annihilation experience was perhaps as unusual as the story itself.  I grabbed the audiobook for this experience.  I really wasn’t sure what to expect, I generally set my expectations high when the powers that be decide to turn the book into a movie.  They are rarely ever able to duplicate the magic of a fantastic book, but the base is often a sure bet.

​​Read my full review...


November 16th, 2018


Book Review:
Ships and Stings and Wedding Rings
By Jodi Taylor


I’ll give Jodi Taylor this, she’s got a good thing going on with The Chronicles of St. Mary’s.  I’ve grabbed a few of her shorts on Audible.  They are great little distractions on my daily commute.

Ships and Stings and Wedding Rings takes its readers on a quick little holiday trip back to ancient Egypt.  It is filled with what I am coming to know as Taylor’s trademark

sarcastic humor.  


​​Read my full review...


November 13th, 2018


Book Review:
Muse of Nightmares
By Laini Taylor


No book by my favorite pink-haired author would be complete without cake.  Yes, there is cake in Muse of Nightmares, and that is the last spoiler that you’re going to get from me.

Less than two months ago I finished reading Strange the Dreamer, I was so captivated by this amazing world created by Taylor that I wanted…no, needed to get to the rest of the story.  That in itself tells you how good this series is.

​​Read my full review...



A Place Without You

By Jewel E. Ann

If you're looking for a book to

curl up with this weekend,

my latest review & top

recommendation is posted.

More books have also been

added to t​his week's list of

new releasesEnjoy! 


  New Release & Review:

      The Hunting Party

          By Lucy Foley 

 *Top Recommendation!* 


The Hunting Party  was high

on my list of anticipated books

for 2019.  I wanted a book that

would be eerie, put me on

edge, keep me guessing, and

chill me to the bone.  I am so

happy to say that  The Hunting

Party  delivered! 

What a lovely idea it would be 
to have an annual getaway with your friends from university.  Well, that’s what I initially thought.  It would be nice to believe that you could just pick up where you left off after convocation, but situations change, and so do people.  


*Read my full review...

*Read Greg's review...



New Releases!


- Roma Queen (Roma Royals Duet #2)  – By Callie Hart - The conclusion to the story that began in  Roma King.  If you haven't started this series yet, the first book is on sale for .99 cents for a limited time.

- Thirst  – By Deborah Bladon 

​Do you see what I see? I see my half-naked neighbor staring at me whenever he gets a chance.
When I moved into this apartment, I knew I'd get used to the noisy tenant across the hall, the broken air conditioner, and the squeaky floors. I didn't think I'd grow accustomed to the lustful stares of the gorgeous man who lives in the building next to mine.
He watches me when dusk falls with an intense hunger in his eyes I've never seen before.
I sense his gaze trailing over every inch of my skin as I strip slowly, just for him.
It’s innocent until I finally get the chance to pitch my business idea to a trio of private investors. That’s when I realize that the man who stands at his window every night staring at me is one of the three people who hold the future of my start-up in their hands.


- Scoring The Keeper’s Sister  – By Delancey Stewart - Enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy!


Mr. Write  – By Monica James 
Once upon a time, there lived a best-selling author who wrote about the miracle of true love and finding your forever soul mate. And that was thanks to Elizabeth. His muse…his one and only…his soon to be ex-wife. 
It’s been six months since the love of his life tore out his heart and set it on fire, and because of this, the “author” hasn’t written a single word—his mind is drier than the Sahara Desert.
That unfortunate fool? That’s me. 
My name is Jayden Evans or, as my readers know me, J.E. Sparrow. I’m one of the world’s most adored authors, but now, the only thing beloved is a bottle of whiskey and the unspeakable nasties I somehow find myself in.
But this life of depravity is growing old fast. I need a change. And that comes when I meet Carrie Bell—the woman who stirs something in me I thought long dead.
From the moment we met, I knew she was different. Could she be the one to end this drought? I suppose there is only one way to find out.
Paris. Two strangers in the city of love. What can go wrong?
 


The Son & His Hope  – By Pepper Winters – Standalone. 
"Things you should know about me from the very beginning:
I was born to true love, witnessed the destruction it causes, and vowed never to let such agony happen to me. I am not a story-teller like my father. I am not a writer like my mother. I am just a son--their son.
I am happy being alone.
And that is all I ever want to be."
JACOB
The day he was born, Jacob learned his hardest and longest lesson.
It wasn't a lesson a boy should learn so young, but from his earliest memories he knew where happiness lives, so does tragedy. Where love exists, so does heartbreak. And where hope resides, so does sorrow.
That lesson carved him from the kid to the teen to the man.
And nothing and no one could change his mind.
HOPE
I first met him when he was fourteen at a movie premiere of all places. A movie based on his parent's life.
He was stoic, strong, suspicious, and secretive.
I was only ten, but I felt something for him. A strange kind of heartbreak that made me want to hug and heal him.
I was the daughter of the actor hired to play his father.
We shared similarities.
I recognised parts of him because they were parts of me.
But no matter how many times we met. No matter how many times I tried.
He stayed true to his vow to never fall
.


The Hunting Party  – By Lucy Foley - Thriller!  This book is a page-turner!  Read my reviewRead Greg's review.
All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.
During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.
They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.
Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.
The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.
Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.
Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?


​- Huge Deal (21 Wall Street #3)  – By Lauren Layne
An alpha among the wolves of Wall Street, Kennedy Dawson rose to the top of the pack by striking the right contracts at the right times. But there’s one deal that’s been giving him a run for his money—a pact to never again let his assistant, Kate, get under his skin. She may be smart, gorgeous, and sharp as a whip, but she’s definitely off-limits.
Kate Henley isn’t a banker, but she knows a thing or two about risk management—specifically, about managing her attraction to her smolderingly sexy boss. She already fell once, and Kennedy showed no sign of paying a return on her investment. So when Kennedy’s brother starts pursuing her, Kate figures she has the best of both worlds. Jack is charming, rich, very attentive, and the spitting image of his older brother.
It’s also making Kennedy think twice. But to win Kate’s heart, he’ll have to broker the deal of a lifetime…and prove he’s worth the risk.


- Kill Switch (Devil’s Night #3)  – By Penelope Douglas 

- Romantic suspense!   It is advised to read  Corrupt 

(Devil's Night #1) and  Hideaway (Devil's Night 

#2) prior to reading this book.

- MOTION: Laws of Physics 
#1   – By Penny Reid 

One week. 
Home alone. 
Girl genius. 
Unrepentant slacker. 
Big lie. 
What’s the worst that could happen? 
Mona is a smart girl and figured everything out a long time ago. She had to. She didn’t have a choice. When your parents are uber-celebrities and you graduate from high school at fifteen, finish college at eighteen, and start your PhD program at nineteen, you don’t have time for distractions outside of your foci. Even fun is scheduled. Which is why Abram, her brother’s best friend, is such an irritant. 
Abram is a talented guy, a supremely gifted musician, and has absolutely nothing figured out, nor does he seem to care. He does what he feels, when he feels, and—in Mona’s opinion—he makes her feel entirely too much. 


- The Date Deal  – By Tara Sue Me

He’s everything she ever wanted. 
She’s the one thing he doesn’t need.
Seven years ago, I went from being America’s Golden Son to That Idiot faster than you can say, “Foul ball.” 
At the time, I thought I was making the right decision by ditching my professional baseball career and today, I know I did. But I’ll admit, being the punchline of every late night comic changed me. The paparazzi no longer follow me and the media’s moved on, but I still live by rules created to ensure I would never be a laughingstock again. 
My rules are restrictive and controlling. They dictate what I do and who I do it with. 
They do not allow for a free spirit, bound and determined to get a recording deal in Nashville. A woman actively chasing a public life I turned my back on. And they certainly will not accept the little sister of the man who recently married my ex. 
Unfortunately, this siren with the voice of an angel, is the only woman I want. 
So I made a deal...


- Lust (The Elite Seven #1)  – By Ker Dukey - Friends-to-lovers romance!

​I was born with wealth, athletic ability, and looks that could melt the panties off a nun. 
I had a clear path to success. 
Until fate dealt me a cruel blow, leaving me empty and in need of purpose. 
My only focus now is to become part of The Elite--a secret society in one of the most prestigious colleges in the world. 
But everything comes at a price, and with The Elite, you have to earn your place. 
Lucky for me, being sinful is in my DNA. 
The only obstacle to full initiation is my task: seduce the un-seducible, the forbidden, and lure her with the sins of the flesh. 
Easy for a man like me...in theory. 
She started as my task, but what happens when the lines between lust and love blur, and the need for power rages war with the need for her? 
Accept your sin wisely, for the tasks given to earn your place are not for the weak--they're for The Elite. 
This is my life, my chance, my legacy. 
I am Rhett Masters. 
I am Lust. 


- Fake Love  – By Claire Contreras 

In the twenty-five years I’ve known Cory York, the only thing I didn’t fake with him were my orgasms.
In seventh grade, I faked a stomach flu to stay home and keep him company while he was sick. I ended up with a virus that kept me out of school for an entire week. 
In twelfth grade I faked an injury to avoid going to prom by myself. He took pity on me, dumped his original date and escorted me to the dance where the spurned girl dumped an entire pitcher of red punch over my head.
In college, I faked being in a relationship with him to get him out of a bind with a classmate. Most recently, I faked a proposal, an engagement, and wedding date. 
Between the ring on my finger and the home cooked meals every night, I fell for him. So I left, because Cory York is a good friend, but a terrible boyfriend. I had to leave before he broke my heart. 
We went from best friends to silent strangers. Now that I’m back in town, he wants me to be his plus one for his cousin’s wedding. This time I’ll have to fake not loving him. 


- Plain Jayne (Friends First #1)  - By Laura Drewry

Twenty-five years was a long time to be stuck in the Friend Zone. For the last dozen of those years, Jayne has lived half way across the country, and even though she and Nick have stayed in contact, she hasn’t actually seen him since he kicked her out of his wife’s funeral almost four years ago.
Does she still have feelings for Nick? Possibly. . .maybe. . .okay, yes, but the Jayne who left town all those years ago is not the same Jayne who’s moving back. This Jayne is smarter, more experienced, and determined to build herself a better life, the kind of life she wants and deserves. She’s a grown-ass woman with a plan for crying out loud, and she’s not about to let these feelings for Nick slow her down another second.
But from the second she hits town, she knows it’s only a matter of time before this freight train of disaster derails in spectacular fashion, and when it does, she’s not only going to lose her best friend, but the only family she’s ever known.


- Luck of the Devil (Forge Trilogy #2)  – By Meghan March - The continuation of the story that began in  Deal with the Devil.


- It Happens (The Bear Bottom Guardians MC)  – By Lani Lynn Vale 

Zee + Annmarie and Tan + Jubilee.
Forever. No exceptions.
They were to have the picture-perfect life together. Everything was all planned out.
Jubilee was to marry Eitan and Ezekiel was to marry Annmarie. That’s how it was always supposed to be from the moment that they met. Textbook, right?
Wrong...

- Sold Out (The Back-Up Series #5)  – By A.M. Madden – Rock star romance!  This is the final book in the series.  This series should be read in order.

Life as rock stars couldn’t be better for Devil’s Lair.
Wealth, success, love all make for perfect lives.
That is until fate steps in, once again.
There are twists and turns that you’ll never see coming. 
Grab some tissues because you're going to need them.


- How to Be a Movie Star  – By TJ Klune - The sequel to How to Be A Normal Person


- The Elite Kings' Club Box Set  - By Amo Jones - This set includes: The Silver Swan, The Broken Puppet, and Tacet a Mortuis.


- The Saint  – By LP Lovell 

My life was simple; God, business and myself, in that order. 
Then I met an angel, and everything changed.
To be loved by an angel is to be loved by God himself...


- The Right Man  – By Michelle Mankin – Rock star romance meets Cinderella! 

A once upon a time with a hooker who used to be a good girl and a bad boy lead singer living a lie.
Two lost and lonely souls and a chance encounter on a dark street corner in LA.
Is it happenstance, fate or a fairy tale?
Can a hookup for cash become a happily ever after?


- The Forgotten Commander (The Lost Planet Series #1)  – By K. Webster & Nicole Blanchard – Sci-Fi romance! 

Our planet, Mortuus, is lost and dying.
A desolate place where a few lone survivors dwell.
My men have lost hope. Our future is bleak.
Longevity is a luxury we can’t afford.
The most we can hope for is survival.
We’ve all but given up when an opportunity presents itself.
Five females—a chance at a future.
Procuring these women went against everything I’d been taught, but desperate times call for desperate measures.
They’re ours now.
Asleep and made ready for breeding.
We won’t die out—lost and forgotten.
It’s our destiny to grow and once again inhabit our lonely planet.
I am Breccan Aloisius, the forgotten commander.
My people will have the future they deserve.
I’ll make sure of it.
My mind is made up…until she wakes and nothing goes as

planned.


Happy Reading! 


February 12th, 2019


New Release & Review:

The Hunting Party

By Lucy Foley


The Hunting Party  just seemed to hit me at the right time and in all the right ways.  I guess you could say it’s just what I was looking for.  The Hunting Party  is one part Friends From College, with another part  The Ritual  and the third part…I can’t say, I don’t want to spoil the surprise.


*​Read my full review...

*Read Shelley's review...


What he's reading!

What she's reading!

Greg's Dailyish Blog

Shelley's Daily Blog