Week of May 3rd, 2021


 May's Anticipated Reads!


A new month means new books to look forward to reading!  May has a number of books that are hitting the shelves and my TBR list.  It’s always fun to look through the upcoming releases and highlight the ones that have caught my eye.  What books are you looking forward to reading?  Let me know. 

*Read my list...



Week of April 26th, 2021


Book Review:
Love and Other Words
By Christina Lauren
*Top Recommendation!*


No reader wants to be headed in the dreaded direction of a reading
slump, but that was where I was headed.  After starting and setting aside a few books,  I felt defeated.  I wanted and needed that sure thing to catapult me out of the doldrums that I found myself in.  I’m a particular reader, and I will often save  certain books for just the right time, this book included.  This was the right time.  Love and Other Words was exactly what I needed.  In all honesty, I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

*Read my full review...



Week of April 19th, 2021


New Release  &   Review:
My Ride or Die
By Leslie Cohen


As soon as I saw that Leslie Cohen had a new book coming out, I immediately added it to my to-be-read list.  She knows how to
write about relationships, whether it’s friendship or romantic.  She excels at creating an honest, flawed, slightly dysfunctional
relationship that pulls her readers in.

*Read my full review...



Week of April 12th, 2021


Book Review:
Close Enough to Touch
By Colleen Oakley
​*Top Recommendation!*


Have you ever read a book that you didn’t want to put down, but you knew that if you kept reading it, it would be over sooner, and you
didn’t want it to end? That’s how I felt with  Close Enough to Touch.  When I wasn’t reading it, all I did was think about the story and the characters and wish that I was curled up somewhere reading it.  I kept eyeing my Kindle, checking to see how much time I had left in the book.  I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to the characters.  I could have easily read another three hundred or so pages.  Yes, it was that good! 

*Read my full review...



Week of April 5th, 2021


New Release  &  Review:
Life's Too Short
By Abby Jimenez
*Top Recommendation!*


Reading a book by Abby Jimenez always brings a smile to my face.  I wasn’t very far into this novel before I was laughing out loud and sharing passages with my husband.  I also wasn’t very many pages
along before I knew that this book was going to be a winner, although I never had any doubts.  Having read her previous books, I knew that I was in for a witty, romantic romp that would entertain me from start to finish, but in all honesty, I think that this book is my favorite of hers.

*Read my full review...



Week of March 29th, 2021


Book Review:
Don't You Forget About Me
By Mhairi McFarlane


This book had me at the title.  When I saw that the epigraph 
was a couple of lines from the lyrics of the song, well, let me tell you, my nostalgic heart couldn’t wait to get into this novel.  Seriously, who doesn’t love this song!  But this novel isn’t about Simple Minds or my nostalgia, this is Georgina’s story.

*Read my full review...



Week of March 22nd, 2021


Book Review:
Everything After
By Jill Santopolo


Everything After  is an emotional, heartfelt, raw novel about love, loss, grief, the choices we make, and, ultimately, being true to
yourself.  It deals with some serious subject matter, but the author delivers it in an achingly honest manner and with the grace that it deserves.

*Read my full review...



Week of March 15th, 2021


Book Review:
The Player Next Door
By K.A. Tucker


I can always count on K.A. Tucker to pluck me out of reality for a little while and entertain me with an enticing story and a great
cast of characters.

The book is written entirely from Scarlet’s perspective – rejoice!  I love getting only one side of the story, it always helps to build my
excitement for what’s to come.  The butterflies flutter in my stomach, my nerves get tested, and it makes the falling-in-love aspect that much more intense.

*Read my full review...



Week of March 8th, 2021


Book Review:
The Cactus
By Sarah Haywood


The Cactus was the perfect title for this novel.  Susan Green is certainly a prickly character.  She’s regimented, intolerant, a stickler for routine, and is a no-nonsense kind of lady.  To be honest, when I first began reading this novel, I had a difficult time trying to connect with her.  With that being said, she did intrigue me, and I was
hell-bent on finding some way, some characteristic that would endear me to her.

*Read my full review...



Week of March 1st, 2021


New Release  &  Review:
Float Plan
By Trish Doller

In a year without travel, this novel swept me away.  If you’re looking for a book that is filled with seafaring adventure, personal growth,
and a slow-burning romance with intense chemistry, then this book
is for you.

*Read my full review...




New Release  &  Review:
Yes & I Love You 
By Roni Loren


This novel was pure slow-burn goodness!  Okay, it may not have been that pure, but you know what I mean.  In my opinion, there’s nothing better than a novel that builds a reader’s anticipation.  If you’re a patient reader, you’ll love Yes & I Love You.  If patience is not your forte, trust me, keep reading it, you’ll fall in love with this book, too.

*Read my full review...





New Release  &  Review:
Too Good to Be True
By Carola Lovering


Trust no one.  That was my mantra when I began reading this novel, and it served me well throughout the book’s entirety. 

The novel is told from multiple perspectives in alternating chapters.  This method worked perfectly for this book.  It enabled me to become completely engrossed in the characters’ lives, discovering information about them and their complex personalities.  It propelled the story forward and kept me wanting to just read another chapter…and maybe another.  

*Read my full review...



Week of February 22nd, 2021


Book Review:
Well Met
By Jen DeLuca
*Top Recommendation!*


I adored every minute that I spent reading this novel.  With a wonderful cast of characters, a close-knit community setting, a
whimsical Renaissance Faire, and the chemistry between the two main characters, this book had everything that I was looking for.

*Read my full review...



Week of February 15th, 2021


New Release  &  Review:
Dark Horses
By Susan Mihalic
*Top Recommendation!*


Susan Mihalic’s debut novel is aptly named.  Dark Horses  deals with some difficult, heavy, dark subject matter, but it’s a story that deserves to be told.  It’s a story that felt like a punch to the gut.  Its brutal honesty was a painful reminder that you never know what goes on  behind closed doors.  I was immediately pulled into Roan Montgomery’s life and invested in her story.  Dark Horses  is not the type of book that you will just sit down to read a couple of chapters to pass some time.  This book is a riveting reading experience that, once you begin, it demands to be read.

*Read my full review...



Week of February 8th, 2021


Book Review:
The Flatshare
By Beth O'Leary


Once again, I am admitting that this book sat on my TBR list for far too long.  After hearing so many wonderful things about  The Flatshare, I waited for the perfect time to finally take the plunge, and I am so glad that I did.

The Flatshare  is classified as a romantic comedy, but I wouldn’t exactly call it that.  Sure, it had its funny moments, but it was much more emotionally charged than I expected.  I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, there’s nothing that I like more than a well-rounded novel, and that is precisely how I would classify  The Flatshare.

*Read my full review...



Week of February 1st, 2021


New Release  &  Review:
The Project
By Courtney Summers


The Project  is a compelling and riveting reading experience.  It’s a story of sisterhood, but it’s so much more than that.  It’s emotional, gut wrenching, and utterly heartbreaking. This author slowly, quietly, and effectively ripped my heart out with every turn of the page.

Bea and Lo’s lives were forever changed by the horrendous car accident that claimed their parents’ lives and left Lo hanging on for dear life.  As their mother always reinforced, sisters share a sacred bond, and losing her parents and seeing her sister wounded was almost more than Bea could bear.  She felt lost, alone, bereft, helpless…and in walked Lev Warren, the leader of The Unity Project, to make his pitch and save the day.

*Read my full review...



Week of January 25th, 2021


Book Review:
All About Us
By Tom Ellen


I am always drawn to books that lead the characters to wonder: what if?  If given the opportunity, would you revisit a certain event in your life and possibly make a different decision?  I think that it’s human nature to wonder if we’ve made the right choices, followed the right paths, and ended up exactly where we were always meant to be.  Tom Ellen takes his readers on a magical, emotional, and heartfelt journey on a multitude of Christmas Eves in Ben’s life in order to for him to truly discover where his heart belongs.

*Read my full review...



Week of January 18, 2021


New Release   Review:
What's Worth Keeping
By Kaya McLaren

*Top Recommendation!*


What’s Worth Keeping  is a deeply moving story of a family’s journey of finding acceptance, healing, peace, and the things that

are worth keeping.  In my opinion, this novel deserves nothing less than a five-star rating because it made me feel so much. 

Throughout the book’s entirety, I was invested, riveted to the pages, and completely immersed in the story and the characters.


*Read my full review...



Week of January 4, 2021


 My Favorite Books of 2020!


2020 has certainly been a challenging year.  One of the things that I enjoy most about reading is that it provides an escape from
reality, and this year I needed it.  With that being said, no matter how much I wanted to dive into a book and lose myself within
its pages, I felt distracted.  I wanted to read, to meet new characters, have new adventures, but the real world just kept sucking me back in.  Damn you, real world!  It took me a while to get back into my usual flow and routine, and when I did, I was transported into some amazing stories.  I didn’t read as many books as I would have liked – again, distraction – but most of the books that I did choose to spend my time with were wonderful.  These are books that stayed with me long after I finished reading the final page. 

*See my list of favorite books of 2020...




Shelley's Daily Blog

Just Last Night

By Mhairi McFarlane

What she's reading now.

    2 Book Lovers Reviews

My Favorite Books of 2018!